Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow I can eat with you at the same table

I can eat with you at the same table PDF Print
Thursday, 05 November 2009 00:54

By  Sim Kwang Yang

wardina

On a recent visit to my hometown Kuching City, I chose to stay at the Holiday Inn overlooking the limpid water of the lazy Sarawak River.

I sauntered over to a small shop selling books, magazines, and cigarettes. Paying for my purchase, I struck up a conversation with the petite young lady in tudung, something that I did rarely in KL.

After a brief chat on the weather and the high price of the Star in Kuching, I told her how much I loved Sarawak because of her friendly people. Thinking that I was a Chinese from West Malaysia, she smiled proudly and said, “Yes, we are friendly in Sarawak. I can even eat with you at the same table.”

Our national grand narrative on national unity and racial harmony are couched in sweeping abstract slogans like 1Malaysia. The real racial harmony is actually to be found in the little narratives of daily life in Sarawak and Sabah.

“I can eat with you at the same table.” That about says it all. From time immemorial, sharing a meal has always been a celebration of common congeniality along friends. It is the ultimate token of hospitality and mutual good will.

People who can share a meal together will very seldom end up as enemies. When the head of state visit another country, he is invited to attend a grand banquet hosted by the head of that state, as a symbol of friendship between the two countries.

The number of times when I can share a meal at the same table with my Malay friends in West Malaysia can be counted on the fingers of one hand. Involuntarily, a wall descends from the heavens of West Malaysia between members of different ethnic communities.

Comments (30)Add Comment
written by KC Chin, November 05, 2009 01:23:57
I just cannot concentrate reading your article. Her smile knocked me off. Whoa! What a sweet lady. smilies/smiley.gif
SABM
written by rocky, November 05, 2009 01:29:11
well sarawak is till shielded from UMNO politics of divide and rule. sabah is half way to being racist like peninsular. as for meals with various race, it does happen in peninsular but mainly forced cases like office lunches. those days you visits all open houses, but now the govt has to organise open houses cos some have become so sensitive that they will not go to certain houses due to various issue although the host goes out of the way to get the right food. but then they have no problem looking the other way when there is corruption etc.some clubs even enforce no alcohol although their members consist of various races like KGPA. but hey corruption is ok in the civil service. smilies/tongue.gif

just relax la bros like our fellow bros in Sarawak. even in Dubai hotels various food is available and does not make anyone less of a man.
written by Tom n Jerry, November 05, 2009 07:11:20
I was born and brought up in East Malaysia;I had always shared meals with my muslim friends for the past half century;never encountered any problem;anyway most of the time I picked up the bill,but not always;LOL smilies/grin.gif
written by Watchdog, November 05, 2009 07:24:17
Strange how many cant eat at the same table but willing to sleep on the same bed!!!
written by Alice, November 05, 2009 07:25:05
My holier than thou muslim friends wouldn't even go to a halal restaurant. They would only eat food cooked and sold by Malays. Sigh.....they don't know what they are actually missing.Ignorance is bliss I guess.
written by whlau, November 05, 2009 07:43:04
You know what...on a trip to Indonesia, I was in a food court and halal and non halal food was being served side by side. I asked the stall owner if I can order the non halal food and eat in his stall, and mind you, it was of the roasted kind, and he said there's no problem whatsoever. Can you beat that! And Indonesia is a Muslim country?

Wonder what will happen if this is in our country. Jais, Jakim and what-have- you will have the food court closed for good, that's for sure.
written by NSTPravda, November 05, 2009 08:16:34
I can eat with you at the any table. On the other hand, I can also go hungry just given a chance to admire your... so semua-nya OK!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by lobster, November 05, 2009 08:41:08
SKY, I am a chinese from semenanjung. Let me assure you eating at the same table with malay friends and colleagues is common here. Most likely you have been hanging out with the wrong group of ppl.
written by cheemengwong, November 05, 2009 09:30:06
The truth is ugly and I have read... somewhere sometime by our esteemed RPK that some Muslims are so outwardly holy but frequent the massage parlours and are willing to put their tongues deep into some China girls mouth kissing passionately.

I have one occassion many years ago entertained one Muslim officer to a massage parlor and after the session he informed me of how he entertained the China girl... mouth over her pussy!

