Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Jeffrey may set up a new party

Jeffrey may set up a new party PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 15:30

(The Star) - Sidelined Parti Keadilan Rakyat’s former vice-president Datuk Dr Jeffrey Kitingan is planning to form a new party.

Aides close to Dr Jeffrey, who has submitted his resignation as vice-president last week in protest over the appointment of new Sabah PKR chief Ahmad Thamrin Jaini, said that a party was the best option as the PKR leadership had ignored the views of its members.

The aide, who declined to be named, said that they were looking at the possibility of forming Parti Perpaduan Rakyat Sabah or Parti Pakatan Bersatu Sabah (or Borneo) to reflect the aspirations of the people in the state.

They did not discount the possibility of taking over a shell political party and changing its name if they failed to get a new one registered.

Dr Jeffrey, who is officially on leave from the party, however declined to comment on the possibility of forming a party but admitted that there has been “calls from supporters” in that direction.

“I don’t want to say anything at the moment. People keep asking me to consider it,” he said when contacted in Keningau yesterday.

However, Dr Jeffrey said there was no point for him to join any of the Sabah Barisan Nasional parties including Parti Bersatu Sabah led by elder brother Datuk Joseph Pairin Kitingan.

“They (the Sabah Barisan parties) too have failed to give a voice for the people of Sabah and Sarawak,” he claimed.

He also dismissed talks of joining local based opposition Sabah Progressive Party led by Datuk Yong Teck Lee but did not discount the possibility of SAPP becoming his ally.

Dr Jeffrey said none of the PKR leadership had contacted him over his decision to quit.

“I really have no idea what is happening there. I have said what I have to say; it is up to them now,” Dr Jeffrey said, adding that “I have to relax and think about how I would continue my political struggle for Sabah.”

His staunch supporter Kota Kinabalu PKR division chief Christina Liew has also resigned as supreme council member.

written by Remo, November 04, 2009 15:32:53
NO TIME TO FUK HIM
written by lamakawan, November 04, 2009 15:51:21
For one, we know that you don't like BN. Another thing is you don't like PR.
But in order to win in the elections, you must first consider BN is your rival. If BN is your rival, you cannot afford to fight another rival. So the honourable thing for you to do is to consider aligning with PR, if BN is your rival. Whether its your own new party or another party that's against BN, you must align yourself to one side of the divide. You cannot be sitting on the fence.
So once you have made up your mind, immerse yourself in deep thought of beating BN.
written by uxzee, November 04, 2009 16:01:30
I don't think Dr Jeffrey can stay put in any political party for long. Too many ants in his pants.
written by shamadz72, November 04, 2009 16:08:54
Good luck Riddance smilies/smiley.gif

written by Wisdom above, November 04, 2009 16:16:49
Please proceed to form Parti Perpaduan Rakyat Sabah (PPRS) or Parti Pakatan Bersatu Sabah (PPBS), but must be friendly to the "NEW" Pakatan Rakyat. Please fulfill the prophecy of a Two Party Political System. SABM.
written by penangboi, November 04, 2009 16:35:22
It has been proven time and again that politics in Sabah is akin to the underwear we wear. Every day it needs to be changed.

Fact is Sabah politics is extremely unstable, and this is because the politicians there are all looking after their own interests. And if there is a remotest reason for them to skip, change, hop, etc they'd do it with no qualms.

The sad thing is that it is the people who will suffer but then it is also the people who choose their own politicians. What goes around comes around.

And it is precisely this fickleness in Sabah politics which will forever put itself in the clutches of BN/UMNO who is very liberal in dishing out goodies.
written by Ngui, November 04, 2009 16:44:38
This Jeffrey guy is a tainted politician and so is Ansari........so they can form whatever party they like. As for Christina Liew, maybe it pays to listen to her. This is politics lah, when something is on the horizon,,,,,,everybody clamor for position. They should know that hard work and the people's interest is also needed. What happened to Dr. Chong Eng Leong,seems a selfless politician.......Sabahans are simple......just be sensitive to their needs and pride and we are very loyal.
written by Tompios, November 04, 2009 16:54:25
Dr. Jeffry,

Most Sabahans are ignorant of your intention to be a leader through any political party since in the beginning. They can call you "froggy" or what so ever but I will remain backing you and vote for your party. BN's leaders in Sabah are merely tail not a leader. They do not fight for Sabahan's rights. As far as I know, those Moslem leaders in Sabah selling their souls to Malaya's leaders and submit themselves to them proudly.

