Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow That reminds me

That reminds me PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 17:41

The controversy involving Dr MAZA (Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin), the ex-Mufti of Perlis, brings back memories of my own brush with the ‘religious police’ more than a year ago. I was then under ISA detention and this is part of what transpired during my interrogation by five Special Branch officers.

Pak Raja, the way you write appears like you have a different view of Islam.

Which Islam are you talking about?

What do you mean ‘which Islam’? There is only one Islam.

There is not only one Islam. There are different interpretations of Islam. So which Islam are you talking about?

I don’t understand what you mean by different interpretations of Islam? Do you mean different schools of Islam? There may be different schools of Islam but there is still only one Islam.

Okay, so which school are you talking about then?

Sunni Islam. The Shafie school.

So you want to talk about the Shafie school of Sunni Islam then?

Yes.

What exactly do you want to know?

How you interpret Islam.

Simple, I follow the Quran.

So you are anti-Hadith then?

I knew you were coming to that. Why do you people always use the word anti-Hadith? Why not pro-Quran?

So is Pak Raja saying you only accept the Quran and not the Hadith?

Which Hadith?

I am not a religious expert so I can’t go into details.

Okay. Then how many Hadiths are there?

I am not sure.

There are 700,000 Hadith.

Okay, 700,000 then if Pak Raja says so. I am not sure.

Ah, hold on. But only 7,000 Hadith are accepted as authentic. That means only 1% of the Hadith are undisputed. The balance 99% are disputed. Did you know that?

No.

You want to debate about Hadith with me but you don’t even know there are 700,000 Hadith and that only 1% are sahih or undisputed?

I already said we are not religious experts.

If you are not religious experts then why do you debate Islam with me? You are not qualified to debate religion with me.

Okay, so do you accept the 7,000 Hadith?

Which one in particular?

All.

You give me an example of one Hadith from the 7,000 and I will tell whether I can accept it or not. Let’s be specific. Quote me one Hadith and I will tell you if I accept it or reject it.

I can’t quote you any Hadith. As I said….

Yes, I know….you are not an expert on Islam. But yet you want to debate Islam with me.

(The Special Branch officers remain silent).

Dr Mahathir said we must re-evaluate the Hadith. Kassim Ahmad said the same thing. Each Hadith must be looked at one by one to see which can be accepted and which should be rejected. We are not saying that we reject outright all 7,000 Hadith. We are asking to re-evaluate the 7,000 to see which makes sense and which do not. What is wrong with that?

But how can you do that? The ulamak already agreed what is acceptable and what is not. As Pak Raja said, there are 700,000 Hadith and they have already been short-listed to 7,000 by the ulamak. So why do you want to re-evaluate them again?

The Maliki have re-evaluated them. They have only 1,720 Hadith in the Muwatta, not 7,000. Even then only 600 of the 1,720 are attributed directly to the Prophet. And quite a number of the Shafie and Maliki Hadith do not overlap. This means some of the Shafie Hadith are not accepted by Maliki while some of the Maliki Hadith are not accepted by Shafie. So which one do we accept? The Maliki or Shafie Hadith, where many are different and do not overlap?

We are Shafie so we talk about Shafie.

Why do we just talk about Shafie? Why can’t I talk about Maliki? Or talk about Salafi? In Perlis they are supposed to be Wahhabi, a branch of the Salafi. And the Wahhabi do not accept some of the things we are doing. Dr Asri, the Mufti of Perlis, is also said to be Wahhabi. I have spent time in Perlis and I find that things are a bit different there. The Muslims in Perlis say they follow the Wahhabi. If we are only allowed what JAIS, JAWI, JAKIM and JAKUN say then the Perlis Mufti should be arrested for following the wrong teachings.

Eh, mana ada JAKUN (where got JAKUN)?

(The five Special Branch officers laugh).

Why must I only follow what the government says? Why can’t I research and decide which interpretation of Islam I want to follow?

We can’t allow that. The ulamak have already decided what is correct and you have to follow that.

How do you know the ulamak are correct? What if they are wrong? And which ulamak do I follow? There are so many. Which ulamak is right?

That is not for you to decide. The ulamak knows best.

Islam says in the akhirat (the hereafter) you will follow your imam. If your imam goes to heaven then you go to heaven and if your imam goes to hell then you go to hell. The ulamak can’t save me from hell. I will have to save myself. So how would I save myself unless I research and decide which ulamak is correct and which are wrong.

