Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Spat over qualifications Ex-mufti faces another controversy

Spat over qualifications Ex-mufti faces another controversy PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 15:31

(The Star) - New controversy has emerged over the arrest of former Perlis mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul with the Islamic Development Department (Jakim) now questioning his qualifications.

Jakim claims that Dr Mohd Asri did not major in Syariah law, but in Arabic Studies, and that there was no dual elective from the University of Jordan previously attended by Dr Mohd Asri.

Dr Mohd Asri, meanwhile, refuted the claim by faxing a certificate of his dual major qualification to mStar Online.

“The claim by Jakim’s Islamic Training Institute Malaysia deputy director Zamihan Mat Zain is disgusting and insulting.

“Furthermore, the International Islamic University and Universiti Sains Malaysia approved my application to further my studies at doctorate level,” said Dr Mohd Asri yesterday. “The university has since stopped offering a double major degree.

“However, that was not the case during my tenure of studies there,” he added.

Dr Mohd Asri also questioned the motive behind Jakim’s involvement in his case.

“Does this mean that Jakim is one of the ‘black hands’ involved to oust me?

“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has made it clear that the federal government has nothing to do with my case,” he said.

As soon as the news of his “forged” qualifications came to light, Dr Mohd Asri said he had received calls from various lawyers offering to act for him pro-bono to sue Zamihan.

Meanwhile, Shah Alam MP Khalid Samad criticised Dr Mohd Asri’s arrest, saying it was an embarrassment to the Selangor Government.

“I believed the arrest is politically motivated,” he said, adding that he did not believe Mentri Besar Tan Sri Khalid Ibrahim, his executive council or the Sultan of Selangor had approved such an arrest.

On Sunday night, Dr Mohd Asri was apprehended by policemen and Jais officials from a friend’s house as he was conducting a religious ceramah.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by Bigjoe99, November 04, 2009 15:49:09
When they try to frame someone, they don't even check the facts. Its no wonder that they keep getting stuff wrong AND we want these people to police the personal lives and morals of people???

Why don't we get the Three Stooges to run Jakim instead?
written by exumnoguy, November 04, 2009 16:03:06
ANJING ANJING KURAP YG MENGEPONG DR. ASRI PADA MLM. TU
KALAU TAK MENGIKUT ARAHAN TUAN DIA.. IKUT ARAHAN SIAPA
PULAK?
KAN ANJING ANJING KURAP NI TAAT DAN PATUH PADA TUANNYA.
TANGAN AJAIB YA......
SEANTERO DUNIA DAH TAU....SIAPA TUAN ANJING ANJING NI.
written by Apek, November 04, 2009 16:22:53
Dear all,

The entire episode with regard to the arrest of Dr. Asri and subsequent “no show-no charge” by JAIS is a disgusting episode that only serves to highlight the arbitrariness of “government” in dealing with the rights of citizens in this country. This does not bode well for Malaysians. It is also a slap in the face of the Islamist on both sides of the political divide that intend to “sell” the idea of an Islamic state to the non Muslims of this country.

A citizen of this country – whether Muslim or otherwise have fundamental liberties and the right to dignity before the laws of this country. Article 5 of the Federal Constitution guarantees that the Dr. Asri cannot be deprived of liberty saves in accordance with the law. The law expects that JAIS has investigated a series of criminal acts (if any) of Dr. Asri before arresting him and then charging him before a court of law.

JAIS’s action of arresting Dr. Asri on no grounds whatsoever and then proffering no charge after such a humiliating arrest is a blatant abuse of power and infringement of Dr. Asri’s rights as a citizen of Malaysia. An apology by JAIS is in order but sadly such has not been forthcoming.

To add insult to injury, it is the Utusan Meloya and not JAIS that proffers a charge against Dr Asri before a media trial. In its article dated 04/11/2009, Utusan Meloya charges Dr. Asri as not having “petauliaan jabatan” to conduct “kuliah di Selangor”. By this farcical act, it now seems that the JAIS prosecutor is no Utusan Meloya and the Judge it seems is now the media at large.

The STAR too would not be left out in its bid to “protect” JAIS by running an article similarly date now adding a second charge against Dr. Asri and claiming that Dr. Asri does not have the proper Islamic qualifications. This gives us the impression that the two prosecutors of Islamic law in this country are Utusan Meloya and STAR. Pray tell where do these institutions derive their just power to drag an innocent until proven guilty citizen of Malaysia through a trial by media according to the law of the jungle?

And our government under the gutless Prime Minister decides to sits pretty not daring to defend the constitution and the constitutional rights of a Malaysian citizen. Well done!! We would not have expected any more from you anyway.

To the unconvinced non Muslims and Muslim brothers in this country, is this the type of Islamic state that is to come? That the powers that be are able to arbitrarily arrest you for no reason whatsoever, insult and humiliate you in public and then try you by the media according to the laws of the jungle? Islamic State according to JAIS anyone? Thank you but no thank you.
written by storm62, November 04, 2009 21:48:17
“Prime Minister Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has made it clear that the federal government has nothing to do with my case,” he said.

how come the umno pm was so cock sure about this?

when was the investigation? is it before the arrest was make?

bloody insult to our intelligence!!!

written by Daryl, November 04, 2009 23:09:11
This is a joke because if you require a certificate to preach. Guess what! What is the requirement to be a State or Nation Muslims leaders and also on Islam. Hmmmm the royalties but but but most of them love money and probably alcohol and probably beautiful more than an honest Muslim... What a hypocrite BN government.

My apologies to those good royalties but I am just arguing a point here.
written by Daryl, November 04, 2009 23:09:46
No Perak royalties are not the one I need to apologize too,
written by temanmu, November 04, 2009 23:09:48
The Sultan is the head of Islam in Selangor ...

How come there is a mortal "Head of Islam" in the first place?