Nizar enters final lap in race for Perak PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 09:37

(The Malaysian Insider) IPOH, Nov 5 — It is judgment day today for Perak as former Mentri Besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin enters the final leg of his legal battle that could well turn the state's entire political imbroglio upside down.

His fate now lies in the hands of the few who would man the Federal Court Bench when his appeal over the Mentri Besar's post is brought before the court.

But Nizar wants a hand in determining his own fate too and has appealed to the apex court, by way of motion, for a full 11-man panel for his hearing.

In his application, Nizar has made one prayer — that justice is upheld and that the full Bench would be empanelled to at least give an impression of impartiality.

The motion will be heard in court at 9.30am today before the appeal proper and will likely be argued by former Bar Council president Datuk S. Ambiga.

Read more at: Nizar enters final lap in race for Perak

written by asguard, November 05, 2009 09:43:17
Well, we know...on which does judiciary will side on...! To everyone guess is that idiot zam -zam! But just hope for the best..for nizar... please pray for him to win..the court case battle!
written by ONGJJJ, November 05, 2009 09:55:59
It would be preferable just to engage 11 English teachers to interpret the plain meaning of Articles 16 & 32. No need to go through this charade even with 11 lawlords with the quality (perceived or otherwise) of the Judiciary today. We know the verdict already. Let's save some trees for we know in writing their judgements, which is going to be more convoluted than that of the Appeal Court, would merely succeed in adding to the number of words in the world, rather than adding anything of significance.
However, it's my prayer or rather the Rakyat's prayer that divine intervention will prick the conscience of the law lords to dispense Justice conscionably. Give back the mandate to the Rakyat.
written by shamadz72, November 05, 2009 09:56:46
Today is the day where we will know whether Sultan or Agong can at his whim decides who command the majority of the assembly but simply meeting with some of them outside the assembly. So in future, we probably see our country fate on who govern us will be decided over a cup of tea between this rulers during their yumcha session.

I propose we just storm the Bastille and take over back this country! smilies/smiley.gif

written by DreamLady, November 05, 2009 09:58:33
It would be a miracle indeed if the judges' decision is in favour of Nizar. As a matter of fact, they usually are being well-fed with CARROTS before they come to the court and are instructed to abide by the power that-be to act according to his command!! Nothing is news other than the old stale news!!!
written by KangrooCourt, November 05, 2009 10:15:49
Based on the past experienced, we will lose for sure. Sure the "Barisan Najis" will use all means to make sure their "Mamak" will stay on to the power....

Hope we will have some miracle for Nizar & Gangs.
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 10:23:36
What race? Zambry's at the finish line having his nails polished. What we need is to annul the fixed race and start a new clean one.
written by educationist, November 05, 2009 10:28:38
Mkini has reported on the 5 man panel.
Looks like Nizar's & his merry men's worst nightmare comes true!
Unless his application for a full 11 man panel is successful, it doesn't looks like justice and fair play will rule the day.
written by wongnoball, November 05, 2009 10:33:25
What if 6 UMNO-BN friendly judges all assured and paid $35 million ringgit sitting nicely along Sultan Munafik Berak Bank account....and rest as they call is history. You see after 6 months no ongoing protest in Perak....after 1 year...rakyat Perak happy to be seen shaking hand with UMNO-BN ADUN......After 2 years all dream of getting award from Sultan Munafik.....Are Malaysian SO Gullible??
>>
To start One Malaysia ABOLISH lower Six and upper Six, ALL Straight to Matriculation....that should be the Battle Cry of Pakatan Rakyat NOW!! Forget about other matters in education at the moment!!
written by SocratesI, November 05, 2009 11:14:28

Let us see how the Kangaroo court system will "justify" their ruling in Barisan Najis' favour, and then we can see how low the immoral "judges" have descended to in fear of the Govt. or having handed some crumbs from Barisan Najis, or probably both.
written by Xerxes, November 05, 2009 11:27:59
The Federal Court has dismissed Nizar's appeal for a full 11 member bench this morning.

Why am I not surprised?
written by RumahPanjai, November 05, 2009 12:09:28
If judges trained in the British kingdom can't interpret simple malaysian constitutional laws then there is no need to have judges paid by tax payers. Please don't make the judiciary a laughing stock of the commonwealth. Are our judiciary following closely behind Zimabawe?
written by Remo, November 05, 2009 12:22:02
We got no confidence in our Malaysian judges.

The Malaysian court has got no respect in the international arena.
We Malaysians are also fed up with the Kangaroo court.

At least for one time, we hope the court can give a fair chance to the opposition.
Don't think that BN will be in power forever.

written by Remo, November 05, 2009 12:22:45
Dato' Ambiga, please do a miracle.
written by Aduh, November 05, 2009 12:29:01
For obvious reasons, members in the federal court bench will go all out to outshine each other even if they have to go against accepted good principle.

So, one can expect what the outcome of the appeal is going to be.
written by Remo, November 05, 2009 12:30:56
The first message is not very good.

MB vs MB: Nizar's 11 judges application dismissed

The Federal Court today dismissed ousted Menteri Besar Mohd Nizar Jamaluddin's application for an enlarged panel of 11 judges to hear his crucial appeal.

How can the judges go against the BN court.
Hope everything will change soon.

That time the Perak police and some of the SUK stafs will fuked..
written by fearless mike, November 05, 2009 12:53:03
To d Judges who r selected to sit on d bench 4 this case, the judgment is very simple. R u going to return Perak State to d party that was legitimately elected by d Perakians in March'08 as d government of their choice or r all of u going 2 say d thieves who stole d state in broad daylight should continue to govern it.
God gave everyone a conscience, just listen 2 it and make d right decision.
U can justify ur decisions 2 humans, but when u meet HIM ur BOSS .....
Salaam.
written by batsman, November 05, 2009 14:16:50
BTW Nizar's fate lies mainly in his own hands.
written by shamadz72, November 06, 2009 13:28:42
Remo,

"Dato' Ambiga, please do a miracle."

You think she will risk her 'datoship' is it? smilies/smiley.gif