Hypocrites... Hypocrites... Munafiq... Munafiq
written by vision2012, November 05, 2009 09:30:31
The writer is absolutely correct about Sarawak.I was in Kuching for the first time two weeks ago and I was not only stunned but mesmerised to see what a beautiful state it is. The smile is enough to capture our hearts. This is from both men and women. Racialism is practically non existent there among sarawakians. I did wonder if I was still in Malaysia. What is this so called pseudo caption of Najib's 1 malaysia ? It pukes! If he really wants to know what is 1 malaysia just go and spend a few days in Sarawak and see if 1 malaysia makes any sense.
written by budaktapah, November 05, 2009 09:31:34
yeah, maybe most likely you've been hanging out with wrong kind of ppl.
written by jaz, November 05, 2009 10:00:11
We have no such problem here in Sabah. Some Muslim even admitted they tried Bah-kut-teh and enjoyed it. I won't tell on them, personally it's a matter of preference of what they themselves wanted to eat. (No, I did not make them eat it, don't misunderstood)

In West Malaysia. No way would they step into a Chinese Restaurant even if it is a Halal one.
written by BobSam, November 05, 2009 10:25:42
Something is wrong here. I used to eat with my Malay and Moslem friends at most locations here in Malaysia (Selangor/WP), even to my house. No issue with Halal Chinese restaurants, eg Chinese restaurant at Nikko, full with Armed Forces and Civil servants. Now, I take my Malay friends to Indian (Tamil, Ceylonese, Punjabi) restaurants and Mamak places, although the hygiene at Mamak restaurants is questionable.
I think it is the attitude. BUT can I ask you to do me a favor, no, do your country a favor, take a Malay colleague out to eat at an Indian or Halal Chinese restaurant/stall. Heck, even to a Pakistani/Bangladeshi/Nepali outlet. Lets make bridges and build friendships again. Lets resurrect friendships.

Dont let the Hassan Ali's, the Kulim terror, etc. win. MALAYSIA, the secular nation that resulted from the merger of 4 independent territories is barely alive, but we can make it. Malaysia Boleh!
written by BobSam, November 05, 2009 10:26:29
I am walking the talk, taking 2 of my Malay colleagues out to lunch.
Lets make this a NIKE moment.

JUST DO IT!
written by Kacang Tanah, November 05, 2009 10:32:41
I notice that many Semenanjung Malay friends don't eat in the halal restaurant run by Chinese. Even during Chinese New Year time I find it quite difficult to invite my Malay friends to my open house eventhough special halal food being arranged for them. I don't have problem with Muslim friends from Indonesia, Brunei Darussalam, Sudan and even Saudi. They even cross over to the table meant for non-Muslim.

Where is root of the problem?????
written by cancer5330, November 05, 2009 10:40:54
I agree with Lobster . Most of you who made earlier comments probably could have mixed with wrong companies . I am staying in Klang and I could see the various races eating on the same table . There is no harm especially if the food is halal.Of course your Muslim friends would move to another table if you are eating non halal food . The problem here is that most non Muslims in this country do not understand what is halal food .It is not only about pork . Other meat like fox , bat , tortoise , snake ,donkey and many more . It also includes clealiness and the way the animal is slaughtred which must be according to Islam. It also must not to be contaminated with other non halal ingredients .If you are having a meal with your Muslim friends please avoid non halal food as not to annoy them . Most of us have been 'influenced' by RPK's 'exageration' .Restaurants like KFC , Mc Donalds ,Pizza Hut and even restaurant and coffee houses in Hotels which have been certified halal have no problem with Muslims and non Muslims having meals together .
written by Ahjamal, November 05, 2009 11:28:36
Correct, The real issue is to remove UMNO then we may be blessed with 1 Malaysia, otherwise it is all bluff and cheat of Najis.
written by mikewang, November 05, 2009 11:42:02
Can we still eat at the same table if I have pork chop? In my old school days in the early sixties, I found no such problem with my Muslim school mates.
written by RumahPanjai, November 05, 2009 12:26:38
Sometime ago, I dropped into Sitiawan on my way to Pangkor island and after much scouting around sat down in a malay store to have dinner. I just love malay food. The store owner gave me the disapproval looked and totally ignored my presence even though there were not many diners around. I left the store in disgust and was later told that non muslims don't get served in malay stores in west malaysia. Thank goodness, in Sarawak we can still love our malay food in malay stores and restaurants. Ours is "1SARAWAK"!
written by tah2002, November 05, 2009 12:48:29
Mr Sim, you must be born and bred in twon and city. Never experience the hospitality of the rural folks regardless of races. They eat on the same table and chatting happily. Those days I was very eager looking forward for Hari Raya to enjoy those kueh. My kampong muslim friends with different political alignment could mingle among themselves without any problem BUT not for the chinese especially those MCA members will hate you with different political idealogy!!
written by tino_chan1988, November 05, 2009 13:20:31
I happened to work at an eatery (let's no name the exact joint)- a halal certified outlet, mind you, and this is what happened a couple of months ago:

"Hello...bun (pastry buns)ni dari mana(e)?" (obviously a lady from Semenanjung)

And I replied that it is from one of our local halal confectionery.

"Orang cina keh?"

I promptly replied that it is and that it is 'halal' as what the rest of our food sold in the eatery are too.

