Home arrow The Blogs arrow Guest Columnists arrow Barisan is arrogant and drunk on power

Barisan is arrogant and drunk on power PDF Print
Friday, 30 October 2009 18:38

Barisan can grill Teoh Beng Hock so hard about RM2,400 worth of alleged corruption that he falls to his death, but it can’t even get to the bottom of the multi-billion ringgit Port Klang Free Zone disaster. Barisan is so drunk with power that it knowingly nominates a man which its very own Umno decided was too corrupt to hold office to represent it in Negri Sembilan. Barisan just does not care about the law.

By John Lee, The Malaysian Insider

So, the Perak farce grabbed the headlines again this week, while in my home state, Badrul Hisham Abdullah crossed over to the Barisan Nasional side of the floor. And there is no better way to sum this up: Barisan is a threat to our democratic and peaceful way of life. It is arrogant, drunk on the heady belief that no matter what, it can hold on to power and do whatever it likes — the laws or the people of Malaysia be damned.

I know it sounds like hyperbole to suggest Barisan is this nasty. And I don’t mean to say you’re a bad person if you like or support Barisan. I know a fair number of fantastic people in Barisan. But I also know for a fact that Barisan doesn’t give a rat’s ass about our democracy or our rights.

The most fundamental right — even more fundamental than the right to vote — is the right to fair and equal treatment under the law. That is why the Magna Carta is such an important document — it is the first codified instance of the rule of law. Nobody, not even the royalty or the Prime Minister, is above the law. Everyone is entitled to be treated as the law prescribes — nothing more, and nothing less.

It is fundamentally dictatorial and antithetical to democracy for people to be above the law. If someone were to murder or steal, it does not matter whether he is a prince or a pauper — he is wrong. It undermines everything about a democratic and constitutional state for the government to be above the laws imposed on the people it governs.

And yet, that is exactly what happened in Perak. Barisan could have waited for the Pakatan Rakyat speaker to convene the state assembly, pass a motion of no confidence in the government, and get on with business. It wouldn’t be particularly fair to the people of Perak, who voted for a Pakatan government, but at least it would be in accordance with the law.

Barisan didn’t give two hoots about the law. It unilaterally decided that the Sultan could dismiss the mentri besar, and used this to impose its authority over the state. The fact is that the Perak state assembly still has not passed a vote of no confidence in the Pakatan state government, leaving the question of who governs the state in limbo.

READ MORE HERE: http://themalaysianinsider.com/

written by budakindia, October 30, 2009 18:42:52
Good! Isa is the mascot of corruption in BN! That's the monkey we need! He has just turned to a gorilla when he won the election! Hate is now turned into hatred & disgust! No amount of public relations could save that! Wish BN the best in the GE! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by justice seeker, October 30, 2009 19:01:12
Barisan can grill Teoh Beng Hock so hard about RM2,400 worth of alleged corruption that he falls to his death, but it can’t even get to the bottom of the multi-billion ringgit Port Klang Free Zone disaster. Barisan is so drunk with power that it knowingly nominates a man which its very own Umno decided was too corrupt to hold office to represent it in Negri Sembilan. Barisan just does not care about the law.

AIYOOO. THIS IS 1MALAYSIA WITH 2 STANDARDS. THEY HV AT LEAST 1000 OPENINGS FOR CANDIDATES WITH ALL KINDS OF CORRUPTION CONVICTIONS. OTHERWISE, HOW TO TRUST THEM WITH SO MUCH MONEY AND POWER????
written by my2cents, October 30, 2009 19:01:37
Every corrupt regime will have its day. Even too late for them to repent. Ask any Serembanite how much public land Isa had given away. He is the face of corruption.
written by Just Gan, October 30, 2009 19:05:29
Let us get the facts right: Barisan is NOT arrogant and drunk on Power. It is UMNO which is not just arrogant and drunk on power but also racist and fundamentalist, totally unethical and immoral, totally corrupt and totally criminal. What is perhaps most telling about UMNO is that it is totally un-Islamic. UMNO would be whipped and stoned to death millions of times for all the sins it has committed and continues to commit contrary to Islam.
written by alpha1, October 30, 2009 19:43:47
Look at all the corrupt bastards at the helm. What can we expect of this country? Hopeless! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by Oscar Winner, October 30, 2009 20:48:59
We all know what they did last summer, autumn, winter, spring...all year round. We know why they did what they did in the past, what they are doing now and what they will do tommorrow. UMNO has to helm the govt by using PDRM, judiciary, MACC, AG, EC, etc and all their machinations, if not they will have to flee the country, be dead or in jail. Let's work harder to overthrow the evil regime
written by A MI, October 30, 2009 21:10:14
Rarisan is still grilling PKR rep's assistants.
How come Karma is not biting Barisan's behind for all their evil deeds
written by storm62, October 30, 2009 21:21:53
If BN loses hold on the government then Kamunting will be full and over crowded.

these bus3rds will be shitting bricks!!!

come on people , we can do it!!! the power is in our hands comes GE13!!!
written by malsia1206, October 30, 2009 21:24:22
Barisan does care about the laws, ONLY the laws are working in their advantage. The rakyat knows there are laws for Barisan and laws for you and me. But the same laws work differently for different people. Let's start with the Judiciary since 1988. Do we still need to say more? Ask yourself what has since changed? From 1988 to korek x3.
written by smeagrooo, October 30, 2009 21:56:38
Isa the mascot of corruption? I think he fits the bill becos he is short, small and ugly.
written by Ghifarix, October 30, 2009 22:39:09
Who said they grill Teoh Beng Hock, they targeted him as a softy with the hope of turning him over- just like they turn over Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, but Teoh shocked them out of their wits; he had conviction and faith in his struggled and they murdered him - Teoh Beng Hock broke them and they couldn't comprehend. He withstood their bribes their inducement their racist taunts and then their blows, they strangled him sodomized him curse him ripped his cloth hoping to drive fear in him but he held out - he held out like Steve Biko; Teoh Beng Hock won and now the **ckers are under the scope. One day Insha ALLAH/GOD Willing! we will bring them to justice.
written by NSTPravda, October 31, 2009 05:25:01
Barisan is arrogant and drunk on power!!?? Seriously, how can we not be? We are divinely ordained and destined to be the rulers of the wretched common rakyats. By being assertive and positive, we are just being the most modest ruling elite in this universe! $0 $emua-nya OK! smilies/tongue.gif
written by batsman, October 31, 2009 09:48:01
BN is drunk on power because some people are supplying it with unlimited amounts of votes, taxes, police batons, illegal immigrants with voting rights, beer, sexy events, condoms and other excuses to maintain itself in power.
written by Rozlan, October 31, 2009 22:41:01
PDRM and the MACC are the national icon for corruption practices .Not corruption busters
written by DontPlayGod, November 02, 2009 22:28:25
As has been written all these years, the PDRM, MACC, and the Judiciary are the arms and tools of UMNO. period. Important issues as the murder of the Mongolian girl, Kugan's murder, Teoh Beng Hock's killing and the "it looks like me, sounds like me" lawyer royal commission case are all pushed aside or ignored. Then there is also the case of P. I. Subramaniam, whose sworn statement implicated Najib. UMNO/BN are laughing all the way to the bank, and also laughing at the rakyat for being such fools to keekp on voting them in!