Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Dr M oversaw PKFZ land valuation

Dr M oversaw PKFZ land valuation PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 10:48

By Asrul Hadi Abdullah Sani, The Malaysian Insider

KUALA LUMPUR: Former transport minister Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik appeared to pass the buck over the costing and valuation of the Port Klang Free Trade Zone (PKFZ) land to his former boss, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

In the verbatim of the Public Accounts Committee’s (PAC) meeting procedures released yesterday, Ling said his ministry could only “state the fact that we wanted the land.”

However, Ling pointed out that the costing and valuation of the land was determined by the Valuation and Property Services Department (JPPH) which was chaired by former prime minister and finance minister, Dr Mahathir.

“Our job in Ministry of Transport is to only state the fact that we want the land. Costings, valuations and all that, it is not the function of the Ministry of Transport. We do not have a Valuation Department.

“Costings and valuations is a question for the Treasury to deal with. They have the Valuation Department and everything is there, not in Ministry of Transport. I think Tun Dr Mahathir who chaired it, and he was the Finance Minister also. He saw it very clearly. That was the fact of the case,” he said in the verbatim.

Dr Mahathir has remained relatively silent on the scandal which could cost taxpayers RM12.453 billion.

The PAC recommended yesterday that former transport minister Datuk Seri Chan Kong Choy and former Port Klang Authority (PKA) general manager Datin Paduka OC Phang be investigated for criminal breach of trust in the PKFZ scandal.

PAC reported that the government would have spent RM442.13 and saved RM645.87 million if the land had been acquired for PKFZ in accordance with the Land Acquisition Act 1960.

It also reported that the cost of the land was RM47.76 per square foot, or 67 per cent higher than the RM25 fixed by the JPPH.

The 405ha PKFZ transhipment hub, which has warehouses, office blocks and a four-star hotel, has been dogged by controversy ever since it was revealed that its original development cost had ballooned from less than RM2.5 billion to up to RM4.6 billion.

There were also questions about the possible kickbacks after it was disclosed that several individuals acquired the piece of land where the PKFZ now sits at RM3 per sq ft in 1999.

Dr Mahathir had said that he heard that the project was being plagued by problems but claimed that nobody reported to him of any wrongdoing.

PKFZ ran into further problems when the management company, Jebel Ali Free Zone International, terminated its contract in 2007.

Chan was dropped as Barisan Nasional candidate for the last general election and subsequently lost his job largely due to the way the PKFZ debacle was handled.

PriceWaterhouseCoopers (PwC) also reported that the project outlay of RM4.947 billion will go up to RM7.453 billion due to interest payments and Port Klang Authority (PKA) must restructure the loan or it will balloon to RM12.453 billion by 2051.

Comments (32)Add Comment
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 10:51:45
More and more interesting!
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 10:54:05
The devil's hand is slowly coming into focus.
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2009 10:54:35
Now what!! Our high and mighty Mahathir' name is dragged into the mud?? It would not be easy this time for him to wiggle himself out from the quicksand!!
written by Waif, November 05, 2009 10:59:16
These idiot thinks that paper can wraps fire.
written by magickriver, November 05, 2009 11:10:35
The root of all evil in Malaysia has a name: Mahathir Mohamad. Police brutality? He condoned and promoted it. Judicial rot. He plotted and planned it. Bigoted and arrogant bureaucracy? He installed and indoctrinated it. Wealth-depleting mega-projects? He initiated, oversaw and made money from them all. Castrated and muzzled media? He cut off their balls and gagged them all. Doublespeak and doublethink in parliament? He trained all the BN ministers to talk absolute cock. Self-serving cynicism, moral degradation and hypocrisy? He embodies these despicable traits of a Third World tinpot despot. And some call him Tun and kiss his toes. Yeeccccch.
agree 196
written by Hanif07, November 05, 2009 11:11:20
Let face the facts...
To all right minded sensible rakyat Malaysia..we, all along know that Dr M was aware and knew the going on of the PKFZ project from day one.Its an 'open secret'.Period !!
agree 117
written by arazak, November 05, 2009 11:12:57
Eventually, we will see the real "penyamun" who had robbed the peoples' money!
written by burmen, November 05, 2009 11:19:32
LLS, please tell something new; TDM being involved is old news to us, we knew it all along. And please do not forget too, Sleepy Head?, Mr C4?