She shrugged and left immediately, clearly discontented of that fact.

That's what Malaysia is heading to...backwardness.

1Malaysia indeed.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, November 05, 2009 15:04:54
In Sabah, we have restaurants and Kopitiams serving both halal and non halal food. While i am eating pork chop, my Muslim friend is having his soto ayam. There is no problem... we can sit together under one roof, in one table and no one is making a fuss. I've lived in the Peninsular for 3 years... THIS is unacceptable there. This is a fact. Muslims there will never enter a Chinese shop to drink kopi "o". But our Muslim brothers here have no problem having kopi "o" with us, Non-Muslims in a Chinese Kopitiam. Nothing is strange. In Sabah this is VERY NORMAL.
written by cllim123, November 05, 2009 17:33:48
What has Wardina got anything to do with this article? Was she the one Sim Kwang Yang struck up a conversation with? Otherwise she can sue, like she did one cosmetic company who used her image after their contract expired.
written by Nixcloud, November 05, 2009 18:00:47
30 years ago when i was still in school, i mix and eat freely with muslims. my friends would come to my house to eat and i would go to theirs. fast forward, and now, my malay friends don't even eat the cookies my mum baked bcos they have an image to protect.
this is dividing the nation - it is as if non-muslims are "dirty"
written by Sutha, November 05, 2009 18:33:54
I was in Sibu for three days, a few years ago and shocked to see a malay man with a tudung-clad wife chatting with three chinese at the same table. While the couple were enjoying their roti kahwin and coffee while the other three were having their non-halal food (pork organs, to be precise).

The sub-urban and rural Semananjung used to be like that in the 60s and before. Came NEP's Ketuanan and Mahathief's Keislaman, the country went beserk! We tried the National Culture Policy, Education Policy and Bahasa Melayu Policy but miserably failed except succeeded for the polarisation of races and religion. We are talking about another failure to be..... Single Streaming in schools. Nothing will be benefical unless the intention is to destroy other races' cultures and language.

For a genuine unified nation, the NEP and Islamisation process should reverse. It may take thirty to fifty years to see the good results.
written by Sabahfan, November 05, 2009 19:32:21
Mr Jaz of Sabah,

YOU should also emphasise... go to kampung air in Kota Kinabalu,

there are plenty of makan shops there selling both chinese food and moslem food in the same shop. and they share the tables....

ONLY the semenanjungites malays are so egoistic headed over their bangsa and agama
written by vox populi, November 05, 2009 20:08:22
What Mr SIM wrote and what Sabah and Sarawak still are today reflects what West Malaysia was like in the 1950's to the 1960's. After that, somehow we lost the plot. The so called Islamic authorities took over the mandate to impose their own rules on norms of Muslim social behaviour, without restraint and with the connivance, from successive ruling BN governments. They decided on what is halal or Islamic - in food, dress and social intercourse - to the extent that Chinese owned eateries, though with halal certification, are shunned by Muslims.

Unfortunately, this racial divide is accentuated even further when Malay restaurants in Muslim majority areas are completely patronized by Malaysia and non-Muslims feel apprehensive walking into such restaurants. I have Malay food a couple of days a week and normally won't hesitate to eat in a Malay restaurant. But there are certain places where I won't go again. Somehow I could feel the hostility and the cold stares when eating there.

West Malaysia is rapidly becoming a self-segregated society encouraged UMNO's playing the racial card and by artificial rules of behaviour which bind Muslims but with adverse repercussions on the non-Muslim sector of society and on the racial cohesiveness and harmony of the country.

I was in Jakarta once with a business group which included some Malays. At a supermarket the Malays' jaws dropped when they saw packs of pork displayed side by side with beef in the refrigerated displays. This is Indonesia - the world's biggest Muslim country with 95% of its population Muslim!!!

I have travelled to the interior towns of Sarawak and Sabah and I could see the friendliness of people of all races, the harmony and the courtesy they extend to one another with nary a thought about race or religion. Heavens forbid the importation of the divisive West Malaysian Islamic influence into these states.
The harmony and tolerance of the days of old in West Malaysia are gone forever. Let's not have that happen in the Borneo states.
written by vox populi, November 05, 2009 20:10:39
OoopS!
"patronized by MalaysiaMalays...."
written by cancer5330, November 06, 2009 09:10:15
This is the result of our education policy . We should have only one stream school where all children mix and understand each other right when they are still at the tender age .After more than 50 years of Merdeka there still exist suspicion among us .Let us forego our egos ( have one stream school system ) and sacrifice for our future generation .
written by jaz, November 06, 2009 16:26:04
Dear Sabahfan,

Yeah, that was true. Most of the places especially Shopping centre food court have both halal and non-halal food. I could go on all day and not done with all the reasons why Sabah is better than the WM.