Home arrow The Blogs arrow Letters/Surat arrow POLICE MUST STOP ALL UNRULY BEHAVIOUR

POLICE MUST STOP ALL UNRULY BEHAVIOUR PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 22:52

By Concerned Malaysian Doctor

It is becoming loud and clear that the Malaysian Police have become extremely unruly and disrespectful to fellow citizens. It is more like watching the age old cowboy movies of yesteryears.

Let us start with the Perak Assembly session on 28th October. I have watched recordings of police actions at the assembly building and I am shocked and sick to know that this is what our Malaysian police have degenerated into.

They intimidated our elected representatives with their guns and uniforms as if they were out to physically cause harm to our elected representatives. Firstly, they have no locus standi at the assembly building unless of course if there was need for law and order to be enforced. It is strictly beyond their jurisdiction. Why were they there in the first place? Who authorized them entry into the assembly building? Was it one political party against another?

I saw one policeman dressed in most probably an officer's uniform charging between the state assembly representatives while they were all making their way into the building. This man was disorderly, abusive and disrespectful to the Yang Berhormats as if he had a hidden agenda to show his might to intimidate the YB’s.

The YB’s had to shout and scream at him to move away yet he persisted with his thuggish behavior like a gangster in uniform. He had his revolver and it appeared as if he had no fears as he behaved as if he would shoot anyone entering the assembly building.

Who gave him orders and instructions to behave in such an unruly manner? Why the need to have 200 policemen at the assembly building while depriving the citizens outside of their police protection? Something is seriously wrong. Who is responsible for such irresponsible actions by the Perak police? Nobody till today. Not the IGP, nor the Minister of Home Affairs not even the Prime Minister.

What would have happened if, in the midst of anger and emotional outbursts, one of the policemen had taken one of their revolvers and killed one of the elected representatives? This could have happened as human behaviour is so unpredictable. It would be another inquiry, another court case and another insufficient evidence verdict or probably death caused in the course of duty to the nation.

We, and that includes our government and our leaders, must begin to take pro-active steps to curb the unruly behaviour of our policemen before they become beyond reprieve. If left unchecked, they could one day do the same thing to our Parliamentarians.

Well there is nothing to stop them from stopping our Prime Minister from even entering his own office. They could even confront our Yang Di Pertuan Agong from conducting his official functions and take him away. Act now before it is too late. Anything can happen in today’s world. If they can do this to one VIP then they would be capable of doing the same to any VIP including VVIP’s in the country.

It is turning out to be the land of the cowboys here in Malaysia. What has happened to respect? Has it become non-existent altogether? Frankly, it is becoming frightening. How am I supposed to show respect to policemen at this rate? I see our residents associations inviting our police officers from our neighbourhood police stations for talks and social gatherings. At this rate, I am going to stay away from any meeting if police officers are invited.  

The other incident that I viewed on the internet was how the OCPD of Brickfields trespassed into a function organised by YB Nurul Anwar when YB Tian Chua was addressing the guests. That was a dinner function, I understand. A policeman marched in and snatched the microphone away from the hand of YB Tian and started shouting and screaming to the dismay of the guests.

It looked like it was he who was itching to give a speech and to cause distress to the guests. I found this disgusting and disrespectful. Where was his courtesy and self respect and the respect to the guests of the occasion? Apparently, this man was very badly brought up and he had to be absorbed into our Royal Police force of Malaysia and whose salaries are being paid by tax payers. By right, the Government should have sprung into immediate action. But no, I could only hear absolute silence as if they are in acceptance of his unruly behaviour.  

It is an absolute must and a law that a policeman must be apolitical, non racial, humble and respectful of seniors both men and women, morally and spiritually upright, law abiding, and of course mentally and emotionally sound and balanced. I would even suggest that all policemen be sent out on a regular basis for motivational courses where all the above are indoctrinated.

