Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Pakatan finally applies to be formal coalition

Pakatan finally applies to be formal coalition PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 11:22
By Debra Chong, The Malaysian Insider

At last, Pakatan Rakyat (PR) has taken a big step towards formalising its alliance in order to go head on with Barisan Nasional (BN) as a registered coalition at the next general election.

The Malaysian Insider understands that officials from the PR alliance handed in their application to be made a formal coalition to the Registrar of Societies (RoS) some time earlier this week.

According to government sources, some 10 names each from DAP, PAS and PKR were listed in the registration form, together with a list of common objectives, which are expected to be laid out when the alliance holds its first convention next month.

A logo bearing a “rising sun” was also tendered — signalling a “new dawn” for the country — as the fledgling opposition front's symbol against BN's dacing, or scale.

The PR bloc believes its application this time will pass muster, based on the new stand taken by the Registrar of Societies Datuk Md Alias Kalil.

Md Alias had publicly stated that the previous reading of Section 2 of the Societies Act 1966, which states any coalition of political parties must have at least seven political parties as members to be registered did not apply.

The loose alliance of PKR, DAP and PAS first came together in the wake of the landmark March 8 general election last year, which saw its members wrest control of four key states from BN in spite of fundamental differences in philosophies.

But it remains to be seen if PKR, PAS and DAP will be able to settle their various spats within their respective parties as well as with each other and present a force capable of challenging BN.

READ MORE HERE: http://www3.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by Ulan Benson, November 04, 2009 11:32:15
A good and timely move. We will support you all the way.

Just remove and delete those 'sleepers and trojan viruses from UM-NO from your system, otherwise we will be in deep shit again for the next 52 years...Trojan viruses like Hasan Ali, Wee Choo Keong (MACC supporter), etc are dangerous bet for the next GE. I rather tear my vote if they are being fielded to contest a BN's monkey.
written by justice, November 04, 2009 11:32:16
written by eloofk, November 04, 2009 11:37:28
Hail! To the PK Alliance with all my blessings for them to stand united and bring down the tyrannical regime of BN/UMNO for their brutality, evil doings, corruptions, robbery, lies and mob rule.

I urge all peaceful, loving Malaysians to give their blessings and prayers for PK Alliance to bring us hope for a new dawn and era.
written by DreamLady, November 04, 2009 12:12:45
Bravo!!!Pakatan Rakyat, finally the coalition is in place, May God bless the unity with overwhelming Divine Light to overcome all obstacles!!!!!
written by batsman, November 04, 2009 12:15:12
About time! Now rein in the loose cannons. As a mark of respect I will even stop insulted the dumbos. heeheehee
written by asguard, November 04, 2009 12:28:22
Well... register as coalition...is one step ...but pakatan has many more steps to take and winding and dangerous road to take... around by the umno devils and demons..whom will try all means to stopped them from assuming power in putrajaya!
written by SocratesI, November 04, 2009 12:47:20

Kudos to Zaid Ibrahim for drafting out the guidelines that are acceptable to all 3 Parties ! Pakatan Rakyat to Win GE13 and all by-elections from now on ! Yes !
written by Rock, November 04, 2009 12:52:39
If you are traveling with two others, elect one of you as the group leader - al-Hadith. So who is the leader and as a coalition parties which party will lead? Do not become one ship with three captains. Coalition NOT collision! For a start, remove all BN viruses in whithin...
written by Agahdemo, November 04, 2009 13:48:10
Ready..get set...GOooooo to Putrajaya!!!!!!

Hidup Pakatan, Hidup Rakyat!!!!!!!!!
written by budakindia, November 04, 2009 13:57:21
Yes! Finally an official coalition! It's a big step and we will support you all the way! Please remove all the kataks or potential kataks from your coalition! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by KingSolomon, November 04, 2009 14:17:03
Debra Chong, the rakyat ar NOT wary of fed up of PR. We understand that it take some time to iron out their differences in ideology. What we want is the respective parties immediately weed out the likes of Hassan Ali, Zulkifli Noordin and Wee Choo Keong. We are very unhappy with these people, not their parties.
written by anak sarawak, November 04, 2009 14:17:04
very good move and sarawakians support u all
written by KingSolomon, November 04, 2009 14:25:25
Typo error ..the rakyat are NOT wary or fed up of PR.
written by Remo, November 04, 2009 15:24:39
A great move.
The best is still a one party system.
What for still want to have Malay Chinese and Indian party?
written by Fight4Justice, November 04, 2009 15:27:47
Not a word about this mentioned in the MSM. Malaysia boleh!
written by panca, November 04, 2009 15:42:16
The rising Sun signify the dawn of new Malaysia....Rise to the occasion, Pakatan Rakyat.
written by Lis LQ, November 04, 2009 15:54:21
Very nice symbol. Hidup PR!!!!
Please weed out all the FROGS, ASAP,start the coalition with a clean house,clean environment for a better tomorrow. We dont need bad vibes,we want good Feng Shui!!!!
FROGS...... out please.
written by Aduh, November 04, 2009 17:33:56
Unity is strength. The alliance should help to hold all the three parties together to wipe out the common enemy.
written by semangat63, November 04, 2009 18:33:24
Undilah pakatan rakyat!!
written by tsai68, November 04, 2009 20:21:10
We sincerely hope this will come true - not just hearing thunderstorm sound and see no rain coming ? May the Almighty and Merciful GOD bless PR ? AMEN
written by Spear Bing, November 05, 2009 00:17:53
The logo should make provisions for new parties to join PR.

written by mowadoha, November 05, 2009 01:05:49
Yes, yes, it's here finally ..... Congratulations in advance!!