Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow The Art of Window Dressing

The Art of Window Dressing PDF Print
Monday, 02 November 2009 08:31

By Masterwordsmith

It seems there is a lot of hot air over both new and old public issues to the extent that it appears that the government are doing much in the name of unity, efficiency and integrity and yet NOTHING in real terms. Let's view these issues.

1. RM28 billion through excessive payments for contracts and procurements

In response to the revelation about the massive losses, our Prime Minister announced:

A high-powered task force will be set up immediately to scrutinise wrongdoings reported in the recently-released Auditor-General’s Report, said Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak.

This is to ensure that those involved in any misappropriation of funds or abuse of power would not “get away with it” but face the consequences. To read the rest of the article, CLICK HERE.

What really irks me in this report would be the following statements:

a) The Cabinet felt that serious action against those involved was needed to ensure that matters like abuse of power and misappropriation did not repeatedly appear in the annual report, he told a special press conference in announcing the setting up of the task force here yesterday.

Why are investigations on the way only after a colossal loss of RM28 BILLION when such revelations from the Auditor-General have been common occurrences yearly? How do you feel about this, dear reader?

b)“They will not necessarily face legal action. They might face administrative action like surcharge, demotion, having their promotions frozen or be transferred,” Najib said.

In the private sector, the culprits would be history with CBT charges and the whole works! This a slap on the wrist is definitely no deterrent and will encourage such acts to persist. After all, they can and will get away with it.

c) Najib also said the Government would be fair and act compassionately if there were mitigating factors that led to the actions of the offenders.

SPEECHLESS!!

RM28billion lost and we are talking about COMPASSION!!!

Read more at: THE ART OF WINDOW DRESSING

written by freerpk, November 02, 2009 08:50:11
In this 1 of a kind of country, they will thoroughly investigate you even if they suspect a few ringgit missing and might even throw you out of a tall building if you do not agree to confess but when it comes to millions or even billions that go to who knows where it is an entirely different treatment. It is best forgotten, anyway Malaysians have very poor long term memory. They will not remember it for long. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 08:54:00
It is just like the hot air that secrecy about purchases of weapons and defence equipment protects Malaysians' security, but in spite of secrecy ...

Radar covering our northern border don't work - we are blind to enemy planes
Helicopters cannot fly - no rescue for Malaysians in trouble
OPVs cannot go out to sea - pirates have a field day
Navy buildings collapse even before they are occupied - what if our seamen already occupied them?

Police secrecy - no IPCMC - policemen sleep with gangsters
Judicial secrecy - lawyers appoint judges
Election commissions secrecy - BN wins elections

All these hot air and secrecy is really protecting Malaysians.
written by Ghifarix, November 02, 2009 09:14:21
Najib seems far more cynical and contemptuous of the RAKYAT than any Prime Minister in the history of Malaysia as a mater of fact he makes the Johor Sultanate look like choir boys & girls.
I think Najib will murder to keep his Power.
We'd regret we ever gave Badwi the chance as we did not roll hard enough on him despite all the reasons to do so.
written by batsman, November 02, 2009 09:20:33
High powered task force must have lowly opposition scum as members la! Otherwise Najib is just one lying fraudulent 1Malaysian.
written by SCM, November 02, 2009 09:49:33
Dear Paula,

Najib has to be compassionate to those with mitigating factors. You have to be fair to him. How else can he get his band of crooks off the hook? If there are no loopholes, the entire Barisan Nasional cabinet will be behind bars. Khairy, Hishamuddin, Khir Toyo, etc, etc, etc, will all be jailbirds. If this happens, who will help him rape us in future? His fat pig wife? She is brainless and will bomb anyone who crosses her and put him in more trouble. Get Razak Baginda back from his extended government paid-for holiday? He cannot be trusted as he has already shown that if he gets into trouble, he'll expose Rosmah and Najib also.

So Paula, Najib needs all his corrupt gang of bandits and especially the chief gangster and murderer, IGP Musa. Please understand Najib's predicament. Fatty pig Rosmah will use her spare C4 on him if he does anything to change the present system that allows BN to continue raping us blindly.
written by SocratesI, November 02, 2009 10:20:16

Lip service & more lip service given to us on the advice of his PR panel ! How can he be serious in curbing this Fraudulent Embezzlement (overspending, my @rse!!) of public funds when his pocket is lined to the brim with the money ?!!