But you are not qualified to research. You will have to let the ulamak do that.

But the first word in the first verse of the Quran revealed to Prophet Muhammad is iqraq (read). Did not Allah command us to read? The first word in the first verse revealed to Muhammad is not ‘follow your ulamak who knows best’. It is ‘read’. Furthermore, the Quran asks: do you still want to follow the majority when the majority may be wrong? The Quran also asks: when you are made to account for your actions are you going to offer the excuse that you just followed the religion of your ancestors when your ancestors are wrong and misguided? So the Quran has made it very clear that we must read and not follow the majority or simply accept the ways of our ancestors who may be wrong.

(The session goes on and on for days but allow me to stop here for now).

Comments (43)Add Comment
written by my oumrie, November 04, 2009 18:08:33
Not recognised in Malaysia. Ok, so this means Shafiee Malay pilgrims who pray behind Saudi (Wahabbi) Imams in any mosques in Saudi, including Mekkah & Madinah, have committed a serious error of faith & practise? If so, why don't Tabung Haji include Jais/Jakim approved Imams in their Hajj/Umrah packages to accompany pilgrims to Mekkah & Madinah to make sure Malay pilgrims don't follow the "forbidden in Malaysia" Wahabbi practises of Saudi Arabia? In fact, why go to Mekkah at all? Why not go to Karballah?
agree 138
written by Richfyf, November 04, 2009 18:15:26
RPK you play dirty and unfair. How can 5 Special Branch police debate with you. Come on lah you should give some handicap.

This is like Jenson Button driving against 5 new drivers who just got their driving license. He can close one eye, tie one hand and still drive circles around them.

You are mean RPK.. heheheh
agree 163
written by IbnAbdHalim, November 04, 2009 18:18:24
Salam Pete,

The trouble is in Malaysia there's only a single channel to follow and that too does not exactly follow the Shafie's school. There are many practices which are not from Shafie. And yet most Malaysian Muslims claimed to be the followers of Shafie. By right we should be the followers of Muhammad (pbuh).
written by Oscar Winner, November 04, 2009 18:58:58
There is only 1 hadith that they will recognise as correct and follow:- The one that says UMNO is god
written by cheemengwong, November 04, 2009 19:01:45
The question was asked of the Ulamak... Ulamak who on earth will go to heaven?

Ulamak: Alamak, I did not study this in the university lah!

Come on lah... same thing in Chritianity and other religion lah. No one ever come back from heaven and write down the details yet.

Not yet anyway. I think no one ever will.... keep on fighting among ourselves.

God is smiling in heaven.
written by freedom to speak, November 04, 2009 19:03:08
This is a prelude to a dictatorship.
We are being categorically and systematically shepherded to the slaughter house.
All those who try or show any inclination of opening the eyes of the masses are arrested. (like Dr M.Asri)
I shudder to think what will happen to this country in the coming future.
The rakyat seems to be lulled into submission to all these misdeeds.
I wonder when or what is going to awaken them from their slumber?
I have seen you try your best to knock some sense into them but to no avail.
I am at a lost. Maybe we (me included) are given just the right amount of feel-good sensation that we let them rape our country.
written by hellosunshine, November 04, 2009 19:09:09
Ulamaks are human too with human weaknesses and may be biased, prejudiced, bigoted, corruptible, under peer pressure, shallow, stupid, arrogant and hard headed plus many many more bad traits. Trouble is, they always think they are God. Not knocking Islam ah. smilies/wink.gif
written by joeawk, November 04, 2009 19:37:36
Does it mean that many muslims who blindly follow the Ulama are stupid and unthinking? Hehehe. Then I think we have many in Malaysia. Mainly those in UMNO, being corrupted by falsehood and continue to be corrupt in their life.
written by 1351, November 04, 2009 19:53:25
Time : 2.00pm this afternoon. Location : Chinatown

I lost it this afternoon RPK. I was coming out of the 7-Eleven across from Kota Raya and while passing a SportsToto outlet, I saw a "monk"(clean shaven and all) in his saffron coloured robe buying Toto.

I walked in, looked him in the eye but he pretended to peruse the bulletin board for past results. I walked up to the counter - the *boss of the outlet also not too happy - and I asked if he had a marker pen ?

