Kelantan prince wins defamation suit against Manohara PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 13:11

By Lisa Goh, The Star

The High Court has allowed Kelantan prince Tengku Temenggong of Kelantan Tengku Muhammad Fakhry Sultan Ismail Petra to enter a judgment in default against his estranged wife Manohara Odelia Pinot and her mother after they failed to engage new lawyers in his RM105mil defamation suit.

This means that Manohara and her mother, Daisy Fajarina, will have to pay Tengku Muhammad Fakhry for defaming him.

However, the amount of damages has yet to be ascertained by the court.

A judgment in default is a binding judgment in favour of the plaintiff when the defendant has not responded to a summons or has failed to appear before a court of law.

Speaking to reporters later, the prince’s counsel Mohd Haaziq Pillay said High Court senior assistant registrar Shazali Hidayat Shariff granted the order in his chambers Thursday after the mother and daughter failed to meet the deadline set for them to engage new lawyers.

Earlier this month, Messrs Fakrul Hisham Abdullah and Associates, engaged to act for Manohara and Daisy Fajarina, withdrew as their solicitors on record.

“The defendants have been given the opportunity to appear in court with evidence to support their allegations, but until today, they have not turned up.

“Money is not the issue for my client. This is about his dignity and reputation,” Mohd Haaziq said.

He added that the court would still have assess the amount for damages, which could be more or less than the RM105mil they were claiming “based on the plaintiff’s status.”

Manohara, 17, had fled from her husband on May 31 when they were in Singapore to visit the Sultan of Kelantan at the Mount Elizabeth Hospital.

She returned to Jakarta after accusing the 31-year-old prince of abusing her physically and sexually, which was reported widely in the Indonesian and Malaysian media.

In July, Tengku Muhammad Fakhry filed the suit against his estranged wife and her mother for defamation.

He is seeking RM35mil each in aggravated, exemplary and compensatory damages as well as costs, interest and other relief deemed fit by the court.

He is also applying for an injunction to restrain the defendants from further speaking and uttering similar words/ statements against him.

In his earlier statement of claim, Tengku Muhammad Fakhry said the defamatory words widely printed and circulated online in Malaysia and Indonesia implied that he was guilty of mistreating, sexually harassing, abducting and unlawfully confining Manohara.

The allegations, he said, were baseless and meant to disparage him in the eyes of the members of the royalty, the Government and the public.

Due to this, he said he was forced to initiate legal proceedings to clear his name.

On July 5, Tengku Muhammad Fakhry filed two applications against Manohara at the Syariah High and Lower Courts in Kota Baru, demanding the return of a loan of about RM1mil and also that she stays loyal to him.

According to the prince, the couple had married on Aug 26, 2008 and stayed together at the Mahkota Palace in Kubang Kerian.

At the lower Syariah court, the prince claimed that he had issued an ultimatum to Manohara on June 26, through the local media, to reconcile with him by July 2. He said Manohara was informed of this via the media but she failed to comply.

He later asked the court to issue an order to reconcile or deem her to be nusyuz.

(Nusyuz is the refusal of a wife to obey her husband in instances such as wilfully distancing herself from her husband, leaving the house without permission or refusing to relocate/ stay with her husband without valid reason(s) as prescribed under Islamic law.)

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by MSIABOLEH, November 05, 2009 13:22:55
Kalau betul-betul berani dan benar, pergilah SAMAN di Jakarta, Indonesia. Bukannya tak tau Kehakiman Malaysia TAK BOLEH PAKAI!!!
agree 133
written by KingSolomon, November 05, 2009 13:32:42
Wonder what is the deal between the Kelantan prince and Manohara's lawyer. Last minute withdrawal - a sell-out! This case will surely invite the wrath of Indonesians. Let's hope the Indons will target the authorities and leave the citizens alone.
written by Nunudada, November 05, 2009 13:34:16
What if an indonesian court metes out a jail sentance and lashings to the prince for perverted behaviour.Will he accept the punishment and proceed to the country (under protection of course)to receive his dues.
written by freerpk, November 05, 2009 13:39:40
Since both parties are Muslim, shouldn't the case be heard in Sharia court instead of the High Court????
written by Counterpointer, November 05, 2009 13:57:05
My middle finger salute goes to all the Rich and Powerful in Malaysia who enjoys the fact that the law here can't touch them.
written by OVERLORD, November 05, 2009 14:01:21
Smells like a rat to me......empress dowager, aka mommy, bailed his son out on this one....stroke of genius....no lawyer, no problem!
written by Dragon888, November 05, 2009 16:04:45
smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
This f..... must be made of diamonds. How can he asks his ex-wife such a large sum of damages. Fat hope he gets paid. The Indonesian court is going to give him the same judgement.. Do you really think that this guy is cleaned when he raped his wife when she was below 16....????
written by apanama, November 05, 2009 16:24:03
MR PILLAY MUST BE HAPPY WAITING FOR HIS FEES.
written by Ken Liew, November 05, 2009 16:41:31
Sooner or later, Robbers can sue the robed upon any injury. Car thieves can sue the car owner of the brake issue tat cause him to had an accident. Raper can sue the victim of hitting his bottom.

