Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow ROAD TO NOWHERE- update

ROAD TO NOWHERE- update PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 23:36

Antares agreed to follow them down to town in his own vehicle after they intimated that they would arrest him if he didn't agree.

By Mary Maguire

At around 9.30 tonight a police van arrived in Kg. Pertak and the officers asked my neighbour, Antares, to accompany them to the police station. Apparently an Orang Asli man named Rapi has made another police report that Antares has been obstructing his work.  He has obviously got a heavily invested interest in the road to nowhere going somewhere. This is the second time he's made such a report.

Antares agreed to follow them down to town in his own vehicle after they intimated that they would arrest him if he didn't agree.

Within minutes of Antares leaving three other police officers arrived outside my house. They wanted a chat about the minister's visit to the village tomorrow. Senator Murugiah is scheduled to pay a call on Antares tomorrow morning - he's apparently on a fact--finding tour after complaints about the illegality of the road to nowhere reached his desk. 

The police officers took down my particulars and asked me what I knew about the ministers visit. I told them what I knew, which isn't much, and suggested to them that this was a complete waste of police time as it is very clearly a political issue.  They didn't disagree!

Really what a load of nonsense...what is this country coming to when police come to your house at 10pm, especially over such a trite accusation - maybe they're scared of the sunlight!  They were definitely scared of the dogs that Antares and I keep, kinda spoils their macho image that's for sure. It's hard to be intimidated by anyone who cowers at the sight of a K9.

READ MORE HERE:

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by magickriver, November 06, 2009 01:42:44
Wow! My 15 minutes of "police harassment" fame. Can't let my buddies Zorro and Tian Chua hog all the limelight! Anyway, thanks for alerting The Entire Blogosphere. Good to know each time anyone of us gets harassed by the cops word will spread via SMS and the blogs within minutes. Anyway, I thought this guy Rapi Bata had lodged ANOTHER polis report against me. Turns out it was the same one that got me a Special Visit from the Special Branch last month. And here I was, thinking it was another case of NFA (surely I deserve the same courteous treatment as V.K. Lingam?). The fact that a deputy minister was coming on a fact-finding mission on Friday, 6 November, seems to have stirred up an entire termites nest of would-be land-grabbers and contract-receivers. An attractive female inspector was put on my case so I would have no resistance to being interrogated - and of course I didn't resist her questioning, since she was in turn pretty forthcoming with answering MY questions (except she refused to show me Rapi's report, as though it was top secret. "I can only tell you the contents, she said). Nothing new there: Rapi's complaint was that I was blocking his project and working with Mat Salleh NGOs to interfere with "development" projects for the Orang Asli. Heh heh. Nothing has changed since the Mahathir Era. That's right, all those Tree-Hugging Westerners jealous of Malaysia's success... So I told the Inspector that there are Mat Sallehs picnicking in Pertak almost every weekend and they all love the spot - naturally they would be disturbed at the sight of excavators and bulldozers tearing up the landscape. They probably think Malaysians are out of their minds to deliberately destroy something as precious and irreplaceable as the rainforest - all for a few (million) lousy ringgit. I was out of the cop shop in less than an hour and found a few friends waiting outside for me. Amazing how efficient The Digital Network actually is - and how helpful and caring friends can be. THANK YOU, EVERYONE WHO SENT AN SMS ASKING IF I WAS OKAY! Just remember, folks, those of us who bother reading MT every day and who believe this nation deserves a clean, trustworthy, fair-minded government after 50 years of gross mismanagement - WE ARE ALL OKAY! IT'S THOSE BETEMPURUNGED ONES WHO FEAR THE END OF EASY CONTRACTS AND NO-BID TENDERS (AND FOR SOME GAUDY BAUBLES ARE PREPARED TO LIVE DISHONEST LIVES) WHO ARE NOT OKAY smilies/cheesy.gif
written by SocratesI, November 06, 2009 02:09:17

The "Road to Nowhere" is a very apt description of the state Malaysia is in for the last 50 years and will continue on, in future if we do not get rid of the Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization and Barisan Najis scourge. We must continue to Fight & Vote for Justice, Equality, Freedom, Human Rights, and everything good, and we must continue fighting for one another to throw out these scoundrels !

Vote Out Barisan Najis ! Vote for a New Dawn, Vote for Pakatan Rakyat !
written by arazak, November 06, 2009 02:38:18
Mary,

Those cops are probably vampires. I hope that answer your puzzle why they turn up late at night. But unlike the vampires who suck blood, these vampires usually sucks ringgit out you. Sometimes while you are driving on a deserted road they will flag down your car and suck the ringgit out of you in lieu of the several hundred ringgit summons they always conjure with.

Come to think of it. . ., they are actually blood-suckers too!
written by JUST, November 06, 2009 05:42:45
Road to 0202 smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by JUST, November 06, 2009 05:54:31
A beautiful country surrounded by snakes and crocodiles smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by hellosunshine, November 06, 2009 09:01:44
If the umnoputra and bn abuses continue with the help of the corrupted enforcement agencies, the correct title should be 'Road to perdition'. Perdition means
1.a. Loss of the soul; eternal damnation.
b. Hell: "Him the Almighty Power/Hurl'd headlong . . . /To bottomless perdition, there to dwell" (John Milton).
2. Archaic Utter ruin. smilies/angry.gif
written by jaz, November 06, 2009 09:49:32
There is no one left to trust these days.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 06, 2009 15:49:39
hellosunshine, have u seen the movie aa? "Road To Perdition" starring Tom Hanks. Good movie lah.