Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Sigh…what more to say? (UPDATED with BM translation)

Sigh…what more to say? (UPDATED with BM translation) PDF Print
Friday, 30 October 2009 15:45

I told Nik Nazmi, the Menteri Besar’s political secretary, about the Badrul problem way back in mid-2008. I told him we have probably ‘lost’ him. And we actually lost him a few days after the 8 March 2008 general election.

It was in February 2008 that I first met Badrul Hisham Abdullah. And I went to meet him at the request of Ronnie Liu. You see; Ronnie was contesting the Pandamaran state seat under the Port Kelang parliamentary constituency while Badrul was contesting the neighbouring Port Kelang state seat, also under the Port Kelang parliamentary constituency. It was important, therefore, that both Ronnie and Badrul win to ensure that Charles Santiago will win the Port Kelang parliament seat as well.

We were not too worried about Pandamaran because Ronnie had spent many years building his base there. So we were quite confident that Ronnie would win the seat without any problem. But the Port Kelang state seat was another matter. It was going to be an uphill battle with this one.

First of all, no one knew who the hell this Badrul guy was. Secondly, that seat is a strong Barisan Nasional seat because of the Malay voters from Kampong Raja Uda who have always voted Umno since Merdeka Day. Never has Kampong Raja Uda voted opposition and unless they do then Badrul would not be able to win that seat.

To help Badrul increase his chances, Ronnie campaigned for Badrul and he asked me to go meet the voters in Kampong Raja Uda. We need to win the votes of the Malays in Kampong Raja Uda, said Ronnie, if Badrul is going to win. The Chinese and Indians are not too much of a problem. Furthermore, the Malays are the majority so if we can’t win the Malay votes, even if we win 100% of the votes of the Chinese and Indians, it will not help. Anyway, there is no way we can win 100% of the Chinese and Indian votes.

Ronnie arranged for me to ceramah at Kampong Raja Uda. My message to the Malay voters in Kampong Raja Uda was short and to the point. It was raining heavily and we had all these Malays standing in the rain getting soaked to their skin. So it was better that I come to the point, say my piece, and allow them to get out of the rain.

The opposition has never won the votes of the Malays of Kampong Raja Uda, I said. Since Merdeka, the Malays have always voted for the ruling party. For the first time I want the Malays to vote opposition, I said. This kampong, Kampong Raja Uda, is named after my grandfather, Raja Tun Uda. I used to visit this area every year during Hari Raya when I was a child because my relatives used to live here although many have since moved away.

If the Malays here still vote for the ruling party and do not vote for the opposition, I want them to remove my grandfather’s name from this kampong. Call it something else but please do not call it Kampong Raja Uda. And if the ruling party wins the votes from Kampong Raja Uda I swear to never step foot in this kampong again.

On Polling Day, Badrul won the Port Kelang state seat and, for the first time in history, Kampong Raja Uda went to the opposition. However, when it came time to announce the winner, Badrul was nowhere to be seen. They rushed to his house to see whether he was home but it appeared like no one was home. They knocked on his door anyway and for a while no one stirred. They continued knocking and soon a very sleepy Badrul came to the door. He had been sleeping. While the votes were being counted Badrul was at home fast asleep.

Badrul had a very confused look on his face. You won, they told him. Get dressed and come to the counting centre. They need you there to announce the winner.

Badrul remained silent. Quickly, get dressed. You won. You need to go to the counting centre.

I won? Badrul could not believe what he heard.

Yes, you won, quickly, come with us. You need to be there.

The signs that something was not quite right with this man already showed on Nomination Day and Ronnie told me he was a bit worried about this guy. He went to the nomination centre without any money and could not pay the deposit. So they quickly did a collection to help raise the deposit by passing the hat around.

After Badrul had been sworn in as a State Assemblyman, he ‘disappeared’. Instead of spending time with the other Pakatan Rakyat Assemblymen or the Member of Parliament, he was seen almost every night having dinner with the Umno people. He was mingling with the Umno people and staying away from the Pakatan Rakyat people.

I told Nik Nazmi, the Menteri Besar’s political secretary, about the Badrul problem way back in mid-2008. I told him we have probably ‘lost’ him. And we actually lost him a few days after the 8 March 2008 general election.

Nik Nazmi told me they are aware of the problem. But of course nothing was done about it and now the problem has come back to bite PKR and Pakatan Rakyat on their backsides.

