Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Umno, not racist?

Umno, not racist? PDF Print
Tuesday, 03 November 2009 08:31

By Ding Jo-Ann, The Nut Graph

DATUK Seri Najib Razak's assertion over the weekend that only "one or two Umno leaders" have made racist comments and that they do not represent the party's views belies belief.  

Umno's top leaders have in fact publicly and repeatedly championed the Malay agenda over the legitimate interests of other Malaysians. In some instances, intimidation and fear have even been used in their rhetoric to uphold "Malay rights".

Hence, Najib's exhortation for Malaysians to ignore and forget the racism that Umno is capable of is problematic, to say the least.

Not just a few

It was at the opening of the Gerakan national delegates conference on 1 Nov 2009 that the prime minister reportedly said that people should not pay too much attention to the one or two party leaders who make racist remarks. He added that every party had such leaders. Najib, who is also Umno president and Barisan Nasional chairperson, urged people to instead look at Umno's policies from "Day One", saying they have "always been fair, inclusive, democratic and open".

Hishammuddin (pic courtesy of theSun)

But in attempting to paint a rosy picture of an inclusive and representative Umno, Najib appears to be conveniently forgetting the words of many of his party colleagues, including those from his own cabinet. Or perhaps, the prime minister wants us to forget.

Again and again, Umno leaders have berated and chided those who are seen to question Malay rights and supremacy. When Najib says we are to ignore the "one or two" leaders who have made racist comments, whom exactly does he mean?

written by freerpk, November 03, 2009 08:41:46
A successful politician is one that says something that is pleasant to the crowd and since the crowd is a Gerakan conference, That is what he says. If he was speaking in an UMNO conference it will be entirely different.
written by Bigjoe99, November 03, 2009 08:47:03
The fact is nobody believes Najib words by now. He had a brief reprieve a few months back but that is all gone. But what is to be asked is if you keep, being false, as the Catonese say, what will happen? It all depend on your performance. If he delivers somethings, people will stand back and let him be. BUT if something bad happens like another economic crises, blood will be asked from him..

So what we really need to kill of Najib is another economic crise sadly speaking...
written by adamckteh, November 03, 2009 08:57:23
"DATUK Seri Najib Razak's assertion over the weekend that only "one or two Umno leaders" have made racist comments and that they do not represent the party's views belies belief."
---------------------
Why these 'one or two Umno leaders' was not brought to court? Why Najib???
written by KangrooCourt, November 03, 2009 09:14:23
Half baked Minister. Sack & suspend any racist MP including the DPM. I bet to my last dollars you will not dare to do this. Everyone just take care of their own pocket.... Malaysia Boleh.

Pls ask your friends & relatives to vote for the changes in the next GE !
written by mick_err_stan, November 03, 2009 09:28:31
Next GE opposition must make the following promises to the Rakyat if they are voted into power :
- To investigate irregularities and to recover the millions and billions of ringgit paid out in form of commission or inflated cost
- To convict and jail all who are guilty of corruption
- To investigate all the statutory declarations on illegal and corrupt activities by individual in the justice system
- To ensure all have equal right to an education regardless of race
- NEP to help the needy, the poor, regardless of race

These are some of the initiatives for a better Malaysia..... pls feel free to add on.......
written by educationist, November 03, 2009 09:41:49
UMNO is not racist if the sun does not rise from the east.
The writer's examples are clear irrefutable examples of how racist UMNOputras are!!
written by savemalaysia, November 03, 2009 09:47:23
Normally a murderer will not admit that he is a murderer, the same goes for UMNO bloodsucker politicians!
written by Abajawi, November 03, 2009 10:09:51
A politician who has said he will bathe his camping-knife in another race's blood is not a racist, is it? If that is not the remark of a racist, then Rosm-h is N--ib's first wife! Also, Al-antuya didn't die in Malaysia coz she never entered Malaysia. After all, there are bo records of her having entered Malaysia.
written by tompipi49, November 03, 2009 10:25:06
I pity you PM,for you are so shallow. It does not take a PHD (pernah habis darjah)to see through you. You think people are suckers. Take action against these racist members and sent them to Kamunting (for real not for show only) and we will be convinced. You are only window dressing by telling Malaysian that UMNO is no racist. You are a RACIST youself. Pity how other Malaysian politician can tolerate you.But I think there is light already on the horizon and people are no more blind.See you in the next GE
written by asguard, November 03, 2009 11:48:19
UMNO is party of crooks and thieves no matter what lies they tell now or let it be tomorrow will be the same thing... they will continued to tell lies, manipulation, robbing the people thru the taxes and toll, twisting facts, undercover operations, arm scandals, murder cases and many more... i don't trust this devil entire! And so is the pm HIMSELF...!
written by Vera, November 03, 2009 12:10:14
The SOP for most BN Politicians:- Masuk kandang kerbau menguak, masuk kandang kambing mengemek! Digest this peribahasa!
written by aisyalam, November 03, 2009 12:14:05
UMNO-BN...FCUK YOU...WE ARE NOT DUMB LIKE YOU PEOPLE
written by MAMR, November 03, 2009 13:35:05
Again and again, Umno leaders have berated and chided those who are seen to question Malay rights and supremacy. When Najib says we are to ignore the "one or two" leaders who have made racist comments, whom exactly does he mean?

Based on the above statement why should Najib be worried at all, if the situation worsen what he need to do is just shout at his slaves,MCA,MIC,GERAKAN etc and I am very sure the slaves will come running to kiss his hand and asking for forgiveness.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, November 03, 2009 14:28:44
Ya right!!! And Madonna is still a virgin.
written by CHOWKITMAN, November 03, 2009 14:49:11
Yea, & I did not wave the Keris, I always use Tongkat remember?

picture courtesy of someone , sorry forgotten his name :

written by joeawk, November 03, 2009 15:22:16
Not very clever, is he?

He said that it is his prerogative to appoint OTK n KTK as ministers and so is his appointment of the racists in UMNO as his ministers, meaning he endorse racists in his cabinet.

Pewrhaps, a racist cannot quite identify another racist.
written by u chen, November 03, 2009 15:40:31
written by Admiral Tojo, November 03, 2009 15:46:09
Najib shows signs of selective short term memory loss. He should see a shrink and is NOT fit to hold office. Clinically, this will lead ultimately to loss of sex drive. Roastmah better be aware.

written by u chen, November 03, 2009 15:47:05
[img= http://www.facebook.com/photo....=598743072 ]

written by u chen, November 03, 2009 15:49:17
My apologies, I had trouble attaching a pic. If the pic is of value, would some please assist. Thank you.
written by Fuminari, November 03, 2009 17:25:53
it is that umno be end hoodwinking self gain clutches policies in order to stay in power which are hindering the progress of nation building,it is the clutches policies which causes the system to be corrupted,it is the clutches policies which are detrimental for malaysia to go forward ,it is the clutches policies that are cultivating racism n social divides.
written by toroono78, November 03, 2009 19:28:34
Dear Admiral Tojo,
ROASTMAH HAS GOT THE CARPETBOY MAH!!!!
written by toroono78, November 03, 2009 19:33:03
Dear Admiral Tojo,
ROASTMAH HAS GOT THE CARPETBOY MAH SO NO PROBLEM IF NAJIS LOSES HIS SEX DRIVE.
written by Ghifarix, November 03, 2009 21:49:53
Yea right, European Far Right love Arabs Asians and Africans as Pik Botha loved Nelson Mandela, so UMNO isn't racist; they just think that the country is for a certain tribe.