Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Be constructive when we rip into our leaders

Be constructive when we rip into our leaders PDF Print
Friday, 06 November 2009 10:33

Indeed, as RPK suggests, it was the people who enabled the political tsunami, and not the charisma of any one man or candidate; but there would have been no tsunami to speak of if not for those who did step up, and for those who led them.

By Nathaniel Tan, The Malaysian Insider

“Drama Minggu Ini” appears to be rich in political parties apparently entering self-destruct mode. High up in the headlines are the problems besetting Pakatan Rakyat, PKR and MCA.

The endless infighting and jostling, as well as the apparent impossibility of achieving true unity even within a party or coalition, compels us to ask: why is it politicians so often seem to put their own seemingly petty interests above those of their party, or of the nation as a whole?

Raja Petra Kamarudin, a friend I'm proud to know (and who is somewhat responsible for my current hairstyle), recently wrote an article comparing Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim in somewhat unfavourable light to Alexander the Great, and the last general election to the French Revolution.

I don't know enough about either to comment extensively on the comparisons, but I think on aggregate I wish to respectfully posit a slightly different perspective.

The tone of RPK's article is, as is typical, one of reproach and warning. He writes:

"Anwar Ibrahim and many of the opposition leaders have this false feeling of grandeur about themselves. But they are not grand, and certainly far from great. They did not make March 8, 2008 happen. The people made it happen. And what the people make the people can break."

I have no intention here of defending Anwar or anyone else, but I think it is inaccurate to place a false feeling of grandeur at the root of Pakatan's problems. Pakatan's leaders suffer from a platitude of problems, but I don't think sheer arrogance is among the top five.

In trying to get to that root, I found myself thinking back to the momentous 2008 election. I remember that almost all of my office mates where I was working in PKR at that time eventually ran for public office and, I am proud to say, won.

That's in hindsight, of course. I remember the days before the election — how hard it was to fill the candidate roster, and how the leadership scrambled like crazy to finalise the list.

It was hard because so few wanted to step up. This was a time when Barisan still commanded its largest majority in history, and where there were serious repercussions to being associated with their enemies.

It was a time when one of the benefits of being in the opposition was that the only colleagues you had were those with real passion — there wasn't anything in it for anyone else, no money, no power; only plenty of headaches.

I wasn't asked to run (I suppose someone had to take care of the office), but even if I had been, I had already decided then not to accept. For my own reasons, I was like many others who requested that the bitter cup be passed from our lips.

Indeed, as RPK suggests, it was the people who enabled the political tsunami, and not the charisma of any one man or candidate; but there would have been no tsunami to speak of if not for those who did step up, and for those who led them.

READ MORE HERE: http://www2.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by DreamLady, November 06, 2009 11:06:11
When I am given a choice to vote, I definitely would prefer to vote for someone who is clean from head to toe, not of someone who is seen carrying a bag of stinking garbage wherever he goes!!!Common sense lah!!!
written by TruthSayer, November 06, 2009 11:10:58
Nathaniel has a point.

Be hard on the leaders, but also make sure it is constructive.

Politics is such that there will always be struggle for power whether against BN or internally.

However, the PR leaders must put priority tot he struggle to unseat BN from power so that Malaysia, can at least, begin to heal.
written by asguard, November 06, 2009 11:30:11
Be hard on barang naik ...they are ones deserve to be put on screws... everytime! Deceiving the public for years!
written by KingSolomon, November 06, 2009 12:12:56
Sydput has valid points but PR and Anwar supporters do not like them. We should not close our mind and refuse discussion when it comes to a certain religion because its practice and demands do affect everyone. Education too affects everyone. So is the NAP (APs).

When Anwar was in power, he actual did things that did not endear himself to the non malays, but he has since been reformed after being framed for corruption and sodomy. And since then, I support his leadership.

