Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow PAC wants Chan Kong Choy and OC Phang investigated for CBT

PAC wants Chan Kong Choy and OC Phang investigated for CBT PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 11:16

(The Star) - The Public Accounts Committee has recommended that the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission or the police to investigate former Transport Minister Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy and former Port Klang Authority general manager Datin Paduka OC Phang for criminal breach of trust over the Port Klang Free Zone project.

The committee, which is investigating the scandal-ridden PKFZ, has found both Chan and Phang to have breached the Financial Procedure Act 1957 by issuing three letters of support and three letters of undertaking without the approval of the Finance Ministry.

On Tuesday, PAC committee member Tony Pua told reporters at the Parliament lobby that the committee was recommending that action be taken against a former Transport Minister and several officials for criminal breach of trust.

He added that the officials included the PKFZ board of directors and Transport Ministry officials. He, however, declined to name the ex-minister concerned.

“Many people are responsible. There are nearly 10 people on the board itself. From the report, we know that many officials have been negligent in their duties.

“There are also elements whereby officials have not taken into account their responsibilities to the Government, and some have negligently caused massive losses to the PKFZ project.

“We (PAC) only present the facts and opinion, and we call on the relevant authorities to take the appropriate action against those we believe are negligent,” he has said.

Asked on what form of offences that had been committed by the former minister, Pua has said: “To the PAC, the charges are serious. There are several issues involved, it’s not just about the letters.”

During the PAC inquiry on the PKFZ project, it was revealed that two former Transport Ministers had issued four letters of support for the project.

Comments (8)Add Comment
written by alpha1, November 04, 2009 11:44:03
Only CKC & OCP? What about that fat ass butcher LLS? Anyway, these are just runners. The real culprit who gave approval to all this is non other than the sleepy head Fcuk Lah! Investigate him too then we believe there's still justice in this country! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by batsman, November 04, 2009 12:13:56
Looks like 1Malaysia blitzkrieg is seriously trying to clean up its image. This will win some converts back into its fold, but the real test is the Selangor PR govt's legal right to represent the people of Selangor. Will this be trampled underfoot as in Perak?
written by loosecannon, November 04, 2009 12:16:15
Are these two being the fall guy? Surely the colossal amount involved must have involved many players. It would take many executive plane loads (excuse the pun)just to card away the money. Even a few millions fallen off would not be missed. So are we to believe that these two are the main culprits? Someone somewhere somewhat must have assured them that all details will be taken care off and the rakyat will again be screwed without anyone noticing? ICI should increase their output of white paint in preparation for the PKFZ finding outcome.
written by lakian, November 04, 2009 13:43:37
CKC stepped down due to health.Is he still answerable to the authority?OC Phang migrated to Australia?LLS broke his arm might affect his mental disable?TKS got nothing to comment but say tks.The rakyat you are responsible for all these.Rakyat you put them up there tro casting.Rakyat you authorise them to steal,to rob your properties.
written by KingSolomon, November 04, 2009 14:29:45
Dr Chua soiled his leg but that does not directly affect the rakyat. But the transport ministers soiled their hands and the rakyat lost billions of ringgit. For that they must be investigated and charged.
written by sydput, November 04, 2009 14:59:10
What about Muhyiddin for selling land acquired from stamford in johore which was later sold to his crony syed mokhtar for below market price, which the johore state had to compensate stamford for the difference?
written by Bigjoe99, November 04, 2009 15:46:24
What about UMNO treasurer Abdul Azim Abidi AND Selangor EPU chief Nordin?
written by mamakstail, November 04, 2009 19:48:58
CKC's son happen to be my son's classmate in Catholic High School PJ. My son told me CKC's son has stack of Rm50 note to spend and burn (he really burn Rm 50 notes in front of his classmates). That was a few years back.