Home arrow News & Commentaries arrow Pakatan unstuck

Pakatan unstuck PDF Print
Saturday, 31 October 2009 11:10

If Pakatan does not develop a common policy, institutionalise its activities and procedures, and avoid fractious in-fighting, it does not take clairvoyance to foresee that it will eventually fall to pieces.

NST Editorial

LIKE her information chief, the president of Parti Keadilan Rakyat couldn't quite resist the predilection for blaming a "hostile" press for its troubles. But she did avoid the propensity for exaggeration found in the former's claim of a "concerted campaign" to put PKR in an "undeserved bad light". It is, of course, a matter of interpretation whether the spate of resignations or rumours of resignations are signs of a party "mired in deep internal trouble". However, as Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail has conceded, it is quite clear that all is not well in the party.

The fact that the dissidents are no longer with the party may not yet make much of a difference. This is not the first time that key leaders have resigned or denounced the de facto party leader, Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim. However, in as much as it is a truism to assert that the future of a party or nation "does not lie in the hands of any one individual", this glibly ignores the fact that PKR was formed as a private vehicle for the public ambitions of its "adviser". For that reason alone, Anwar has been indispensable to PKR, just as he has been undeniably the driving force of the opposition alliance. He was the reason that DAP and Pas were in Pakatan Rakyat to begin with, and he was and is the only one with the background that was needed for them to uneasily lie on the strange bed they made for themselves.

But since the March 2008 election, each side seems to have been moving away from each other. Pas has been showing signs of severe internal strife, and PKR, the glue that is supposed to hold everyone together, seems to be coming unstuck. As the Irish poet William Butler Yeats asserted, when the centre cannot hold, things fall apart. Ironically, the trouble is that PKR is led by a highly divisive leader with a very personal agenda, and the party has been a beacon for rabble-rousers and self-seekers of every political shade. The Pakatan alliance has no common platform other than that it is anti-Barisan Nasional, and whose political rhetoric of social justice and theatrics of human rights matched the mood of an electorate disenchanted with the ruling coalition. At its base, there was no strong and cohesive foundation. If Pakatan does not develop a common policy, institutionalise its activities and procedures, and avoid fractious in-fighting, it does not take clairvoyance to foresee that it will eventually fall to pieces.

written by garuda, October 31, 2009 11:21:39
We can write,talk,speak as much as we want but we never once considered the fact that UMNO has control of every govt machinery irrespective of the states in which PKR rules!!
How can we blame Pakatan solely for the despicable crimes that UMNO commits? look at Perak assmbly..forcibly removing robes etc,,,look at toyo, look at najib still free despite the whole world knowing what transpired, yet we choose to point fingers at a new pakatan who will surely hv problems growing into a strong force. Pls lets not discourage them and let a worse UMNO take over and destroy us further, lets look at the positive aspects and i can say that all what is going on now is UMNO.s doing, they are now starting their mass media campaign to throw as much dirt on Pakatan, so pls dont be hoodwinked but pls look at the bigger picture,,,
We need to see thru the TV reports which never talkd about Toyo and his millions siphoned out, so let us be of strong mind and body and show UMNO the exit
written by vox populi, October 31, 2009 11:58:02
This glib and glossy editorial is nothing but UMNO propaganda.
You did not say this:
The troubles in PR are all the work of UMNO.
The takeover of Perak and the harassment and intermeddling in the Selangor is all the work of UMNO.
The leadership strife in PAS resulted from UMNO's attempt to lure away recalcitrant leaders.
UMNO used PDRM, MACC, the judiciary, the civil service and its ill-gotten war chest to demolish PR in every way imgainable.
In conclusion, NST is still a paper fit for lining my rubbish bin.
written by picadilly, October 31, 2009 12:25:57
We do not need 1Malaysia Camps! We need 1 UITM, 1 MARA, 1MRSM.

Our children need proper education, Dont kill our children with your crap
not fake camps to instill goverment propoganda.

If you got Balls give us the REAL 1 MALAYSIA
NST write on this if YOU have the BALLS
written by Al Ambia, October 31, 2009 13:01:47
Write what you want NST! When BN Gomen collapsed,lets make sure this newspaper is the first to closed
written by Hakim Joe, October 31, 2009 14:59:19
Fcuking BN mentality - must develop this before can do that, must behave like that before being thus, must follow this, must adhere to that...

If you writers at NST had followed good and fair reporting, you'd be elsewhere!
If you writers at NST are not bias and controlled, you'd be called reporters!
If you writers at NST had a bit of pride left, you'd quit those BN owned media!

Scums....
written by krising1, October 31, 2009 15:10:26
Please also give advice to BN - infighting in MCA, Gerakan and MIC. Perak government being run a circus of usurping clowns.
written by esac, October 31, 2009 18:45:53
All effective and impressive organization goes through a gestation period to maturity. Let 'idiots' say what they want. Just stay focus on the purpose of the rakyat. The time will come when the birth is imminent.

Be encourage to improve your focused purpose while getting rid of internal enemies. The "Elliot Wave 3" will emerge and manifest at its universal time. It is predictive as day and night.
written by No nonsense, October 31, 2009 21:24:25
Whatever you say, I will still want Anwar to lead to fight the corrupt Amno and bring down Bn. I dont even mind if he or Tok Guru become the PM cause we have had enough of Bn for 52 years. High time we need a change that is for the better. With PR the chance is good and no doubt that a few kataks here and there will not bring the spirit of PR supporters down. The time will come all these kataks will have to pay dearly for it. PR supporters keep the fight up. Lets do our best and let GOD do the rest. LONG LIVE PR.
written by temanmu, October 31, 2009 22:23:22
Anti-Barisan Nasional is a good enough common policy!

It equates to anti-corruption, anti-nepotism, anti-racism, good governance, justice for all etc... Just NOT being BN is good in itself!

written by axppin, November 01, 2009 00:09:38
Never doubt it. BN will come down hard on PR armed to the teeth. Consider now as just the jabs. The KO blows will come. Whether a hook or below the belt, remains to be seen. But come it will. As it is, BN need not do much. They are just enjoying the show called Auto-pilot. Will the end be the crash of the PR airline? It is all up to Captain Anwar. Where are youuuu??

written by yipck, November 01, 2009 03:24:18
Oh.. BN is not Unstuck? MIC and MCA virtually wipe out. Now left with Umno and pariah new Indian party Plus Greedy Sabah and Sarawak parties.
written by educationist, November 01, 2009 09:32:45
Coming from the umnoputra's mouthpiece such a damning editorial is to be expected
but my heart is heavy as i read it .
Are there not elements of truth there?
We who have looked to the PR to lead the charge towards change, change towards a more civil, just , fair and democractic society can only sigh in despair as events prove the PR is unwell, & hardly in a position to accomplish such a herculean task!