He sure did and with marker pen in hand(in one swift move) I managed to scribble a wavy line on the "monk's" forehead before he wriggled free. He said something that I didn't comprehend(maybe Thai) and I was trying to get hold of his robe to strip him bare before he made a beeline for the exit.

* Actually, I asked the boss if he had a stick(didn't matter big or small) but then settled for a marker pen instead.

The boss gave me the thumbs up and the few punter's didn't see any reason to step in while I "vandalised" the forehead of the impostor.

I often said, if I were Muslim, only the stars above would know my reaction to the many 'piece of shit' - leaders of the flock(Sultan even) who continue to misrepresent themselves - taking God's name in vain contrary to what the good book says.

written by talk2stop, November 04, 2009 19:59:10
Islam is controlled by misguided muslims. The muslims think the non muslims are a threat to their religion. Little do they know the greatest enemy is themselves. It is the non believers that make the religion great.
written by msiaman, November 04, 2009 20:02:33
Talk so much about righteousness. Why not go and check out why Shariah court have to come up with impractical laws. For example, someone wants to divorce his old wife and marry a new young one. Say the old wife consented, do you know what happens? Of course the husband goes on to commit sin by staying with new wife as old wife already consented. But the Court has yet to decide on the case and isn't that promoting sin? Why can't they speed up the process and allow the 'gatal' fello to officially married with the new wife? Just check out how many such cases pending? Is that justice ala Islam? Islam is a fair and just religion, it is the idiots who hold various positions at infamous bodies such as JAKIM, JAIS etc.

So, are they so noble and saintful?
written by KotaDamansara73, November 04, 2009 20:29:59
Wasting time going round and round. It will never end.
written by Hakim Joe, November 04, 2009 21:06:05
Elsewhere, the Prophet allows his disciples to choose.
In 1Malaysia, it is up to the SB.
Does this mean that the SB is more powerful than God?
written by avancc, November 04, 2009 21:32:39
Dear YM RPK, I liked the sentence “I will have to save myself”… It’s so true… And even though they “Claimed” to be following Ulamak like what you said they mentioned… But I don’t think they do as what they claimed… They followed their Greed… For power, for personal gain.

Who is to decide who is “Qualified” to be followed, qualified to research? Who is right and who is wrong? Isn’t it us who has to learn about it? Not by any third party… All in all, spiritual development is by oneself… Not by following one BLINDLY… I guess that’s why we have so many NUMBERS of “claimed religious followers/preachers” but in fact, many are mere following blindly without reasoning. No wonder they go about and started screaming immediately with the crowd when one “leader” started some controversial issue. They don’t even use their brain to reason!

I guess… In the land of the pirates, a marine is an outlaw and punishable by death.
written by storm62, November 04, 2009 21:37:53
mamak kutty = ular mamak NOT ulamak, ok! get this straight Pete!
written by avancc, November 04, 2009 21:40:59
Dear Freedom to speak,
I think anything that has a potential to challenge the status quo of the one in power will be considered a “traitor” or “threat”, best punishable by death.

Dear 1351,
You did a good thing… And that “monk” is probably a “beggar” under some organization imposing as a monk. For as I know it, a monk is not supposed to be roaming outside on the street at “odd” hours. And they only leaves the temple on scheduled travel trips, alms round (which is before noon), or on request by devotees for some special services, and even that usually is done before noon.
written by temanmu, November 04, 2009 22:09:13
I hope this hadith is revised soon... poor lizards... they don't bother us and help eat insects!

SM 26:5564 Allah's Messenger said: He who killed a gecko (lizard) with the first stroke, for him is ordained one hundred virtues, and with the second stroke one less than that and with the third one less than that.
written by arazak, November 04, 2009 22:16:13
I do not know why those top people in MAIS, JAIS, JAKIM, JAKUN. . ., etc are so obsessed with the Wahabis? The way the portrayed the Wahabi sect is as if those Muslims are too extremists and should be shunned. And yet they have no shame to pray with the Wahabis in the Grand Mosque in Makkah?

That bugger, the Assistant Director of JAKIM said, “pendekatan Asri banyak menggunakan metodologi fahaman Wahabi iaitu sayap dalam Islam yang memahami ajaran agama secara ekstrem.” And he added , “Menurutnya, golongan tersebut tidak mengikut pendekatan mazhab yang diamalkan di negara ini.” He also commented that, “Selain itu, kebanyakan hujahnya juga banyak bertentangan dengan fatwa yang dikeluarkan Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan,".

