Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Super cover-up of RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal?

Super cover-up of RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal? PDF Print
Saturday, 31 October 2009 02:46

Lim Kit Siang

The Cabinet decision last month to set up a super task force, headed by Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan, to take over all investigations into the PKFZ scandal is not a demonstration of political will to get to the bottom of the “mother of all scandals” but the opposite.

I see it as a major step backwards in public accountability and good governance, as it smacks of being a super “cover up” task force for the PKFZ scandal.

What is needed is a Royal Commission of Inquiry to conduct a comprehensive and no-holds-barred investigation into the “mother of all scandals” including relevant Ministerial and Cabinet aspects of the scandal instead of trying to sweep the whole issue back under the carpet.
In the first place, is Mohd Sidek the most appropriate person to head the super task force on the PKFZ scandal?

Before Mohd Sidek takes up this appointment, he should explain to the Malaysian public why he had failed in the past two years to carry out the Cabinet decision in July 2007 when it resolved on the RM4.6 billion bailout of PKFZ, including giving retrospective approval to the four illegal Letters of Support unlawfully given by the two previous Transport Ministers, Tun Dr. Ling Liong Sik and Tan Sri Chan Kong Choy, that the Chief Secretary should conduct an inquiry as to how the four Letters of Support could have issued unlawfully and to take the necessary disciplinary actions against the culprits who have now landed the country with a RM12.5 billion PKFZ scandal.

Did Mohd Sidek carry out such an inquiry as not a single culprit had been identified, let alone penalised for the unlawful issue of the four Letters of Support in the past two years ?

Clearly, Mohd Sidek had not carried out the Cabinet instruction or there would not be today a merry-go-round of multiple investigations into the PKFZ scandal, but all without the necessary sweeping powers to get to the bottom of the scandal.
Can Mohd Sidek succeed where he had failed in the past two years? I hope Parliament is given a specific answer to these questions in the ministerial replies.

I have always maintained that the MCA, as the party which is most implicated in the PKFA scandal as so many MCA top leaders involved whether as Transport Minister or Port Klang Authority Chairman, should take a stand to ensure that there should be no further cover-up of the PKFZ scandal and give total support in Cabinet and Parliament for a Royal Commission of Inquiry to bring to book all MCA, Umno and BN leaders implicated in the PKFZ “mother of all scandals” – but unfortunately, the PKFZ scandal is being used only as a pawn in the ongoing MCA power struggle.

written by Cash Money, October 31, 2009 04:19:19
Uncle Lim

Good to see you fight,fight,fight this kangloo court,kangloo system hah.
This gomen ah, so good in sending one to the grave by their doings.
I hope you have trained enough Lims,Muthu's and Ahmads to fight,fight,fight for the next hundred years or more to come for nothing is going to change the kangloo mentality when you have kangloo courts and kangloo system striving.
written by NSTPravda, October 31, 2009 05:00:42
Aiya, when it is too big to bother, why bother? This is what the BN scamsters count on (pun intended). Moral of the story - when one wishes to steal, steal big and our PIG in PDRM will invent the small things to confuse the rakyats to help us in BN. $o $emua-nya OK, ra$uah $ayang eh!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by educationist, October 31, 2009 06:11:24
Thank you, Mr Lim for stating the fact openly.
You are pulling the veil from this shadow play, saying out loud what many Malaysians have suspected from the word go, when the so called super task force were established.
well, I can only hope u will continue to force the UMNOputras to come clean over the PKFZ scandal, and at least some of those responsible for the siphoning of public funds are brought to justice!
RPK's son-are we really in that bad a police state?
Yes, RPK cannot be present but surely his son's lawyers can do something to make his life at Sungei buloh less tortourous!!
written by A MI, October 31, 2009 06:36:35
Uncle Lim millions can be siphoned by AMNO and BeEnd. Who is to question? It is so obvious MACC will only persecute oppostion reps for an alleged questionable use RM2k.
written by yipck, October 31, 2009 06:50:24
Mohd Sidek: MR Lim, What??? Check back then? Lu siao ah? If I check, then I wont get % from the 12.5BILLION!! then I wont be able to feed my next few generations!!! Lu punya maths betul ka? I fail Mathematik.. .tapi I tau 12.5Billion ada manyat Zero!!! manyat manyat Duit!!!
written by Goostee, October 31, 2009 07:51:50
Dear All,

I think its time that we walk the streets again. But, this time please make it serious. Let a few of us die if they indeed wish to use force against us. We have a cause for the sake of our children. Despite being a Malay, I really see threat against the well being of my children and grand children in UMNO's tactics lately.
written by cheemengwong, October 31, 2009 08:21:45
Dear goostee I am surprised that you said you realized lately only as a Malay! Whether you are a Malay chinese or Indian does not qualify you to realize it so late. I realized the problem way back in 1978 when I could not get to pursue my education despite good grades. It is still happening today!

