Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow What are the choices? (UPDATED with BM translation)

What are the choices? (UPDATED with BM translation) PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 18:32

There are many of us who are disappointed and disillusioned with Pakatan Rakyat. And we would rather die than support Barisan Nasional. But we have nowhere else to go. So we need a new platform. And if Gerakan can be that new platform we would certainly give it a chance.

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t. That is the problem facing Pakatan Rakyat. You do something you get whacked. You do nothing you also get whacked. That is the dilemma of the opposition.

The main complaint against the opposition is that they don’t rein in the ‘Little Napoleons’, the ‘loose cannons’, the ‘prima donnas’, and whatnot. When the opposition is lax on the ‘frogs’, ‘turncoats’, ‘Trojan Horses’, or those suspected of about to take the leap of unfaith, the opposition is accused of sleeping on the job.

Now the opposition is coming down hard on those viewed as detrimental to the wellbeing of the opposition. And how does the mainstream media respond? The print and electronic media is full of stories about the opposition breaking up.

Damned if you do, damned if you don’t.

The opposition has two choices. It can do nothing and give an impression that all is well in the opposition ranks. Or it can do a massive spring-cleaning and weed out those who do more harm than good to the opposition cause. Which would we prefer?

I used the term ‘benevolent dictatorship’ in one previous article. This is probably an oxymoron though. It is as oxymoron as saying military intelligence (can the military ever be intelligent?). Or maybe, as I am so fond of saying, a virgin prostitute. You can’t be both a virgin and a prostitute at the same time. That is what is meant by an oxymoron. So would a benevolent dictatorship qualify as an oxymoron?

A dictatorship is where the rulers rule with a strong hand and without allowing any dissent or opposition. A benevolent dictatorship is one where a strong hand is tempered with justice, fairness and compassion.

It is not easy, of course. And while it may sound ideal in theory, in practice this may be very hard to do.

Nevertheless, order must prevail and when there is a breakdown of order then extreme measures are required. And this is what, I argued in the past, the opposition appears afraid to do.

And what is the result of the opposition’s lack of action? Well, we have people like Hassan Ali, Ibrahim Ali, Zulkifli Nordin and whatnot doing things harmful to the opposition cause. Then we have infighting, inter-party skirmishes and intra-party battles that threaten to bring down the opposition.

So where do we draw the line?  Where does freedom of expression end and sabotage begin? What are the limits and tolerances allowed to the opposition representatives? This is certainly subjective because one man’s meat is another man’s poison. Can we allow and tolerate what the west does, such as expressing discontentment by streaking like the legendary Lady Godiva riding her horse stark naked 1,000 years ago?

The main complaint against the opposition is that it is not reining in its ‘problem people’. Soon after the 8 March 2008 general election, Malaysia Today revealed that there are some in PAS who are having secret talks with Umno. Malaysia Today revealed that Umno is trying to bring down the five state governments under Pakatan Rakyat by buying over the opposition representatives. Malaysia Today said that Umno wants the Malays in the opposition to cross over so that Malay political power could be restored.

Umno said that the 8 March 2008 general election was a repetition of the 11 May 1969 general election where the Malays lost their majority in parliament and a few states and therefore a 13 May 1969 ‘solution’ would be required to address the problem. Malaysia Today revealed all this but many pooh-poohed what was revealed and even accused us of trying to use scare tactics by resurrecting the ‘ghost’ of ‘May 13’.

Today, Khalid Samad, the PAS Member of Parliament for Shah Alam, reveals that the meeting PAS had with Umno was held as early as 10 March 2008, two days after the election. And Umno wanted PAS to leave Pakatan Rakyat and team up with Umno to form a ‘Malay’ government so that the Malays can, again, become the majority in the government.

When the proposal for PAS to team up with Umno failed to materialise, Umno went into Plan B, and that is to buy off the Pakatan Rakyat representatives and entice them (or blackmail them) to cross over. The first state to fall would be Perak followed by Selangor and later Kedah. Kelantan and Penang would probably be spared but they would get back these two states in other ways.

If Barisan Nasional and Umno are sincere, then they should explore the possibility of a unity government. And this is what Malaysia Today proposed early in 2008. But of course many were against this idea and they whacked me good and proper, some even accusing me of ‘selling out’, etc. They of course did not understand what I had in mind or refused to understand.

I was not talking about opposition representatives resigning from PKR, DAP or PAS to join one of the 14 parties in Barisan Nasional. I was not even talking about PKR, DAP and/or PAS joining Barisan Nasional as the 15th, 16th or 17th component member. I was talking about the PKR, DAP and PAS representatives remaining in their respective parties and the three Pakatan Rakyat parties remaining in Pakatan Rakyat but with Pakatan Rakyat and Barisan Nasional sharing power and jointly running this country as two coalitions in partnership.