Now thats a Malaysia Boleh LAW~~!
written by SamSan, November 05, 2009 16:58:32
Manohara and her mother now will have to initiate criminal proceedings in Indonesia and press the Indonesian Police to investigate the torture and brutal acts claimed by Manohara. Indonesia is a much more powerful and truly biggest Islamic country compared to Malaysia and once Manohara and her mother is able to garner indonesian public sympathy and given the inhumane treatment of Indonesians in general, in Malaysia, can set into motion the criminal trial in Indonesia.
written by Nixcloud, November 05, 2009 17:52:16
Malaysia Tak Boleh! What do u expect the court to find? The judges are paid by the royal family.
written by Sutha, November 05, 2009 17:52:17
Manohara and Daisy would not mind walking the streets to repay sadist almost ex-husband. It is much more noble thing to do than Manohara remaining a princess under breasts-scapelling LOOONATIK!
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2009 19:26:03
HEY GUYS.... U FORGOT THAT THE CHIEF OF THE JUDGES IS NOW A SULTAN... ha ha ha

so how do u expect when a court case involves the royalty? ha ha ha

ha ha ha ha

correct correct correct..

biggest shame to be seen by the world at large..

Sultans sons are born rapost becos they are the descendants of pirates and robbers.

most of them used to conduct raiding parties to enslave other communities and rape all the women....

So it is still in their culture even in the modern world.

the pirates in the philipines and these sultans are all inter related
written by Vivarium, November 05, 2009 19:38:37
It is akin to a rapist sueing a rape victim for not allowing him to rape her further.
I think that bustard is anticipating a claim on half of his assets by Manohara if their continued separation will one day result in a legal divorce. If that really happens, it is matter of off-setting of mutual claims.
I wonder if he dares step foot on Indonesian soil from now.
written by fireduck, November 05, 2009 19:49:15
Did we expect any other decision here? Come on, this is Malaysia! Malaysia Boleh, remember?

That's how much faith we have in our judicial system. We are so screwed. Perhaps they can now confidently amend all official reference from the Judiciary to Injudiciary .... and be proud of it, because only in Malaysia. Malaysia Boleh!
written by storm62, November 05, 2009 20:09:27
Most criminals in Malaysia are hiding inside the palaces or putrajaya.....poor Malaysians will be jailed or sent to Kamunting! what a screwed up country!
written by Ghifarix, November 05, 2009 20:22:50
Thamby Chik won also and his victim got maligned incarcerated then banished into oblivion, you think only RPK smart enough to stay away. Small gain now; Rest assured ALLAH is the final judge.
written by InEffective, November 05, 2009 21:20:19

If i was Manohara, i also won't waste my time with Malaysian justice system.

Our bunch of quack judges will do their poodle tricks for politicians and royalty.
written by Msian Idol3, November 05, 2009 23:07:04
To have abuse his wife with all the scars & yet have bloody guts to cite defamation & his longkang image. Hey, all things were said by youe ex & mother inlaw was done in Indonesia not in Malaysia. So why not sue in Indonesia? Just proof what kind of idiot & abuser you are TemenggonG. You would probably be arrested immediately if you dare to step foot into Indonesia.
written by KingSolomon, November 05, 2009 23:12:01
The Indon judiciary is better than the Malaysian one. But the Malaysian legal systems are better. If you want to whack your rival physically, bring him or her to the sharia court and go for caning. If you want to whack money out of your rival, bring him/her to the civil court. The catch is you must be a muslim to whack another muslim in a court of your fancy.