Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Lim upset with members over poor turnout at Gerakan conference

Lim upset with members over poor turnout at Gerakan conference PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 09:48

(The Star) - Gerakan Youth chief Lim Si Pin has lashed out at his central committee members for failing to turn up in full force for its national delegates conference.

Only 406 youth delegates, or 38.5%, were present and this was the worst turnout in the 22 years since the wing was formed.

“This is an alarming and difficult question for us. Why is our turnout so bad this year?”

He said many youth delegates gave the excuse that they could not wake up in time for the meeting because this year’s conference had been changed to Saturday mornings instead of Friday evenings previously.

“Certain Youth CC delegates came to shake my hand. Some tried to be funny and said ‘I’m here today’ but in my heart, I asked where were you yesterday?

“You’re an elected CC and yet you were not present,” he said, adding that the wing would provide a report on the matter to the party president as it was a serious issue.

The conference yesterday saw 1,425 out of the total number of 2,193 delegates attending, which was fewer than the 1,583 delegates last year.

Gerakan delegates yesterday unanimously approved various amendments to the party constitution to further enable the party grassroots to be empowered.

National delegates can now contest for the posts of the deputy National Treasurer, three deputy secretaries general which are previously only opened to central committee members. If selected, the delegates can only attend central committee meetings as an invited observer.

Meanwhile, a representative from Belia-wanis Chia Ting Ting, when debating on the presidential address at the Gerakan’s National Delegates’ Conference, said the group wanted to be known for its professionalism and skills and not just mere “beauty” to attract people to join the party.

“There is no point in Gerakan Youth wanting to attract men to join the wing using our beauty.

“We want to be known for our principles and professionalism,” said Chia. Beliawanis is a bureau within Wanita Gerakan for women below age 35.

Lim had suggested that allowing young women from Beliawanis to participate in the wing’s activities would motivate more youths to join in. Wanita Chief Datuk Tan Lian Hoe disagreed with the proposal.

Wanita representative Rowena Yam said most women had careers and were bosses in their own right.

“We are first among equals. We don’t want to be equated to the flowers just to attract the bees,” she said.

In his winding up debate on the presidential address, Lim said the proposal should be “put to a test” by having an independent poll among Beliawanis members.

written by batsman, November 02, 2009 09:51:45
Obviously they are upset with you. What a clueless dumbo. BTW did anyone tell you you stink?
written by Jan, November 02, 2009 10:05:27
Turnout poor because your members already do not believe in the party.
written by Kamikaze, November 02, 2009 10:13:43
Low turnout? Who else to blame if not KTK.

Penangites ditched them, UMNO didn't give face to him, even now the members of party have lost confidence in him...

Really thick face
written by technoboy, November 02, 2009 10:23:46
Lim Si Pin, who wants to be part of a sinking ship, the writing is clear, Gerakan irrelevance will be confirmed in next GE, stop wasting your time and back PR. Did anyone in Gerakan showed any concern on PKFZ, Kugan, Teoh BH, Altatunya, Perak fiasco and what not. You bunch of prostitutes and hypocrites; serve you right.
written by SocratesI, November 02, 2009 10:34:13

Gerakan is just another name for the Lim KY feudal dynasty that has failed at the last GE and is in its dying throes, headed by a clueless yee sai chou (useless wastrel son) so who is interested to attend such a gathering (can't even term it as a meeting!!) ?? Have you ever reviewed your membership to really see how many members you have now ?? No guts to do so, I am certain of it ! This is the Fate of those who would "Sell Out" the Rakyat by joining Barisan Najis after winning the elections !! Still there are individual Kataks in Perak and Port Kelang who think they can get away with it, the Imbecilic Idiots !!
written by rocky, November 02, 2009 10:40:12
lets face it, gerakan is no longer what it was and more so under the leadership of KTK. In fact look at the top leadership of gerakan, they do not excite you at all. They are no where near LKY. this is what happens when you have yes man and men who have no back bones or guts to lead any organisation. Gerakan can say what they want, it is all syok sendiri, we do nto care what they have to say and no do the 20 journalist cos what they say does not matter. Gerakan should just dissolve or put in place new set of leaders with back bone and guts!!!
written by fireduck, November 02, 2009 10:43:35
Si Pin, Si Pin .... I sure hope you're looking at the up-todate roster, because if you are still looking at a year-old one, let us refresh you that half of your members have left Gerakan, another 1/4 contemplating or on the verge .... so be very happy with your 38% lah. Sinking ship fulls of rats, who would want to stay on board. Only shiok sendiri KPI minister who is still fantasizing that his masters really want him.
written by temenggong, November 02, 2009 10:45:32
Fcukface still does not get it on the low turnout - we need more beliawanis lah, idiot! smilies/grin.gif
written by storm62, November 02, 2009 10:55:19
low turn out? go rope in the Bangalas as your members, didn't umno teach you this?

who wants to be a part of this sinking ship? time to close shop la....
written by alpha1, November 02, 2009 11:10:34
I'm sure he stinks coz his name Si Pin means diapers in chinese! I'm sure everyone knows what diapers are for yes? Btw, the low turnout is because all your members went fishing with the PR gangs coz the felt Gerakan is not Gerak-ing anymore, in short irrelevant! smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by Tok Din, November 02, 2009 11:12:49
What sort of Youth Leader is this. You are so out of touch with what is going on with Gerakan. Gerakan youth memebers are defecting in droves and are ashamed to be associated with a corrupt party your represent. WAKE UP!!
written by Mr Bean, November 02, 2009 11:45:16
What a DUMP guy! Obviously, members already deserted the party, no power, no contracts and no ang pow!

