Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Asri claims there is a conspiracy to bring him down

Asri claims there is a conspiracy to bring him down PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 10:20
By Syed Jaymal Zahiid, The Malaysian Insider

Ex-Perlis mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin believes there is an attempt by certain quarters to "destroy" his reputation.

The recent allegation made by a known conservative Islamic scholar with the Malaysian Islamic Development Department (Jakim) that Asri forged his syariah qualification was, for Asri, proof to back his belief in a conspiracy.

Zamihan Mat Zain Al-Ghari, in an interview published in Utusan Malaysia, said the former Perlis mufti had no syariah qualification, that he had only studied syariah as a minor course when he was studying abroad.

The Jakim official's accusation is serious as it suggests that Asri was never qualified to become a mufti which means that all his views as the second highest authority on Islamic matters in the state were questionable.

"There is definitely a conspiracy here. I don't know who is behind this but there is definitely a conspiracy to discredit me," Asri told The Malaysian Insider yesterday.

"I am perplexed by this allegation as it is coming from someone in the religious department, someone who is supposed to have a high moral authority," he added.

Asri had just finished giving a press conference in Penang where he showed documented proof of his syariah qualification when The Malaysian Insider called.

READ MORE HERE: http://www2.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by budakindia, November 04, 2009 10:42:45
A real slap to the Najib's face! He said the federal government was not behind it! How come JAKIM's officer openly accused Dr. Asri of faking his qualifications & preaching Wahabi? Answer that Najib! smilies/grin.gif
written by DreamLady, November 04, 2009 10:46:08
Salam Sejatera Dr. Asri, I guess this is your first blast of venom from the power that-be. You are upright and you love to speak your mind and expose many irregularities even when you were the Mufti in perak. The devils hate good people, and now you are back from overseas with a title, to make matter tense for the devils, when you begin to spread good will, the only way to squash you mute is to slice you bit by bit to demoralize you till you are in total mess!!

Please, be strong and brave for us the rakyat. My dear fellow Muslim, be firm to face head-on with the devils, cos' God guides and protects the righteous ones always!!!
written by educationist, November 04, 2009 10:46:22
I think that is obvious!
But who?
Who has most to gain by neutralising Asri?
He has just been appointed?/nominated for an influential government Islamic body.
Looks like a political puzzle!
written by DreamLady, November 04, 2009 10:47:24
..typo., it should be Perlis instead of Perak. sorry for the error..
written by fireduck, November 04, 2009 10:57:54
This is the cue that an esteemed NGO needs to take to weed out the bogus from the bona fide in the govt and the civil service. Any NGOs out there with the guts to take it on?

Let me explain. Since they are questioning the qualifications of Dr Asri, perhaps we should also investigate the qualifications of ALL muftis and Jakim officials too. And don't stop at that. Check all the qualifications of the Ministers, the civil service heads, staffs etc. I think it's been highlighted that some become 'graduates' overnight. And many become Dato's in seemingly dubious manner.

So, yeah, I say we clean house. Don't just stop at Dr Asri. But we cannot depend on the UMNO(BN) govt to do that for us. It has to be a rakyat initiative, and an NGO pressure group in order to effect the change we need. There are way too many useless buggers we have to support with our tax money.
written by eloofk, November 04, 2009 11:15:51
Yeah! Holymen showing their true worth practicing the unholy harbouring jealousy, back-stabbing showing wickedness in trying to destroy the popularity of an upcoming rising star.
written by panca, November 04, 2009 15:46:36
Asri claims there is a conspiracy to bring him down

Got meh? I didn't even know. I just read about it in the newspaper. I can swear if you want me to.
written by Sutha, November 04, 2009 18:05:02
Finally JAKIM is doing its job. But shouldn't that checking and verifying his qualifications and credentials be done before appointing him a Mufti?

BODOH PUNYA JABATAN!
written by storm62, November 04, 2009 20:27:46
wow wow wow...a communist party umno trying to bring down a well learned Mufti?
i thought they are brothers of the same faith?

holy cow, now which is which?....is the one carrying a cow head roaming the streets of Shah Alam more Islamic or what? what religion teaches you to step and spit on the head on the animal which gives you meat?