Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Malaysia ranked 18th by IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009: last year it was 19th

Malaysia ranked 18th by IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009: last year it was 19th PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 November 2009 16:44

(Bernama) -- The IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook 2009 has ranked Malaysia in 18th spot out of 57 national economies.

The government considers this an improvement compared to last year's ranking of 19th out of 55 economies.

The Deputy Minister of International Trade and Industry, Datuk Jacob Dungau Sagan who disclosed this today said, the outcome was a strong indicator of the state of Malaysia's economy.

Jacob added that organisations in Malaysia must remain committed, relevant and focused in raising productivity and competitiveness.

"We also need to look for more innnovative ways to help organisations transform and address the economic challenges.In other words, we should not be afraid of making challenges when changes are needed.

"We need to urgently look into new and bold ways in formulating innovative approaches to deal with the economic recovery," he said.

He was speaking at the prize giving ceremony of the "Productivity Photography Contest 2009", organised by the Malaysia Productivity Corporation (MPC)and Fujifilm Malaysia Sdn Bhd, here today.

The IMD World Competitiveness Yearbook (WCY) is a renowned and comprehensive annual report on the competitiveness of countries while analysing how a nation's environment creates and sustains the competitiveness of enterprises.

Comments (7)Add Comment
written by arazak, November 03, 2009 17:11:51
What is there to be proud of? If my kid got number 18 out 57 students in his class, I would have spanked him!

Look at all these top 10 coutries in the IMD ranking, they are also the best ranked coutries in the Corruption perception Index (CPI) by Transperancy International.
1.USA
2. Hong Kong
3. Singapore
4. Switzerland
5. Denmark
6. Sweden
7. Australia
8.Canada
9. Finland
10. Netherland

Malaysia will never, ever be the top 10 country in any ranking as long as we have the corrupted UMNO-BN regime rulling this country!

On the 2nd thought, maybe top 10 ranking of "the longest lemang in the world", "the biggest roti chanai", "the longest time of dodol paddling", "the most number of ketupat boiled", and recently, "the biggest Malaysia 1 logo made from 20sen shilings" (this last one was a true event and recorded in the Guiness book of Record!).
written by KotaDamansara73, November 03, 2009 18:27:51
arazak,

Why are you so cruel to your kid? Academic success does not guarantee life and wealth success.

The thing that you need to be angry is that some of the coutries rank above us, has hardly any natural resources. That, you should be angry about. WE blessed with oil, palm oil, rubber and timber still lose out in the ranking.

Spoil rich kid always squander easy gain wealth.
written by cheemengwong, November 03, 2009 18:45:13
My daughter got 35/36 last exam! I give her a warning. A warning in a form of a Mezuza box with a parchment reminder inside to be worn over her neck for the next 365 days until she does better!

Spanking? Please lah.

Anyway Malaysia should be No. 1 not 17 or 19 because we built the highest tower in the world once.

Why settle for 19 or 17?

Malaysia Tak Boleh!
written by concernedinmalaysia, November 03, 2009 18:47:43
Our neighbor, Singapore, is number 3 now that is something to be ashamed of! If Malaysia was governed even half as well as Singapore we would be in the top 5. Malaysia has a wealth of natural resources, has so much land, and is so strategically located on the globe yet cannot be a leading competitor on the world stage.

Something smells really bad! Oh sorry that must be our government of the day smilies/sad.gif
written by arazak, November 03, 2009 20:20:18
KotaDamansara,

I am not being cruel to my kid. On the contrary, I am teaching him to be resilient. I did not spank him hard though, I spank to teach him. You might have heard, "spare the rod and spoil the child". Well, I did not use the rottan either.

In the context of Malaysia in the above IMD ranking, the point I am trying to covey is being no. 18 means nothing,. . .ziltch, zero (at least to my standard! I do not know what are your standards)!

Rest assured, I am a gentle person and I love my kid (likewise for him)!

If Malaysian Ranking is like Singapore year in year out in the IMD or CPI ranking, than I will be very pround of my country!
written by citizenmy, November 03, 2009 21:45:35
written by arazak, November 03, 2009 17:11:51
and recently, "the biggest Malaysia 1 logo made from 20sen shilings" (this last one was a true event and recorded in the Guiness book of Record!).

Is it true? My God! I am truly ashamed with this type record events organised by Malaysians.