If PR wants to lead, it must be transparent and tell us what it wants to do with the known divisive and contentious policies. Also, the coalition must not have leaders, elected ones especially, who go against the wish of the rakyat, and worse, play the racial and religious fires. If PR can live up to this expectation, it will receive tremendous support of the rakyat.
written by Oscar Winner, November 06, 2009 12:30:28
I am sorry for you, Nathaniel. You don't seem to understand the BN politicians very well. When have they ever listened to something constructive, like

-demolish NEP and let's all have level playing field,
-do not mix politics with race and religion,
-sacking the Ahmad Ismail guy for shouting "pendatangs",
-do extending IGP's contract,
-getting rid of postal votes,
-setting up RCI for TBH's death,
-investigate C4 source,
-leave RPK alone....
etc...etc

Yes, let's be constructive in our criticism for PR, but pls do not do it openly because all criticism about PR will be picked up by the MSM toilet papers and they will have a field day in spinning out of control to further hoodwink the ignorant folks, and that will make our fight to win 13th GE much more difficult. Pls forward your criticism to DSAI. If anyone's constructive criticism about PR is published or blogged, I consider it an attempt to seek personal fame and glory. RPK excluded. Those who vote me down, included.
written by Oscar Winner, November 06, 2009 12:33:06
oops...I mean "do not extend IGP's contract"
written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 12:40:38

My main criticsm of Pakatan Rakyat is the failure of its top leaders (Tok Guru excepted) to make crystal clear their stand on prickly issues. This, DSAI can learn from Tok Guru and the academician minnow, Dr. Abdul Aziz, and follow their example. Great leaders must have Principles they follow, and must make known these Principles, and never deviate from them, just like Tok Guru.

Tok Guru was willing to bite the bullet, and bear whatever consequences to steer PAS in the correct direction, according to his Principles, and should be most respected for his conviction. Too often, politicians pander to voters for votes and compromise on their Principles, but this is going to come back and bite you on the rear eventually, which is why there are so many also-rans in the political arena.

Be crystal clear what Pakatan Rakyat stands for, and we shall Vote For Pakatan Rakyat !
written by Proarte, November 06, 2009 12:53:37
I honestly believe that Anwar needs to step back if the coalition is to forge ahead as viable and united entity which speaks with one voice.

Anwar has alot of baggage and is currently involved in a trial which he is yet to clear his name. The people have been with him all these years since his fight with Mahathir when he transformed himself from a pet Mahathir poodle to a 'Reformasi Icon'.

He certainly does not have a reformist mindset. He has abused Islam for political purposes and contnues to do so. He adopts a very conservative and Wahabi like ( well the sponsors of ABIM are the Saudis) posture in Malaysia as he does not want to be at odds with the most retrogressive Islamic forces in Malaysia and at the same time plays the Muslim universalist and liberal who sees no contradiction between Islam and a Secular Democracy. He lectures in the West about freedom of conscience, historical Islamic governance which has been characterised by plurality and mutual respect and tolerance between the Muslims, Jews and Christians. But in Malaysia he adopts a mindset which would do the Taliban proud.

Anwar is a persona non grata in Sabah, that is among the indigenous people there ( which I mean the citizens including Chinese ). As such, he cannot lead the opposition because he will lose Sabah for Pakatan, particularly now as he humiliated the Kadazans by saying ' no bloody way that Jeffrey Kitingan will be the Sabah PKR Chief' and instead appointed a tainted and uncharismatic Muslim. Prior to this he appointed Azmin, a Malay Muslim from West Malaysia who has no connection with Sabah to be its Chief, showing his utter contempt for the feelings of Sabahans and his colleagues in KL who advised him against it.

It almost seems as though Anwar is either deluded as to his popularity or he is determined to wreck Pakatan's chances in the next election. This has lead to the speculation that he has done a deal with Najib to get him acquitted from conviction over the Sodomy charges.

He was the key figure who criminally encouraged illegal immigration into Sabah to upset the demographics there in favour of Muslims who would be converted into 'Malays' and give undying loyalty to UMNO which Anwar was instrumental in bringing in into in Sabah. The top leaders in PBS were persecuted and eventually it was brought to its knees. The rest is history.

Anwar's organisation ABIM made the shocking claim that the Mazu statue in Kudat would 'desecrate' a Mosque 0.5km away and opposed its erection. Anwar in his trademark moral cowardice has kept silent over this issue rather than condemning ABIM and distancing himself from its position. It has also made many shocking bigoted and racist comments in the past few years but yet Anwar has remained silent. His support of Judge Fairuz's ridiculous judgement that Lina Joy a Christian has to go to the Shariah courts to get her status clarified was a betrayal of his commitment to freedom conscience which he espouses in his lectures overseas. He had the gall to encourage us to have 'more confidence' in the Shariah courts. He had nothing to say over the torture of Revathi, a practising Hindu by the Islamic authorities who incarcerated her for 6 months and forced her to eat beef and separated her from her infant baby and husband. When the Shariah courts ruled that Revathi was a 'Muslim forever' despite being a practising Hindu ( yes that is Shariah Courts which Anwar wants us to have confidence in!), Anwar's silence was deafening.

