Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Najib: Disregard racist remarks from certain leaders

Najib: Disregard racist remarks from certain leaders PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 09:44

(The Star) - Racist comments from “one or two Umno leaders” should be ignored because the majority of members in the party are not racists, said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

The Umno president stressed that the party’s policies had always been fair, inclusive, democratic and open.

“Umno is not a racist party. From the beginning, we wanted a multiracial society. Don’t listen to one or two leaders talk; that’s different. Any party has leaders like them. But look at our policies from Day One,” he said at the opening of the Gerakan national delegates conference yesterday.

Najib stressed that Gerakan and other Barisan Nasional component parties must quickly get their internal affairs in order and begin to institute change for the better.

“Gerakan must move together like a train. So do MCA, MIC, PPP and all the others. If you have troubles, solve them quickly. What are you waiting for?” he asked.

He said Barisan was still relevant as a ruling coalition now and for the future.

“It is not because we say so but because we are willing to change. We hear the voice of Malaysia and we will continue to commit ourselves to the people of Malaysia,” he said.

Najib reiterated that his mission as Prime Minister was to lead all Malaysians.

Umno, he said, derived its strength from the country’s racial diversity.

“That’s our uniqueness. We can celebrate our diversity,” he added.

This, he said, gave Malaysia a strategic advantage in developing diplomatic and economic ties with countries such as China, India and those in the Middle East and Asean.

“We are comfortable dealing with China. In 1974, we were the first South-East Asian country to establish diplomatic relations with China.”

To stress his point, he described Chinese President Hu Jintao’s visit to Malaysia on Nov 10 as a trip which “we are comfortable with”.

Malaysia, he said, was uniquely placed because the international community and the rakyat trusted Barisan as the ruling government.

“The Opposition does the talking but do the people trust them? Are they really multiracial?” he asked.

He cited the example of PAS having no place in the DAP-led Penang state government but Umno was included when Gerakan president Tan Sri Dr Koh Tsu Koon was chief minister.

Barisan, he said, had to be fair to all races within the context of the Federal Constitution and the Rukun Negara.

“We must hold on to the philosophy that we are a unique country. Our forefathers had the wisdom to go on the basis of integration,” he said.

Comments (40)Add Comment
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 09:48:18
Shouldn't they be sacked? Why are you still protecting them? Are they your secret mouthpieces?
written by justice, November 02, 2009 09:50:13
written by Ken Liew, November 02, 2009 09:54:02
the problem is.. THE number ONE and number TWO... are outputing those RACIST comment.

Should we ignore it??

What about 1Malaysia. If u are so stand for 1Malaysia, u should dismiss those Racist (so called) leaders. Cos it is because of those RACIST leaders, IS Making Malaysians UN_united.
written by chrisyong, November 02, 2009 09:54:19
I thought to be racist should be charge with SEDITION? Is sedition for RPK only? He really dont know what he is talking about or is he reading from speech writers and PR's script? Contradict himself everytime he speaks! UMNO has never been unfair? Those caught for Money Politics (which induces corruption by buying votes) can hold position like UMNO youth and stand for by election!
written by SCM, November 02, 2009 09:57:08
Najib,

Should we also disregard what you said? "I'll drench my keris with Chinese blood". Also, does this mean that we can all now go around saying racist comments about other races and the others are just to disregard these statements?

You are truly a very stupid man. Whenever I read your comments, I always remember what Abraham Lincoln once said, i.e.

"It's better to be silent and be thought a fool than to speak and remove all doubt". Please just keep quiet in future.
written by Ken Liew, November 02, 2009 09:59:44
written by SocratesI, November 02, 2009 10:15:46

Ignore Utterly Moronic Nazi Org.'s leaders who make racist remarks ?? How can a party like UMNO even tolerate such Racists as even members, let alone "leaders" in their party if they were not all Racists and Fascists to the core ??

What more having a Murderer as their leader, and who only knows how to give lip service (ada gaya, tapi tak ada mutu) and does not expel such Racists & Fascists from UMNO, but ask us, the Rakyat to tolerate these Nazis ?? While they catch us, put us in a Gulag and gas us to death is it, you Mongolian Murderer ?!!
written by Jan, November 02, 2009 10:16:49
When your associates called us pendatangs and asked us to get lost from here you ask us to disregard them. But when MCA's Loh Meng Kok asked in parliament to relook at our history books that seems to distort certain facts to the Malays' favor UMNO Youth went banging at his door. Even worse is your people waved kerises and threatened bloodshed. This is hegemony, big bully small, if we don't like it we can get out of the country.
For your info we won't get out of the country we will stop voting you!
written by Counterpointer, November 02, 2009 10:20:31
Well, other than those Gerakan lapdogs who lapped up everything Najis' drooled yesterday at the Gerakan national delegates conference, who would be fooled by the Good guy/Bad guy tactics employed by this murder suspect to solicit approval?