That is the saga of Badrul Hisham Abdullah, PKR’s candidate for the Port Kelang state seat who turned up on Nomination day without any money to pay his deposit, who went home to sleep while the votes were being counted, and who ‘joined’ Umno barely a few days after he won the election.

When we first met Badrul, my wife said, oh my God, you mean PKR does not have any other candidates to choose? To be honest, my wife said, even I will not vote for him. How can we expect the general public to vote for him?

I think you make a much better candidate than Badrul, I told my wife.

That is so insulting, my wife replied. How can you compare me to him? I would not even trust him to cut my grass, let alone become my Wakil Rakyat.

Yes, that was my wife’s opinion. And Ronnie told me way back in March 2008 that we are going to have problems with Badrul. We expected him to jump ship more than a year ago. Our only surprise is that it took so long for him to do so. And an even bigger surprise is, after knowing all this, why did PKR not do anything about this guy earlier?

That appears to be the story of PKR’s life. And there are many more the likes of Badrul Hisham Abdullah lurking in PKR. I just wonder when we are going to see more incidences like Badrul.

PKR is beginning to look like one huge joke. But the joke is not funny. We campaigned hard and asked the voters to trust us by voting opposition. I personally went down to the ground to tell the voters to trust me and vote opposition. Have we violated that trust? Will the voters ever trust me again?

That, I would summarise, is the greatest tragedy of all.

Translated into BM at: http://gomalaysian.blogspot.com/2009/10/raja-petra-apa-yang-harus-dikatakan.html

Comments (72)Add Comment
written by citizenmy, October 30, 2009 15:56:30
No worries. Most of the PKR ADUN and MP will continue to support PKR as long as there is opportunity to make $$$. Once better offer comes in from elsewhere, they willshow their true color. Since most of the species in PKR being ex UMNO what else we can expect.
My vote still stays for PAS and DAP...but for PKR..I would rather reconsider.
disagree 40
agree 377
written by Garend, October 30, 2009 15:56:33
It's truly truly sad that such case come to pass..
Then again.. as U yourself have always been saying.. PKR lack of credible leader..

However, the wave of demand to change that time is high.. We trusted a lot of the ppl.. a lot of the blogger.. And u of course (Dear RPK) we always trust.

But the people during that time are not looking at the candidate.. we are looking at the party. We had high hopes during that time, and we wanted to send a clear message of disapproval to BN. I am sure u are aware what the ppl are saying during that time.. "Even if the Opposition field a clown also they will win" But I fear now the joke is upon us as the clown go against us.

But the Rakyat has learn our lesson now.. next time.. we will be looking at the Candidate. If Pakatan Rakyat still hope to win the coming election, they better do housecleaning and start to train up new creditable leader.
agree 282
written by doggone, October 30, 2009 15:56:50
There's no question in the rakyat's trust in you RPK, but this Bad-role His-shame is a big joke that could garner no laughter among us. Truth be told, even the UMNO people would stay away from him. They only wanted his seat.
agree 122
written by Bigjoe99, October 30, 2009 15:57:19
RPK to stand against Badrul in next election under whatever banner he wants...
agree 150
written by malgal, October 30, 2009 15:57:33
this trojan bit the hand that handed him the sugar lump.
bitter lesson to learn, be ready this time and act like a governing party, not like an opposition lame duck.
written by murali, October 30, 2009 16:01:03
This article will do more harms to PR than any other articles so far. They knew this guy's character and still let him contest! Now i wonder how many more before the next GE?!?!?!? Its true that PR has breached voters trust in this case! Better do something about it PR!!!
written by Susanna, October 30, 2009 16:03:18
It's okay because people make mistake and those who campaigned for this lazy guy, well they were suckered to. But the people won't make the mistake of voting that man again for sure. So he should be lucky he even made it the first time. Let him realise what sort of UMNO 'friends'. Good riddance as far as I am concerned. We don't need this type of wakil rakyat.
written by batsman, October 30, 2009 16:05:25
Sigh. In UMNO, potential candidates slaughter each other to be nominated. PR suffers from a lack of good men and women. This can only mean the tsunami when it came caught not only PR by surprise and unprepared, the Malaysian public also never really bothered with PR until the last minute.

