The Asri intrigue escalates PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 November 2009 21:23

The issue was raised by Assri at a press conference on Saturday where he criticised a memorandum that was submitted to the Yang di Pertuan Agong by the Sharie Lawyers Association of Malaysia (PGSM) over allegations that the former mufti had belittled Islam’s learned scholars.

Malaysian Mirror

The arrest of former Perlis mufti Dr Mohd Asri Zainul Abidin has become more intriguing with speculations that it had stemmed from a personal dispute between him and Nakhaie Ahmad, who retired last month as president of the Yayasan Dakwah Islamiah Malaysia (YADIM), the national Islamic missionary foundation.

Nakhaie said Asri had made allegations that he misused his position in YADIM and was corrupted. He denied the allegations.

asri-syariah-case-2.jpgAsri, who has been appointed in Nakhaie's place since Nov 1, was arrested at a house in Taman Sri Ukay, near here, in the wee hours of Monday morning after delivering a religious talk before a group of about 300 people.

The Selangor Islamic Affairs Department (JAIS) has come under fire from state and national leaders from both sides of the political divide, who do not want to be seen as being the culprits for the controversial arrest.

Selangor MB wants answers

Asri was called to the Ulu Klang police station to give his statement and then asked to report to the Gombak Timur Lower Syariah Court to hear the charges against him.

However, nobody from JAIS  turned up at the court where the former mufti was supposed to be charged with delivering a religious talk without a tauliah (official recognition) . Asri was, instead, issued a police bond as a notice for JAIS enforcement officers to question him at a later date.

Selangor mentri besar Khalid Ibrahim has since asked JAIS to explain the situation to avert speculations and possible repercussions that would be detrimental to Muslim unity in the state.

He said the state government was sensitive towards the various reactions that had surfaced from the arrest, adding that it has been informed by JAIS – which has the authority to enforce the state Islamic administration enactment – that the department was investigating the matter,

Speculations of disagreement

Pending the findings of the probe, there would not be any charges against Asri,

Various quarters had urged JAIS to act in a professional manner in dealing with the issue, so as not to aggravate the situation to the point that it becomes unmanageable.

However, this had not stopped speculations that Nakhaie had disagreed with the appointment of the former mufti as his successor in YADIM and Asri, in turn, had reacted harshly in defence of his new position.

nakhaie-ahmad-2.jpgNakhaie, a former PAS stalwart who later defected to Umno, had allegedly also told some people that neither party wants to admit Asri as their member as he is known to make controversial statements that could only bring trouble to the party.

Reacting to the charges, Asri had purportedly also made allegations that Nakhaie misused his position as YADIM president to accumulate wealth and to take holidays abroad.

MACC findings showed Nakhaie 'clean'

It is learnt that the allegations were reported to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and the findings showed that Nakhaie is ‘clean.’

Nakhaie told reporters at his home in Taman Melewar, near here, on Monday night that Asri had also asked the Auditor-General to investigate the dealings of YADIM to confirm if there had been any mishandling of funds.

“I don’t think he needs to do that. It is the AG’s job to look at how YADIM spends its money.

“Don’t interfere. Who is he to make orders to the AG?” asked Nakhaie, adding that YADIM’s accounts were audited early this year.

The issue was raised by Assri at a press conference on Saturday where he criticised a memorandum that was submitted to the Yang di Pertuan Agong by the Sharie Lawyers Association of Malaysia (PGSM) over allegations that the former mufti had belittled Islam’s learned scholars.

Nakhaie, who had headed YADIM for the past ten years,  denied that he was behind the memorandum, adding that he was aware of word spreading that Asri would be appointed the new president.

Asked why he suspected Asri was against him, Nakhaie said: “He mentioned a certain person by age and connected to YADIM.

“There was no other agency mentioned, so it was clear he was referring to me.

Investigating YADIM

“He (Asri) asked the AG to investigate the misconduct of YADIM not of any other agency. This means the accusations were against me.”

Nakhaie added: “It is better for Asri to state openly that I am corrupted. If not, he would be lying.”

Regarding the brief arrest of Asri by JAIS officers, Nakhaie said: “Even though he is a former mufti, he still requires a state recognition to preach the religion.