What kind of 'Reformist' is this?

written by Proarte, November 06, 2009 12:54:35
cont

He has done nothing for Malaysia other than cause untold damage to the democratic fabric of this nation. If he had not fought with Mahathir in their petty power struggle, Mahathir would not have compromised the Police, the Judiciary, the Media, the educational establishments in his aim to neutralise Anwar. It was Anwar's Islamisation program which has irreparably done so much damage to race relations and the moral fabric of our nation. It emphasised Arabism, Islamic rituals and Malay supremacy but not the essence of Islam which is Justice, Truth and Equality. His Islam was a bogus Islam whose purpose was to consolidate his position in UMNO.

His Malay nationalist and 'anti-English' stance destroyed the education system which has made Malaysia uncompetitive. How ironic that he was schooled in the 'English system' and fancies himelf as a 'man of letters' and ' a liberal thinker' who loves Shakespeare, quotes the great Western and Christian philosophers in his lectures abroad but at home plays the 'Reformasi Kampung Boy' His acting skills are laudable but his moral cowardice and duplicity sickening.

Anwar should have been more careful knowing full well that he was a target for 'dirty tricks'. To take on board Saiful a strapping young boy, an unknown university drop out to be his assistant who rather surprisingly gets to go abroad with him and who has his mobile phone number and exchanges texts with him suggests a level of intimacy which is unusual. Because of Anwar's irresponsibility Pakatan is caught is this ridiculous scenario of Sodomy Mark II.

Anwar should give up the leadership of Pakatan and PKR until he has cleared his name. This perhaps will be the best thing he did for Malaysia in its path to reformation.
written by truthbespoken, November 06, 2009 12:57:16
If only all politicians and observers behave the way Nat puts it then they will be no wars and wastage of national human energies. But the reality is that observers, commentators and writers sometimes just have to balance the soft soft approach as advocated by Nat with some good-timing-hard-ball criticisms to drive in a message for an adverse situation of serious political implications and proportions. These are knee-jerk or injection approaches to alert certain leaders who may have generally lost touch with public expectations during an important period in the joint struggle for a better country.

There isn't just any method that is perfect but striking a balance of the two approaches must be done at different times to achieve the desired results. After all, to quote another commentator, politicians all are humans and they are not demi-gods. They are not the panacea for all ills. It is good that some of us are still willing to stick out our heads to be criticised by others for criticising some of these leaders. There should be no regrets for doing so as they are done with conviction and good intentions for the long-term good of all....only the approach may be different from person to person.

Those leaders concerned, who are meant for bigger things, will surely understand those momentary criticisms which are valid must be taken into consideration. They are seasoned enough to know that alternative approaches to political solutions are never carried out in an orthodox fashion in order to succeed. So, to each his own but only that the criticisms of these leaders, if there must be, must be done with a clear and good conscience.
written by Steven Ong, November 06, 2009 13:01:43
All leaders and would be leaders should have the people's hope and well being in mind. They are to remember that they are there to serve the people and not to lord over them. They should think of how to bring better service and transform the society. The people would help them, if they shows their humbleness and willingness to serve the people.
Once they become big headed and knows only to enjoy themselves and show off, its time to bring them down.
written by jayenjr, November 06, 2009 15:02:15
"I have made it a rule, however, to hesitate in criticising too harshly someone whose job I wouldn't be willing to take on myself."
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Allow me to disagree with you on that, Nat.

Not all of us want to be politicians; but, that does not mean none of us should insist on accountability. We should not ask for perfect politicians; but we should ask for accountability. And part of that accountability process I think, is to actually criticise and also offer suggestions on improvements.

Yes, I may not have stepped up to be a candidate; but I was there at the first Bersih rally, getting gassed and all that. I don't see myself holding a career in politics - perhaps the temperament is not there. But I require civil justice & order - which also includes a demand that the ppl who wanted my votes, be held accountable, esp when it is a public office they represent.

I do not want to be a politician, but, what do I do when queries & concerns I raised on personalities like the Kulim MP, Zulkifli Noordin, remains unanswered, despite the fact that I raised it at least twice wt PKR HQ? All I asked was, what is PKR going to do with this errant MP? And yet, is that such a difficult question to answer, when considering that it was due to similar racist/religious fanatical posturing of UMNO MPs that we kicked many of them out of office on 8/3/08?