I hope by now most of the incompetents, riff-raff, hangers-on, good time friends, etc have been identified and isolated. I hope the voters understand PR's problem and will be patient. I hope the voters mature at the same time as the PR.
written by Nunudada, October 30, 2009 16:10:53
PKR must spend some time evaluating and grooming potential leaders from the various constituencies to take up the task of leadership when the time presents.The last election saw a fervour for change from the public which allowed many useless blokes to jump into the bandwagon.The result is this,with characters that are easily lured by money.We have come alongway and made some ground.PKR cannot afford to rest on its laurels.PKR must push for a strong capable alternative force to correct the immense wrongs that is plagueing our nation.
written by aryn, October 30, 2009 16:23:54
Good riddance actually.

In my opinion, it is better to lose all those pro Umno/BN wakil rakyats or MPs who are currently in PKR/PR.

At leaset we know who they are and the people should never vote for them again.

I hope Anwar Ibrahim (if his mind is not short circuited!) would learn from all this and choose trusted and capable candidates to contest in the PRU13. I hope he is not idiotic enough to pick only his so-called 'loyalists' to be the candidates but have no leadership capability let alone have the rakyat interest at heart.

I am going to be selective and choosy when I vote in the PRU13. I won't simply vote any PR candidate anymore. Enough!
written by rpremkumar2u, October 30, 2009 16:24:50
Why was this YB allowed to loaf around the hungry UMNO wolves?
written by Ghifarix, October 30, 2009 16:29:06
PR needs an intel unit. PR must realize that this is no guessing game - no chance on chance neither, and after all the police brutality we ought to know that being in OPPOSITION means playing for KEEPS.
Let the sleepy head go, he'll get his dues. Now lets move on We'd like Nik AZIZ RPK AI K Sammad and Kak Wan selecting our reps to unite the shadow Gomen.
written by miwaki, October 30, 2009 16:46:39
Badrul,boleh kamu tunjuk muka kau ? saya nak sepak muka hang tau ? Celaka punya syaitan !
written by DezMalaysia, October 30, 2009 16:58:11
I suggest PKR pick their 100% PKR fresh members of those who are young professional/graduates over ex-BN members in the next GE. The risk of defecting to UMNO will be put to the lowest.

Those who were from BN must at least serve in the party for some 10 years before they can qualify to contest for ADUN/ADR.
written by cheehau, October 30, 2009 17:00:40

I supposed every political party in its infancy period will undergo this process of eradicating the rotten apples from its ranks before reaching maturity. I am willing to give you the benefit of the doubt so please do not get discouraged by these glitches. Like you said, these are the parts and parcels that we have to go through in order to create a better future for Malaysia.
written by abbey, October 30, 2009 17:06:13
RPK, soon there will be more characters like Badrul surfacing from PKR. Before this incident, we have 2 PKR guys from Perak whom by their action helped UMNO to grab power from PR. The common denominator in this desease is in the genes.

All these characters carry a gene called UMNO, it's in their blood. Genetic studies have revealed that it will take seven generation to rid this harmful gene.
written by Oscar Winner, October 30, 2009 17:08:22

It was His-Sham. He just wanted to ride on the waves of your popularity amongst the voters to win, and after winning it, had no balls to meet you, as his heart was still in UMNO. I hope PR will select their candidates properly so that voters will continue to vote for the opposition. People like His-sham Bad-role has not served his constituents, and I believe he will not stand any chance at all in the next GE if he's with UMNO. He is not in UMNO yet because UMNO doesn't want a lazy fella who can become a liability, simple as that. His-sham can kiss politics goodbye, go back to his sleep, and sleep forever
written by Wisdom above, October 30, 2009 17:22:19
Please select a People's Parliament QUALITIES candidate to contest! Give ex-UMNO guy a chance to contest, they play you out 100% from day one? He WON on PR-PKR ticket, and he put up the ADUN seat for SALE ? Very tragic ! SABM.
written by onnetline, October 30, 2009 17:24:52

Looks like the UMNOs corrupted gestures are quite overwhelming and have managed to get some PKR assemblymen secured on leash ........... like pariah slave dogs.