“Maybe, this is not needed in Perlis. But in Selangor you need that.”

Nakhaie, 67, added: “I had been YADIM president for four terms and my current contract is supposed to end in 2012.

“I am not sure why my contract has been shortened. Maybe, I am too old.

written by Watchdog, November 03, 2009 21:40:08
Nakhaie- it is not because you are old. That you are old is true. You were replaced because your shelf life had expired.
written by Ocassey, November 03, 2009 21:48:16
MACC findings showed Nakhaie 'clean'

It is learnt that the allegations were reported to the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission and the findings showed that Nakhaie is ‘clean.’
SEE, DSAI, What were you told?
All TUANS of UMNO will escape nets of any gauge !!!

Wong Chuan How of Sg. Pelek DAP..... we cry with you.... BE STRONG AND BRAVE !!!
written by SocratesI, November 03, 2009 22:00:30

It was the Auditor General that uncovered all the Fraudulent payments amounting to RM28 Billion and Not the MACC so the MACC finding Naik Hai clean doesn't mean sh*t ! Obviously the Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization wants to have an avant-garde Islamist scholar in charge of YADIM instead of this ultra-stodgy old fool, Naik Hai, so Asri is supposed to take over YADIM, but Naik Hai is scared sh*tless that Asri will uncover all his Corrupt Sh*t in YADIM, so he is trying his best to thwart Asri' appointment, with character assassination to boot. End of story !
written by cheekhiaw, November 03, 2009 22:27:02
In a country run by thieves, liars and murderers, why should religious organisations be run differently?

written by rocky, November 03, 2009 22:32:45
MACC also cleared Khir 'Disney' Toyo, so what is the big deal wearing a MACC approved badge?
written by KingSolomon, November 03, 2009 22:53:54
Corrupted politician and policemen are common. Corrupted islamic clerics, surfacing soon?
written by onnetline, November 03, 2009 23:06:40
“I am not sure why my contract has been shortened. Maybe, I am too old.

Too old and lying too.
Taking revenge when tenure was shortened ......... damn bloody obvious ! !
written by arazak, November 03, 2009 23:13:31
Anybody who joins UMNO, no matter how strong his faith was before, are bound to be tainted too!

UMNO is like a stinking "tong tahi", no matter how clean you are, when you muddled into that stinking UMNO "tong tahi", you are bound to stink too. . .phew!!!
written by Proarte, November 04, 2009 04:16:07
All these organisations use Islam to hide their criminal activities and debauched life-styles. They are just immoral cults.

Even ABIM which was founded by Anwar received millions from the Wahabi Saudis. There is no such thing as a free lunch. So this clearly explains Anwar Ibrahim's 'Islamisation' program for Malaysia which destroyed traditional Malay culture and Islamic worship and introduced an atavistic interpretation of Islam which was primitive and anti-intellectual. The whole purpose was to control Malays so they become blind followers of UMNO Islam which gives to much prominence to Arabism. UMNO has destroyed traditional Malay culture by supplanting it with Arabism and elements of Wahabi Islam purely to give the impression of going back to a 'pure' Islam rather than the 'adulterated' Islam which characterised Malay worship.

Islam in Malaysia is controlled by an immoral regime. Malays are slaves to UMNO because they are Allah's representatives on earth and only their religious scholars can disseminate Allah's word.

If religious leaders need a permit by the State to disseminate Allah's truths then one wonders who is more powerful Allah or UMNO? Who should Malays worship UMNO or Allah? Clearly as the arrest of Asri has shown, Islam has been politicised purely for the interests of the immoral ruling class. Intellectual thought and debate is suppressed and ritual and dress codes are given prominence. Malays have been thought to regard outward show of piety and ritualistic worship is the essence of Islam. In Malay Islam Truth, Justice, Equality are not mandatory.

The chickens are coming home to roost as we see the consequences of fascist governance with the total lack of moral direction in Islamic practise in Malaysia.
written by freerpk, November 04, 2009 08:52:16
Yah, yah, yah MACC will always find no evidence if they don't want to find any evidence. This is the heritage from the Malaysia Boleh government and now "1 kind" of Malaysia government