This has been done in many other countries, even between very diverse parties such as Christian Democrats and Communists coming into ‘partnership’. Some have worked and some have failed when after a while the unity government broke up and they dissolved parliament or the national assembly in favour of fresh elections. So there are no guarantees and it might work or it might not. Nevertheless, we will never know unless we try and if Barisan Nasional is really sincere about ‘reconciliation’ then this is the best alternative to explore rather than trying to buy out each other’s representatives and triggering crossovers.

But it is probably now too late to explore the possibility of a unity government. The unity government was something that might have worked with Abdullah Ahmad Badawi or Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah as Prime Minister. It is not possible with Najib Tun Razak as Prime Minister as then we would be endorsing Najib and would be giving him legitimacy.

Anyhow, much has changed since 8 March 2008. The Perak issue alone makes it impossible to now talk about a unity government. Before Najib took over and before what they did to Perak it would have left the door open. Now the door has been permanently closed and the only alternative would be a total change of government. Barisan Nasional has to be kicked out. There are no two ways about it. Najib is just too sneaky for the opposition to enter into any deal with Barisan Nasional.

Which means all we have left is an alternative government. But can Pakatan Rakyat be that alternative government? Not if they continue the way they are going. Pakatan Rakyat needs to do a massive housecleaning. Again, there are no two ways about it if the opposition wants to continue getting the support of the voters.

So, this, Pakatan Rakyat is doing. And you can’t fry the egg unless you first break the shell. So many shells need to be broken. But the mainstream media is making it appear like the opposition is breaking up. It will certainly break up if nothing is done. But through housecleaning it can only get better and stronger.

I, for one, am not afraid of controversy or turmoil. There is always opportunity in chaos. Di dalam kesempitan ada kesempatan, as the Malays would say. And, as the English would say, we have to bite the bullet. And bite the bullet we shall.

I am prepared to give the opposition another 18 months to show us what it can do. Then, around 18 months from now, Najib would call for fresh elections and we will, again, be going to the polls. So, in early 2011, Malaysians will be able to choose their new government. More than 2,000 Malaysians will be offering themselves as our 800 or so state and federal representatives. We will then assess the situation and decide whom to vote for.

Yes, 18 months more. In 2011, Malaysians will be asked to choose their new federal and state governments. Then we will show the politicians who we want as our government subject to how they conduct themselves over these next 18 months.

I don’t want Barisan Nasional to continue lording over me, as so do many other Malaysians. But can Pakatan Rakyat be entrusted to take over? Let’s see 18 months from now. In the meantime, however, we need a third ‘horse’ to wait in the wings. In case both Barisan Nasional and Pakatan Rakyat fail us we will need a third alternative, a third force so to speak.

I am currently looking at Gerakan. Somehow I have a soft spot for Gerakan -- always had since 1968. But I don’t mean the Gerakan in its present form. That is just not acceptable. It has to be a Gerakan that is out of Barisan Nasional, an independent party or third force. It has to be a Gerakan that sheds its Barisan Nasional culture. Many of the ‘old horses’ and tainted leaders have to go. We need a revamped and revitalised Gerakan that offers itself as a true Malaysian party minus the racist and religious platform.

There are many of us who are disappointed and disillusioned with Pakatan Rakyat. And we would rather die than support Barisan Nasional. But we have nowhere else to go. So we need a new platform. And if Gerakan can be that new platform we would certainly give it a chance.

But Gerakan can’t win our support based purely on promises like how we supported Pakatan Rakyat in March 2008, based purely on promises. Gerakan has to start now and show us what it can do and is prepared to do -- today, not far into the future and only if it happens to come into power. Gerakan does not need any learning curve. It has already been the government for almost 40 years so it knows how to govern.

At the moment we have all our eggs in one basket, Pakatan Rakyat. And if that basket breaks we will lose all our eggs. And the eggs in the Barisan Nasional basket are just too rotten to the core. So that is not much of a choice. With a third force we will have more choices.

Is Gerakan truly prepared to become that third force? The ball is at Gerakan’s feet. But no promises! Promises are made to be broken. Show us today, and 18 months from now we, the voters, will tell you if we like what we see. We will tell you if our vote is with a reorganised Pakatan Rakyat or a revamped Parti Gerakan Rakyat that has reinvented itself. Hmm….Parti Gerakan Rakyat. That name goes well with Gerakan Rakyat Bloggers. I like the sound of that.

Sigh….how nice if that actually happens. Maybe I am being too idealistic. Maybe the choices are between a bad Pakatan Rakyat and an even worse Barisan Nasional. And bad is better than worse. What a choice!

