Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Perak PR convention passes 10 resolutions

Perak PR convention passes 10 resolutions PDF Print
Sunday, 01 November 2009 09:32

By Clara Chooi, The Malaysian Insider

The Perak Pakatan Rakyat convention saw the passing of 10 resolutions which, among others, called for the three component parties of DAP, PAS and PKR to set aside their differences and make decisions based on consensus.

The resolutions were read out by PAS’ Titi Serong assemblyman Dr Khalil Idham Lim Abdullah after some 600 delegates presented their views during the day-long convention held at the Syuen Hotel here yesterday.

The resolutions are:

1. Cooperation and unity in Pakatan Rakyat must continue to be strengthened in order to topple Umno/Barisan Nasional. Any form of prejudices or negative perceptions between the PR partners must be avoided.

2. Improve on the principle of collective decision by using the negotiation table as a method to solve problems.

3. Strengthen and mobilise party organisations by giving serious emphasis to the setting up of PR collaborative councils at all party levels.

4. Destroy the doctrine of racism right up to the grassroots and improve relationships with the people, government servants, politicians, non-governmental organisations and the Royal Institution.

5. Fielding candidates of good calibre and integrity as the basis and focus of any victory in state or parliamentary seats contested by the PR. To focus on self-improvement programmes for all party members.

6. Continue with using the 5K principles as the foundation to work and rule – justice, honesty, integrity, welfare and transparency.

7. Continue and increase media and information series throughout the state in order to ensure the people receive accurate information and do not have their mindsets ruled by Umno/BN.

8. Programmes to create togetherness amongst the PR parties must be held as soon as possible to ensure all PR members understand each others’ struggles.

9. To continue seeking for the help and blessings of Allah whether faced by a crisis or not.

10. The resolutions committee to push for the PR alliance to be registered as a coalition and be represented by a single logo.

Former Perak mentri besar Datuk Seri Mohammad Nizar Jamaluddin said the resolutions would formulate the basis of PR in Perak, which needed to stay strong to face the coming challenges.

“We are stressing on the strengthening of the PR and, as you can see, we have clearly stated that there will be no racial elements in any of our struggles.

“We do not want racism in PR, whether in DAP or PAS or PKR. Unlike us, it is Umno that is racist,” he said in a press conference after the convention.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/

written by educationist, November 01, 2009 09:51:44
The basis for a united Malaysia can be found within these resolutions.
Yet again the million dollar question shall be whether the UMNOputras trojan horses will hijack the agenda & all the rakyat hears will be internecine quarrels about pig farms, beer and condoms!!
I can but hope the wisdom of these Perak PR leaders will be emulated by the PR leaders in Kedah, Selangor and Penang
written by uxzee, November 01, 2009 10:00:00
I am all for the 10 Resolutions but remember that we are dealing with the evil forces of Najib and the corrupt BN government who will do anything to remain in power.
There must be a few secret resolutions to be prepared for this evil forces.
written by hellosunshine, November 01, 2009 10:09:05
I respectfully suggest better wordings for #9 as the PR coalition encompasses all religions and not Islam alone. On discipline, PR should also address this perennial problem with an iron hand and not allow reps to constantly come out with self serving issues to win brownie points at the expense of PR. smilies/wink.gif
written by mvivek, November 01, 2009 11:00:16
Priority should be given to resolution #7, especially in rural areas. Congregate with these folks on a regular basis and on a personal basis. FACE TO FACE!!! This way we should be more than prepared for GE13. We must find the time and workforce to get close to these people.
written by ibabonma, November 01, 2009 12:38:43
That was the reasons why Najis/Umno dare not call for a snap election in Perak.
written by hellosunshine, November 01, 2009 12:41:26
Hello Siapabohong, don't argue for the sake of arguing without thinking hard lah. Ok, let's accept your Christian argument even though the word 'Allah' was only meant for Bahasa Malaysia or Indonesia Bibles. Then what about the Hindus, Buddhists and other religions? Shall we call Lord Shiva or Lord Buddha as 'Allah'??? smilies/wink.gif
written by ibabonma, November 01, 2009 12:45:38
He added that a person does not choose the race he or she is born into and such a destiny could not be controlled. “When a person leaves the mother’s womb, it is not his choice to be Malay, Indian or Chinese. This is why Malays cannot raise themselves above others,” he said.

Tok Guru, you are simply great.
written by axppin, November 01, 2009 13:28:38
The resols look good. At least on paper now. The real challenge now is to live up to it. These 10 items are akin to KPIs, SOPPs, promises etc. PR has made these commitments. And so shall PR be assessed against these criteria of its own doing. Starting now! Boleh bikin? Or is PR giving the ammo to BN to shoot back with 'Cakap tarak serupa bikin'??

written by Rainbowseahorse, November 01, 2009 14:01:21
Pakatan, Pakantan! You have ours, the people's support and what did you do?

