Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Time for recall elections, Selangor

Time for recall elections, Selangor PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 10:50

Will Pakatan seriously address party-hopping?

So, if Pakatan Rakyat (PR) is serious and sincere about political integrity, this is what they should do: Propose an amendment to the state constitution to remove Article 64(5) — the anti-reelection clause — and introduce recall elections.

By Wong Chin Huat, The Nut Graph

THERE are those who cheered for Opposition Leader Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim's now infamous 16 September 2008 plot to take over the federal government by defections. There are also those who initially cheered the 10-day defection of Datuk Nasarudin Hashim (state assemblyperson for Bota, Perak) from Umno to Parti Keadilan Rakyat (PKR). But do these people now have the moral high standing to condemn the quitting of Port Klang state assemblyperson Badrul Hisham Abdullah from PKR to become a BN-friendly independent?

While some will try to argue that some defections are more moral than others, the truth is that defection remains defection.

At one level, every citizen — including lawmakers — must be allowed to freely associate and disassociate themselves with any organisation. Therefore defence for defection on the grounds of freedom of association is simply a red herring.

The real question at another level is: Can a lawmaker carry his or her mandate to a new political party? By analogy, if you decide to leave one street dance party for another party, can you carry the seat you were sitting on with you? Not unless the chair belongs to you.

Does a legislative seat — and the mandate it carries — then belong to a political party or the elected representative?

The answer really depends on the electoral system. If you are elected under the "closed party list proportional representation" electoral system, the seat is undoubtedly your party's and you should be disqualified the moment you quit the party.

For our first-past-the-post electoral system, even the political scientists are somewhat divided. Some believe that voters vote for candidates while others think that the votes are heavily driven by party labels.

What to do when you are in doubt? Ask the voters.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.thenutgraph.com/

written by eloofk, November 04, 2009 11:09:16
The only way to go about maintaining political integrity and moral standing is to change the law and declare the seat vacant if any assemblyman hopped from one political party to another or declare himself independent.

It is not all about the person who was elected by the electorate but the platform of the party whose manifesto he is representing and stand for.
written by concernedinmalaysia, November 04, 2009 11:16:50
How about when anyone jumps the state just goes to state elections? That would solve all the problems and might deter these frogs from jumping in the first palce because they know they have the seat they hold because of the party they represent. It is also well within the existing law as far as I know.
written by yatchee, November 04, 2009 11:17:28
YES PLEASE CHANGE THE LAW BECAUSE IT IS THE PEOPLE WHO VOTED IN THE ASSEMBLYMAN.IF HE OE SHE JUMP SHIP LIKE A FROG ,THEN THE SEAT MUST BE CONSIDERED VACANT AUTOMATICALLY.THIS PEOPLES RIGHT AND POWER.THIS WAHT YOU CALL DEMOCRACY.NEVER LET THE FROGS TAKE CHANCE ON THE RAKYAT..REMEMBER ...PEOPLE'S POWER...
written by Bloodhound, November 04, 2009 11:21:28
Sorry, commented on the wrong blog
written by Rock, November 04, 2009 11:31:47
A frog would say the people voted him/her not the party. That's why it called Wakil Rakyat, not Wakil Party untuk Rakyat. Next time, tell the rakyat to vote for the calon not the party. Like what they used to say, di Johor if calon BN tu beruk, pun dia orang pangkah! That's why orang yang rasuah, cabul and bad pun boleh jadi wakil rakyat. Bilalah rakyat kita ni faham tentang demokrasi.
written by educationist, November 04, 2009 11:31:48
No, it is not only in Selangor but in all the states that such recall elections will mature the political scene.
But can Selangor pass such a law?
Will that UMNoputra divisison, the Election Commission obey that law?
According to RPK, the UMNOputras have targetted the fall of the selangor state government in Jan 2010.
Well, why not go for broke?
Give these UMNOputras a run for the money!!
written by batsman, November 04, 2009 12:20:59
Any law can be abused. What is created by man can be abused by man. The correct thing is to ensure people are given the chance to be educated to a high degree of intelligence and to aim for high ethical and moral standards.
written by Vera, November 04, 2009 12:30:28
PKR....a very good point to ponder! Wong Chin Huat has given a remedial suggestion on defections. So act on it before it's too late!
written by batsman, November 04, 2009 12:46:42
PR has to win the national elections first, but this can be a good platform for the next elections.
written by gycgocnt, November 04, 2009 13:08:16
As a resident in Selangor, I don't prefer to have another by-election! I have spent about half year to convince around 500 peoples to vote for change before the political tsunami.

If the ADUN in my area (Telok Datuk- Tan Choon Siew) defects and become the so-called BN friendly independent, I would definitely take the responsibility and give these 500 peoples an answer. (That means I would like to "Visit to" my dear ADUN's home and criticise him openly on behalf of the 500 peoples convinced by me to cast the vote to him.)

What Selangor resident need to do now is not waiting for another "Defection". We should watch out carefully our ADUN. Let them know the act of "Defect" is uncompromised, unforgettable and unforgettable!
written by tenang, November 04, 2009 13:53:43
Excelent suggestion! What you say now, PR? A moment to do something different, or forever in the shadow of BN-UMNO?
written by anak sarawak, November 05, 2009 11:20:00
But please be reminded the Federal Constitution Law also need to be amended otherwise any parties bring the case to the court it shall be null and avoid. This had happened in Sabah during the times when PBS was the goverment in 1990s
written by clarity, November 05, 2009 18:19:45
Do it while the going is still good.