I even forwarded a recent write-up by RPK on the possibility of Sgor gov'n falling in Jan 2010 - http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/28284/84/, to my ADUN.

I asked my ADUN what her view on this matter is (bcos I think it is fair to say that we should take RPK's analysis seriously), and is there any thing that needs to be done, to avoid the unthinkable from happening, as it did in Perak. I even volunteered to offer any help if need be.

No reply.

My sister stays in a certain part of Klang Valley. When she contacted her Pakatan Rakyat ADUN/MP re: the traffic jam caused by illegal traders near her house, this ADUN/MP asked her to go on a petition drive to get support to deal with the illegal traders. So my sister threw back a question at her, asking her shouldn't she (the ADUN/MP) instead approach the authorities and request for action? Then, this ADUN/MP said she don't want to touch the traders, because they are voters. And finally, she removed my sister out of her Facebook site; all because my sister asked if this PR ADUN/MP was doing her job!

So how do I conclude on this? That perhaps given a chance, and if M'sians slip up a little in terms of making noise at their politicians, then there is much possibility that Pakatan politicians would also equate their UMNO/BN counterparts in terms of attitude, self-seeking and behaviour?

When I look at Zulikifli Noordin, Hasan Ali & the above incidences that I related, I think I will continue to make the noise I rightfully reserve as a taxpayer and a voter.
written by batsman, November 06, 2009 15:22:54
Are you saying we spare Najib as well? Even when he is strongly suspected of the C4 thing?
written by DreamLady, November 06, 2009 16:14:45
My dear Proarte, give Anwar a break, won't you??? let us all move forward in life in search of better ideas.. to make the reformation more solid and formidable for all the Malaysians as a whole..Secondly, please, learn to be appreciative of those who strive hard in the great name of justice, freedom, dignity, maybe that will allow you time to ponder in depth the true meaning of 'sacrifice' meted out by our freedom FIGHTER and fighters!!!

Have a blessed evening...my dear..
written by Proarte, November 06, 2009 19:53:34
DreamLady wrote:

"My dear Proarte, give Anwar a break, won't you??? let us all move forward in life in search of better ideas.. to make the reformation more solid and formidable for all the Malaysians as a whole..Secondly, please, learn to be appreciative of those who strive hard in the great name of justice, freedom, dignity, maybe that will allow you time to ponder in depth the true meaning of 'sacrifice' meted out by our freedom FIGHTER and fighters!!!

Have a blessed evening...my dear.. "

******************************************************* ****************************

My darling DreamLady,

With regard to my piece on Anwar's unfitness to lead Pakatan, I outlined my reasons.

Did Anwar fight for the "justice, freedom, dignity" of the Sabahans. "No bloody way".

Did Anwar fight for the "justice, freedom, dignity" of Lina Joy?. "No bloody way".

Did Anwar fight for the "justice, freedom, dignity" of Revathi? "No bloody way".

Did Anwar criticise Hasan Ali in the name of "justice, freedom , dignity" over the beer issue in Shah Alam? "No bloody way".

Anwar spoke up for the preservation of the Tanjung Tokong Malay village in Penang but was silent over the Kampung Buah Pala villagers plight. Doesn't this confirm his Malay supremacist mindset? Can he be trusted to fight for the "justice, freedom ,dignity" of all Malaysians? "No bloody way".

Did Anwar speak up for the preservation of the 150 year old Sri Mahamariaman temple in Shah Alam which is slated for demolition? Did he vocally condemn the residents over the 'cow-head' shocker? This would have gone a long way to show Indians that he cared for their " justice, freedom and dignity". But did he? "No bloody way".

I can go on and on, the list is endless. The answer is "No bloody way" all the way!

Anwar is unable to embrace the concept of Equality, Freedom , Jusitce and Dignity of every Malaysia regardless of their race or creed. He was weaned on 'Ketuanan Melayu and Ketuanan Islam". He has been unable to disabuse himself of this mindset. He also has a deluded sense of his own importance and relevance to Malaysian politics.

His politics have damaged Malaysia irreovocably. He supported Mahathir over Tengku Razaleigh in 1986 which would have spared Malaysia the atrocities of the Mahathir regime. He was Mahathir's loyal and willing poodle until he got too big for his boots and decided to challenge his Boss. He lost the battle and then for the first time in his political career talked about "Reformasi", a term he borrowed from Indonesia.