........ shameless and corrupted PKR hypocrites !

written by CPY, October 30, 2009 17:25:23
Alright RPK. As we know PKR are exUMNO, & they have the smallest number of member in PR, but biggest parliamentary seats in PR. SO, for now, the quality of their ppl is no good, but we can improved it gradually.
written by Rock, October 30, 2009 17:31:45
This battle of attrition is eroding the number of PR reps and so, if not properly checked, the rakyat trust too. Bn is quite contented to sit back and relax, watching the disintegration of PR and taking advantage of it. PKR, PAS and DAP should send their reps to boot camp, you know like bina semangat, grill them to be real PR men. Belia training camp near Rawang (belong to Yayasan Selangor) will be nice location. I volunteer as the camp commandant. What say you?
written by Malaysiaku, October 30, 2009 17:32:57
Whose fault is it in the first place? It is PKR's. Period. They do not know how to choose people. Any pariah will do. See where it leads to now? Screen your people Anwar. You and PKR is letting us all down.
written by Angela Ooi, October 30, 2009 17:38:02
Who is responsible for this shit situation? Currently, I am more angry with Pakatan and PKR in particular. Damn PKR leadership, damn, damn. I feel so angry cos we worked towards a change but nothing was done to contain this problem. Not even after Raja Petra's dire warnings and yet again after the Berak debacle, did PKR leaders make any move to stop the rot.
written by hanisma, October 30, 2009 17:55:08
Badrul Hisham : GOOD RIDDANCE TO BAD RUBBISH! Other PR leaders who still adopt the Umno mentalities better get out of PKR/PR now so that only genuine PKR/PR leaders will steer the ship towards a better Malaysia!
written by Goodbites, October 30, 2009 17:56:42
PKR made a mistake in supporting Badrul but if compared with those elected in UMNO, it is just a drop in the ocean. Did he steal rakyat's money, or murder (opposition)? Or purchased a laptop worth RM42K? To my knowledge, no. At least he is not doing some of the things allegedly done by the opposing party, and such news appearing daily in newspapers/internet. A shame to the nation.

Nevertheless, we must not condone it (ineffective reps) and PKR must be more careful in selecting candidates in future.
written by bugisman, October 30, 2009 17:59:35
there are so many frogs & spineless ppl in PKR, seriously. im sick of PKR's face now...from the 2 PKR frogs in ipoh to the penang DCM and kulim's zul and we have now badrul and jeffery & liew in sabah....

PKR... is getting to be more like a trouble in Pakatan Rakyat.

PAS is no better with Hassan, Nassa, Hadi and those "unity" brothers.

i only trust DAP for now.
written by 1351, October 30, 2009 17:59:47
Often one can't control the unknown but in the case of Badrul and the two PKR assemblymen in Perak, decision makers - management or the higher up's - should have shown more spine to suspended the participation/activities of the allege culprit and appoint from within the party, a foster member to oversee and assume the responsibilities of an assemblyman.

What do you suggest be done Raja Petra ? Within PKR, PAS and even DAP, it would surprise none if there are "sleepers" not activated.

Perhaps what I'm calling for is for party machinery to be more professional. Have they given thought to the eventuality(such as Badrul) ? Is there a management to begin with ? It doesn't have to be party members or office bearers but engage lay members of society to act and contribute as eye's and ear's. About time the various political party take a look at respective constitution and write into effect the do's and don't, what to enforce and what action to take, spell out whatever under the sun to safeguard party interest.

written by educationist, October 30, 2009 18:09:59
"PKR is beginning to look like one huge joke. But the joke is not funny" -I disagree.
PKR looks like a tragedy zone will be a more accurate description as to what's happening with PKR.
written by Common Man, October 30, 2009 18:13:54
From hindsight it is easy to blame PKR to field such stupid, clueless candidate. Pre-Mar 2008, no one worth his salt wishes to be the candidate thinking he might lose. Imagine if you were chosen as a candidate,you have to come up with your own resources, money and manpower. This is especially so in Port Klang constituency, an area no opposition has ever won!!On top of it, this is the area of the imfamous powerful Zakaria.Who could have thought an upset can happen? Be assured come next GE, you can bet many candidates will fight for the right to contest and I bet you a more suitable candidate will be chosen.Guys just be patient.
written by Wave33, October 30, 2009 18:23:02
Reject Shop

