Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow 'We were tortured and sexually abused'

'We were tortured and sexually abused' PDF Print
Saturday, 31 October 2009 13:57

(Malaysian Mirror) - Rape and abuse of women and children by US troops were almost a daily affair at the Abu Ghraib prison in Baghdad, while continuous torture, sexual degradation, forced drugging and religious persecution were also normal occurrences at the Guantanamo Bay prison camp.

Stories of these atrocities were told before a commission headed by Dr Mahathir Mohamad on the sidelines of a three-day international conference to criminalise war, organized by the Perdana Global Peace Organisation at the Putra World trade Centre here on Friday.

The commission heard that whole families and children as young as nine-years-old were also subject to the tortures and sexual assaults at these camps.

Forced nudity and sexual abuse 

Iraqi Jameela Abbas Hameedi, 54, said she was arrested in Baghdad in January 2004 with her entire family, allegedly for supporting and funding forces against the US invasion.

“The US army beat me with tubes and a plastic chair until it broke.

“A plastic shard entered my leg and caused a bad infection. I had to undergo surgery without any anaesthetic,” said Jameelah, who was also allegedly stripped to her underwear in a “black room” of the prison and bashed against a wall.

criminalise war.jpgHer only daughter and a nephew were beaten and tortured naked for six months until Jameelah admitted that she supported the resistance, she claimed.

She also witnessed other abuses like sleep deprivation, forced stress positions, forced nudity, the use of dogs to scare and bite prisoners, death threats and sexual abuse.

Hands and feet chained

Ruhal Ahmad, a British Muslim, said he was detained for three years at the US-manned Guantanamo Bay prison.

He claimed that the youngest detainee he knew of was a nine-year-old boy who was also tortured like the rest.

Ruhal, 27, was detained in 2001 after he and three Pakistani Britons – Asif Iqbal, Shafiq Rasul and a friend known only as Monir – travelled to Pakistan for a wedding.

In a surge of idealism, they decided to see the situation in Afghanistan, which, being an al-Qaeda stronghold, was being bombed by US forces in retaliation for the Sept 11 attacks on New York and the Pentagon.

Monir was lost in the chaos and the three others were captured by Northern Alliance fighters and handed over to the Americans, who transported them to Guantanamo Bay.

Ruhal continued: “I was interrogated hundreds of times by the FBI, CIA and the MI5.

“I was beaten  and subjected to continuous torture, sexual degradation, forced drugging and religious persecution.”

With their hands and feet chained and in a foetal position on the floor, the three were accused of making a video of Osama bin Laden in Afghanistan.

The three –  now known in the media as the ‘Tipton Three’ –  were released in 2004 without being charged after they were forced to sign a paper to admit their involvement in making the video.

Held in windowless cellar

Another British Muslim, Moazzam Begg, 41, said moved by the plight of the Afghan people under the conservative Taliban regime, he went to Kabul with his wife and three young children in mid-2001 to start a school for basic education and to provide water pumps.

They fled to Islamabad in Pakistan when the allied forces attacked Afghanistan in October that year.

He was  arrested in January 2002 by Pakistani police and the CIA, and held in a windowless cellar at the Bagram air base for nearly a year.

“The US government considered me an enemy combatant, and claimed that I had trained at al-Qaeda terrorist camps in Afghanistan.

“I was not charged with any crime or allowed to consult any legal counsel during that time,” said Moazzam, who was one of nine British Muslims held there.

hana-cynthia.jpgIn January 2005, he was released with three others, also without any charges produced against them.

The commission also heard the presentation from several other war crime victims, including  16-year-old Najwa J.A. Jalamna, from Jenin, Palestine; Abbas Abid, a survivor of the Fallujah massacre in Iraq; Ibrahim Mousawi, the  editor-in-chief of the Al-Intiqad and Al-Manar TV of Lebanon and Palestinian peace activist Dr Walid Salah Al-Khatib.

Six-member panel

Malaysian lawyer Zainur Zakaria headed the six-member panel Friday that heard the experiences of the seven people who spoke of almost daily physical and emotional torture by the US military over alleged ties to al-Qaeda or the Taliban movement.

The hearings will be submitted to a tribunal set up by the Criminalise War Conference and War Crimes Tribunal 2009 spearheaded by Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

The former prime minister said the tribunal’s decision would be forwarded to the United Nations for further action.

written by wolf, October 31, 2009 14:17:02
Be grateful you are in Abu Ghraib or Guantanamo Bay. If you end up in our local 'lokap' you'd come out in a coffin.
agree 209
written by sydput, October 31, 2009 14:42:47
people placed in charged of our security are killing the people they are suppose to protect everyday in Malaysia.
Typical mahathir, he cannot be bothered about local abuse of power. But he can see those who are unfair and unjust thousands of miles away.
Which we can only conclude that politicinas treat the citizens of this country as slaves and they kill, rob and rape whenever they desire.
agree 141
written by joeawk, October 31, 2009 14:49:59
Mahatir, the operation lallang ulat, what a pot of joke? You called a kettle black.