His past and present political actions have indicated that Anwar himself needs "Reforming". With his baggage, Anwar is simply not fit to lead a multi-racial and multi-religious coalition. With the Sodomy trials coming up which will drag on for years probably, this will be an unnecessary distraction for Pakatan which it can ill-afford if it wants to consolidate. As I said earlier, Anwar has wrecked Pakatan's chances in Sabah, so on this score alone he has disqualified himself to lead the Coalition unless Pakatan has already given up on 2013.

At this moment in time, I feel Zaid Ibrahim with his secular mindset and charisma is ideally suited to lead the multiracial and multireligious opposition coalition. It is a no brainer.

I rest my case. Sweet Dreams my darling DreamLady!

written by latihanQ, November 07, 2009 04:43:43
Nat,
what needs to be asked needs to be asked.
any possibility some may have lost their way?
what needs to be said have to be said to put them back on the straight and narrow.
written by Spear Bing, November 07, 2009 06:45:14
There goes PROARTE again - slamming and lashing out against DSAI on practically every article relating PKR and DSAI.

Any inkling whether this guy is an UMNO Cybertrooper in disguise?

MT blog is now full of this species lurking as sheeps in wolves clothings.
written by renoir, November 07, 2009 13:54:13
I'm truly humbled to read not only a fine article by Nat, but also the excellent arguments in nearly all the comments here. Hope I can extend those thoughts further. First, Nat's postulations.

> there would have been no tsunami to speak of if not for those who did step up, and for those who led them.]

True. No one could've predicted the tsunami, and credit must be given to those who took a chance - a slim one, in the minds of many then - at the ballot box. Most of these risk-takers were young and internet-savvy, so M-T and RPK and other bloggers played a very important role. Anwar too was part of this cyber offensive. In short, not only the people, the socio-political activitists, but also the new batch of politicians were responsible for the March 8 results.

> hesitate in criticising too harshly someone whose job I wouldn't be willing to take on myself...constructiveness be the hallmark of our criticism...we must always be mindful of identifying a practical (and I stress “practical”) road to improvement.]]

Very harsh criticism need not lack constructiveness nor be devoid of a "practical road to improvement." As truthbespoken puts it, "observers, commentators and writers...have to balance the soft soft approach as advocated...with some good-timing-hard-ball criticisms to drive in a message for an adverse situation of serious political implications and proportions." I would place the words and actions of some Selangor PAS extremists and that Kulim PKR MP among such "adverse situation."

> I do know we get the leaders we make.]]

True, and the leaders we make will only be better if their job is on the line - part of the "self-interest" that Nat has talked about.

>It is my belief that they (politicians) must be dealt with with full cognizance of personality dynamics, the baggage of the past, and the dark realities of politics.]]

I believe this is largely a subtle plea for the public to understand Anwar, and while Pro-Arte is logical in his dissection of Anwar's past behavior, the general attitude among Anwar's supporters is that there is such a thing as a reformed person. Nat has given additional reasons for supporting Anwar, which is the dearth of good leadership and "the dark realities of politics"(including the existence of a core group of Anwaristas?).

Whatever the case, Nat opined, these "are the cards we've been dealt, so we must play them as best we can — and we must play them to win." Thus, while "we should never lose sight of our ideals...we have nothing to gain by cutting the nose to spite the face."

Pro-Arte, I think, would argue that the ideal is already lost and "workable solutions" don't exist if we continue to have Anwar as our leader. Whether he (or his cyberlove DreamLady) is right or not, his stance reflects yet another divisive element within Pakatan supporters. I continue to think, however, that unless another viable Opposition leader (Zaid??) emerges, we have to stick with Anwar. But what happened in Sabah must certainly be rectified: get a local native to be that state's leader - or risk undermining the credibility of PKR. Intense dislike for UMNO's racism could wipe out PKR as well. And that would ensure a BN sweep in the next GE.

For the long term, it's not only the leadership but what Pakatan stands for that will determine the emergence of a solid two-party democracy. Every party needs an ideology. For UMNO it's capitalism moderated by corruption, cronyism, and nepotism. What does PKR stand for? "Justice," while a commendable quality, isn't an ideology. Here the Opposition could use more people like Syed Husin to chart the socio-economic waters for this country. Lacking a solid ideological base - and hence approach - was partly the reason for the KBP hoo-ha. Until the half-wit Blair took over, Labor tended to be more intellectually stimulating and progressive than most mainstream parties in Britain. Pakatan should aim for this role - a party for the working class and the thinking person.