Many like you are still in the dark just like a frog being put into a slowly boiling water. Guess it is still better to realize now than never. Go spread the news.... The bad news and do something about it
written by malgal, October 31, 2009 09:39:22
how timely how apt for mca to raise a fracas that could camouflage a bigger one - if you can't convince em you confuse em ?
goostee, we go as malaysians and citizens for right against wrong.
written by InEffective, October 31, 2009 09:42:57

Can someone confirm if previous-CM of Selangor (via his proxies) has acquired nearly 8000Ha of land near the PKFZ zone under some company called Central Spectrum ?

If indeed the case, can some visibility be shed whether the previous-CM of Selangor used the state land acquisition act first to acquire the lands for a selangor state owned subsidiary first, then privatised (piratized) the subsidiary on the change of state government ?

We need to understand if the State Land Acquisition Act is once again being abused for the politicians self-interests.
written by SocratesI, October 31, 2009 09:45:09

Super Task force ?!! = Sending a bunch of robbers to catch their brother thieves !! Barisan Najis Govt. must think the Rakyat are super stupid, to assume that we can be duped so easily !

These snakes & rats who nest together will never catch the real big sharks behind all these (the Cabinet etc.), but they might come up with a disposable small fry or 2 to be sacrificed at the altar to cover-up everything just like in the Altantuya murder, where the 2 UTK fellas got the death sentence (yet to be carried out) while Najis Rosak & Ros-p*ki-mah gets away scot free.

Vote Out Barisan Najis and Vote In Pakatan Rakyat before our beloved Malaysia is destroyed !!
written by batsman, October 31, 2009 09:52:21
Alamak - why Royal Commissions again? Be more creative and lobby for bi-partisan inquiries la! Big issues that affect the whole nation must be investigated by by-partisan commissions of inquiry which involve opposition lawmakers.

Trying to escape from doing some hard work on behalf of the rakyat?
written by Ghifarix, October 31, 2009 09:57:09
Dustbin terriers never cover, they dig eat and just leave the rubbish scattered; no way they can bury the rotten "PKFZ" stink, and BAKUN on the way soon. let stray dogs run soon they will resurface in a squabble, ingat tak "MCA"
written by Bigjoe99, October 31, 2009 10:03:07
SUPER COVER UP? Its a cover-up but hardly super. Its freaking pathetic and blatant..
written by mick_err_stan, October 31, 2009 10:07:11
“They will not necessarily face legal action. They might face administrative action like surcharge, demotion, having their promotions frozen or be transferred,” Najib said.
Shouldn’t he be saying “The full force of the legal system will bear down on those who are found guilty of corruption by manipulating and abusing power vested in him to serve the people for own gain”
Asked if setting up the task force was aimed at stopping corruption, he said: “Let’s be realistic, there cannot be absolute zero corruption but if we show seriousness (in going after those involved), I believe we can bring the numbers down considerably,” he said.
Shouldn’t he be saying ‘We are very serious in stamping out corruption and we aim toward enforcing zero corruptions. People in the Ministry found guilty of corruption will be removed, jail and money to be recovered to the people”

His statements clearly demonstrate person of ‘tidak apa’ (low) moral and not fit to be a PM.
written by SocratesI, October 31, 2009 10:12:09

Batsman is right ... a Royal Commission is a total waste of time ! Just string the whole Cabinet up by their B@lls and get a firing squad to shoot them all !! I will celebrate that day, hour, and minute as the New Independence of Malaysia from the grip of Dictatorship, Injustice, Inequality, Corruptiuon, Abuse, and the Shackles of ISA, OSA, PPPA, and all Repressive aqnd Oppressive laws designed to keep us Rakyat "in line" !