To make it simple, Parti KeAdilan Rakyat is a Reject Shop. Most of it reject from UMNO, cannot cari makan in UMNO, try Parti KeAdilan Rakyat. But those born in PKR, are really wakil rakyat, people like Tian Chua and Elizabeth Wong. Reform is needed, it is not ASAP but ICU.
written by alpha1, October 30, 2009 18:23:39
Let's celebrate by opening some champagne, shall we? Let this rubbish Badrul Hisham Abdullah go! Let him stay with his rubbish comrades in BN! smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif smilies/shocked.gif
written by KotaDamansara73, October 30, 2009 18:26:18
NEver take short cuts in life. It will come back and haunt you.
written by budakindia, October 30, 2009 18:29:38
He's just another frog like the 3 frogs from Perak and Ibrahim Ali from Kelantan! No shame & dignity! I bet these bastards will even sell their own mothers to save their pathetic lives! What about Zulkifli Nordin? Will he join these animals too, probably he should! Hey animals, we have our eye on you! smilies/angry.gif
written by MSIABOLEH, October 30, 2009 18:33:19
In PKR who is actually doing the screening process when selecting a candidate. Or any Tom, Dick and Harry would do like this half-baked lazy super-idiot called Badrul Hisham!
written by Just Gan, October 30, 2009 18:53:00
The fact that Badrul could quit as Pakatan's ADUN so easily shows that Pakatan has a lot to learn about how to handle dirty politics. One would have thought that Pakatan would have learnt from what has happened in Perak to prevent a similar development in Selangor. But it looks like that they haven't. Why didn't Pakatan, especially PKR, get all its ADUNs and Wakil Rakyats to sign a signed and dated contract that they would quit their seats if they left their respective parties? Why didn't Pakatan Selangor keep tab of its shady ADUNs such as Badrul and hit them at the opportune moment before they quit? Pakatan govts, especially in Selangor and Kedah, need to be very vigilant and proactive if it expects to remain in power in their states till GE13. If only they had heeded Pete's advice, the Badrul incident could have been avoided. It is still not too late to weed out the UMNO moles and potential traitors who may be passing off as legitimate Pakatan ADUNs and Wakil Rakyats while secretly working for UMNO and passing it Pakatan's secrets.
written by justice seeker, October 30, 2009 18:58:45

HE SOLD HIS HEART, SOUL AND DIGNITY. WONDER HOW MANY FRIENDS HE SOLD OFF.
ERRR... IS THIS MFKR'S WIFE FOR SALE TOO???
written by tsai68, October 30, 2009 19:03:18
I share the feeling of RPK.
Before the results were out on 8 March 2008, most of us never expected or rather dreamed PKR could get hugh support from all races in this country. In my 2 sen, the party leaders that time even had no confidence winning more than 10 seats and took this election easy. Some how or what, the party leaders just nominated any one to be their candidates without thorough study and evaluate the candidates. The party leaders that time had no confidence to win at all and just contested for the sake of contest and see if the luck were with them. Somehow or what , that time, God willing and created a big wave and threw messages to all of people in Malaysia it is time to change. Because ' change ' was in every voter's mind that time, so voters just voted for opposition and didnt care who the candidate was , be it a layman, good or bad, service orientated or not etc . So during that time, whooever were ' lucky ' one being nominated to stand for the opposition, without much sweat, he or she just won like that. It is so sad, till today, after 18 months later, the PKR leaders still take things easy and does not evaluate the actual situation why they won so beautifully and have a wrong impression voters will always support them in the future, irrespective the elected candidates are doing their jobs or not and so forth . These days, voters are smart and fairly high educated, they know how to evaluate the party and her candidates' quality. Well, the voters gave you a chance this time, it is not necessary they will give you the same support in future. Moreover, the ruling party is not that sleeping also. The ruling party will learn from past mistakes and change accordingly and get the support back from the voters. PKR, to many of us, has a very bright future in this country. If this party is properly managed, esp it is a multiracial party, one is not surprised at all, this party can alone win almost all the seats and rule this country by itself. But, sad to say that, till today, the party does not seem to value the gold opportunity given to her and do thing that is supposed to do and things that are not supposed to do and let the voter's support goes aways day by day. Well, I do hope what ever my comments or opinions will not offend PKR but rather to take it as a feedback. You have a better chance to rule the government as far as I am concerned, but if you select the ways you want it now, I am sorry to say that, this beautiful winning might be once only and you will go into history in the matter of time.
written by wongnoball, October 30, 2009 19:12:41
When the tide changed, even an ayam from opposition camp also can win a seat .... HA HA HA HA HA HA HA ....... I really don't know whether opposition still has such opportunity again ??????????????
written by ibabonma, October 30, 2009 19:45:32
We must not ignore, it was so difficult to convince members to contest under PKR banner then because most did not expect PKR could win that easily in the 2008 election. That was the reason why an ex postman was selected to be one of the candidates.

But the situation has changed and now a substantial number of trusted and qualified candidates are waiting in que for the 2013 General Election candidates. So be tolerant with PKR and Anwar for the moment if you wish for a change in Malaysian politics.

written by kenny, October 30, 2009 19:55:19
"He went to the nomination centre without any money and could not pay the deposit. So they quickly did a collection to help raise the deposit by passing the hat around."