I guess, this sucker must be wondering also what happen after he lost his parliment seat next election!
written by Sutha, November 02, 2009 12:01:12
Goes to show the relevancy of the party amongst its members. But why is this Sick Pin a/l Drunken Lim highlighting the statistics for the whole world to laugh at them?

Get out of BN and see the instant support from the Public. Even DAP PR will lose in Penang overnight..... because the people do not like UMNO's balls carriers.
written by onnetline, November 02, 2009 12:04:13
It's time to get lost or disappear, pariah UMNOs slave dogs !
written by netmiser88, November 02, 2009 12:21:14
Have no fear!!!!....Help is very near!!!!!

DIAPERMAN IS HEAR!!!!!
written by ckh, November 02, 2009 12:27:28
Oh my! How can this guy be so clueless! He can even believe the lame excuses his members tell him! Now it's not the captain calling "abandon ship" but the crew!! What as sorry state of affair!

In 1969 we were listening to Redifusion for the General Elections results. If I am not mistaken the first Gerakan candidate to win was Cameron Highland. I certainly remember well the cheers of jubilation in the neighbourhood in Siam Road, Penang. And that included the China-born ice-kacang hawker next door!

Nowadays people don't bother two hoots about Gerakan. What a pity; and no thanks to their PFS headboy minister (that was what we called him when he became CM overnight when his predecessor was defeated in Tanjong by Kit)!
written by ckh, November 02, 2009 13:07:26
Oh my! How can this guy be so clueless! He can even believe the lame excuses his members tell him! Now it's not the captain calling "abandon ship" but the crew!! What as sorry state of affair!

In 1969 we were listening to Redifusion for the General Elections results. If I am not mistaken the first Gerakan candidate to win was Cameron Highland. I certainly remember well the cheers of jubilation in the neighbourhood in Siam Road, Penang. And that included the China-born ice-kacang / cut fruits hawker (at Star Cinema) next door! Each time an Alliance candidate loses we will cheer "Phang Chun Toh! (The sailing boat is fallen!)

Now people don't bother two hoots about Gerakan. What a pity; and no thanks to their PFS headboy minister (that was what we called him when he became CM overnight when Chong Yu was defeated in Tanjong by Kit Siang)!

P/S: Anyone remember who was the Cameron Highlands candidate who first won in 1967?
written by ceong2000, November 02, 2009 13:53:28
Lim Si Pin,there is nothing to be upset as you are in the sinking ship so who want to join you as your Boss also been ask to leave and still want to be the backdoor Minister.Shame on us the Penagites and better for him don't return here aymore or he will get the red face here.Leave now and stop the apple polishing.What has your Boss done fopr Penang so far? Any saving he does which LGE save in millions.
written by Taikohtai, November 02, 2009 14:00:20
Si Bodoh,
I can gurantee you 100% turnout.
Call for an EGM to vote for the dissolution of Gerakan and join Pakatan Rakyat.
Not only the turnout will be 100% and also will attract at least 50,000 more new members lah.
written by ianlkh, November 02, 2009 14:02:13
Ahahahahahaha....What a joker!!
written by gungadin, November 02, 2009 14:04:37
If you cannot answer your own question then no one can help you.
written by macho, November 02, 2009 14:44:47
It is expected. Only you seems to be in the dark. What a leader.
written by Ghifarix, November 02, 2009 16:30:11
Hey Lim, are you that stupid; people turned out for your burial GE12, not for requiems. And we all don't expect your resurrection either. Please let Gerakan rest in peace.
written by ckh, November 02, 2009 16:46:59
Ghifarix, you hit it right on the head!! And today's All Souls Day too!
written by Joelim, November 02, 2009 22:01:39
What's the difference? You moron.
written by allmenarebrothers, November 02, 2009 22:41:32
Gerakan is already on the verge of dying. The rakyat is awaiting its burial very soon. That is the reason why a majority of Youth central comittee delegates stayed away from the national delegates conference.
Youth delegates who attended the conference should therefore stay at home to be prepared for the funeral ceremony for the burial of Gerakan. The monks are ready to do the chanting to pave the way for Gerakan to enter the gates of the Hades Emperor.
Your father Dr Saliva would need to build up a reservoir of saliva to douse the flames in Hell. As a filial son you should help with your saliva.