How did Beng Hock died? How did Kugan died? Did we hear it from you? What did Beng Hock do?

You want to pretend that Beng Hock has committed treason or what and those kept at Abu Ghraib are innocent?

That is no way of diverting attention from the evils committed at homein Malaysia by you and your kind.
agree 132
written by krising1, October 31, 2009 15:08:07
Mamathir, can you discuss about the Penan woemn beingr aped or natives losing their customary land rights?.
agree 118
written by batsman, October 31, 2009 15:37:53
It is all about cover ups. The authorities, the rich and powerful are crooks. The US uses the trial and prosecution of one or 2 US soldiers as a cover up for all the abuses in their torture centres.

TDM uses his compassion for the Iraqis to cover up his total disregard for Malaysian victims of torture.
written by lynn, October 31, 2009 15:55:45
The mamak is a hypocrite. He is 'sympathetic' towards foreigners but how abt torture, abuse and murder of our fellow malaysians in MACC & police hands? that is okay with him, isn't it? Or maybe he spoke out, not out of sincere concern but his manner of passive aggressive stance against the US? Recalcitrant.
written by lynn, October 31, 2009 16:04:19
Everyone should ask: why was Teoh Beng Hock sodomised? It is a fact he was tortured to death and sodomised. What did he do to deserve this barbaric torture? What kind of animals are there in MACC walking around free men?
written by storm62, October 31, 2009 16:04:35
the safest prison in the world is in Malaysia....Kamunting. "for your protection"

the most dangerous prison is also in Malaysia....police lock-ups. "slippery floor"

some prisoners/suspects go in with money bag but comes out in a body bag!!!

Malaysia Boleh!!!
written by arazak, October 31, 2009 16:27:27
This hypocrite Toon Kutty. .., right under his big nose (I mean, his nose is really big), the Kamunting camp where prisoners under ISA are tortured daily, beaten and even forced to drink their urines and eat their excrements are ignored.

Let these be in the record of international conference to criminalise war,

1. Toon Kutty, Abdullah Badawi, and Najib be put on trial for torturing prisoners.

2. Toon Kutty, Abdullah Badawi, and Najib be put on trial for killing prisoners with their PDRM, MACC and other apparatus.

3. Toon Kutty and Musa Hitam to be put on trial for the killings of innocent villagers in Memmali.

4. Toon Kutty to be put on trial for the Kampong Medan killings.

Until than. . ., don't boast to the world that you are righteous!
written by Fuminari, October 31, 2009 16:38:09
di malaysia tak boleh settle,campur tangan tapak lain orang pula!!
mahatahi,what about penan women,kugan,teoh beng hock,anak RPK dan lain lain in malaysia????
written by talk2stop, October 31, 2009 17:16:34
That's good, bring it on. The West is a bunch of infidels. All muslims should stand up and go against the West and boycott all Western goods and services. Discard your television, computers and pull all plugs and stop using motor vehicles and start learning how to ride camels.
Don't talk about it. Just do it.
written by johanssm, October 31, 2009 17:37:33
After reading the entire article , all the scenarios are identical to what we have in 'lokap polis".
Even the Guantanamo bay is identical to Kem Kamunting.
Ha ha ha , Iraqis are mocking the bn government.
written by Lembing, October 31, 2009 18:07:27
TALK2STOP
YOU are a really COMPLETE IDIOT to make such stupid ludicrous statement.

written by adan, October 31, 2009 18:27:14
Almost all prisoners of Abu Ghraib / G.Bay have come out alive and survived to tell their sad tales to the whole world. . In this part of the world, many of the 'suspected' prisoners' sad tales just died with them,
written by Siebel, October 31, 2009 18:37:22
TDM hates the US to the core. Remember how he used to bash the Clinton's "Administration.

He blamed the Americans for the woes in Malaysia.

He has an axed to grind. He is using this Tribunal as a vehicle to penalise the US and help bring just to those victims. By doing so, he is declaring to the entire world how sympathetic he is and he is helping to bring justice to the afflicted.

Why didn't he do the same to his own Malaysians? He knows there is daily torture in Malaysian prisons...thousands have died under police lockups.

What a hypocrite? He is so conniving....wonder how and when he will die off?

He forgot....if the US is that bad, why so many of the Muslim ministers and corrupted officials fly to the US for medical treatment the moment they discover they have cancer, tumour, heart issues and such like.

He should ban Muslim Malaysians from going to the US for treatment since he hates the US so badly.

Sick old fart!
written by SiHangChai, October 31, 2009 18:50:15
Craps! If you guys were tortured and raped, serve you all right. In the 1st place, why you Muslims guys (who the hell when Muslim called for jihad? Jihad never exists in Koran!) went and kill and murder innocent people all over the world? Now you know how painful you sufferred by yourself. If you want somemore, we can ask Saiful so-do-me to help out.
written by arazak, October 31, 2009 19:04:03
Siebel,

You might be wrong on Toon Kutty. . ., rememeber he had somebody paid Abrahmof US1.5 million to see George Bush. I do not think he hates the US or the US policies. Why would he got somebody to pay US1.5 million to suck-up Bush Jr.?