I will support you, Dr. Jeffry. People just cannot understand why you want to be a leader but some of them including me know that you are not work for yourself but for the sake of Sabah!! Sabah!! Sabah!! You once and now a saviour for Sabahan's rights. Yes, you indeed need head position to bring your agendas in Federal government. Agenda to respect Sabah in Malaysia formation! The Malaya's (UMNO in the era of Mahathir)rape almost every entity of the Sabahan's rights especially "20 Perkara"!! By looking at the Puterajaya or Menara Berkembar Petronas, the real Sabahan will cry for unfairness done by Malaya's leaders.

Give Jeffry chance and he will give you Sabah's rights back!! I love Malaysia but I could not stand to see how Sabah has been sidelined by Federal government ruled under UMNO for almost 42 years. Sabah is not a state but a country formerly called British North Borneo.
written by Hakim Joe, November 04, 2009 17:10:26
Jeffrey has always championed himself only.

In 1994, he left PBS to join Angkatan Keadilan Rakyat Bersatu (AKAR). Within months of being accepted as a member, he mounted a leadership challenge but lost. He left in 1996 to rejoin PBS.

In 2000, he once again left PBS to join PBRS. Once again he mounted another leadership challenge and once again he lost. He left PBRS in 2002.

When he joined PKR, his plans were to become the Top Honcho. When his plans failed, he left PKR.

So what else is new?

written by Hakim Joe, November 04, 2009 17:14:59
Tompios,

Jeffrey is only looking after himself, not the people of Sabah. His one and only ambition is to become the president of a Sabahan political party. In fact any party would do. If he really wanted to help the Sabahans, he could have done so as a VP of PKR Sabah - don't need to be President to do so.

written by Tompios, November 04, 2009 17:25:13
Hakim Joe,

Are you Sabahan? If you are Sabahan, then why you cannot see the real situation among PBS' and PBRS's leaders? What the excellent things that they done for Sabah? If you are Sabahan, why you do not see Sabah's conditions in general? Well, I afraid that you are not real Sabahan and if yes you stay quite long time in abroad.

Again, Sabah needs a person who can lead not a follower!! Jeffry is not a follower type!
written by Siapabohong, November 04, 2009 17:51:52
It is good for him to set up his own party. Hopefully this can help to shield his image as a political frog.
If he is true to his conviction to serve the people especially Sabahan and not going to join BN on any possible terms then he can apply to join PR where he will sit and stand at the same level as the other PR leaders. Perhaps this is what he wants, to be number one on his own and want make his decision for his own party rather than submitting to someone else. But then if he decided to bring his party to join PR he must have the conviction to uphold PR's principles rather his own!
Good luck to him!
written by Sutha, November 04, 2009 18:01:57
Jeff,

Whichever party you go to, old or new, you are still an amphibian called "FROG".
written by onnetline, November 04, 2009 18:22:38
Jeff,

Seem like the best of both worlds ............ you take Opposition and your brother, Pairin takes the pariah BN government.
Both can share information and strategise for personal well being !
written by Old Man, November 04, 2009 19:18:45
Got money to set up a new party. Don't you realize that most of your KDM in the rural areas are not only living from hands to mouths ( from the generousity of some friends and relatives ) but don't even have the money to buy a glass bottle to store their condensed tin milk! One day they may end up walking naked again in the remote areas and you're talking about forming this and that party! Simply disgusting!smilies/sad.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Pangkis Pangazou, November 04, 2009 19:22:11
Most West Malaysians does not have an ounce of understanding of the real situation in Sabah. There's no love lost between UMNO and us. Period. You may not believe this, but that is the truth. We were simply outmaneuvered by the system... i.e unethical delineation of electoral boundaries (to favour UMNO), instant maggi mee PTI citizens (hence, intant voters), the gigantic geographical challenge to reach out to rural voters (mountainous...rivers... no access roads etc.... you need helicopters to reach them fast... hence, you need money to do that... which only UMNO-BN have access to)...

