Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Weed out racists, not ignore them

Weed out racists, not ignore them PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 09:39

By M. Veera Pandiyan (The Star)

Racist remarks should not be swept under the carpet, as this can only result in the entire party sharing the blame and bearing the consequences.

LET’S face it: most people have inherent racist thoughts, leanings or prejudices.

It’s part of being human. The propensity to defend one’s own ethnic group and regard it as something special is quite natural everywhere in the world.

It can be argued that the tendency to keep within the confines of our own tribes and ethnic groups has contributed to the success of human survival in evolutionary history.

But as races, humans have not only harboured prejudice or discrimination against each other but also resorted to killing and enslavement. Of course, that was all in the past. Or so we like to believe.

Today, as civilised people, we are expected to accept the diversity of races, cultures and religions.

Racism is taboo in the modern world, more so if it is linked with leadership. Sure, racism still lurks in the minds of some people, but it is not a big concern if it just stays there.

However, it is definitely a serious issue when racist thoughts and arguments are made publicly, like it happens so often here in Malaysia, particularly from politicians of a party that is the lynchpin of the ruling coalition.

Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak said on Sunday that racist comments from “one or two Umno leaders” should be ignored because the majority of members in the party were not racists.

The Prime Minister and Umno president stressed that the party’s policies had always been fair, inclusive and open.

“Umno is not a racist party. From the beginning, we have always wanted a multiracial society. Don’t listen to one or two leaders’ talk.

“All parties have leaders like that. Look at our policies from day one,” he said when opening the Gerakan national delegates’ conference.

It’s true that many parties have leaders like that, both within the Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat.

One prominent glib-tongued one has long mastered the art of saying one thing to supporters who are of his race and religion, and another to racially mixed crowds.

I still remember the old days when he was in a very powerful position. He would bluntly tell reporters covering his event: “What I said in my speech was only meant for the Malay media. Others need not report (it).”

But I digress. The point is, racist politicians should neither be disregarded nor ignored.

Their remarks should not be swept under the carpet, as this can only result in the entire party sharing the blame and bearing the repercussions.

Whether or not there are one or several such politicians in a party, they should be censured quickly and made to apologise publicly.

Like people elsewhere, Malaysians expect people in positions of leadership to hold themselves to higher standards of behaviour.

It’s obvious that all parties must set clear indicators of acceptable behaviour. If any leader steps over the limit, he or she must be punished and, more importantly, be seen to be punished.

How can they stop making racist comments? Expanding the mind through reading might help, but if time is the excuse, I would recommend this educational website: www.ehow.com

The seven steps suggested here – http://www.ehow.com/how_2271156_stop-making-racist-comments.html – could be useful pointers:

> Consider how hurtful it is when someone makes a mean or rude comment about you. The same way those comments make you feel angry, hurt or embarrassed is the same way your racist comments make someone of that race feel.

> Think before you speak. Take two to five seconds to consider how someone might take your words offensively before you say something. This pause can give you the time to word your thoughts in a considerate way.

This can be the difference between saying a racist comment and opening a positive dialogue between different races.

> Choose good friends. The old saying, “birds of a feather flock together,” is quite true. If all of your friends are constantly making racist comments, this will influence your thoughts and behaviour.

Try talking to your friends about why it’s harmful to make racist comments, but, if they continue, it may be time to find different friends.

> Get some history books and read about the long-term consequences of racism. Hatred and discrimination against people simply due to the colour of their skin or their ethnic origin has been the cause of great poverty, wars and even death.

Whether one is the oppressor or the oppressed, there are grave consequences that both sides eventually have to deal with because of the hatred.

> Stop stereotyping people based on their race. Every person is an individual and does not fit into one category simply because their skin looks the same.

If someone of your race committed a murder, you wouldn’t want to be convicted of their crime simply because their skin matched yours.

When you stereotype based on race, it’s just like convicting someone of a crime they didn’t commit.

> Know that all races have good and bad people. Every race has people who have suffered due to racism and every race has people who are racist.

Accept that there is no superior race and all people are created equal. Base your judgments of others on their character and behaviour, not their race.

> Learn about other cultures. Often, it is ignorance of other cultures or a person’s upbringing that causes him to make racist comments.

As you start to look at people of other races as someone’s mother, father or sister who struggles, cries and has dreams just like you, you might even find a new best friend of a different race.

Associate Editor M. Veera Pandiyan likes this quote from lawyer and political activist Florynce R. Kennedy: There aren’t too many people ready to die for racism. They’ll kill for racism but they won’t die for racism.

written by batsman, November 05, 2009 09:55:51
Start with those in the UMNO supreme council.
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 10:00:24
Follow up with MCA and MIC
written by allmenarebrothers, November 05, 2009 10:06:37
Dear Veera
Please let us know whether the true reason why President Obama will by-pass Malaysia & visit only Indonesia & Singapore among the South East countries is that he is gravely outraged by the racism practised here? If affirmative then it can be argued that President Obama too is ignoring the racists many of whom meet from time to time in the buidling next to Seri Pacific Hotel in Jalan Putra Off Jalan Chow Kit.
One don't need to be a rocket scientist to know the answer. Just a little bit of grey matter will do?
written by DreamLady, November 05, 2009 10:10:53
Racist is someone whose head needs to be examined by the psychiatrist; Racist is insecure within and with-out; Racist carries an oversized ego; Racist's world is in the comfort zone of a coconut shell; Racist is sombong bodoh; Racist is dogmatic; Racist is an advanced cancerous disease; Racist is a living dead...etc, all in all, RACIST is a HELLISH!!!!
written by educationist, November 05, 2009 10:14:26
There may yet be some saving grace to The Star!
Well said, Veera!
written by hellosunshine, November 05, 2009 10:37:00
Hello allmenarebrothers, here is the reason why. From an email that's going round.
The reason is he is learning from George W Bush!