These courses could be conducted by a multi racial mix made up of at least one from each race and not just from one race. They could also bring in some of the top rated motivational speakers form developed nations. They should also be sent for regular counseling services by psychologists with a written clearance by the same that he is found mentally and emotionally fit. This should apply to all policemen right from the lowest rung till the highest serving police officer. New laws should be passed by Parliament enacting the above mandatory rules.

Please remember, my purpose of this call to the police is based on absolute urgency. Remember, one of the greatest legends among women leaders of the last century, Mrs Indira Gandhi of India, was brutally murdered by her own body guard. So don’t sow the seeds of hatred among our own policemen.

written by storm62, November 04, 2009 23:11:42
dear Concerned Malaysian Doctor,

those aren't policemen, those are gangsters and outlaws you saw at the assembly....police men are those doing road blocks and speed traps, police dogs are those arresting, shouting and beating people holding peaceful gatherings.

my son once told me when he grew up, he wants to be a policeman....i ask him why?....he said he can just stop a motorist and make a lot of money...simple job!
written by onnetline, November 04, 2009 23:12:45
Home Minister, HeSuckMyDick and the IGP, Musang Hassan are both NEP assisted and corrupted parasites ......... sonsofbitches too !
written by medicshan, November 04, 2009 23:43:05
The behaviour of such members of PDRM is distressing indeed. But even more alarming is the tacit approval of such behaviour by those in the corridors of power.
I am inclined to say only if people gather in masses to express dissent over this type of behaviour will PM Najib and co say something, at the very least.
written by Wudan, November 04, 2009 23:54:40
Don't mind 'The Headhunter', he's the Rottweiler of IGP Musa Hasan. Not all police personnel are like 'The Headhunter'.
written by wood, November 04, 2009 23:59:30
The behaviour of the PDRM is just plain sick and disgusting and how can the rakyat respect such people ???? Shameful act for all Malaysians to see and also for people all over the world too !!

And we expect investors to come to Malaysia to invest ????? What a big JOKE!!!!
PM Najib do you condone such behaviour ????? smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by Spear Bing, November 04, 2009 23:59:36
For 52 years, PDRM has been sucked into this corruption practice and abuse of power addiction, so much so that they have become immune to whatever complaints reported by the innocent victimized public.

And they daringly and openly demand bribery for any small and insignificant travesty of law committed. They even dare you to make a report.

Such is the despicable state of affairs now happening in PDRM. Of course, there are good majority of them carrying out their duties with integrity. But what can you say when the head of the PDRM is seen to be tainted with corruption, the documented evidences of which are publicly being reported in the various blogs?

If the IGP has the decency, self-respect and dignity to defend his innocence, all he needs to do is to charge the whistleblowers in the court of law.

Is it so difficult to do? The fact that he remains silent, taciturn, and non-committed to the rule of law, does indicate that his hands have dipped in the muddy waters of corruption and ill-gotten gains.

By and large, the IGP has to come clean. No two ways about it, otherwise he will be bringing the whole police force down to the drain - to despised upon, to be spitted upon, and to be cursed upon by the man in the street who has been parting some of his income to pay tax in order to pay him the salary.

Oh whither thou, IGP? When will you ever learn to repent and confess?
written by hanisma, November 05, 2009 00:01:59
Concerned Malaysian Doctor,

What can we do? They are typical Umno bred policemen and recently have graduated to 1Malaysia Police Force - forcing their way through peaceful gatherings, assemblies, vigils, ceramahs, etc. I'm sure you know what to do come GE13, don't you?
written by Bloodhound, November 05, 2009 00:35:49
Today, the ruling party thinks that it's okay for the police (or arm forces) to behave unruly and intimidatingly because it benefits them. Tomorrow, their blissfulness will turn into a nightmare because the same institutions will be baying for more blood and guess who is left standing who has not yet succumb to the might of the police force?