Translated into BM at: http://gomalaysian.blogspot.com/2009/11/raja-petra-apakah-pilihan-yang-ada-what.html

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, November 02, 2009 19:04:45
Choosing Barisan or Pakatan may just be a choice between 2 of the lesser Evil. But Gerakan cannot be any Angel either. The rakyat is spolit for choice, except none smell any better than a rotten durian. The whole world is laughing and yet our politicians still seriously think we can rub shoulders with the best and the cream of the top. Honestly, how unpretentious can we ever get to be?
written by educationist, November 02, 2009 19:05:48
I see a reformed PR as our best choice!
That back-door minister will not want to jeopardise his privileges!
More enlightened leaders like Zaid & Tunku Aziz, Nizar & Siva must come to the fore front to lead the charge towards change.
LGE, LKS & TGNA must continue to provide the solid foundation on which PR can launched the campaigns to capture the hearts and minds of the rakyat.
agree 173
written by rocky, November 02, 2009 19:14:54
Gerakan? do not see how they will leave Bn or how a new group can take over and take Gerakan out of BN. PR still the better choice, all they need to do is clean house.
written by lobster, November 02, 2009 19:16:51
I am going to say it again, I will not vote anyone from BN, period! If Gerakan or which ever component party leaves BN, they will get my vote if PR stinks too much.
written by hiro, November 02, 2009 19:25:01
I don't think Gerakan has the kind of leadership to pull this off. One thing that's plain and clear - I would never vote for any component party of BN because it would be giving BN/UMNO blank cheque to mutilate what's left of the nation's resources for another 5 years. This nation is already Greek tragedy - having that much promise to be a really great nation, but now wallowing in a cesspoll of greed, decadence and corruption.

But does not mean I would vote PR as well. Today, as it is, PR is in shambles thanks to PKR and PAS. PKR can blame it on BN threats/bribes, but this is a political game, so if you want to play the game, you accept the inequalities that come with the game. If AI is going to jail (and what's the chances of that not happening when you have an UMNO led judiciary), then it's time to stand behind another leader. Instil party discipline. You're no longer taking over the federal government for the time being, so who cares if you lose a few little Napoleons and trouble makers along the way? Better to purge them now than to tolerate them and damage the reputation to the entire opposition coalition. As for PAS, at least PAS is spring cleaning now. We'll just have to wait whether the party leaders now tow the line and behave like responsible members of a larger coalition.

Whatever it is, Najib's motive is to ensure that at the very least, there will be mutually assured destruction of BN and PR, because by default, BN will win in such a fight. PR seriously has work cut out for it. It needs to convince more Malaysians that it can take over the government, that there will not be Islamic extremism or political leapfrogging rearing their ugly heads. And it's running out of time. If insufficient numbers of Malaysians are convinced of the need of change, then the nation will be beyond salvation because we cannot afford another 5 years of BN - PR political war. The PR win needs to be overwhelming and conclusive.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 02, 2009 19:41:17
What is democracy? Democracy means majority rule but individual rights must be maintain. In a normal country, there will be argument and fights and disagreement. This is how a normal coutry functions. But there must be 1 set of rules which applies to everybody. In Malaysia, there are 2 sets of rules. 1 for the BN and the other for the rest of the citizen.

Do you expect the PKR to be like the Nazi party, where nobody question the leader and the leader is the ultimate. Nazi was a strong party, but not a flexible party. So once it is broken, it will never be mend. It is better to be like a bamboo, even though it can bend, it remains strong.

What I can tell you now, is that the majority of the Malays are not ready to compete in equal level playing field. So there won't be a huge following towards PKR and it's equality slogan.

It is still very difficult to bring in the Malay votes without guarantee them that, Malaysia is Tanah Melayu and it belongs to the Malays. They will never accept that Malaysia is a country for all race. If the majority of the Malays don't accept, you can cry and shout all you want about equality and justice, but it won't happen. Because there is no demand there. There is no demand from the majority of the Malays.

It is common sense. When there is no demand for justice and equality by the majority of the Malays, then any political party who tries to implement these values, will lose a lot of political support. It is just reality.

So, the non-malays has to wait for the majority of the Malay's mindset to progress in order for Malaysia to progress. Otherwise, you can shout about equality and justice, but it won't happen in Tanah melayu. If the Majority of the Malays cannot accept the concept of equality and justice for all, then there won't be much progress forward.

Countries like Myanmar and North Korea has not seen progress for 50 years. People in the country suffers. what if you are born in Myanmar or North Korea. You will try your best to get out of this country and move to another country where there are progress. No point dying in the country even though you regard it as your mother land. No point dying in a poor country.

I am telling the non-malays, there is no point dying and fighting for a country where the majority of the malays do not want to accept you as equal. The politicians from both side of the aisle can tell you one thing, but in reality, it is very different.
written by tmithomas, November 02, 2009 19:45:36
you know, i find it strange why the need for Pakatan or even BN for that matter. parties that won seats should be able to sit down and discuss to form a mixed-government. it is not unheard of. it is better because the check and balance elements will always be there. if pakatan is formed formally, it might ended up like BN and that will leaves us a choice between the devil and the deep blue sea.

