Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Liow and group checkmated

Liow and group checkmated PDF Print
Wednesday, 04 November 2009 10:11

By Alan Ting, Malaysian Mirror

It was another dramatic and extraordinary event at the Wisma MCA Tuesday when party president  Ong Tee Keat unveiled his "greater unity plan", checkmating his opponents in the party.

Nobody knew that Ong had actually planned well for this CC meeting with another brillant political move that became known just a few hours before the meeting began.

The plan included the removal of four appointed CC members who went against him, namely party organising secretary Yoo Wei How, deputy national organising secretary Gan Hong Su, and ordinary appointed members, Chor Chee Hueng and Chai Kim Seng.

The notice of their removal was sent about 10.30am via SMS by Ong's political secretary Simon Lim before being followed by the official letters.

Simultaneous moves

It was about the same time that the notice on the appointment of three new CC members were sent to Chua Tee Yong, Tan Ching Ming and Donald Lim Siang Chai. All of them attended the CC meeting Tuesday.

mca 4.jpgAn hour later, a letter from the Registrar of Societies (ROS) was received by Dr Chua Soi Lek, stating that he was still the party deputy president.

All these happened almost simultaneously, just before the CC meeting started at 1pm and caught almost everyone by surprise, including those in favour of fresh party elections.

Party sources said immediately after the CC meeting began, there were attempts to stop the president from explaining the unity plan by some of the CC members who requested for an EGM but were unsuccessful.

The sources said after Ong finished his explanation, 27 of the 44 CC members signed an undertaking to support the unity plan.

Only Ong himself, Dr Chua and vice-president Dr Ng Yen Yen did not sign. The two men did not sign as they are party to the unity plan, while Ng is away on the ministry's Scandinavian tourism promotion.

Chua was sacked as deputy president on Aug 26, but the CC commuted the sacking to a four-year suspension. However, at the EGM held on Oct 10, Chua was reinstated as party member but not as the No. 2. However, ROS today said he was still the deputy president.

Liow, who had been deputy president for only 19 days, refused to accept the ROS' decision, saying he "reserved the right" to appeal against the decision and might consider taking it to court.

Together with Wanita chief Chew Mei Fun and Youth chief Wee Ka Siong and some CC members, Liow left immediately when the CC meeting ended at 5.30pm without attending the press conference by Ong.

READ MORE HERE: http://malaysianmirror.com/

written by jjireh99, November 04, 2009 10:38:18
GOOD! Not that I support MCA but seeing the likes of Liow being checkmated is "enlightening". He is too greedy and ambitious being a young "chicku" to want the top post. Not that I condone what CSL did but between these 2, I'd rather see CSL as the No. 2. I am nevertheless disappointed with Chew Mei Fun! I thought she knew better than that! She changed camp so fast. She was supporting OTK initially but I guess she thought that OTK would definitely be kicked out. Boy, was she wrong! Can't say much about NYY. Got to be careful with her. She seems to be very quiet, maybe watching which way to flow with the current! She's having a real good time touring the world. Don't forget, she's in Liow's camp! So, I hope OTK will continue pursuing the PKFZ issue or else..... no difference. Let's see how many UMNO fellas will take the fall!
written by Al Ambia, November 04, 2009 10:42:44
"Together with Wanita chief Chew Mei Fun and Youth chief Wee Ka Siong and some CC members, Liow left immediately when the CC meeting ended at 5.30pm without attending the press conference by Ong."
Conspiracy of the highest degree.

written by budakindia, November 04, 2009 10:50:42
Hahahaha! Beyond words! Now the enemies are sleeping with each other! The question is will they do it again in Kratina Hotel? Hahahaha! smilies/grin.gif
written by educationist, November 04, 2009 10:57:27
At the end of the day, all I'm interested in is this fundamental question:
Will the MCA be able to stand up to its political masters on the principle fairness and justice for the rakyat?
Or will it continue to be just a wagging dog of the UMNOputras waiting to petted by uttering the right noises?
written by alpha1, November 04, 2009 10:59:52
Ticket, Just sack these 3 pariahs like what you did to CSL. There's no place for traitors in the chinese community and i'm sure you can dig some evidence that Boh Liow did accept goodies from contractors , wee wee did involved in the sex scandal with a chinese student, so on and so forth and use it against them. Get rid of them b4 they do it to you! Talk about politics...! smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by AuntyG, November 04, 2009 11:13:11
I am definitely no fan of MCA, represent "the chinese community" - MY FOOT.
But I am soooooo glad that any traitor or "turn-bone-person" (farn-kuat-chai)is checkmate - padan muka !!! This Gang of Three should be "executed" in true Chinese style like the Gang of Four of China.
written by unomalaysia, November 04, 2009 11:24:50
Don't mess with this hainanese smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
Any the backstabbers must be pressing their This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif

Looks like the curse of the health Ministry strikes again smilies/shocked.gif
written by yatchee, November 04, 2009 12:10:55
**** ALL THESE MCA STUPID CARI MAKAN PEOPLE AND LET MCA FOREVAER DISAPPEAR IN THIS WORLD FOREVER,ALL THOSE IN MCA ARE GOOD FOR NOTHING .ALL BECOME RUNNING DOGS AND BETRAYED THE CHINESE HOPE IN THIS COUNTRY,BASTARDS OF THE FIRST DEGREE...BASTARDS
written by alpha100, November 04, 2009 12:23:34
This MCA drama going to be great drama for Malaysian TV drama producer. Don't let overseas drama producer highjack it. Its going to be in the light of Man in Net, Shanghai Beach etc but on different setting. Its great story with sex scandal etc etc.
written by Aming, November 04, 2009 14:22:36
All shits in MCA. The only difference is the grade of shits. Some stinks to high heaven like LTL(A )followed by WKS and CMF (both A)
written by Jan, November 04, 2009 14:32:48
Liow should understand that Chua Soi Lek is a doctor, you know MD, Me Deputy.
written by 1351, November 04, 2009 18:35:26
It is no secret - even to passive observers - the conspiracy in MCA to remove Tee Keat. It is no secret UMNO managed to rope in "selected" office bearers, hatch a plot to force Tee Keat's hand. Indeed unfortunate for all M'sian's that Tee Keat, as the only guiding light in a shit hole of an MCA was force to stop his investigation into the PKFZ debacle.

Looking beyond the horizon, let me sound out to the many members of MCA seeking public office near future : The lot of you might bloody well succeed in forcing Tee Keat's hand but when it is time to face voters at the polls, I dare say that most candidates from MCA will not win too many seats contested.

Many of us are apolitical, not many are card carrying members and hence, we remain silent in our support or opposition to all that is going on in MCA. From the outside looking in, there shouldn't be any room for Soi Lek, Liow, Wee Ka Siong and that bitch, Chow Mai Fun to position themselves.

If Tee Keat harbours any hope for himself and MCA, I hope he acts decisively and with alacrity to not allow any deceitful dogs and bitches from further participation in any executive forum.

* Not that it bothers me too much, but MCA can't go to hell for I care. What matters to me is to make sure UMNO doesn't get its filthy hands on MCA's assets and cash reserves generated from over three generations ago. The jewel in the crown is currently parked in Multi Purpose Holdings and within it, the majority stake in Magnum Empat Numbor Ekor(ENE). Then on, there is a substantial stake in two banks and landed property that has been carried in the books at "book value" that is perhaps greatly undervalued at today's current market.

All in all, it would surprise me not that UMNO is going for the jugular to raid MCA good and proper. Going by track record and reputation, it is a scary thought to read into the minds of the hidden hand.