Yes, they might be siding with you today but tomorrow, they will get you too because power and corruptions knows no bounds especially when they are already armed to the hilt. So, parliamentarians, if you want to play with fire, then, be prepared to face the consequences because after when they had tasted the intoxicating effect of power and corruption, they will come back for more and you will be next on the list.
written by Kapten Ciku, November 05, 2009 00:37:31
What do you expect from a bunch who are known killers. Remember Kugan, Teoh Beng Hock, etc. My dear doctor, I have long time ago boycott function organised by this pariah dogs. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Aduh, November 05, 2009 02:38:59
What would one expect with the musa character being the ring leader ? There is also the hisamudin. Public outcry will not change them. A permanent solution - chuck beEND out.
written by alpha1, November 05, 2009 04:43:35
These dogs are just corrupted big bullies! Everytime i see how they treat the oppositions makes me sick, to the core! I have no respect for these bastards at all and i'm sure all of them are being cursed, day in day out by the law abiding citizens of Malaysia! We shall wait for the formation of the next government and have all these pariahs eliminated! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Bloodhound, November 05, 2009 07:04:15

Absolutely!

They are no longer the law enforcers keeping law and order of the nation.

They are acting more like thugs, mat rempits and law-breakers ignoring and breaking the rule of laws of the nation.

The police and judges who dare to venture to corrupt, taint or abuse the rightful interpretations of the rule of law of the nation must be made to pay heavily for their unruly transgression of the rights of the citizens of the nation. These denigrades must be thrown into jail for bringing disrepute to the nation's institutions which were supposed to be the pillars of democracy of the nation.

To all those individuals who had always done the right things by the nation, it's about time we put a stop to all these transgression against the nation's interest and stamp out those idiots who place self interest before the nation's security and interest.

We know the majority of the country's police, judges and armed forces are law abiding and are doing the right things by the nation but their reputations are being tarnished/tainted by the minority who are in positions of power and who chooses to ignore their professional duties to the nation in the name of self interest.

By remaining as the silent majority, you runs the risk of losing the respect of the public for your profession or worse still, we could be staring at the collapse of our democratic system of government as those who are abusing their positions of power gets bolder by the day and finally ventures into the unthinkable.

The silent majority must speak up against the rapid decay of our country's law and order, integrity and transparency that we were so very proud of once upon a time!

When such transgression are prolonged, those perpetrators will get entrenched and will infect more innocent persons to their devious cause or entrap them into unbearable positions.

Even our ruling party abuses the rule of law and dwells in corruptions and devious behaviour unbecoming of decent statesmen or politician with the interest of the people at heart.......instead of furiously upholding the laws of the nation without fear or favour as what any decent ruling government should be doing and encouraging.

What has Malaysia become? Has Greed, lust for power and lack of integrity finally gained the upperhand? It's a sad day for Malaysia.
written by Mr Smith, November 05, 2009 07:28:09
The IGP has Najib by his balls. So the police is now above the PM, the government and the Law. If they can get away will killings, the other abuses are minuscule to them.
written by teohchye, November 05, 2009 08:11:11
I totally agree with the writer on this subject of unruly and thug-like behaviour of our Royal Malaysian Police! They are a disgrace to our beautiful country and an insult to our Rulers by using the title "Royal". Remember the episode in Parliament last year when they manhandled PAS's Mustaffa Ali and PKR's Tian Chua? And then Tian Chua was fined and jailed for allegedly biting the cop who admitted to punching him in the first place! Enough is enough! These BN/UMNO goons and their running dogs, scumbags and slimeballs have to go, sooner than later. Going around suburbia KL and PJ, and most other towns, one cannot help but notice the presence of private security personnel and their boom gates and pondoks. If the police are doing their job of protecting the Rakyat would there be a need for the residents to spend money to hire private security services to protect their neighbourhoods? As RPK said, we have to be rid of these parasites and scourges of our society before it is too late.
written by NSTPravda, November 05, 2009 08:13:22
Police must stop all unruly behaviour!!!? Surely you jest, which planet are you from? Our unruly behaviour is necessary to preempt your unruly behaviour.... Ra$uah $ayang eh!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by KangrooCourt, November 05, 2009 08:16:22
Sack the IGP... first thing to do ! second thing clean up the force by setup the IPMC. Promote those good police & sack the bad apples.