We dislike UMNO.... they are ruling Sabah by remote control from way across the South China Sea. What PKR is doing now is no different from what UMNO is doing. I don't blame Dr. Jeffrey from ditching PKR because from day one he joined PKR, he was talking about Sabah's autonomy within the Federation. Infact I.S.A. was used against him previously because of this demand for autonomy (provided for in the 20 points and the Malaysian Agreement). He never did wavered from his original struggle of which he was put in jail for. By joining PKR, he thought PKR can give that autonomy. However, it's plain to see now that PKR is not the answer to Sabah.... they also wants to hold that remote control and wants to lead Sabah leaders by the nose.... just like what UMNO is doing. So, no more awang kerbau.... we will give our support to a Sabah based party who will not dance to the tune of either PKR or UMNO. No more remote control from way across the sea.
written by archie, November 04, 2009 20:22:05
Here we go again..............
written by Proarte, November 04, 2009 21:08:10
The attitude of many of the MT commentators betrays a colonial mindset which does not recognise the cultural and religious rights of the indigenous people of Sabah. There is just an obsession with 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam'.

The Sabahans are sick to the back teeth of being plundered and colonised. As we know there has been an ongoing attempt to inundate Sabah with Muslims from Indonesia and Mindanao. This is an equivalent of racial and cultural genocide. The aim is to control the land for the Malay Muslims in West Malaysia so it will be a permanent cash cow or 'fixed deposit' as Najib likes to call it.

Anwar shows the same cynicism and contempt for the Sabahans as he always had. He was instrumental in bringing UMNO into Sabah and wresting power from the PBS government by bribing representatives to cross over and join UMNO. Fast forward and after all the years of 'Reformation' and 6 years in prison has not been able to disabuse him of his 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam' mindset. A leopard can never change his spots.

Making Azmin Sabah state chief was the height of stupidity as it was sure to inflame local sense of 'colonisation' when that has been their grouse since joining to form Malaysia. It almost seems to be a deliberate attempt to destroy Pakatan chances in Sabah. Well, that is saying goodbye to the next GE for Pakatan.

I strongly suspect that Anwar has given up on his quest to be PM. He is now doing his utmost to make sure he does not end up in prison. And that basically means not being a threat to Najib. Instability in Pakatan is Anwar's role. That way Najib does not have to appear to be the 'bad boy' like Mahathir who put him in prison. Anwar will be acquitted because that would be Najib's final victory, to tell Anwar that he is a political 'has been'.

I personally wish Anwar leaves politics for good. He has done so much damage to Malaysia. If the petty power struggle between Anwar and Mahathir had not taken place, then all the vandalism done to democratic structures over the last 11 years would not have taken place. The police, judiciary, the media, the educational establishments were all systematically compromised in the process of neutralising Anwar. PAS made the biggest gains as a result of Anwar's fight with Mahathir and this too has been a disaster for Malaysia. Huge segments of the PAS leadership form UMNO's biggest fan club.

MT readers must realise you cannot move forward for the good of the nation if you do not separate religion from politics. Secularism is the only way forward.
Look at all these Islamic agencies- JAKIM,JAIS, YADIM, IKIM etc etc. Do they really bring Malays closer to Islam and Allah? They are just a means to control the Malays in the name of Islam. Malays are slaves to these agencies who are corrupt to the core and have no right to be associated with Islam. Can anyone care to name just ONE Islamic agency which is above board and commands the respect of people? As I write, the Muslim Clerics are having major disagreements and are pouring scorn on and suing each other.

When will Malays understand that religion is a personal matter. Once it enters the political domain it is a source of division. And this is what the ruling elite want, so there will be division so that they can continue plundering the nation in name Islam.
written by storm62, November 04, 2009 21:26:56
ya, x'mas and new year is around the corner.....so, it's "party" time!!!

liow = chindraft
hassan ali = cowsbirdraft
jeff = dandraft
written by sydput, November 04, 2009 22:56:37
good move jeffrey.
show that faggot anwar he has no right to control sabah by remote.
you were trusted to lead pkr sabah by sabahan pkr members.
if that trust is not honoured by pkr bosses in malaya, then its time to kick ass and form a new sabah opposition party.
written by Daryl, November 04, 2009 23:05:02
Dr Jeffrey, who is officially on leave from the party, however declined to comment on the possibility of forming a party but admitted that there has been “calls from supporters” in that direction.