BN claims to be a political party but from my perspective, it is just a party in name. who is the president? how was he/she elected? how do one offer oneself for the presidency of BN? of the other committees posts. When is BN AGM?

BN is just a front for UMNO and to lesser extent, MCA and MIC to tell the people that they are sharing power to govern for the betterment of the people. Well, they used to but not anymore. By having more choices, there will never be absolute power and this check and balance will be good for the nation in the long run. nobody can do anything without reaching a consensus. I prefer pakatan as it is, informal loose coalition that, in the event they are short of seats to from government, they can always talk to other parties that might emerge in the future.
written by Saint, November 02, 2009 19:49:37
"Where does freedom of expression end and sabotage begin?"
This the reason the PR manifesto becomes important. Any one that goes against the principals must be reigned in. If one does not agree with the manifesto must leave immediately or stay in peace. Discussion and improvement are necessary and these must be done with proper avenues and not "wash dirty linen in public".
Next a selection criteria for future candidates must be looked into.
written by KotaDamansara73, November 02, 2009 19:57:08
2000 years ago, there is one jewish guy who wrote a story and these story slowly evolves into many form of story like the quran and jewish religion. People read it and find it enlightening because at that time, human are primitive and don't know what death is.

Death is a natural process which all living things in this planet will go through. The dog, pig, cat, tiger, lion, bird and vegetables will die someday. There is no need any explanation and justification for death. Our natural instinct as a living being would try to keep us alive as long as possible.

So killing, murdering and torturing is wrong. You don't need any story, bible, quran, God or Buddha to tell you that. Because our job as a living being, is to be alive as long as we could.

So, when human, a living being, suppose to be the smartest living being on earth, starts killing one another in the name of Islam, Christianity and what other stories that people wrote thousands of years ago, wouldn't it make us human being the stupidest of the stupidest? When a group of human, who believes in that story so much as to want to implement the story guideline onto other people, wouldn't it go against the very natural of a human being desires to live life to the fullest?

If you don't want to eat pork or touch the dog, then that is your prerogative. But why do you want to force other people to follow your believes. IT IS JUST STUPID.

It is so inefficient, unprogressive and primitive to implement a set of values that go against a human desire onto others who doesn't want to follow them. As long as the others do not kill, rape, rob, steal, destroy people's property, then there is no wrong done in another human being.

Malaysia is a country, where a large group of people is wasting their time and their life trying to implement these rigidity and dogmatic values onto others. These practice has no sustainability over the long term and will fail miserably. People with freedom will always beat the people who implements rigidity into their daily life is simply because, rigidity is not sustainable in the long run.
written by Kopi37, November 02, 2009 20:04:42

You have such a wild dream, that Party Gerakan Rakyat will be an ideal tantamount to a Gerakan Rakyat Bloggers in the making!

No way the dream can come through, given another 18 years, Gerakan will still be the same old Gerakan, and in the staple, breeding will be still the same old horses until their natural death!

Why should Gerakan reinvent themselves?! And how? Can you find anyone like David Copperfield who could create something from nothing through his mythical 'black magic'? Say, by a touch of 'hey presto', he can make the balls of all the eunuchs reappear and hanging and bouncing below the belts of the present leaderships of Gerakan, then your dream may possibly come true!

Or else, prepare to die, if Pakatan Rakyat failed to be our choice!
written by Steven Tan, November 02, 2009 20:49:10
To all the PAKATAN LEADERS,

As our RPK said, more or less 18 months left to decide between life and death for PAKATAN RAKYAT GOVERNMENT. So P.L.E.A.S.E. WAKE UP and do what is necessary. We strongly believe that among the most important things that PAKATAN RAKYAT LEADERS have to do is:-

- To start a PROPER HOUSE CLEANING and get a CANDIDATES WITH DIGNITY. Please
remove the "ULSER" before it turn into "CANCER" and finally kill Pakatan
Rakyat and of course the RAKYAT'S DREAM to have a peaceful and harmony place
to live.

- Do a proper Master Plan (A,B and if possible C) for GE13 by considering all
the issues raised by the rakyat, I repeat ALL THE RAKYAT.

- Once you have identify a suitable candidates for the GE13, MAY BE, I repeat
MAY BE, Pakatan should prepare an official letter and get it signed by all
the candidates. The letter is as an official individual agreement that IN ANY
SITUATION IF THESE CANDIDATES COULDN'T GET ALONG WITH THE PAKATAN GOVERNMENT'S
POLICY AND DECIDED TO RESIGN FROM PAKATAN THEN AUTOMATICALLY THEY QUIT THE MP
POST AND WILL ALLOW THE BY ELECTION SO THAT THE RAKYAT CAN HAVE THE PRIVILEGE
TO CHOOSE THE NEW CANDIDATE TO REPRESENT THEM. IN ANOTHER WORD THE LETTER IS
LIKE A RESIGNATION LETTER FOR HIS/HER MP POST.