But the sad thing is, now that you've opened up the can of dirty worms, what's going to happen? Like the BMF & Perwaja scandals, these cases will drag on & on & on & on and over time it will swept under the carpet and nothing will happen as they will all live happily ever after!
written by Xerxes, November 05, 2009 11:19:56
".... Tun Dr Ling Liong Sik appeared to pass the buck over the costing and valuation of the Port Klang Free Trade Zone (PKFZ) land to his former boss, Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad....."

Uh! Oh! Guaranteed PKFZ will now be covered up. Was the super Task Force decided upon and appointed soon after Ling gave his testimony at the PAC? If so, then the super Task Force is not a coincidence.
written by SCM, November 05, 2009 11:23:22
Asrul,

Thanks for the report but it's no surprise at all. If we were to dig up all mega corruption in Malaysia, it will all end up at Mahathir's house. He is the FOC of Malaysia, i.e. Father of Corruption (and Racism) and should be charged for crime against humanity.
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 05, 2009 11:23:57
Who's behind the Perwaja's scandal? The case was buried with Eric Chia ( was it cremated?) and the real culprit is roaming wide.
written by Midvalley, November 05, 2009 11:26:35
How can a wiggy dog called MCA has the power to approve and shared the billions of rakyats' HARD EARNED RINGGIT form the PKTZ there are just the fall party make used by their master UMNO.
written by SocratesI, November 05, 2009 11:28:44

The fact of the matter was Ding-a-Ling Liong Sicko didn't know how much Maha-ShitHead wanted to plunder, and left it to him to decide his margin of plunder. Of course the lion's share went to Maha-ShitHead, and the rest was shared, too, amongst Sicko, Chan Kong Choy, and other UMNO Running Dogs.

Just put all these b@st@rds lined up against a wall and have the firing squad do its job, and fire into their guts, which will be a slow and painful death for them befitting of what they have done to Malaysia.
written by Chan Ching, November 05, 2009 11:39:51
The blame game started and the end ALL are innocent
And the ordinary Malaysians are the suckers!!!
The bastards laughing to the banks!!!
This is 1Malayssia Boleh!!!
written by Bigjoe99, November 05, 2009 11:47:21
Oh come on. This kind of exucse are just pathetic. Please stop the lame excuses. All these lame excuses, it just so telling that Najib is THE EXCUSE ADMINISTRATION.. All of them are doing it. The lamest and worst excuses. Najib is worst excuse of leadership I have ever seen. ITS PATHETIC.
written by billykbk, November 05, 2009 12:48:42
Now what!! Our high and mighty Mahathir' name is dragged into the mud?? It would not be easy this time for him to wiggle himself out from the quicksand