So what? Do you expect the Wahabis wants you to follow them while you are in Saudi Arabia? No! Did they harassed you for not following them? NO again! So why do you show you have the upper-hand here harassing other fellow Muslims? I do not know and I couldn’t care less if Dr. Asri is a Wahabi or not. But if one of the reasons of arresting him because he being a Wahabi. . ., man, I think that is absurd! And if that is so, why don’t JAKIM or JAKUN (whatever!) post an officer at KLIA and arrest every Wahabi that come from the middle-east when they landed in this country!

Also what makes he think what was practised and put forth by their UMNO Ulamaks are correct, and those of the other ulamaks are wrong?

Why do we have to follow everything what had been “fart wah” by Majlis Fatwa Kebangsaan? Hell. . ., I told my wife she can still go to her regular Yoga class despite what was “fart wah” by those morons. . ., the hell with them!

I can only think those people in MAIS, JAIS, JAKIM and JAKUN are only good at stoking hatred sentiments against fellow Muslims. We have heard they have done this against other faith. . ., but against other fellow Muslims. . ., it seems too much for me to swallow and grant them any respect!

Can you see the kind of people UMNO had appointed to lead the various religious departments? Bigots. . ., truly bigots! And those bigots should be granted the status of “persona non grata” by the Saudis. Let them do their circumambulation (tawaf)around their UMNO PWTC Head Quarters and not around the Kaabah in the Grand Mosque. . .!

Salam!
written by Trigem, November 04, 2009 22:46:23
Religion is ridiculous and is nothing but political scam created by elitists who want to control primitive people. This attitude of using religion for political gain has never changed since the onset of religion until this day of space age of the 21st century.

Really, how do religious people reconcile the existence of dinosaurs to the claim of the age (about 6,500 years) of this planet earth?

Anyway, I'd like to share a short video of a brave woman, Dr. Wafa Sultan, in debating Islam:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ciOGS6r97oE

(In case the domain name is truncated, it is on "you tube" under the heading "Wafa Sultan Debating Islamic Cleric")
written by gycgocnt, November 04, 2009 22:50:50
From mini skirt issue, tudung issue, conversion issue, "Allah" word printing issue, dead body snatching, canned for sex, banning Yoga, what these "Religious Police" told us is they are making life difficuly for Muslim.

Come on, this is not "Zaman Orang Sakai yang Duduk di Hutan", now is 2009...

What Syed Akbar Ali book stated was right(DOOM- The Collapse of Islamic Country): The only Evil who make Muslim life difficult are Muslim.

This is why Islamic country get the Flying Colour Guiness Record in this world as below:

a) Non of a Muslim country is a developed nation.
b) Most of the war happened in Muslim country.
c) Most of the Racial Clashes happened in Muslim country.
d) Muslim country have the large population live under poverty line.
e) Most of the corruption cases happen in Muslim country.
f) Muslim are 22% of world population but produce less than 5% Global GDP.
g) The poorest country in this world are Muslim country.
h) Even though Muslim comprises of 22% population in the world, but their Nobel Prizes winner is less than Jews, which share only less than 1% of world population.

written by malgal, November 04, 2009 22:54:00
when its hard to suffer fools, best to turn session into sitcom. we learn much from you rpk. when all else fails, at least one can chortle.
written by Daryl, November 04, 2009 22:55:56
Right on the dot. Imagine if all Muslims in Malaysia follow the so called ulamak and he is wrong. Guess what all the Muslims of Malaysia ends up in Hell and that apply to all other nation that practiced Islamic law as well.
written by batsman, November 04, 2009 23:20:25
Sounds to me like one cult trying to bump off the other cults in their own territories but smile and embrace each other in the "international" arena. This is dangerous with everyone trying to claim monopolies and sole ownership of territories. Sounds suspiciously man-made.
written by johnT, November 04, 2009 23:23:58
Now I got a clear picture. No wonder why 99.99% muslim refuge (Pelarian) choose Christian Country as thier target home and not Muslim Country. Maybe RPK is also in a Christian Country,

Opss sorry, Christian Majority Country, Not Christian country cause there is no country in the world call Christian country. smilies/grin.gif
written by CatV5, November 04, 2009 23:31:56
Wow this is good stuff that you brought up herer RPK... if TV3 were to show this article, they sure kena ban.... Sarcasm aside...