Dear Pakatan Leaders, please do your ground work ASAP and don't wait until the 18th month and then only start to do everything, right from finding the candidates, till drafting the policies and so on.

Please consider this message as the FIRST AND LAST WARNING from the RAKYAT.

Thank you smilies/smiley.gif
written by jchew, November 02, 2009 20:59:39
It is very childish to think that forming a strong party is easy especially BN has ruled over 50 yeras and used all means and ways to discredit opposition! Talk is cheap and easy!
written by siewchinteo, November 02, 2009 21:00:37
errrr......did not the Auditor-General's report show a positive light on the states governed by Pakatan Rakyat? And Penang is leading with good govenance!

aiyo, why you people so puny-minded and make a big deal about beers sex and condoms! see the bigger picture lah!

dah 22 years tak mau complain, now making for lost time ar?

Pakatan Rakyat is doing fine governing their states despite the hiccups and if you people do not realise that, then you most certainly deserve to lose a war.
written by panca, November 02, 2009 21:20:57
A)BN is already full of shit, some called it beyond redemption, others would say, don't try to flog a dead horse.

B)Pakatan Rakyat really really needed badly to do soul searching by its Top Leaders; DSAI, TGNA and LKS must be brave to put their thumbs down when its own bodies sway like donkeys and many asses are spewing in the middle of trying to prove a better government(Remember the Rakyat is not always patience with ineptness or "idiotic candidates") The keyword is GUNG-HO. Flush them out!

C) The Third Force: Gerakan; Bro Pete, quite hard to imagine if they would do a 360degree to where the good days that they used to be, the like of strong opposition in spirit and force. And who might they be in Gerakan minus all those tainted(painted) faces to prove their worth? It's a long shot I think!
written by jjireh99, November 02, 2009 21:21:16
i think RPK has just given UMNO something to scheme and plan and come up with an alternative party in the likes of PKR and may call it something else. Everybody doesn't like GERAKAN. I don't think they will ever leave BN also. So, if another party emerges, it maybe that UMNO will be behind this alternative party. So, BEWARE, folks. I'd rather stick with PKR and DAP.
written by remielfl, November 02, 2009 21:38:34
RPK, you are forgetting about Sabah & Sarawak. Gerakan is no where in East Malaysia save ONE recruit ousted from SAPP.

For Sabah, I see SAPP & UPKO as good parties to support. Yes, certainly with baggage but which party do not?

I shall let the Sarawakians decide on their party. Bian has a chance to turn PKR around there.
written by citizenmy, November 02, 2009 21:40:41
I will say PR will have better chance if PR only consist of DAP and PAS, and if they somehow can work on a common platform.
The corruption cancer in PKR, which was inherited from UMNO is something impossible to cure. Once PKR is in power, the corruption cancer will spread to a level worse than UMNO, as these guys will try to recover all the losses for last 10 years.
written by citizenmy, November 02, 2009 21:50:43
I will say PR will have better chance if PR only consist of DAP and PAS, and if they somehow can work on a common platform.
The corruption cancer in PKR, which was inherited from UMNO is something impossible to cure. Once PKR is in power, the corruption cancer will spread to a level worse than UMNO, as these guys will try to recover all the losses for last 10 years.
However in order for DAP-PAS coalition to work, DAP definitely require leadership change. They need the kind of people such as Zaid or Razaleigh Hamzah to lead DAP, not Lim Kit Siang. PAS seems dont have this problem as long as Tok Guru Nik Aziz is in charge. Will Lim Kit Siang let go his position? Eventually public perception to PAS-DAP coalition will depend a lot on who is leading the party to enable the coalition to be acceptable to all Malaysians.
written by Siapabohong, November 02, 2009 21:52:51
An official identity of PR may be the solution. People will take more seriously if this official identity is set up. So please Dato' Zaid, press the fast button for the formation of the official PR!
written by temenggong, November 02, 2009 22:24:21
If Gerakan leaves BN and becomes a new opposition vehicle, then we can seriously consider. Naturally there has to be a new leadership.
written by citizenmy, November 02, 2009 22:32:40
Say Gerakan leave BN now, and wins GE 13 on opposition platform. With MACC and PDRM behind BN, how long doest it take for BN to "convince" Gerakan to return to BN afterwards?

