Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Najib's maiden budget take 2: GST

Najib's maiden budget take 2: GST PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 18:06

By Lee Wee Tak

According to his maiden budget speech, Najib mentioned that the study for Goods and Services Tax is in its final stage. GST has wide implications and I hope he can have consult the relevant stakeholders.

During Badawi’s administration, I attended a GST seminar organized by an Australian consultant and he mentioned that the people in the banking industry was not adequately consulted hence proposed GST implementation was in question. Banking industry itself has very different products from consumer market. The question was answered a few weeks after the seminar.

In a nut shell, GST works like this

Supplier A sold his products to supplier B for RM100 and assuming 3% GST applies, he will bill supplier B RM103.

Supplier B has a policy to earn 9% on his selling price hence the cost to consumers will be RM110 (RM10 margin on RM110 selling price gives you 9% margin) plus 3% GST i.e. RM3.30 will be added onto the bill, making it RM113.30.

Supplier A collects RM3 from B and pays to the IRB within a specific period, like 2 months from date of invoice while B would pay IRB RM3.30 and claim back RM3.00. The end result is IRB getting RM3.30, 3% on the ultimate selling price of RM110. Consumers pay the whole RM3.30.

The above is a very simple illustration. In real life, goods and services pass through many parties before arriving at hands of ultimate consumers.

The implications could be summarized as follows:

1) A wider tax collection basis.

Presently the Malaysian tax structure provide that people earning below RM3,000 a month can be exempted from tax owing to the series of relief and scale tax rates.

With GST, everybody would be taxed regardless of income level, as long as he or she spends money.

Proponents of NEP claim that majority of the poor are Malays hence the consequence is that those who previously not been paying tax, might be caught.

Read more at: http://wangsamajuformalaysia.blogspot.com/2009/11/najibs-maiden-budget-take-2-gst.html

Comments (6)Add Comment
written by lynn, November 02, 2009 19:15:06
Bodohland is a third world country; 3rd world nationals don't pay GST. I always thought GST is only applicable for advanced, progressive countries. We must protest this implementation of GST in Msia. But I am not surprised the braindead zombie-like citizens will just keep quiet & pay quietly without a whimper.
written by Divine, November 02, 2009 19:20:55
gosh. as it is cost of living is getting a little too high for comfort and now to add on GST? So where is all this money going to go..for BeEnd Datuks and Datins to shop in style and live in luxury?
written by KC Chin, November 02, 2009 20:29:51
Only RM3.30
UMNO's cronies take RM2.00
MCA's cronies take RM0.88
MIC's cronies take RM0.67
other BN's cronies take RM0.44
Total taken RM3.99 - RM3.30 = deficit RM0.59 Oops!
Petronas subsidy of RM0.59
Now, the book is balance. smilies/grin.gif
Rakyat taken for a ride and fark themselve for electing those BN's bastard.
written by uncleleow, November 02, 2009 22:15:25
Wa ka ka ka!!! What a joke! Malaysia implementing GST. Do the kopi money that we pay for the traffic cops need GST? The macik at the nasi lemak warong use cash register machine? How the idiot mamak charge roti canai? Every day their price fluctuate, today you eat RM1.00 tomorrow they say RM1.20 Do the billion uses to build highway need to pay GST? How are the government going to impose GST collection on Indon trader, Chinese prostitute and illegal 4D. Stupid Najis Stupid UMNO.
written by lynn, November 02, 2009 22:59:48
Suddenly, Najib needs a lot of money. So he takes it from the zombie moron citizens.
How many people realised car prices are high due to taxes? In fact, only a small percentage of car owners even stop to think abt what they are paying.

Many rakyat think their repayment is high because of interest! It's that huge chunk called sales tax, import duty that resulted in an ordinary car costing close to 100k! Bodohland citizens need to do a lot of hard thinking! The trouble is, people don't think! It's too tough for their brains.

Next we will hv not just RM50 credit card tax, 5% real property gains tax, GST is coming. What is GST? Most people have no fcuking idea at all. Neither do they have any fcuking idea what it will do to us when the govt implements the free market pricing of petrol next year. Go back to sleep, morons.
written by citizenmy, November 03, 2009 00:41:48
Najib binti Roamah ! let me tell you this.
It may sound simple..but what actually will happen is, the end consumer will pay full GST Tax to the merchant, but the merchant only return small part of it to the Government.
Just an example. How much business is all Mamak restaurant is getting everyday? How much business value they are declaring to the Government, and finally how muc h Tax the Government is getting from them. I bet the Government is not even collecting 10% of the Tax compared to what was supposed to be collected. Why so less??? Because those officers have same mentality of your wife...screw the rakyat as much as possible to fill own pocket.