In November 2006, President George W Bush is about to visit several Asian
countries including Indonesia and Singapore.

Bush: Well Condi, is there anything you need from Singapore that I can
pick up for you while I am there next month?

Rice: That's very kind of you, Mr President, but no, there's really
nothing I need right now from there. But Laura will certainly enjoy the
shopping there, sir.

Bush: Ah yes, she's been talking about it. Lee's wife has promised to take
her shopping at the newly opened Vivocity.

Rice: I'm sure she'll enjoy a trip to Sentosa too. Especially now, that
the haze from Indonesia has more or less lifted. Talking of which, you're
going to Indonesia too, aren't you sir?

Bush: Yes I am, and while I'm with the Indonesian President, Laura will
visit Acheh and give away a cheque to the tsunami victims.

Rice: How sweet. Would you be dropping by Malai Shia, sir?

Bush: Naw, giving them a miss.

Rice: Don't blame you sir, they have some rough motor cyclists there. Call
themselves "Mad Ram Piss" or something. They think they're the Asian
equivalent of our Knievel. They would certainly scare Laura to death.

Bush: Nah, Laura is made of sterner stuff. But that's not the reason why
we're not going to Malai Shia, Condi.

Rice: Oh. Then it must be their traffic jams. They even have monorails
that run off the tracks and dangle in mid-air. And highway pillars that
crack.

Bush: Really? Incompetent, that's all I can say. But no, that's not the
reason why we're skipping Malai Shia either.

Rice: Oh I know. You don't want to distract the Prime Minister right now,
do you? Heard he's getting some shitty stuff from his predecessor telling
him off like a kid.

Bush: If Clinton did that to me, I'd personally throw him off an F-16. But
no, that's also not the reason why we're skipping Malai Shia.

Rice: Must be the floods then, sir? It's the monsoon season now and it
floods bad after just two hours of rain. Landslides too; bring down houses
but then people there build 4-storey bungalows without approval.

Bush: Naw, the rain wouldn't bother us. That's also not the reason for not
going there.

Rice: I give up. Why are you visiting Indonesia and Singapore, and yet not
go to Malai Shia, Mr President?

Bush: The reason, Dr Rice, is that I don't want their Religious Department
people banging on our hotel room door in the middle of the night,
demanding to see our marriage certificate. Now THAT would scare the hell
out of Laura!
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 05, 2009 11:11:58
It's the truth. There are racists in BN and even PR and it should be corrected thus: The racists in UMNO is the majority. Do we just ignore them? I think they should be weeded out.
written by asguard, November 05, 2009 11:22:11
Where is concern ...umno is biggest devil of racists party members!
written by 98PercentPrimate, November 05, 2009 11:26:28
Good article.
written by Devoe, November 05, 2009 16:22:17
Racist happens each and everyday.Even within ourself,we always make comparison.It's normal but I think it is getting serious.I'm damn disappointed worried about this.
written by Taiping60, November 05, 2009 20:26:38
We can only get rid of racism if we get to the root cause of it. The root cause of racism in the political practices in Malaysia. Firstly, most of the politicaly parties are racial based. This means if a politician want to go up the leadership ladder, he has to be seen fighting for his race regardless of whether he like it or not. If he is neutral, he will not stand a chance. The most obvious are leadership from the leading racial base politic party namely UMNO. Even their current President who call for 1Malaysia were once seen to be extremist. He was very racist then and as a result of that, he gain support from his party.

So as long as this country still condone racial political parties, racists will still be around to haunt us. The only way Malaysians can send a strong signal to the government of our preference is to only vote in leaders who are no racist. Make sure racist politicians are retired for good as we cannot depend on the government to do something about it. They have not been doing anything for more than 50 years, what make you think they will now?
written by Ghifarix, November 05, 2009 20:57:35
To cut a long story short Dis-band the PARTY, you did not have to write such a long article to say so, M. Veera Pandiyan (The Star).
written by jaz, November 06, 2009 08:24:58
Only the Chinese and Indians feel the pain of racism. The Malays ignored them because it does not affect them (Not negatively anyway) They think they deserved the benefits befitting the Bumi-puteras. The rest of us should go back to where we came from. Actually, they are just like us, they came here and take the lands of the natives and claimed it as their own, and insist that they are treated like the owners of the Tanah Melayu. Hypocrites who denied their roots.
written by jaz, November 06, 2009 08:33:13
In order to weed out racists. We must first disband all racial parties. The people are not the cause of racism. It's the government, and all politicians. They are the one who played the race and religion card, all for the sake of politicking. It is because of MIC, MCA, UMNO... If they really wanted to weed out racism, they would have demolish all these parties and unite as one. Other wise, 1 Malaysia is a mission impossible to trick the people.

What is the purpose of 1 Malaysia? Unity of all races? Equal treatment for all races. I think its suppose to tell us Chinese and Indians to accept and tolerate the Malays for getting all the benefits. 1 Malaysia is definitely about tolerance. We tolerate them.