If Gerakan is leaving BN now, that itself is a suspicious act.
written by Badrol, November 02, 2009 22:37:52
Come GE13, not only must we install a new government, we must also give them a 2/3 majority so that they can easily 'spring-clean' the parliament with it's so many crazy acts/akta. But the ISA must wait another 2 years for the new government to use it on all the umno/bn ministers, ex-ministers, plus PM,DPM past and present.
written by sydput, November 02, 2009 22:51:30
Guys like hassan Ali, Ibrahim Ali and zulkifli nordin thinks only they deserve free speech and have rights. Others will just have to listen and obliged.
Gerakan is a spent force. UmNO destroyed them by making the same mistakes HA/IA/ZN made, i.e. by not respecting the rights of everyone and being arrogant.
Najib is trying to be a more humble leader, but his body language says otherwise. Today, he plays to the tune of many who are against racist policies and trampling on the faiths of others.But once he attains that 2/3 magic again, beware.
I yearn for a leader who takes care of the people. Not one who takes the people for granted.
Once the people are cared, for, they will die to protect the country, whose foundation is justice and righteousness.
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 23:02:24
Looks like the 1Malaysia blitzkrieg is taking its toll.
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 23:05:58
When the people went to the polls during the 12th GE, were they taking a big chance? You bet! There was hardly any unity among the 3 main opposition parties. Were they being hoodwinked when they were asked by the Barisan Rakyat to vote opposition? I hope not.

The road travelled has not been smooth. This is only to be expected from almost zero beginnings. Giving up now is the real betrayal.
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 23:23:57
Gerakan - the party that gave UMNO the excuse to launch May 13 and then subsequently became abject slave and lap dog to UMNO is a choice? What did PR do to deserve this? I am really confused.
written by fearless mike, November 02, 2009 23:24:39
For more than 50 years, the ruling party has been in power & still is.
Pakatan Rakyat is in power only in certain states since March '08.
Who deserves a 2nd. chance more? Arrogance has got into the heads of some of the elected reps of PR.
Give PR leaders some time & an opportunity 2 cleanup their house.
As 4 Parti Gerakan, I wonder how they can be a 3rd., force. First of all they shall never leave BN. Secondly, they would not have lost Penang if they are that intelligent or beholden 2 their integrity. Kg. Buah Pala is the living example of the Parti Gerakan's admin. under the good Tan Sri.
Anyway, my humble opinion only.
written by BennyG, November 02, 2009 23:26:41
18 months!

I bet none of the PR leaders believe you! So they just take their sweet time not doing anything.

No wonder all the nice things are being said and done by UMNO now. No wonder all the shits in PR are blown up now.

If PR is still sleeping, we need a people's party like SABM registered so that we will have a choice.
written by leftygoodfella, November 03, 2009 00:17:12
How about PSM? I like PSM. Or perhaps, PSM and Gerakan can combine and be the third force? Both parties have enough common ground. A fight for the proletariat against the bourgeois.. hmm, definitely not the current Gerakan.
written by Wisdom above, November 03, 2009 00:47:37
The Two Party political System is the only solution. The new Gerakan will not worked at all. The "New Pakatan Rakyat" must include the new Gerakan,& the East Malaysian parties as well. DSAI will not be the PM in this NEW Equation! It is part of the Prophecy! SABM.
written by temanmu, November 03, 2009 04:06:59
A unity govt of BN & PR will not likely be workable. In the West, the parties have a common democracy-based tradition, a common understanding of association... and even then coalitions are shaky.

PR is the antithesis of BN ... and knowing BN they will likely weaken PR for a long time! or worse, influence the PR into BN corrupt practices!

Gerakan during Tan Chee Khoon's era (long ago!) probably was OK... it is the members who make up the party ... it would have to re-invent itself drastically... they are a Chinese-based party with are few Malay & Indian leaders.
written by batsman, November 03, 2009 06:55:09
BR cybertroopers, this is no time to get demoralized. By weakening, you are creating a vacuum for UMNO cybertroopers to seize control of opinion making in cyberspace.

The PR government of Selangor is in danger. Badrul is gone. Hatchetmen of UMNO are using opinion formers manipulating public opinion to cry for the blood of PAS Selangor. If they succeed, and if PAS Selangor goes over to the BN, the PR government in Selangor will fall. Najib will have succeeded in seizing back Selangor – the jewel in the crown will be gone.

UMNO is experienced in manipulating public opinion. The whole of dragon blood Rahmat’s book is testimony to this fact. Do not think cyberspace is a safe place that you own.

UMNO is using cybertroopers to influence opinion formers to seize control of public opinion in cyberspace. They use anti-Islam cybertroopers to piss off Muslim voters against perceived excessive demands of nons. They use dictatorial pseudo-liberal opinion formers close to western ideas to squeeze out all dissent and protest.

