Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Malaysia has lost its way, says Ku Li

Malaysia has lost its way, says Ku Li PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 10:42

(The Malaysian Insider) - Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah has urged the country to shed “crude nationalism” and come to terms with the reality that many Malaysians are losing faith in their future despite the evidence of material progress.

The veteran Umno man told the British Graduates Association at a dinner here last night that it was a fact that those Malaysians who “can stay away and settle overseas do so with the encouragement of their parents”.

“Their parents tell them to remain where they are, there is nothing for them here. The illusion of nostalgia does not explain why parents fight to send their children to private and international schools rather than the national schools they themselves went to.

“The very same politicians who recite nationalist slogans about our national schools and turn the curriculum into an ideological hammer send their own children to international schools here or in Australia and Britain.

“They know better than anyone else the shape our schools are in. It is no illusion that people do not have the faith in our judiciary and police that they once had,” said Tengku Razaleigh.

The former Finance Minister pointed out that the country inherited at independence a functional country with independent institutions.

These included “the Westminster model of parliamentary democracy, civil law grounded in a Constitution, a capable and independent civil service, including an excellent teaching service, armed forces and police, good schools, sophisticated trade practices and markets, financial markets”.

While he pointed out that the challenges of nation building were serious, but the country “faced them with an independent judiciary, a professional civil service and a well-defined set of relationships between a federal government and our individually sovereign states.”

Indeed we were able to face these challenges because these institutions functioned well.

“Institutionally, we had a good start as a nation. Why is it important to recall this?

“For one it makes sense of the feeling among many Malaysians and international friends who have observed Malaysia over a longer period that Malaysia has seen better days. There is a feeling of wasted promise, of having lost our way, or declined beyond the point of no return.”

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by SocratesI, November 02, 2009 10:53:30

The complete sentence should read "Malaysia Has Lost Its Way, Having Been Deliberately Misled Down The Garden Path By 1st Maha-ShitHead, Then SleepyHead and his Ox-Fart SIL, then now by a Mongolian Murderer, Najis Rosak, All Products of the Fascist Utterly Moronic Nazi Organization."
agree 114
written by sydput, November 02, 2009 11:00:39
Too bad Mahathir cheated Ku-Li for the UMNO presidency in 1988 by forming "ghost branches".
And mahathir cheated TEngku Abdul rahman, by denying him the usage of UMNO name, despite applying for it earlier that mahathir.
There is nothing the rakyat can do now. Even if we voted for opposition, Anwar is no different from the UMNO guys.
disagree 30
written by Jan, November 02, 2009 11:01:03
The problem is this country is governed by misguided race-centric policies. In any country or even any organisation if race takes precedence over merit that country/organisation is screwed. Let's face it we are a racist country and never in the history of mankind has a racist society thrived and prospered for more than a few decades. There's no doubt our country is in decline and will decline faster when our oil runs out.
written by DreamLady, November 02, 2009 11:09:55
My dear Ku-Li, time and again, you voice out your frustration in regards of several issues that buck you to no end, yet you are not willing to stretch further your enthusiasm to right the wrongs in the nation. Mere talking does not serve much purpose other than the notion that you are making your presence felt. If only you are brave enough and come forward to assist the ailing nation, armed with your expertise and love for the nation, your contribution to aid those freedom fighters to build a better Malaysia would be most appreciated.
written by Bloodhound, November 02, 2009 11:12:59
Mahathir had caused Malaysia's democracy to be placed onto the life support system, Najib is now putting on the finishing touches!
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 11:14:42
White bottoms, brown excrement. Brown bottoms also brown excrement. Surprise!
written by Daryl, November 02, 2009 11:17:15
With all respect NATO = No Action Talk Only. If you want change you must stop talking and take action. Get out of UMNO and join a party that really want change to take place.
written by Xerxes, November 02, 2009 11:21:52
Tengku Razaleigh said,

"..There is a feeling of wasted promise, of having lost our way, or declined beyond the point of no return.”

Never a truer word spoken. I remembered when I first came out to work in the early seventies, I met some Japanese Overseas Volunteer Corps sent to Malaysia to assist in several educational institutions. They envied our standard of living then when compared to Japan. When I visited Thailand in those early years I also noted that we were much better developed than they were, both economically and socially. Recently I read that our Minister of International Trade has admitted that Thailand has surpassed us in the auto industry. If he were to go to the ground, he will notice that it is not just the auto industry that Thailand has surpassed us.