Get real, fellow Malaysians ! You want to see an end to this Pillaging of Malaysia ??? Vote Out this Najis Rosak Murderer and his band of Barisan Najis b@st@rds !! Vote In Pakatan Rakyat and give them a try ! Can't get any worse !!
written by Xerxes, November 02, 2009 10:33:52
The 1Solution to ALL major Govt scandals - form "task force". PKFZ-form task force, Govt purchase scandals - form task force, transport mess - form task force, etc. etc.

In case the PM loses count of his many, many task forces, I wish to remind that the first two is chaired by the Chief Secretary amongst others while the third was chaired by PM himself when he was DPM after the fuel hike in 2007 - amongst the many other tasks force he chaired because AAB delegated them to him while he went gallivanting all over the world.

One wonders how serious and sincere are these "task force". Since there are so many of them, it stands to reason that there would not be enough focus on each one to do a good job. The fact we have seen little or no outcome from all these "task force" is evidence of this. Or maybe that is precisely the reason for them. Announce a task force each time there is a scandal and a public hue and cry to deflect and dilute public criticism and hope that over time, people will forget. Or maybe it is even a tool to deliberately cover up embarassing wrongdoings that could damage the BN Govt's image irreparably. Because I do not see the purpose of the tasks force when you have the apparatus of law and order such as the PDRM Commercial Crime Div. or the MACC. Or is the Govt saying that these law enforcement agencies are so inept they cannot be trusted to investigate these scandals and we need part time task force to carry out the investigations? Or maybe there is a more sinister reason for using a task force instead?
written by sydput, November 02, 2009 10:47:28
Not easy to get MOF license. Once you get it, must abuse it laaa! How to pay for ferrari if you sell RM5 sapnner for thousands.
Govenrment offcial did not break any law. The tender out the supplies/jobs, but if the lowest for the RM5 spanner is several thousand ringgit, they will have to buy from lowest bidder with MOF supply license.
That is how govenrment enrich the malays.
written by Xerxes, November 02, 2009 10:49:34
Yep, pay RM48k for a laptop and you will be promoted but a mere suspicion of RM2400 abuse and you could end up dead.

We must have 1Law for all citizens - not different laws for Govt. servants and another law for Opposition politicians.
written by Wisdom above, November 02, 2009 11:18:38
Talk about efficiency and integrity ? Who is going to AUDIT the last two Federal stimulus packages worth BILLIONS ? SABM.
written by cheemengwong, November 02, 2009 11:22:38
Dear all,

What is the benchmark for deterrenc?

If one can get away with murder all the other crimes are sap sap sui lah.....

Coming from Najis... what can you expect? Full of shit.
written by This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it , November 02, 2009 11:55:39
How to take action when each and everyone of them has a share in the 28B.
written by Steven Ong, November 02, 2009 12:06:22
Our BN UMNO government had become a master window dresser sometime after independence. All they are good at is talk and talk, while the hard working rakyats slot and sweat to build this nation. And now that this nation is rich, they want to give them to their race unofficially and officially.
If this is not evil and corrupt, what is it? They believed that the infidels will be burnt in hell fire, but they let their criminals free. This shows that their belief is false. ( A belief that one can buy your freedom by performing rituals ) All because they are a 'pity' race in Malaysia.
Be brave and act now dear PM Najib. The time is NOW or never.
written by harryo, November 02, 2009 12:14:10
You citizens of Malaysia forget very easily. Why. For decades this has been going on. Did you ever vote them out? Why not? Now is the opportunity. GE13 is not far. Remember this not for 100 days but for a couple of years. Vote them out. No need to look at the window but this time dress well and meaningful.
written by teohchye, November 02, 2009 12:38:16
This guy is a lot of hot air! So far, there has been nothing concrete forthcoming from all the rhetoric. The 2010 Budget is not so friendly after all; look at the unfriendly RPGT, credit card fees, the higher-priced petrol from RM1.80 to RM2.00, and many others! Enough is enough!
written by aplus, November 02, 2009 13:08:00
Let me get this straight. RM20 billion worth of overpayments, and obviously this scam is much bigger the PKFZ bailout. And 1Malaysia can still afford in terms of its mitigating circumstances?

What the fcuk is he saying? Is he saying UMNO/BN and all governmental institutions are 1 in practise?

This "songlap" episode is beginning to draw its share of attention more than it should.
written by aplus, November 02, 2009 13:13:13
I erred. The scam is worth RM28 billion as reported, not 20!
written by joeawk, November 02, 2009 13:38:36
The whole system sucks. UMNO sucks. Najib sucks. GE 13, we awaits.