There's a light somewhere in Perlis. It is time to wake up from our materialistic slumber and start turning the other cheek. Pekung di dada telah terbuka. Now it is time to make a choice. It's advisable to stop for a while and read back the sign. Kot kot la tersilap lorong... smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

The movie is starting.. don't forget the popcorn... 12/11/09
written by mowadoha, November 05, 2009 00:24:43
That reminds you. This reminds all of us .....

written by CatV5, November 05, 2009 04:49:30
I'm not sure what does the cleric mean on the universal...

If Islam (noun) is considered universal i beg to differ with it.. it is a label that calls themselves universal but with certain conditions. Can something be called universal when it requires a certain condition?

If islam (verb) is considered universal than i agree.. everybody owns it.. everybody can submit... just submit... how they submit is up to them and their God. That is true universal for me...

"Muslim are not making enough effort to spread the real message of Islam"

What is real?
"If real is what you can feel, smell, taste and see, then 'real' is simply electrical signals interpreted by your brain" - Morpheus

Muslim don't need effort to spread Islam. It can't be spread by effort. Effort don't produce light from the heart. It forces and drains the energy and will continue to drain more and more until the light dims. Until they become mindless zombies. Putting efforts seems to me like not trusting God know better.

Sincerity however does wonders. But sincerity don't requires you to put an effort to it. Just a good intent and some praying within the heart (without shouting to others) then the action comes later if God willing. It connects from within. The more it flows out the brighter the light. That is the essence of submission to God IMHO.

But don't get me wrong... not all muslims are zombies... there are some really good Muslims.. I'm just pointing out that statement just exposes a certain degree of lack in shining the light.
written by avancc, November 05, 2009 09:46:29
They claim others are extremists… But isn’t what they are doing extreme too?
And they claim others are upper hand or other sects… What is there to prove that it is a upper hand sect or not? And who to decide which is right or wrong? By the way, a sect is a practicing method. Unless you see/caught someone doing something evil with the name of the religious sect, else, they could well be a follower of one sect and follow the lifestyle of another, right?

We could be a member of the “good sect” but behind everybody’s back, we murders, rapes, robs, etc… Or we could be a member of the “bad ones” but in front of everybody, we claimed that we are of the “good side”, right?

Or… we could be a member of the “bad sect” but we keep doing good deeds all over the world… Will we still be condemned? If the answer is “yes”, then the place we are in is practicing “CASTE” system like in the olden India… where we are “classified” based on race, beliefs, not by our Virtue, and we are sidelined because we are not a member of a certain group…
written by Ken Liew, November 05, 2009 10:00:04
One thing is sure.. ISLAM to UMNO.. is just a TOOL~!
written by cantona7, November 05, 2009 11:46:34
DEAR ALL,

They r going to do another Memali if we dont stop them!!!!!!! You have been warned!
written by richardwong, November 05, 2009 12:09:38
You are right then you are right viz
God is the only one who can guide His servants to the straight path. No-one else can do this, not even the prophets:

You cannot guide those you love. God is the one who guides whomever He wills because He is the only one who is fully aware of those who deserve the guidance. (28:56)

There is so such thing as a ‘holy man’ who can guide another to the straight path. This so-called holy man will ultimately himself become an idol for his followers

2:148 And for everyone is his own focus. Therefore you shall race towards virtuousness - wherever and whatever you are - God will bring you forth - all of you together. Indeed God is over each and everything - very precise. 2:149 And from wherever you go – thus you shall focus the sanctioned consented decrees. And indeed it is the truth from your Lord and God will not fail to notice with whatever your deeds. 2:150 And from wherever you go – thus you shall focus towards the sanctioned consented decrees.. And wherever you are, thus focus towards it - so that there will be no mankind over you, challenging - except the unjust from among them. Thus do not fear them, but fear Me instead - so that I may complete My favour upon you - in order that you are guided
written by avancc, November 05, 2009 13:01:27
Speaking of religion and about the use of Allah, I once wrote an article some time ago directed to some extremist religionist… this is how it sounded:

1) If there is only one supreme god, and God created mankind, then are we not all creations of the same god?

2) If God created mankind and there is only 1 supreme God, then isn't those religion all refer back to the same God?

3) If we are all the creation of the same God... And all the "gods" refered to the same God, Then why are we fighting against each other as to who is teaching the right thing, and whose God is supreme?

If the above is not agreeable, so… are you indirectly agreeing that:-

1) There are more than one "God"...