In more recent times, I remembered my early visits to China in the mid eighties. I would subconciously note how backward they were compared to Malaysia. Today their progress is for all the world to see. Closer to home, I remembered a visit to RTM in Angkasapuri in the seventies when I met a group of Singaporeans from the then Radio and Television Singapura (I tnink this is what they were known as then) who were training in RTM. Today, there is much that RTM can learn from Mediacorp (RTS today).

These are the manifestations of how others have progressed while Malaysia has either stagnated or regressed despite our initial advantages. Every parent would love to have their children beside them in their twilight years. That they would encourage their children NOT to come home speaks of the tremendous sacrifice they are prepared to make for their children's future and the complete loss of hope in this country. It is sad.
written by rocky, November 02, 2009 11:30:53
yes we have lost faith but not totally. unfortunately our leaders are very gung ho cos they are enjoying life and controlling all institutions and are immune from any prosecution or check and balance
written by mick_err_stan, November 02, 2009 11:34:15
As a parent I do not want my children to experience the following :
-To be called a ‘Pendatang’ / ‘Squater’
-To have to understand and to accept preferential treatments of Bumi vs Non-Bumi
-Grandchildren to be put through backward education system
-Promotion based on race and not merits
-To watch video of MARA student saying that Malays are the prince of this land and non-Malays are merely guest
-To pay taxes and watch it been squandered to enrich but a few
-To be shouted at “Jangan Kacau, ini hak melayu! “
-To see a bunch of people carrying cowheads and kicking / stamping the head
-To see unnecessary killing of human being ie flying-out of windows, C4ed or beaten to death.
-To be a victim of collapsing bridge, buildings or falling concrete.

Unless there is a change, there is not much hope or reason for ‘Pendatangs’ to remain in this country. Better to be in a country where you are recognized as a citizen with equal right and your contribution to the country rewarded based on merits and not by race or by who you know.

After watching videos of police in Perak and Brickfield, I’m convinced we are moving towards becoming a Nazi regime where the right to speak and subject matters (within context) regulated by the authorities. I’m sure our neighboring countries are laughing at us……….when Minister can at best be proud of introducing 1TOILET ….. sheesh!!!!
written by Jan, November 02, 2009 11:37:07
I agree with Xerxes. I remember in the 80s when I still feel proud to be a citizen of this lovely country. Not any more, and this country is far from lovely and I suspect it will be worse in time to come. All these bad feelings come from discriminative govt policies that generally excludes her non malay non muslim population. Many chinese and indians suspect all these to be part of an agenda to reduce the non malay population and turn this into a pure ethnocentric and ethnoreligious state. To reach that objective I suspect the country will be in much turmoil and be like Zimbabwe. I wonder if the Malays really want that, if not they are the ones who can really do something about it.
written by onnetline, November 02, 2009 11:47:17
“They know better than anyone else the shape our schools are in. It is no illusion that people do not have the faith in our judiciary and police that they once had,” said Tengku Razaleigh.

Ku Li,

What can you do besides just ' talking, talking and talking ' about the many bad and poor existing issues already known to the general public ........... not just yesterday !
written by This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , November 02, 2009 11:49:02
We knoe that long ago. The problem is BN people still do not know!!!!
written by Tok Din, November 02, 2009 13:01:41
Yes, Malaysia is going down fast and for a short time the corrupt UMNO leaders can still enjoy their goodies. But that will end as well as the pace of decline is quickening. Is anyone worry about the future generation when our petroleum money is gone and when thre are more mouths to feed.

Why has Malaysia failed? I believe it is because Malaysia has never take its nationhood seriously. We have squandered national resources with impunity and we have slighted growth opportunities. Now that the world is more globalized, we found ourselves non-competitive and begin to implode as a country. The worse is yet to come for Malaysia and we have no preparation for such onslaught.

The smarter ones know how to prepare their children for a more competitive environment and since Malaysia is going down the drain, why bother to return home. What can one expect in a failed state? Crimes, drugs, unemployment, depression, hopelessness. Glooms and dooms. So, why bother?? Don't waste time and opportunity. Stay away, yes don't come back. Say all the nice thing and don't offend anyone, but stay away as life will be bad at home.

Malayisa is made up of disparate racial groupings and factions with diverse interests, priorities, and agenda. We have not evolved from being a bunch of disguised pirates, thieves, robbers, gangsters, Ah Long, hypocrites and liers.