If you weaken now, the Battle for Selangor will be lost.
written by bill, November 03, 2009 09:44:52
Dear All,

The way forward for Malaysia is to have a two coalition system. As I see it, at the present moment, BN component parties are faced with money politics, corruption and power struggle. In the PR coalition, we have the PAS President and his group promoting a Malay/Islamic unity government with UMNO. Maybe DAP is also dreaming to replace MCA & Gerakan in the BN. Is it not the reason why they are so vociferous when attacking the two BN component parties? The PR coalition parties are not angels. They also have a fair share of the corrupt ways. Definitely not as bad as BN but given time it will grow if left unchecked.
written by Abajawi, November 03, 2009 10:00:43
Another 'oxymoron' (not a moron who is oxidised, mind you!) is to speak of a state governed by 'the opposition'. How can a state be governed by opposition parties? A state can only governed by a party (or coalition) that has the majority of seats (> 50% of seats). In Selangor, Kelantan, Penang, and Kedah) the Pakatan Rakyat is the governing party. UMNO/BN are the 'opposition'. But NO, the BN/UMNO will keep referring to these parties as 'the opposition'. UMNO/BN do not realise that they *are* 'the opposition'. The term 'opposition' has been 'ingrained' in the mindset of all Malaysians to be all the non-BN parties in this country. In the more developed democracies, the term is used only during the sessions in the people's assemblies, i.e. parliament or state assemblies. Outside the assemblies, Americans refer to their parties as democrats or republicans - not 'oppositions' and 'us'. There, they have a strong two-party system--which alternate to rule. OBAMA is a democrat president, while Bush(es) is/are repubicans. It is about time Malaysians don't talk losely about 'opposition' or 'us'. When people mention 'opposition' don't look at PKR/PAS/DAP ! Look first at the state. IN Selangor/Kedah/Penang/Kelantan, 'opposition' means BN/UMNO. Stop being a MORON! WHO IS ABOUT TO BE OXIDIZED!
written by Aria, November 03, 2009 10:15:02
Gerakan must leave BN before the rakyat considers it as an alternative party, so lets not talk about this until Gerakan leaves BN. I was hoping for a new party like Bangsa Malaysia to be formed. The party will only take one state in the next elections and show Malaysians how Bangsa Malaysia would govern Malaysia. Then it takes the whole of Malaysia the following GE. Bangsa Malaysia party will not be a coalition party. Voters will move from PR to Bangsa Malaysia party if it was formed today. This will also be a wake up call for PR.
When the choices are ‘bad’ or ‘worse’ - many people will just not bother to vote. Some may even say “that it is better a know devil than an unknown devil”. BN is also preparing to rig the votes big time in the next elections. If the rakyat don’t turn up in even greater numbers then in GE 2008, BN will take back its two third majority.
PR’s popularity has hit rock bottom and will it be able to pull itself together? I say no! What do we do to save our country? Will god send us a messier ? Or maybe RPK is the messier? RPK if you don’t take control you could be in exile forever. RKP your faith and destiny is not your choice. You did not choose to be born a royal, it was your destiny. You can be the puppet master and your chosen one in Malaysia will do your bidding for the party. As long as people know you are in control of that party everyone will unite and vote for that party. One of the reasons why people are still backing PR is because we have no choice.
written by JC Tan, November 03, 2009 12:35:35
Pete, wake up, we are living in an imperfect world, there were no "good political party" nor will ever be.

What we need are some good leaders in some weak political parties, strong enough for a few parties (ideological opposing) join forces and form government, but weak enough for the Rakyat (you and me) to kick them out, if the Rakyat are not happy.

Power corrupts, absolute power corrupts absolutely, if an elected representative knowing the Rakyat's blade on his/her neck, the elected representative will behave. Fixing the legislative/executive should correct many of the top 10 problems we have.

All in all, I as the Rakyat, want to be the boss, I can care less who is the government, I want to have the final say, the politician are my servants. To archive that, we need to weaken current government and strengthening PR or Gerakan or whoever the next white knight. When their political strengths are balanced, the Rakyat will be the real king maker and call the shots.

Yes, I am dreaming too.

-JC Tan
written by Susanna, November 03, 2009 13:15:07
This generation of Gerakan does not have the gumption to be the third force. They are all so subserviently 'gentlemen' in their ways in their comfortable zone, they will not dare to venture into the unknown
written by peace, November 03, 2009 13:31:35
PR need to filter out all the rotten eggs before the next GE. It is good during this 5 years term to see some of the PR wakil rakyat true picture and get rid of them before the next election.
written by asguard, November 03, 2009 13:44:58
Gerakan...no way... as you can see ..any party that joins the barang naik coalition is just another servant to UMNO...no matter what types lies umno says that ...all the party are equal is bullshit!
written by unomalaysia, November 03, 2009 14:01:07
Come on Pete, enough with the joke of the day...

