Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow Arresting Asri an act of injustice

Arresting Asri an act of injustice PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 11:09

THE arrest of former Perlis Mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin raises disturbing questions:

Isn't it unjust to arrest a person and take him [or her] to court while investigations on him [or her] are still ongoing?

Doesn't this smack of arbitrariness and high-handedness, and doesn't it erode established judicial norms and the rule of law?

Wasn't the deployment of an extraordinarily large number of JAIS (Selangor Religious Affairs Department) staff and police personnel a show of force tantamount to abuse of power?

Since Asri has been giving talks in Selangor and elsewhere for a while now, what was the reason for arresting him at this point?

Was the arrest a well-orchestrated move by certain religious authorities, backed by some Muslim non-governmental organisations (NGOs), to dissuade the federal government from going ahead with the appointment of Asri as the new head of a potentially influential Islamic dakwah foundation, Yadim?

If this was the motive, doesn't it show that there are religious institutions and groups in the country that are intolerant of views on Islam which are different from theirs, however humane and rational some of these views may be, and however well grounded they are in the Qur'an?

Isn't such intolerance a betrayal of the respect for differences of opinion, and for dissent, embodied in Quranic thought and in the practice of the Prophet?

It is important to ask these questions. Asri's crude and coarse treatment echoes the authoritarianism of certain groups in other parts of the Muslim world, which has led to tension and conflict. This is why any attempt by any group to monopolise religion and marginalise alternative voices should be checked immediately.

It was one of the causes of the closing of the Muslim mind in past centuries, and was partly responsible for the decline of Islamic civilisation.

Dr Chandra Muzaffar
President
International Movement for a Just World (JUST)
Petaling Jaya

written by R Hum, November 05, 2009 11:16:39
Who are you to comment when you make statements about Anwar's to the press, knowing that Anwar has no opportunity to respond to you.

Are you a Moslem.? What type please.
written by Richfyf, November 05, 2009 11:20:17
In the words of Tok Guru Nik Aziz..... PLASTIC TYPE lah!!!
written by R Hum, November 05, 2009 11:20:31
President for a Movement of a Just World?. OMG. A just world cannot be promoted from someone from Bolehland, as the temptation to get rich , by whatever mean is too strong.
written by asguard, November 05, 2009 11:20:43
Please ask UMNO run JAIS for answer... if you wanted to know.. and selangor has nothing to do with it! Just ask umno infest jais... and they will tell you the answer!
written by Al Ambia, November 05, 2009 11:20:49
In Malaysia,everything is possible.Guilty till provent innocent.And furthermore,this is also to show how efficient(or too free) our enforcement are.Malaysia boleh!
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 05, 2009 11:21:00
Alas, the majority of the Muslims in Malaysia ( and the Muslim world) are conservatives. Should they be fundamentals or progressives the issue will not arise.
written by arazak, November 05, 2009 11:28:14
“This man of convenient memory also attacked Parti Keadilan and Anwar Ibrahim upon his resignation from the party whilst Anwar was languishing and unable to defend himself. What sort of man is one that attacks another who is unable to mount a defence?”

(Source: MT, CHANDRA MUZAFFAR: A PROPAGANDIST TO SMEAR ANWAR IBRAHIM?
http://mt.m2day.org/2008/content/view/4820/1/)
------------------------------------------------------------------------

Agreed with R Hum

Dr. Chandra,
Please do not comment about morale decency if you are one of them. . .!
It makes us pukeing!
written by SocratesI, November 05, 2009 11:34:33

Chandra is acting funny ... since when was he the one to stand up and be counted against Barisan Najis ... he must be doing this now to try to regain his public standing. Has no one told him that he has already lost ALL credibility, and whatever comment he makes now is only fit for the cess pool, heck ... deosn't he live in one ?!!
written by Bloodhound, November 05, 2009 12:02:09
Goodness Gracious,.....see what happens when you no longer has any credibility left! Nobody's even commenting on his article.
written by cancer5330, November 05, 2009 12:02:16
Mr.Chandra,
No one take heed of your comment as long as you have a double standard attitude . My respect for you have long been gone .
written by ROSSONERI, November 05, 2009 12:40:53
whatever your word cannot bring back the people's trust on you Chandra...Agreed with cancer5330 -
written by blackpea, November 05, 2009 13:23:10
Chandra please remember you are a mamak, you are not qualified to talk about Malay muslim affairs, so please shut up.
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 14:51:52
"An act of injustice" sounds a lot different from "A heinous plot to harm him" doesn't it?
written by KingSolomon, November 05, 2009 23:14:33
Dr Chandra Mamak, President, International Movement for a Jais World
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 06, 2009 01:33:12
We understand an arrest. But 50 fellows to arrest one guy...surely it goes to show how important and strong this guy is..and the fear he may use black magic on them and make them all like pigs..As you can see after bringing them to court the Jais.Jakim amd Jakun lawyers fear that they will be zombied by bomohs and black magic...which is a common practice among MUslims here..
Chandra Muzafar..you may need some black magic..to come back to politics...