Who says TDM is high & mighty? Only the dumbs & fools say so. I view him with so much contempt that even if I die today, I carry so much anger that maybe when I'm reborn, I will be an animal. Seeing him with the smirk on his face makes my blood boil. If granted, I will definitely make him pay now and hereafter. Shit!
written by Goodbites, November 05, 2009 13:09:51
You mean all the corruption can be traced back to one source! Wow!
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 05, 2009 13:10:52
DreamLady, u know his standard answer lah. "I don't remember". He will pretend to be senile on this subject(as he did in the V.K. Lingam inquiry) and maybe point his finger at Samy Velu, who will the blane God for it. U know Samy's favourite line right? "Act of God". And Najib will then increase whatever tax and ceate new taxes to make more money out of it, and in the end we the rakyat will be royally screwed, sadly. What a life. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Taikohtai, November 05, 2009 13:32:58
TDM, TDM, so you think you can get away scot free eh? Now even your most trusted minister is pointing the finger straight at you! You know they are a bunch of sissies yet when they know you are old and fragile, they will only want to save their own skin! So unlike DSAI whom you should have trusted and until today, refused to say a bad word directly in your direction.
TDM should have retired like Singapore's senior minister LKY and let DSAI handled the last financial crisis. Now things are just getting shittier and shittier and you will die a disappointed man with all daggers coming at you from all directions. May your Allah........oooppps, I am not even allowed to mention this word now, help you!
written by kampongmali, November 05, 2009 13:40:44
WE ARE SCREWED AGAIN GUYS...........THIS IS WHAT WE GO THROUGH AGAIN AND AGAIN IN MALAYSIA....CHOOSE BN AGAIN TO SCREW US MORE...IDIOTS
written by allmenarebrothers, November 05, 2009 14:00:45
Both gui;ty as charged. One the "brains" the other the executor who is just as guilty for abetment.
One look at their crooked faces you would know how devious & cunning both of them are.
No wonder both are suffering gravely for a very long time & more suffering to come because it is divine justice for the evil they had inflicted on the nation.
written by MSIABOLEH, November 05, 2009 14:12:36
"Dr Mahathir has remained relatively silent on the scandal which could cost taxpayers RM12.453 billion"

Isn't it strange? He rarely remained silent unless there's something to hide?
written by adan, November 05, 2009 15:09:49
BELIEVE IT OR NOT ??

BILLIONS INVOLVED AND THE 'FATHER OF CORRUPTION' NOT INVOLVED ????
written by Littlebird, November 05, 2009 15:14:29
advocatusdiaboli,

For Samy, Mahathir is like god to him. So all this while he was telling the truth.
written by Littlebird, November 05, 2009 15:15:11
advocatusdiaboli,

For Samy, Mahathir is like god to him. So all this while he was telling the truth when he said "Act of God".
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 05, 2009 16:04:43
Littlebird, yeah, God of Robbers. smilies/grin.gif
written by philip25, November 05, 2009 16:17:08
This mamak who writes so beautifully today is now slowly being exposed as the biggest culprit who took us down the slippery road and wasted billions of the peoples money. The sh## is slowly flying up and soon going to hit his face between the eyes.
written by aplus, November 05, 2009 16:53:49
Where the fcuk is this country heading to? RM12b, RM28b and God knows how much more have disappeared into the thin air like a wisp of smoke, and yet nonchalantly nobody knows who are responsible?

If the government does not get their act together on this, it would clearly show its inability to govern. It is failing to uphold one of the basic principles of governance: accountability.

It also means this government handling of corruption is getting out of control. How could they handle corruption if they themselves are corrupt?

It's about time that this present government admits that they are fcuked up big time. The rakyat is sick and tired of this irresponsible government.

Why don't you all fcuk off for a change.

written by 1351, November 05, 2009 17:43:43
It is no surprise the most evil of hands is involved. We rue the day Iskandar Kutty violated mother of Mahathir Muhammed, exercised his manhood on the poor woman and out came pure evil 9 months down the line.

It is unfortunate majority of the Malay heartland remain ignorant to the damage this man has caused but as sure as there is the notion of heaven and hell, history will not treat the devil personified too kindly.

Mampus UMNO and long live the old man. None of us take pleasure in running you down but fight we all must and try throw you behind bars.

written by cheekhiaw, November 05, 2009 19:53:20
The Father of All Malaysian thieves oversaw the thievery, so I am not a thief... says the thief

written by JUST, November 05, 2009 21:10:00
Snakes And Crocodiles Farm smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Path Fighter To truth, November 05, 2009 21:57:34
The present history of corruption and coverup is done in the hands of that person who rules for 22 years.
What has he done for the country.? Everything is expensive in Malaysia.
I wont be suprised that we lose to Vietnam and even Laos in another 5 years