You are right on 2 things though,. . . he is hypocrite and conniving!
written by kodoktua, October 31, 2009 19:19:28
The whole world knows that the name Dr Mahathir is synonymous with dictatorship. He must be that old or else how come he is not talking about the abuse of human rights in Malaysia while he was the PM.

Even now in this country we see places of worship demolished, bibles and religious books confiscated, people disappear or die 'mysteriously', etc... How come he's so quite about all these???!!!

Mahathir mudah lupa dan munafik! smilies/tongue.gif
written by citizenmy, October 31, 2009 21:18:35
This comission is real joke. Anyhow it gives the old and senile something to do, and SYOK SENDIRI.
written by SamBall, November 01, 2009 02:33:15
kakatoon, apa lu cari nobel peace price kah?

Jauh2 pandai cakap, depan mata pura2 tak nampak; apa macam punya katoon awak ini?
written by 2012, November 01, 2009 02:38:19
'We were tortured and sexually abused'
Yes,Tun Mahathir, Teoh was tortured and sodomised by a hard object and had a hugh tear
on his anus as mentioned by the Thai forensic expert. Do something about it.
What about that Mongolian that was shot, then blown up. Do something about it.
You sodomised Anwar and got your Police to beat him up and then lied to the world.
Havent you any shame.. telling the world during Lingam trial that you cant remember..
But nowadays, you are everywhere giving speeches, telling the regime what to do and what not and remembers everything.... thought you are going senile but hey, you are the biggest hypocrite and a fake muslims. Go to HELL!
written by born2reign, November 01, 2009 07:23:31
MaHitler, can you also include the pictures and stories of Anwar Ibrahim, Kugan and Teoh Beng Hock in this dramatised Ciminalise War event? After all you are the Main Superstar, while those who died in your system were supporting actors.
written by SoundMan, November 01, 2009 10:20:12
What ? Mahathir - these jihadist all came out from those prisons and Livedto tell their sob stories!!!

You are always right, arn't you? Surely, this isn't good enough, the Yanks should have sent these islamic bigots and war dogs out with substantial injuries. Like we do here, Malaysia, broken minds & bodies and the final 'gift' of death.

Speak to Irene Fernandez, remember her?

You were the top honcho over us when 'your' courts, conducted a travesty of justice against her for printing a well researched report with revelations of the absolute barbaric cruelty by your prison guards against arrested undocumented foreigners. Made Malaysia a stink worldwide, it did.

You will be placed before a judge in due time - smilies/grin.gif
written by SoundMan, November 01, 2009 10:32:34
A thought.

Print the commission's report on thin tissue paper ( save trees, you mamak idiot), send them to like minded organisations like those in the UN and the plethora of Islamics that seem to appear by the dirt bag full, on clean up days. Useful as arse wipes smilies/shocked.gif
written by Bigdawg, November 01, 2009 12:05:37
Mahatieu, why just send tribunal decision to UN ?

Please prompt 1Malaysia C4 guy to buy aircraft carrier from Russia.

Toon Mahatieu, you get 40%, 1May'sia C4 can get 50% and BagIndah of Oxfart can get 20%.

Now, when we have 1 Russian Aircraft Carrier, 3 French submarines, 50 Russian Sukhoi fighter jets.....

Then May'sia can dispense justice to Amerikan shytans : Bomb Pearl Harbour !!

And justice be done. And May'sia also done. And Putridjaya also done.
written by Jit Dharma, November 01, 2009 13:09:02
Yes , of course there's not a squeak out of our humanitarian leader
when Aung San Suu Kyi and the Burmese are violated. ASEAN holds their
nuts and dicks then, worried that the kettle will shout back. Of course
why worry about unfortunate Kugan Or Beng Hock, they aren't part of the
brotherhood. This shameless hypocrite grows more ludicrous as the years
go by. Then again, who called on the Americans to attack the Serbians and
Albanian Serbs, yes it was old 'anti-war' Maamak himself, chief architect
of Malaysia's racist foreign affairs policies. Remind yourself of this man's
absurdities, it's good to see the Emperor naked and shriveled up.What a 24
karat twat.
written by Goodbites, November 01, 2009 14:49:55
It's good Mahathir points finger at others, but he should make sure 3 fingers not pointing back to him. He champions the cause for other nations, but no guts to champion the cause of his own people, the rakyat. What is the word we use to describe it?
written by Kunta Kinte, November 01, 2009 21:13:40
What rubbish is this? These people are very much alive unlike here in Malaysia....you are beaten, C4 and kuganised to death. Cover up and more cover up. Nobody pays the price. Culprits get away. STOP looking beyong our shores and being a busybody when you, Mahathir cannot even explain the truth within your shores. Want to charge, Bush, Howard and Tony Blair for war crimes. Why not Najib for murder? Pew!