Looking at how the police abuses its power and roughing up elected representatives, one can image how crude and uncivilized is Malaysia. We are no better than cavemen and barbarians. Malaysia has become a laughing stock to the world community.

written by justice seeker, November 02, 2009 13:15:03
Malaysia has lost its way, says Ku Li

TALK IS CHEAP LAH, ESP FOR YOUR STATUS. WHY ARE U STILL HANGING AROUND
THOSE RESPONSIBLE IN THE SAME PIT???
written by Jilo, November 02, 2009 13:36:27
In the distant future,there will be no more genius left in Malaysia.
written by Apeiron, November 02, 2009 14:48:02
To save our country, all TR has to do is just quit UMNO and join PR as a direct member once PR is registered as a political coalition. PR should allow direct membership without having to join any of the component parties. TR can then lead PR, strongly supported by PR component parties with significant UMNO warlords switching camp to PR.
Anwar has failed, only TR can salvage our country.
written by Yacob, November 02, 2009 15:10:25
Not much different between Raja Nazrin and Ku Li; they only talk but nothing they can do. Even if they are given opportunity, I don't thinhk they will do unless they will benefit in return. In short, they will not sacrifice for the rakyat.
written by Ghifarix, November 02, 2009 16:09:07
Kuli you are right and the RAKYAT knows that also but the irony is you're sitting in the same car struggling for the steering while there's another bus heading in the right direction with room for you.
written by citizenmy, November 02, 2009 16:21:55
What is the satus of natinalism now;
1.Love for the Country - Seems to stay strong
2.Love for the leaders - ??? How many leaders are setting good examples?
3.Love for the Sultan- ??? How many Sultans are setting good examples ?
4. Overall rakyat tolerance (excluding politicians ) on religion, race and cultural issue - Seems to stay strong

Based on 1, 2, 3 & 4 ..who is causing massive damage to the country?? Is it rakyat?
written by Saint, November 02, 2009 17:06:18
YB Ku Li, thank Tun Mahathir; if not you will not be able to write this piece and none will know you exist. What a joke Malaysia has become.
written by malgal, November 02, 2009 17:08:03
you mean our own ministers of education sent their children for overseas education ? ayo, what kind of models did they represent?
written by KC Chin, November 02, 2009 18:06:18
Tengku Razaleigh Hamzah,

Stand tall like Tengku Abdul Rahman. Rest in peace without UMNO's baggage.
written by educationist, November 02, 2009 19:18:42
Ku Li is now acting his role as elder statesman!
Bravo!
Not just polishing the PM but willing to call a spade one!
But, sadly all these will fall on deaf ears, for to the UMNOputras , as long as they can plunder the country's wealth, all else is secondary!!
Dare we hope the momentum for change that was not completed in the political tsunami of 308 will finally bear fruit in the next general elections?
It must , for otherwise Malaysia will be too far down the road of no return.
written by lynn, November 02, 2009 19:45:31
In another words, this country is a goner. It is on an irreversible decline. We are moving backwards - we still have men who try to prevent condoms being sold! Condom for sale is the very least of our problems. All of you will notice, a few of these characters, always speak out, loudest on non-issues. They have the wrong priorities. I have yet to hear them coming out, screaming, stop the corruption!!! hello?

What is going to happen to us when GST is forcibly imposed on us? What is going to happen when petrol prices will be marketed on world crude oil prices by the first quarter of 2010? Najib is very determined - he doesn't care for the consequences of the hurt he will inflict on most of the population. The problem is, the sheep among us who will suffer, will be the ones who will blindly support umno-led bn govt. This country is finished. It's better the shit hits the fan while bn govt is in power. The same timing the new bridge outside Kampar killed 3 Indian kids - while BN's Zambri is "in power". Perfect.
written by Proarte, November 02, 2009 20:54:37
If ONLY Anwar Ibrahim had backed Razaleigh instead of Mahathir we Malaysians would not have to endure all these wasted years as a result of the systematic destruction of civil society by Mahahtir and his pet poodle Anwar Ibrahim.

Anwar really is no match for Razaleigh's intellect and fairmindedness.

Razaleigh is a Malay, a Muslim , a Royal and yet speaks as a true Malaysian. The only sadness is that Razaleigh found his voice when all the destruction has already taken place.

Nasi sudah jadi Bubur.
written by Malaysiaputra, November 02, 2009 22:14:36
They know better than anyone else the shape our schools are in. It is no illusion that people do not have the faith in our judiciary and police that they once had,” said Tengku Razaleigh.

===

Who started the rot ?. Mahathir of course.
written by freerpk, November 03, 2009 15:49:03
Well Ku Li may think all that is done is not helping Malaysia but he remains a firm UMNO member.....think about it??? So what is he really saying??