Else we will continue singing the old song every day..
written by vision2012, November 05, 2009 09:13:58
Reading the above comments it is obvious the Malaysian police are being cursed by Malaysians. Yes they function like as if they are like legalised gangsters in town. They care a damn if they are being labelled as KURANG AJAR and that is precisely because that is what they have been instructed by the powers that be. They dare behave like despicable creatures with no shame nor respect simply because they have all the ammunition with them. They have guns, bullets, water canons and dont forget they have the support of those in power. Yes POWER ! EVERY ONE WANTS POWER ! THE UMNO regime wants to hold on to power at any cost and that is why they continue to use the police force to destroy every democratic institution in the country. The police are brave and daring to pick and choose anyone they want to threaten, choke and intimidate as that is how they have been instructed by the UMNO regime to keep themselves in power. It will not be long before they drag in the military to do their bidding to keep them in power. 52 years in power has entrenched themselves in absolute comfort to guarantee their permanent stay in power. This is a grave and dangerous scenario. It is time all right thinking NGO's, political parties, and all concerned citizens wake up before it is too late. The signs are on the wall already. WIN OR LOSE IN THE NEXT ELECTION BUT UMNO WILL DARE TO CONTINUE TO BE IN POWER. It is time we bring in the United Nations, the Commonwealth of Nations, NATO, ASEAN and every international power house to protect democracy in Malaysia which is being seriously assaulted and threatened. It is time we bring in the President of USA, Barak Obama and let him be notified of the impending threat to Malaysian democracy. We now hear of Najib wanting to visit the Oval house. Let it be forewarned to Oval House and the President of USA the impending danger to Malaysian democracy the charlatan of which is Najib himself.

So my friends it is time we all wake up to the reality that dark clouds have enveloped around our precious homeland Malaysia. Act now in every single way every loyal Malaysian sees best and fit.
written by Barking out loud, November 05, 2009 09:22:26
I have been seeing Police Brutality in Kuala Lumpur for the past 20 years and hence have no respect for them. Since a young age I thought that the Malaysian Police are just Thugs in Uniform.

Until today I have not thought of an idea so that we can build a Police Force here in Malaysia. Does anyone have any idea so that we the concerned and patriotic citizens in Malaysia can fund a build a Police Force? We need one to protect our citizens and enforce the law.
written by vision2012, November 05, 2009 09:56:33
ok my friends here is food for thought.

Our Royal Police force has become incorrigible. Thats a fact. Can our pakatan led states seriously consider setting up a State Police Force to cater to our state's population. I hope our CM's and MBs can seriously look into this. Please look to all international organisations for financial support and dont be surprised if full and plenty comes in. Yes the Federal Government will object but let them be told that there is an urgent need for our own state police force due to serious breakdown in law and order. Our crime index has become out of control. Life's are being threatened, homes are being plundered by robbers and gangsters as and when they wish and there is nothing our Royal Malaysian Police Force can do about it. Can Anwar and all our respected leaders from PAKATAN take conduct of this on an immediate basis. Please launch massive cheramas or campaigns in the open so that the federal Government will allow the setting up of State Police Force to be headed by our DYMM Sultans or Governors of the respective Pakatan states. Pay them well, select the best, maintain strict recruitment qualifications, maintain a multi racial image with good moral and character as the yardstick.

written by batsman, November 05, 2009 10:11:01
Sad! Very sad!. It seems to me from the sentiments expressed above, any Robin Hood type gangsters such as the likes of Botak Chin will have a better reputation than the PDRM.
written by BobSam, November 05, 2009 10:50:13
If Botak Chin were alive today, he will be shot in cold blood. There are no more Ins.Kula's left in the Police Force.