2) Mankind is created by different "gods", thus the difference "race"/religion

Or... Are you indicating that:-

All the separation, classification and "supreme" theory are the creation of your OWN IDEALOGY? A means for you to gain benefits and impose supression to other people who's having different idealogy/lifestyle than yours... In short, your command and conqure plan? So that it's easier for you to say and do anything you like without objection?
written by lvbala, November 05, 2009 13:24:14
Tell me more Pete, it was very interesting..... infact it was a great knowledge for me. The same princip is in Hinduism, Cristianity and buddism too. It was the man who draw the border line. The humans are the one created those clause for their own benefits. Religion by the name of GOD is the main basic stream for separation of humans. Not GOD. At the same time we can blame those who dont understand what is all about and start top follow blindly without think and without question. They are the no 1 cow dungs.
written by Super Admin, November 05, 2009 15:19:42
"We follow ulama' because they are learned ones. We do not take advice on finance from a bum on the street." said cabearth.

Dear cabearth, and do you still follow Hassan Ali the ulama' around - plus carry his bags like an obedient puppy or servant? Oh, and are you still in touch with those ulama' from Terengganu who have been given contracts and timber land by Umno? Oh, and one more thing, was it not PAS ulama who turned Umno like Nakhaie who got Dr Asri arrested last weekend?

Well, as you said, Ulama' are certainly far better than RPK the street bum to learn Islam from. They are so, so learned. Okay, maybe they are slime-balls as well. But what matters is they are so learned.
written by DontPlayGod, November 05, 2009 16:07:57
That's what I have been writing all the time. We are fully responsible(100%) for how we undestand the scriptures, and no one else can stand in for our sins, if any. Are the ulamaks qualified by the prophet or Allah? And who are these ulamaks? Are they the best, most talented and gifted, and intelligent of the Muslims and mankind? As I said before, those who join the clergy are the mediocre and below mediocre class who can't find any other jobs to cari makan(having been rejected by potential employers).

There are more than 7,000 hadith's? Who are the authors of these hadith's? Were they the close followers of the prophet? I understand the first hadith was written 300 years after the death of the prophet. That alone should tell us the value of these hadith's. And so there is no reason why our RPK cannot write a book on Islam and call it hadith if other practioners of Islam centuries ago can write a hadith.
written by richardwong, November 05, 2009 19:13:30
Hee Hee, Cabearth: We follow ulama' because they are learned ones. We do not take advice on finance from a bum on the street.
a) The experts have vested interests, don't you know? Will they advise on anything which will back fire on them?
b) Jesus vs the 'ulama' of his time / Noah & Abraham vs the 'ulama' / Muhammad vs the 'ulama', etc
c) What authentic hadith - based on oral transmissions . . . and any lie or fabrication is still an un-truth despite any reference to a chain of transmission
No comprehend? Be a ostrich then. wow you are one of a kind.
written by Admiral Tojo, November 05, 2009 19:36:40
Ulama - the plural for Alimin, he/she who implores, reflects, analyses and does not accept anything that they cannot verify. (Quran). Einstein perhaps?

So Cabearth's Arab Religion defines them as those in fancy garment, possibly with goatee, that claims that they represent GOD. This is what happens to you when you worship stones for too long and believe in Arab folklores. Your brain turns to stone.

1Shalom
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 06, 2009 01:20:17
700.000 hadiths will tell you that these were created by individuals who most probably claimed relationship to the prophet or suddenly saw an angel or after some nights of orgy they kept on adding all these to burden the people. and for what????????to control the people....and they cannot question it either...for so says the teacher..I cannot be questioned as I am God's spokesperson...le
The problem is God is always silent and let these fellows do the snake dance..
for they add on and on to people's burden to control them..however privately you can see that they do have a "gala" time...
As said earlier the Koran takes a back seat while the hadith dictates how the Koran should be...
MY FRIENDS whether it is Christianity or Islam or Hinduism or Buddhism God has not said a word ..he is silent...All that has been passed to us is second hand informati0n and we only learn a SECOND HAND GOD..from some ulamak..priest or samy....we must learn to learn about God on our own...and experience him on our own...and see the world through his eyes...the people he made and creation itself..and the whys....we cannot let these ulamaks..priests or samys to lead us by our nose like a KERBAU...they are there to give us information..second hand...we take it and find God FIRST HAND...