You squandered and misused our support. Time and opportunity waits for no man, and you better make good use of what's been made available to you or else in the end you will be left with naught, but the dream!
written by Goodbites, November 01, 2009 14:41:45
PAS come out with 10R. Now PKR must come out with their own 10R to remove Zul Nordin.
written by fireduck, November 01, 2009 16:45:11
Well, I guess religion must still be mixed with politics in Malaysia. That's why resolution #9. But wouldn't it be nice if they would remember us?

It would sound, on the surface anyway, great if they replace the word 'Allah' with the word 'the rakyat'. Now read Resolution #9 again. Sounds great, wouldn't it?

I know there's a big difference. But prayers should be done on the quiet between Allah, God, your Maker, etc. But resolutions are supposed to be conspicuously loud so that in a public relations sense, it makes the people you represent, feel comfortable and good about you.

And I personally feel Resolution #10 should be the first resolution. All others fall behind it naturally if that registration is done.

All the very very best to PR. And there is something to admire in Perak PR for they are the ones who seems to gel better, in spite of all the adversities.
written by hellosunshine, November 01, 2009 16:59:56
Hello fireduck, you are one smart cookie. Your suggestions to #9 & #10 make a lot of sense. smilies/wink.gif
written by Larry Jay, November 01, 2009 22:27:19
Look here!!! You Pakatan Rakyat @ PKR, PAS & DAP guys/gals who have been elected to your respective bloody parliamentarian or state seats. Its high time you bloody guys/gals get your bloody acts together.

Are you elected guys/gals in Penang, Selangor, Kedah & Kelantan government going to wait until you idiots are toppled by BN/UMNO goons & then start coming up with resolutions after resolutions. That will be too late my dear sleepy & complacent elected friends. By then it’s a case of "Nasi Sudah Jadi Bubur"... So in order to avoid "Bubur Jadi Basi" Please wake up from your long overdue bloody sleep & take all your thumbs out of your bloody asses & start moving to the right direction. Think Like One, Act Like One, Behave Like One & Execute Like One!!! or be prepared for Pakatan Rakyat's self-destruction.

Look at the surrounding events & issues, which are taking place in some PR & non-PR held states. You elected guys/gals are bloody exposing your weaknesses & allowing your asses to be sodomized further & deeper by the UMNO/BN goons.

Stop this bloody bickering, bitching, witch-hunting, finger pointing, etc. among yourselves (PKR, PAS & DAP) Some of you elected clowns are dying to be in the limelight at any cost at the expense of WE VOTERS who have placed you idiots where you all are today.

We voted for change but this is not the change we wanted.

Remember always that if we can place you there. We can also throw you out of there!!!

As for the leaders of PKR, PAS & DAP, remember that a fish always starts rotting from the head. If you guys can’t perform & get your acts together...vacate your bloody seats and allow other who are more capable to take over.

I might be harsh with my words but at times only harshness can put some bloody sense into people who have forgotten their bloody roots or "kacang Lupakan Kulit" or those "Lupa Daratan"

Change yourselves for a better Pakatan Rakyat unity & we will hail & support you.
But if you fail to change… Then change will be forced upon you!!!

So, my dear Pakatan Rakyat elected friends, please dont view it as a threat but a sincere promise.
written by asguard, November 01, 2009 22:31:30
People will view your promises... but not the devil promises of Najis ...he is too evil.. to keep his promises...matter in fact he can break his promises anytime or any day...
written by BennyG, November 01, 2009 22:43:35
We will be watching what you had set out.

How about forming a PR discipline committee (consisting 3 from each party) whereby if any member of PR was to break the resolutions, this recalcitrant member(s) shall be punished accordingly especially those who professes false religious rights and racist stand?
written by Proarte, November 02, 2009 01:10:45
"9. To continue seeking for the help and blessings of Allah whether faced by a crisis or not."

This resolution has to be removed as it is unnecessarily divisive. It is all back to 'Ketuanan Melayu' and 'Ketuanan Islam' all over again. It serves no useful purpose as the term Allah has been made such a bone of contention in Malaysia when the government has made it illegal for Christians and Sikhs to use the word 'Allah'.

I really wonder whether there is any careful thought or consideration for All Malaysians or was this a deliberate attempt to throw a spanner in the works? Why could they not use the neutral term Tuhan? They should clarify whether Allah is a generic term according to an individual's perception of God.

I really despair at the level of common sense of people in opposiiton politics.Religion is not a trivial issue and will be an unnecessary cause of distraction, suspicion and dissention.

There are many Malaysians who do not believe in or pay heed to Allah or God, so is Pakatan Rakyat going to exclude Atheists, Agnostics and Orang Asli who are Animists?

God/Allah is too pure for Malaysian politics, so can we just leave our Maker out of it?

written by Tok Din, November 02, 2009 01:40:00
PR has to live up to its promises to the rakyat. The primary focus should be to clean up the corrupt political system. You are the only hope for the rakyat to get rid of UMNO/BN government through democratic means. Your failure to wrestle power back will mean longer suffering for the rakyat. UMNO/BN has to be replaced and this should be the only reason for the rakyat to work with PR.