Dear Dr. Jeffrey

I know the argument about West Malaysian don't treat East Malaysian right but members are usually just about 1% of the population. So, my question is does the RAKYAT of Sabah agree with this move. If yes go ahead but if not can you explain why you are moving foward with a new party. At this moment to me you seem to be power hungry and just as wrong as Azmin and DSAI. What say you now....
written by EYFF, November 04, 2009 23:14:21
Well after trying to hire Mike Hoary's mercenaries to "take" Sabah out of Malaysai, Jeffry was given a free ISA holiday. He was released but with conditions.
Well BN his master is calling in the favour or else! He will form a new party and then giv it as a present to BN,
written by jaz, November 05, 2009 10:15:43
There is something fishy about this guy, I don't trust him. Seems to me that all he cares about is to make profits by jumping around. Now that PKR is no longer useful for him, he quits and form another party. Sorry Jeff, even though you wanted to fight for the Sabah 20 point agreements and fight for the rights of the natives. I find your character questionable.
written by gundohing, November 05, 2009 11:34:41
Jeffrey's selfishness goes to show he does care about the Kadazan/Dusun community... he is more interested to break them into smaller groups by forming another party. Hmmm.. I wonder if the Feds is behind these moves and how much $$$ he is getting for it.
written by lucky irish, November 05, 2009 15:20:33
The indigenous people of Sabah thought they're being controlled by fellow org Semenanjung but they couldn't keep their house in order, and actually long before that (till now!) they're being controlled by certain ethnic in the state themselves. Just go to the major towns in Sabah and see who's in charge. I'm sad because i like ur indigenous people a lot.So my local bumiputera friends, open your EYES WIDE and think about it..
written by Devoe, November 05, 2009 15:30:34
He has been dwelling in politics for quite some time now.Well,let him decide what is the best option for himself.There is no point of keep condemning him.You're not even exist in his party.
written by RockyMountain, November 05, 2009 17:14:17
The problem with some of you who keep on calling Dr Jeffrey a frog is that you have a mindset that politic is mainly and purely for personal gains and nothing more. That is why in your thinking once you are a member of a political party you must stay put there until you die no matter what, because if you keep jumping into another political party it can only mean you are expecting that political party (or parties) to offer you something bigger and better for yourself . If Dr. Jeffrey has this mentality then his personal interest is well served if he just stays put in BN and like the rest of the BN leaders in Sabah start apple- polishing the UMNO masters in KL and he would surely obtain multi-millions worth of projects with up to 35% percent kickbacks would go into his pockets!!

But is Dr. Jeffrey that type of leader? He was involved in a number of parties because he wanted to pursue his Sabah agenda to the Federal Government led by UMNO but, alas, none of the existing leaders of the parties he joined in were agreeable to his ideas – they were and are still dead scared that their status quo will be affected, their comfort zone they are enjoying with their UMNO bedfellows must be preserved at all costs. He was enticed to join PKR in October 2006 because he thought that Anwar could be trusted as far as Sabah rights are concerned. It is proven all of us were wrong including Dr. Jeffrey (please read the interview with him with Roy Goh, NST 01.11.09).

In politics will you still stick with a political party which no longer share your common objectives and aspirations for the people you are supposed to serve? No, and Dr Jeffrey has the same answer. He must move on. All this while he was only “menumpang parti orang lain” but this time he must have his own party. He has been very consistent with his political struggle for Sabah, especially the 20 Points. Dr. Jeffrey has given us a valuable lesson in our political struggle for the Sabah cause that one has to be relentless, courageous and consistent no matter what, the end justifies the means and that is exactly Dr. Jeffrey has been doing for Sabah! (and Sarawak for that matter).

written by cllim123, November 05, 2009 17:42:53
This Jeffrey fellow only want to be leader but can never get enough supporters to be effective. So to hell with him. He is the biggest katak of all.
written by Susuit, November 05, 2009 19:17:58
I doubt, register any new political party siding opposition will not be approved.