Gerakan with Koh Tsu Koon at the helm?? Unless he grows balls, otherwise another Najis butt kisser. This guy is an eunuch.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Bigjoe99, November 03, 2009 14:25:27
Gerakan under KTK become a third force? What happens to eunuchs when the emperor is powerless? They get swept out when the emperor gets swept out. Eunuchs don't leave the emperor unless the emperor throws it out. Its actually rear for emperors to throw on eunuchs even when they don't want them around. They are left to rot in the palace ground most of the time...
written by takbolehtahan, November 03, 2009 14:30:21
Well, RPK, you have said exactly what I was actually thinking a few days back, that we actually 'need' another party so that PKR does not become complacent. And I wasn't thinking about Gerakan, I believe they are now probably more tainted than before. I was thinking of a new party formed by Zaid and with the 'right ideals' I would be willing to support him. BN is a goner with the current lot, they need to be killed and be reborn with new blood before becoming a party of choice.
written by joeawk, November 03, 2009 15:14:46
For Gerakan to pull it off, Gerakan will need many from the Pakatan parties to join. Among them must be people who have shown impeccable abilities and leadership and these nare rare commodities among our politicians today.
written by cllim123, November 03, 2009 15:16:50
Koh Tsu Koon lives on carrying heirlooms and licking bottoms. He carried Lim Chong Eu's hairylooms then moved to Keng Yaik and did the same with all the PMs from Mahathir to Najib. How can he lead Gerakan out of BN? He is a spineless eunuch, simple as that. Gerakan is over and gone under the helm of KTK.
written by ceong2000, November 03, 2009 16:45:00
I do agreed with the third force but choosing Gerakan is too dangerous as after they won the election they will jump ship to join back the BN which has happen during their days.So to believe them will be hard.It is better to be bad than worse as what you said so let give them 5 years and see any changes as what we have to do like the chinese always said "We will cross the bridge when we comes to it" As what we can see the BN story which has so may corruption cases ad all is to cover up so remember our very TBH who died in the MACC building so what the raykat think if we will to vote the B again? NO WAY so let give the PR a chance to rule for 5 years.My vote is for PR.
written by Jit Dharma, November 04, 2009 13:02:00
It's simple really. Voting in the PR will put an end to
one-party rule. Then only can reform be carried out. PR is
running on a reform agenda, so lets give them a chance to carry
it out. In this way a transformation of Malaysia will begin. The
alternative is stasis, meaning continuing one-party rule.And that
means more tyranny and abuse of power. There is no one-party rule that
doesn't lead to tyranny, this is why, in order for democracy to finally
establish itself in Malaysia, we MUST put an end to the BN. The tool
that will allow the Rakyat to do this will be the Pakatan Rakyat.
After this it will be clear that it is the Rakyat that rule and that we
will never allow ourselves to be dominated by a bunch of hack politicians.
When they fail we will give others a chance to prove their capabilities,
but clearly it will be the Rakyat that will be in charge.
written by emg385, November 04, 2009 15:09:30
What are the choices for Malaysians in the future?
(a) Voting For UMNO (1MAFIA Party ), you get KETUANAN MELAYU policies eg cow-head protests against relocation of Hindu Temple,NEP policies which license robbing of the People's money to feed cronies,more & more Piratisation projects etc, a Party who bullies all BN components parties into submission....
(b)Voting For PAKATAN--You get PAS shouting for KETUANAN ISLAM,calling for ban to concerts by foreign artistes,removal of Beer from 7-eleven because some Muslims may get access to alcohol, Unity Govt ideas. You also get PKR Kulim MP behaving like a Monkey with his antics eg Private Members Bill to ammend Constitution to make Syariah Law superior to Constitution etc . smilies/angry.gif
written by emg385, November 04, 2009 15:36:10
Continuation......
-Criticizing UMNO and its discriminatory policies and abuses would earn you the label of being ANTI-MALAY!
-Criticizing PAS leaders for their antics when they proclaim to be "Friends For All" but in the name of Islam,deny the rights of Non-Muslims to their vices eg.Live Concerts and Beer in 7-eleven,4 nombor ekor etc would earn you the label of being ANTI-ISLAM!
If DAP speaks ,it is regarded as a Chinese socialist Party!!PKR's stand is Unclear in many matters!
So the choice if you are reluctant to being labelled either Anti-Malay or Anti-Islam or both when you speak up for your Rights is .....a True People's Party which has yet to exist in Malaysia!Chances of this happening is pretty remote at the moment.
Gerakan is already in its death throes.....so no point mentioning them as its Glory days are long gone and in distant memory!!! It is truly going to be a SAD FUTURE FOR MALAYSIA if mindsets don't change for the better especially People who live in rural areas and only have access to the Mainstream media and who blindly keep voting for BN at every election.I cry for You, Malaysia! smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by aeromaverick, November 06, 2009 22:55:44
Brilliant tactical move Pete!
Everyone please read between the lines!!
Now we just need to wait for the fish to bite the bait!!!