The BN backbencher who asked KTK to resign was obviously playing the bad guy being casted for the role by none other that the murder suspect himself. I am sure he'd have rewards awaiting him. And then in come the 'Good Guy' to come to the defense of that emasculated Gerakan leader to roaring applause.

This racist murder suspect leader has never ever been incarcerated, served any penalty or punished for his previous racist remarks. Does anyone honestly believe he can actually turn over a new leaf and change his spots?

Lousy try Najis. Seen through your antics from Day One.
written by burmen, November 02, 2009 10:29:15
Helooooo....are we to disregard you & your deputy too. Afterall you only want to soak your keris in Malaysian Chinese bloob in 1987, so I heard. And only not too long ago you praise our toilet paper the Utusan for asking the Malays to rise and not be a coward.

The cow-hee-deen, countless racist remarks from on a regular basis. Sack him as your deputy first if you are sincere.
written by DezMalaysia, November 02, 2009 10:34:45
Hypocrite Najis, your Jahanam Bapak 13Mei was a racist !

Words coming out from Anak Bapak 13Mei not racist, so what's in your heart ? You know it yourself !

UMNO, itself (with all their policies & beliefs) is RACIST ! Enough said !
written by michaelT, November 02, 2009 10:38:53
Najib is again talking rubbish and the Gerakan delegates listen with open mouth. Gerakan dare not ask question when Najib said only 1 or2 leaders are racist. UMNO is not racist.. thats another utter rubbish. The point here is if UMNO does not take any disciplinary action on the racist leadears then UMNO is racist by condonning their remarks. Najib was genetically racist too when in 1987 he utter that the keris will bath in Chinese blood. Damn Gerakan you are still sleeping. I say UMNO is still racist.
written by the1, November 02, 2009 10:38:59
How come those umno leaders are not thrown into ISA like what happend to teressa kok and the reporter?
written by educationist, November 02, 2009 10:40:52
When happens if it is the deputy President who is also the DPM making those racist remarks?
written by rocky, November 02, 2009 10:42:50
how to disregard when it is your deputy, the DPM??? in fact you have also issued racist statements. and the worse is you do not take any disciplinary action instead ask us to disregard. when the opposition say something true and non racist, you take sedition action against them. so Mr.Pm do not talk nonsense, take action against those from your ruling party, do not ask to disregard them, ask them to shut the hell up!!!
written by michaelT, November 02, 2009 10:45:01
If ever 1 or 2 MCA or Gerakan are racist do you think UMNO will keep quiet. There will be big demand for remarks to be withdrawn with apology. So UMNO running dogs what have you to say. Racial slur to Chinese is OK and racial slur to Malays is seditious. What nonsense is that. So MCA/Gerakan your future is gone . You live againg if youjoin the opposition. The Chinese memory is strong with the help of ginseng and tong kwai. So dont think we forget.
written by Navigator, November 02, 2009 11:14:13
If you want me to believe you, pass a law making it a criminal offence for anyone to make racist remarks. Other wise, it is bullshit. If the electorate is stupid enough to vote UMNO back to power again, this racist stand will once again come into the fore. UMNO will also be racist or it will fail.
written by Mirage, November 02, 2009 11:18:55
Yes Najib, disregard the racist remarks when it comes from BN but punish the racist remarks when coming from PR as incitement. How convenient!!
written by defendermalaysia, November 02, 2009 11:27:53
Please do not tipu the rakyat with your so call 1 malaysia slogan. If you fully implement 1 malaysia policy, then we will vote for BN in the next election. But the truth is this 1 malaysia slogan is only to tipu. If you really want to implement 1 malaysia, then the first dept to implement is the govt civil service, school scholarship, education, govt tender and so on.Unfortunately But this is only a tipu slogan.
written by alpha1, November 02, 2009 11:36:02
You are telling us to ignore you then coz you are the biggest racist and your deputy comes in 2nd! Don't bullshit us no more and please don't even try ok! We are smarter than you think! PM.. shame la! smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Bloodhound, November 02, 2009 11:36:55
Ignore??

You mean sweeping it under the carpet and allow it to fester!
written by Jan, November 02, 2009 11:48:16
Ahmad Ismail made some seditious remarks - slap on the wrist
His associates tear up Koh Tsu Koon's picture - nothing happened
Tan Cheng Hoon (reporter) reported on the matter - was thrown into the slammer

Like that how to disregard these seditious remarks/leaders?
Show lah some leadership and throw Ahmad Ismail and those wannabes in the slammer before we believe you.
written by Oscar Winner, November 02, 2009 11:51:00
We are not racist, only a few are.