When my daughter was about 5 years of age, as I drove by a Police station, I told her that should she ever get lost, go and seek refuge at the nearest Police Station. Now 10 years later, I would say avoid the Police Station.

The disease unfortunately started during our Indian Prime Minister's time. He allowed the cops to break the law, and now we have a major problem. Not only are the PDRM unaware of the laws, neither are the Armed Forces and the Civil Servants. They violate the laws of the country with blaseness, and they hide behind the OSA.

The problem I am concerned about is that if the current moderates attempt at making changes fail, then the fanatics will come. By then we will be another Zimbabwe. Please let history teach us, see what happened in Nigeria, Sri Lanka, etc. In Jawanese, Malay means "refuge", and Tanah Melayu is the land of refugees. People came to this land which was Blessed by God, and started a new life here. No hurricanes, typhoons, earthquakes, etc.
Only UMNO Baru and other stupid politicians, basically the cancer that is "bermaharaja lela" in this country. What does one do with cancer?
written by mick_err_stan, November 05, 2009 11:25:45
Police is to enforce the law, to protect the Rakyat and to prevent crime. To see the OCPD of Brickfield getting involve in politics is not within his jurisdiction. In fact they have no right to stop a peaceful gathering. There was no riot, no violent behavior, just a group of people having dinner and their leaders delivering speech. I guess these police are the result of NEP, shallow and not very educated, thus they cannot reason or rationale what right or wrong. They are there to please their political master and hope to be promoted to IGP one day for their blind loyalty and not on merits. What to do when you do not have the capacity to think!!!!

That's why, we the Rakyat must take back the country in the next GE and to make sure we have capable people in position to carry out function and duties, people whoand abide by the Country's constitution.
written by yatchee, November 05, 2009 12:06:48
THE BASTARDS POLICEMEN MUST HAVE BEEN INSTRUCTED BY THE BN GOVERNMENT TO ACT IN SUCH MANNER,THAT IS ONLY ONE PARTY TO BE BLAMED - THE BASTRAD BN GOVERNMENT-THE UMNO ,SO NOW YOU KNOW WHAT IS YOUR NEXT ACTION,VOTE THEM OUT IN THE GE13-REMEMBER THIS ALL BELOVED MALAYSIAN-------------
written by mykantree, November 05, 2009 16:02:03
"I would even suggest that all policemen be sent out on a regular basis for motivational courses where all the above are indoctrinated."

Dear Concerned Malaysian Doctor.

If PDRM do what you suggested it would be a complete and utter waste of my tax money.Are you suggesting that the PDRM did what it did because they, by itself, were lacking in those qualities? They certainly did not grab the mic when the PM were using it or any other UMNO/BN politicians were doing so.

It was a deliberate attempt at intimidation of an opposition politician or an opposition organised gathering.That should be plain for all to see.The given here is that the law enforcers are now our law breakers! Mincing words will never resolve the issues at hand.This law enforcing/law breaking institution is only one of many that need to be thoroughly cleansed, and from the very top to the very bottom, before that start to be deserving of their salaries and yours and mine tax ringgit.
written by advocatusdiaboli, November 05, 2009 16:10:03
Police are behaving like pariahs. They have lost all respect. What the fcuk man!
written by vision2012, November 05, 2009 16:14:03
Where is the PM now ? Where is the IGP and the Minister of Home affairs ? Do they mean they are all computer illiterate and that they dont read malaysia-today. Listen all you creatures up there, stop pretending you are unaware of public sentiments. What goes on in malaysiatoday is the pulse of the rakyat. Come forward and comment and tell us what you intend to do with this degradation within the police. In fact it dosent end with the police. it also includes the judiciary, MACC and every government department where thievery is the order of the day.