Home arrow The Blogs arrow From Around The Blogs arrow 1-School system and 1-Malaysia

1-School system and 1-Malaysia PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 November 2009 22:41

By Dr. Rafick

1. Past week few people commented about the need of having a single stream school system in Malaysia. Najib as anticipated played down the issue by saying that it will not be implemented if the people do not want it. As Malaysian, we need to ask ourselves which is more important, political survival of some politicians or the need to be one, as a nation.

2. Some people may argue that the country has progressed over the last 52 years with the current system in place. There isn’t a need to change because education index among Malaysian is high, per capita income is high. We have many highways and tall buildings. Are these criteria enough to measure the maturity and success of a nation?

3. Former Propaganda Minister, Zainuddin Maidin said “Malaysia should emulate Singapore’s single stream school system so as to produce a population that “no longer spoke and acted on racial sentiments”. Well, there is some truth about what the Zainuddin is saying but it is not the only reason. Singapore became what it is today, because of strong political leadership with political will and strong governance. They had one mission and the mission remains the same since 1965. In Malaysia, it is not the same. For e.g. One PM came with out with Islam Hadhari and the next PM made it into “Islam hari hari”. The point I am trying to get at is that our goals change with the PM of the country.

4. The key point that we must accept is that after 52 years of implementing the present education system, the people of this country are still divided along racial lines. The current system of education does not promote trust between the people. It becomes a sore point among many people in the street. We must appreciate that the current system is in place because some people felt it is a must to maintain their mother tongue and the politicians who pushed this ideology did it for the sake of themselves and not the country, Malaysia. These are the very people who govern the nation for 52 years and place their interest first before the nation. I believe it is time to move forward.

Read more at: http://rights2write.wordpress.com/2009/11/03/1-school-and-1-malaysia/

written by batsman, November 03, 2009 22:45:25
Anyone in the mood to care? We are cooked and ready to be served.
written by Richfyf, November 03, 2009 22:58:49
Yeah 1 system.. Like all malaysian regardless of race can get a place to do metriculation or enroll in Mara Institute. All the talk of 1 school system is just wayang ... same as 1 Malaysia concept
written by minds, November 03, 2009 23:00:53
once for all our goverment the umno BN dont want the rakyat to be clever so that they can hold on to power as long as posible.
Why dont use english for all subjets and mother tongue for melayu,chinese,tamil and so on iban,kadazan ect.
That we call single stream educations and by then we are proud to be a malaysian.
Don’t become like our ex minister “election or ERECTION HA HA HA
written by onnetline, November 03, 2009 23:14:15
This 1Malaysia concept is a lying propaganda ploy from that racist cum murder suspect, Najis C4.

..... strictly for suckers and ignorant fools only !
written by alarcarte, November 04, 2009 00:02:53
Single stream school? O.K. I agree, provided:

1) Employ the best teachers irrespective of race, only the best will do.
2) Meritocracy in awarding scholarships irrespective of race, unlike now, talk kock only.
3) Remove religious studies out from the single stream schools, all students irrespective of race to attend moral study class rather than Islamic studies for the Muslims and Moral for the non.
4) Remove the "prayer" session during school assembly for the non Malays feel out of synch. of sorts during this session.

4)
written by freedom to speak, November 04, 2009 00:05:44
All this 1-nation, 1-malaysia, 1-school sys, 1-country, 1-concept ,1-itu, 1-ini..... Bullsh*t lah!
Its like climbing Everest. Very few want to do it. Others don't even bother.
All this 1-concept require much SACRIFICE and COMPROMISE.
People all over the world still look down on others for many aspects.
Skin colour, status, religion, race, etc, etc, even sex...also.

We malaysians also cannot eat together. Chinese like pork, Malays like beef, Hindus cannot eat either. Go to any open house and the question is HALAL ke? Got BABI ah? Ini daging lembu kah?

What this talk about 1-Malaysia, 1-school system. Are all malays, chinese, indians, etc willing to compromise when our children learn together and play together? One day they will ask to marry each other. Then what you guys going to say? Are you going to set conditions to marry. Then, sure have to SACRIFICE and COMPROMISE or break them apart.
Ini 1-Malaysia kah? 1-school system boleh pakai kah?
Boleh kah we refer ourselves as MALAYSIAN instead of Malay, Indian, Chinese, Bengali, Punjabi, etc?
Guys, if you say CAN/BOLEH. I support 100%.
If you say maybe. I also maybe.
If you say NO WAY. Then I also take this 1-concept system and chuck it.
Sad but fact it fact.
written by InEffective, November 04, 2009 00:20:21

I am not interested in the Ministers or politicians desires for Unity.

if the politicians cannot deliver equal rights, equal eligibilities, equal opportunities in education, no value in listening to politicians.

What i am interested is in my kids getting a first class education - high school and in university.

No university in Malaysia is First Class.
Local schools system is rife with racism, deteriorated standards, religious influences, poor-quality teachers.

When the incumbent governance can deliver an education system that has standards and can product results, then only i shall consider their desire for single-stream.
written by citizenmy, November 04, 2009 01:20:24
We can have 20-30 education system..French, English, Mandarin, Hindi, Arabic, Spanish etc. This do not necessarily cause disunity in Malaysia.
Malaysians were more united before Tun Razak era compared to now and our education system was well recognised worldwide then.
What happened during and after Tun Razak era? That is what we need to ponder. Which part of the system was disturbed resulting in current mess?
Just revert back to old system, and everything will return to normal.
written by malaysiaunited, November 04, 2009 01:49:12
I guess there vested interests in ruling parties and oppostion parties trying to be champions of race,language and religion. When I school stream is practiced, all these vested interests will disappear! They will focus on improving the quality of life. It's time to follow Singapore, with BM and English as meduim of instruction from kindergarten to varsity with complusory Mother tougue language as a subject.