Next speech he will add:-
We are not corrupt, only a few are. You see, only a few have been convicted.
We are not unfair, only a few are
We don't control PDRM, MACC, EC, Judiciary, MCMC, only a few do it
We don't benefit from NEP, only a few do
We don't condone money politics, only a few do
We are not dirty, only a few are

Pity you Najis, you still think we are fools. Not only all UMNO members are racist, even UMNO die-hard supporters are racist
written by This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , November 02, 2009 11:54:07
The problem with Gerakan is that whenever they are insulted by UMNO, they still lick their boots and say thank you for insulting us!! Where is your dignity and self respect? For goodness sake, when are you guys going to be brave enough to stand up to them. Sheesh!! No wonder the people of Penang gave up on you.
written by Sutha, November 02, 2009 12:04:30
UMNO is not a racist party. It is the womb of modern racism and imbecilty. For their imbecility's sake, we tolerate that racism.
written by onnetline, November 02, 2009 12:08:36
Najis C4,

You are their superior and are you too corrupted yourself and don't have the balls to do anything to resolve this issue !

If yes, shut the fcuk up and stop your moronic and no action comments !
written by truthbespoken, November 02, 2009 12:20:00
When in MCA, MIC and Gerakan assemblies, UMNO say all are Malaysians and must work as one. When in UMNO assemblies, UMNO say other Malaysians are pendatangs and must subscribe to Ketuanan Melayu. How aah? Surely, this cannot match one! Right?
written by fairnessforall, November 02, 2009 12:20:28
You yourself are a bloody racist. From day one UMNO policies have been racist so what the hell are u talking about and who are u trying to fool. What is BTN doing, brainwashing all malay students and new doctors that non malays are pendatang and they should not get anything and should be happy with what they get. A relative of mine who recently finished medicine had to go for a talk where all non malays were told that they should not expect any promotion or anything as they are not bumiputras so they should be satisfied with whatever they are given and have no rights to expect or ask anything. Any you have the cheek to claim you are not racist.
written by Dominic, November 02, 2009 12:57:07
What a shit talk ! In the first place,UMNO being the biggest component party in BN should have behave like a big brother and none of the minister should have ever utter such racist remarks. Surely before they took their oath of office,the dos and donts are clearly pointed out. In this case, it is sheer disregard for their president and that of the rakyat they represent. Again,if the same remarks come from other minister from the coaliation party,would they get off just like that ? Umno minister are constantly harping on racial issues time and again and yet,nothing has ever been done to gag them. Who started `blooding Chinese blood with Kris` ? Not once, but at least twice from my memory and that include YOU.
written by hiro, November 02, 2009 12:58:20
There's just one question I want to ask Najib - is he asking us to ignore what Muhyddin, his second in command said in recent times about protecting Malay rights and again threatening other races from raising legitimate questions of inequality?
written by justice seeker, November 02, 2009 13:21:42
Racist comments from “one or two Umno leaders” should be ignored because the majority of members in the party are not racists, said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

HOW TRUE. THE QUESTION IS HOW TO BELIEVE A HIPPOCRITE WHO HAS 2 STANDARDS??
written by joeawk, November 02, 2009 13:35:47
Nice PR stunt. But, malaysians don't bite.
written by Daryl, November 02, 2009 13:41:39
Any party has leaders like them.

That is why we are in trouble with BN in power.
written by Fart Fart Wah, November 02, 2009 13:42:02
should you not put these bigoted bastards behind bars called ISA????
If one chinese dhuong doang dang comments about Malays you have all the Malay bar council bigots, UMNO cowherds some pAS..(bathe with your women) and some PR idiots who will jump on the wagon and beat the shit out of the dhuong dang ding chinky.
Any Indian fellow talks about a Malay habis..another riot..burn this burn that..chemical spray them and beat the shit out of them in prison and kill them..

But you have UMNO bigots shouting from the roof tops and you say its ok...???
Dei what happend to the cowhead draggers dah???VERy hard to believe you when you do not practise what you preach...full of shit..
written by Alice, November 02, 2009 14:02:41
With God's help we must get rid of this moron, as PM. Stinking hypocrite.
written by ckh, November 02, 2009 14:26:09
Oscar Winner, I just love the way you put it!

We are not racist, only a few are!
We are not corrupt, only a few are!
We are not unfair, only a few are!
We don't control PDRM, MACC, EC, Judiciary, MCMC, only a few do it!
We don't benefit from NEP, only a few do!
We don't condone money politics, only a few do!
We are not dirty, only a few are!

I am not damn, only a few parts of me are.

It's soooooooooooo funny!
written by Ghifarix, November 02, 2009 16:33:46
Then everyone in UMNO is a leader- Leadership in UMNO is synonymous with Racism
written by allmenarebrothers, November 02, 2009 21:20:37
You. Your Deputy President & all your party leaders behave like ostriches. All of you bury your racist heads in the sand.
written by sataysticks, November 02, 2009 22:25:49
I love Rosmah Hantu Kopek ....
written by sandokan, November 03, 2009 01:14:52
I have a feeling that najis dont really understand what racisism is. Moron....