Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow DAP questions RM394m reserved for toll payments

DAP questions RM394m reserved for toll payments PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 13:18
By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

The DAP is questioning the Budget 2010 allocation of RM394 million to compensate toll concessionaires for not raising toll rates, saying the government should renegotiate the contracts or take over the tolled highways.

Bukit Bendera MP Liew Chin Tong today noted the government had also paid RM180 million in 2009 and RM380 million in 2008 under the Works Ministry as similar compensation.

“It is crucial for the government to list the recipients of this huge amount of public funds and state why the budgeted amount for 2010 is more than double that for 2009, from RM180 million to RM394 million, though it was RM380 million in 2008,” Liew told reporters in Parliament.

He urged the government to rethink its approach towards toll concessionaires.

“While it is a populist move not to raise toll rates in 2008, the lopsided contracts between the government and the concessionaire mean that one way or the other the public is still paying for such daylight robbery,” he said.

Liew added that DAP had proposed that the government should renegotiate the “lopsided” contracts and privatised the highways.

READ MORE HERE:  http://www2.themalaysianinsider.com/

Comments (11)Add Comment
written by freerpk, November 05, 2009 13:31:50
The reason for the lop sided contract to toll operators are obvious to us. The companies running the highways are all related to the people walking the corridors fo power. How not to legally give them money??? After all the government has frequently reminded us especially before elections like on TV2 & TV3 , that this is a BN government. It is this BN government that is freely dispensing rakyat's hard earned money collected as taxes to Toll operators who are already making profits by the millions each year even without the government's compensation. That the BN government tells us is fair as it was written in their contracts smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by tino_chan1988, November 05, 2009 13:42:05
BS contract if you ask me.

It's my money and I demand that it is spend wisely and prudently, and not given to please some BN government cronies.

Although my voice may be insignificantly only one, it certainly will not stop my continuous lambast and questions about the present govenrment's poor governance and policies.
written by sydput, November 05, 2009 14:02:53
Malaysia is meant for the rich elites to rip off the rakyat.
The toll subsidies is only a small amount that the rich elites got. The cancellation of the crooked bridge was given RM300 million in compensation and provided with a contract to build a new straight flyover to the newly built CIQ.
But if a poor chap goes to IJN for a heart by-pass, he will have to fork out close to RM100k. No wonder the rakyat are dying by the roadside. The Government has neglected them.
written by mick_err_stan, November 05, 2009 14:03:13
A lopsided contract can only happen

a. Idiot negotiating the contract on behalf of the government
b. A hidden hand in place as compensation goes to cronies.

Everyday motorist on their way home cue-up to pay toll only to exit into a traffic jam which consume much petrol. Here our Government is compensating toll operators.......next GE, pls do the right thing.
written by yatchee, November 05, 2009 15:20:49
SORRY,REGARDING THE RE-REGISTER FOR EXISTING MEMBER,CAN SOMEONE TELL ME DO I HAVE TO BANK IN THE RM20 NOW ITSELF OR WAIT FOR FURTHER INSTRUCTION FROM MT.I HAVE BEEN TRYING TO SEND AN EMAIL TO MT BUT NOT SUCCESSFUL.THANKS VERY MUCH
written by my oumrie, November 05, 2009 15:33:10
@ yatchee: What re-register, what RM20? Are you sure its not a scam?
written by Angela Ooi, November 05, 2009 15:43:02
These BN sweetheart deals are unjust and mortally wounds our economy. Their UNHOLY GREED knows no bounds. They live luxuriously at our expense and I pray they live to reap and touch base with their bad karma soon.
written by clarity, November 05, 2009 18:37:35
That is the price the rakyat have to pay for keeping quiet. Where you you find Mca and Mic objecting to policies that hurt the common people? Just like the 50 bucks they suddenly feel like squeezing you for a credit card. No complaints what! So we keep on feeding the Umno ultras.
written by Aduh, November 05, 2009 18:49:59
It is robbery for concessionaires to get income from 2 different sources!!!

Don't allow a situation to reach a stage when NO ROAD USERS will bother to pay any toll.
written by educationist, November 05, 2009 19:31:22
Not much hope of any public disclosures!
All those are UMNOputras controlled companies - so surely the government will only be interested in paying out whatever sum demanded.
Rethink of the tolled highways concessionaries?
No way as long as the UMNOputras are in power!!
written by Kacang Tanah, November 05, 2009 19:42:09
WHo do you think the recipients are if not UMNO cronies including MCA and MIC? The money is trnasfer from left pocket (duit rakyat) into right pocket (UMNO pirates)through term called compensation.

Celaka UMNO! Bawalah duit itu bersama mu dan se isi keluarga ke neraka!