Do our policians who have survived on championing Tamil, Chinese schools have long term interests of the country in mind? Professor Khoo was right!!!!
written by Aizad 234, November 04, 2009 02:29:23
Y not?? bapa aku bersekolah di sekolah British(sekolah campur)... byk berkawan dari kalangan bangsa Cina dan India dan terus kekal berkawan sampai hari ini.. kenapa kita tidak?..

dasar pecah dan perintah digunakan dari zaman sekolah rendah lagi... sedih.

bapa aku dulu siap boleh tidur, main nyorok-nyorok di rumah kawannya yg berbangsa Cina...
written by Beni, November 04, 2009 04:29:38
The cause of racial polarization is NEP. Under NEP everything in this country is either bumiputra or non-bumiputra.
The cause racial disunity is the policy of the government that there are different classes of citizen. As a result, there are inequalities and injustice. Some citizens are still being referred as pendatang.
The cause of racial segregation is the racist education policy where there are schools and institutions that only open to bumiputra. The awarding of scholarships and selection of students for the universities that are based on race. The existence of the matriculation system for the bumiputra. Racial segregation is also caused by the restrictions on the intake of public servants to a particular race. The reduction of non-Malay teachers in the national schools have turned away many non-Malay parents from sending their children to the national schools. If we have a big proportion of non-Malay in the public service, Malaysia will be a much better place.
So don't blame the vernacular schools for the problems that we are facing. Vernacular schools do not restrict the intake of students to a particular race. There are many non-Chinese students in the vernacular Chinese schools. As long as the Chinese or Indian or Iban or Kadazan want their children to learn their mother tongues, we must respect and honour their wishes. Allowing the Learning of mother tongues unites the people rather than causing disunity.
written by onnetline, November 04, 2009 06:13:48
The 1Malaysia tagline is preached and synonymous with unseen lies and hidden agendas.

Like his 1 C4 team and victim, Altantuya !
written by Bigjoe99, November 04, 2009 07:05:37
I went through the Singapore education system AND I can tell you that it has little to do with unity in Singapore. If anything, it was divisive because it forced too much conformity and emphasized elitism. Too much conformity results in resentment and no outlet for other talents, other than those allowed, to bloom. If anything the Singapore experience should tell us NOT to force the the issue of single-stream. Even Lee Kuan Yew said he made a mistake by not giving more attention to the Malay and Tamil language because he found Singaporeans could not operate as effectively in Indonesia and India because they did not have the language skills.

In reality, Singapore does not have a single stream school. The 'Chinese' stream/'English' stream divide was always there even to this day. Some schools are known to be more 'Chinese' and others more 'English' or national types. The only difference now and before is that the govt has emphasised the learning of English AND Chinese because of China and now the gap between he 'English' schools and the 'Chinese' schools have narrowed a lot. Even the way the schools are run have narrowed. In the past 'Chinese' schools were more independent while 'English' schools took their cue from the govt. For years, the govt tried to make the 'Chinese' schools conform but was opposed all the way. These days the elite schools are known as 'independent' schools and run like 'Chinese' schools of old.

All these statements just confirm how ignorant and outdated Mahathir and his co-horts actually were and just so much clear now. There is nothing to listen to from them anymore. They are sad sad things that should die like dinasaurs instead of them roaming around with their anachronistic minds and mouth to destroy things..

The cause of Singapore's unity is so much more and we can go to lengths - from the meritocracy, secularity, transparency, rule of law, and if there is a program - the National Service. Schools come way below and keep in mind the challenge of Singapore is different than ours.

If we want to compare to Singapore, why PAP came save Kampung Glam and we are demolishing Tanjung Tokong. How about comparing THAT which is simple to do first. They can't save Tanjung Tokong, they want to deal with the schools problems?? What a load of crap...
written by asguard, November 04, 2009 09:52:28
I say show the middle finger at 1malaysia!
written by rocky, November 04, 2009 09:58:32
Improve the quality and practise meritocracy and people will send their kids automatically to national schools like in the 70s. and make a difference betweeen religious and non religious schools, so those who want a religious education know where to go.
written by freerpk, November 04, 2009 10:41:10
It is not the school system that makes people divided. If after 4 generations of being born & living in this country, you are still divided into pendatangs and non-pendatangs that is where the division is. Every year comes the political party conference, the pendatangs are reminded that they are not truely Malaysians. That is what divides the people.
written by budakindia, November 04, 2009 11:00:53
They should start with the 1Toilet program! Then only they should consider 1Skool program! smilies/grin.gif
written by emg385, November 04, 2009 13:00:53
There will never be 1Malaysia as long as this 1Mafia organisation/entity called UMNO exists.After the demise of this 1Mafia, then only Malaysia will unite. smilies/grin.gif
written by Devoe, November 04, 2009 15:24:38
I'm not defending any side on this matter. Education is one of the vital roles in uniting the country.So dont ruin it with useless method or initiative.It will harm the harmonious pace of this country.If we want to be known as a united country then we have to prove it.Period.
written by Joe, November 04, 2009 17:12:51
We should have more madarasah like in Pakistan, Afghanistan!
written by jaz, November 05, 2009 09:52:08
Single stream or not does not matter. Just give us quality education systems.
written by Nicole, November 10, 2009 11:08:36
Education is important. whatever does govt do in effort to develop our youngster, i do really hope that it is effective.