Death to the treasonous Barisan Najis and all their ilk !
written by MAMR, October 31, 2009 10:27:24
I have said it once and I shall keep repeating it AGAIN AND AGAIN UNTIL MOST RAKYAT UNDERSTAND WHAT THEY HAVE TO DO IN THE NEXT GENERAL ELECTION. The only way to find the truth and to take to task those who has mismanaged and abused the power given to them is BY KICKING OUT UMNO/BN BY THE NEXT ELECTION.Dont talk of just cover up FOR PKFZ,how about commission for purchased of scorpene submarines, and how about the 6 NGPVs (some sort of warships) built by AMINSHAH and gangs at a cost of RM5.35 Billions and was overclaimed and paid NOT AS PER PROGRESS,then Najib gave additional RM1.5 Billions for the new company which had kicked AMINSHAH's out. The worst thing is until today only 3 of 6 project delivered. Even those delivered were experiencing all sort of problems.Another worst thing is now there were talks that the next batch of 6 were at discussion level to be awarded to the same company. How much more Rakyats money will be drown down the drain, why wasn't RCI form to investigate what has gone wrong? What is our function as Rakyat, yet some of us vote blindly to support this corrupt UMNO/BN govt. UNTIL WHEN? ""IT IS TIMEEE FORRR A CHANGEEE"" >Change for the noncorrupt and fair Govt who FIGHT FOR JUSTICE AND FOR ALL RAKYAT> and not just limit to their cronies.
written by SamSan, October 31, 2009 10:46:19
Hi Brother Kit Siang, I think another Royal Commission of Inquiry is a futile excercise. Just look at all the past Royal Commission findings which are now collecting dust at some public library. Have you forgotten the total and gross inaction on the part of the Malaysia Boleh government on all the findings of the V.K. Lingam judge/judicial verdict fixing, IPCMC Judicial Commission and other past Royal Commissions because of lack of political will and also because all those who walk in the corridors of power are deeply implicated in them. So why waste public money for another Royal Commission. All I can suggest is that we all join our Tok Guru Nik Aziz and start regular massive prayer sessions and ask God Allmighty for his mercy and compassionate grace light to rid us once and for all of all these last remaining vestiges of evil dark forces lurking in our midst. May PAS as the true torch bearer of the true Islamic path as evidenced by our much illumed Tok Guru who treads in the path of our noble Prophet Muhammad, lead us in this last fight of Good over Evil!Allahu Akhbar!
written by Waif, October 31, 2009 10:47:33
Shit!Its like asking the monkey to count grapes.The more it count,the more missing
written by my oumrie, October 31, 2009 10:58:18
Bro Kit, Royal Commission of Inquiry is a waste of time because the results are deemed No Further Action (NFA). From what I hear, Amno is so rotten with cover ups, they're going to forget who owes what to whom, one fine day and then, it'll be curtains, Inshallah. smilies/wink.gif smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by justice seeker, October 31, 2009 12:14:03
The Cabinet decision last month to set up a super task force, headed by Chief Secretary to the Government Tan Sri Mohd Sidek Hassan, to take over all investigations into the PKFZ scandal is not a demonstration of political will to get to the bottom of the “mother of all scandals” but the opposite.

I see it as a major step backwards in public accountability and good governance, as it smacks of being a super “cover up” task force for the PKFZ scandal.

IT WILL BE NAJIS' MOTHER OF ALL COVER UPS. WHY, HALF HIS AMENO GOONS/MCA SIDE KICKS WILL BE BEHIND THE SLAMMER IF THE CASE GO TO A PROPER COURT.
written by fireduck, October 31, 2009 12:46:59
And now they want to set up a freaking task force to investigate the Auditor General's report. And the same goons are in the task force. This is getting to be Najib cover-up modus operandi. Is the Auditor-General not someone to be trusted? Is that position just another amateur gaji-buta one, something like the other AG, perhaps? That other AG has so many complains against him, but no investigations are being carried out, and the rare one that was done, very quickly cleared him of any wrongdoing. All because that other AG, as in Attorney General, is nothing but a obedient dog to UMNO.

Getting the parties with vested interests to investigate themselves is like asking the thieves to guard your money vaults. Where is the independence of the task force? At least Abdullah tried to make it look better by putting in some notable persons or NGOs. But not this PM. Najib must be slammed for this, if not asked to resign. He is treating us like stupid fools! It is humiliation of the highest order to have our intelligence insulted by jerks who claim to be our leaders. We must not be conned by him. Kick him out! smilies/angry.gif
written by joeawk, October 31, 2009 15:00:53
Kick out BN and we send them to jail. Malaysians, any objection?
written by chrisyong, October 31, 2009 15:25:41
I thinks the DAP, PKR and PAS offices must disply in figure what is 12.5 billion for people to KNOW WHAT IT means. Regardless of PM's estaiblishment of TASK FORCES which are wayang kulit to take time TO FIND CREATIVE WAYS to account for scandals and corruptions. PKR should appoint its own TASK FORCE keep track of all the scandals big or small, dates and outcomes on monthly basis and not to let these TASK FORCES on tax-payers money get away. The current PM is PM of TASK FORCES.......... We want these task forces be ACCOUNTABLE AND TRANSPARENT. This task forces must have datelines to accomplish else they will sit on their "you know what".
written by BennyG, October 31, 2009 15:27:13
Agree. Agree. Agree.

But we could only watch and talk about it. What is the desire and action of the common people in stopping corruption?!
written by Eskay Lim, October 31, 2009 20:46:38
PM Najib has promised that the Chief Secretary to the Government will look into all those cases highlighted by the Auditor-General's annual report (2009) but only "administrative action" will be taken on those wrong-doers.
Come on, PM don't treat us like idiots.
Those officers committed corrupt acts like stealing, robbing & cheating the rakyat and should face criminal action,(definitely not your administrative action.)Those charges are akin to CBT thus a heavy fine and a jail-term is necessary. If not, every officer in government service will try to "do a deal for a big sum of money" and then face your so called administrative action of a transfer to another department to enjoy his "spoils"
What
written by Eskay Lim, October 31, 2009 20:52:49
Correction:
Those charges are akin to CBT thus a heavy fine and a jail term is mandatory
written by ibabonma, October 31, 2009 21:24:43
Mad swine on the loose! Police.