"While the votes were being counted Badrul was at home fast asleep."
------------------------------------------------------------------------
It's understood that PKR, DAP and PAS had to contest all the seats in West M'sia last GE to dilute the strength of the BN machinery.

It's also understood that PKR was short of capable and trustworthy candidates to fill up its allotment of seats. But...to put a sicko up as a candidate??? Man, this certainly reflects on the seriousness in leadership, which is again reflected by the dilly-dallying indecision on the monkeying around of Zulkifli Nordin.

Anwar simply has to perform and lead instead of just concentrating on his wheeling and dealing. And Umno's laid-back and adik-beradik way of doing things just wouldn't wash if Anwar is serious in winning the hearts and minds of the people.
written by sydput, October 30, 2009 20:05:47
What did i tell you! If RPK campaigns, he will get everybody's vote, whether they be malay, chinese indian or eurasian. And even the people of sabah will put their trust in RPK.
written by mob1900, October 30, 2009 20:09:47

They have planted these rodents-on-a-wire way back to infiltrate parties even before PAKATAN emerges. Just set more mouse traps!
written by KELVIN308, October 30, 2009 20:31:10
Don't worry, no more frogs next election.
written by Aria, October 30, 2009 21:22:51
The PKR plane is plummeting straight to the ground and the pilot must act quickly making some smart moves. UMNO, Who's plane is also not doing so well is see PKR's plane passing them to hit the ground first. Najib, who is UMNOs' plane pilot is happy to see this because he knows that the UMNO plane will be saved if PKR's plane crashes first. Meanwhile some of the rakyat on the ground are praying that the UMNO plane crashes first.
Anwar make your moves now or you are finished. If PKR becomes becomes weak, UMNO will attack and chop PKR's head off and you will this time be in jail forever and RPK in exile forever.
written by raven1958, October 30, 2009 21:28:57
PKR is Anwar...and errr...Anwar is also still sleeping...
written by Trigem, October 30, 2009 21:31:57
Come on, guys. I think we all know that PKR tried very hard to find people to contest in the last election. It was a fact that PKR had not enough quality candidates at that time. Meanwhile, they either had to leave a constituency uncontested or contest with whoever they have. Given the situation, what do you think was the right choice? Would your answer be any difference than Anwar if you were him?

So, please stop blaming PKR for the problem of low-quality ADUNs. It had no other choice. We should all be supportive of PKR at this difficult transitional time.
written by orangbukit, October 30, 2009 21:32:48
Where on earth did PKR dig this Badrul up? Is it another story of 'I know who and who?' I'm sure he is being recommended by some senior PKR people, right? They too, should shoulder the blame for this fiasco.
written by Arowana, October 30, 2009 21:36:31
PKR did learn one BIG lesson this time around.

GE13 will be a different ball game altogether.

Better get you act right this time before apocalypse later.
written by marbl3s, October 30, 2009 22:35:51
You know what's the biggest problem? The biggest problem is that we are always just trying to please and convince the Malay race. In the first place, why do they need convincing? Aren't they living bad enough to know that they have been screwed by the ruling party for the past half a century?
written by mowadoha, October 30, 2009 22:37:45
We urge DSAI to act fast to prevent the greatest tragedy from happening .....

written by Spear Bing, October 30, 2009 22:51:29
PKR a big joke it is!. And DSAI is more concerned about his international image by attending summit overseas, rather than looking after his own house which is now bit by bit crumbling down.

DSAI is too gullible, too trustworthy, and maybe short of not being able to select the proper candidates.

He has to be seen to be personally committed to addressing this pressing problems brewing in PKR, or else come the next GE, the voters will abandon his ship.
written by Pangkis Pangazou, October 30, 2009 23:05:22
Speaking of frogs.... Anwar is an expert on "frogs". He produced many frogs in Sabah way back in 1994. He should know better. Alas his past sins against Sabahans is finally coming back to haunt him. Anwar... is it so hard to admit your transgression against Sabahans in '94 and apologize? I guess you reap what you sow.
written by Daryl, October 30, 2009 23:09:14
I totally agree that the time has come for house cleaning on the part of PKR and they need help from DAP and PAS as well. In their defense even though they cannot use this anymore is PKR is a your party with politicians from ex-UMNO. So, the only way to clean up is for professionals and those sitting on the fence with capabilities to start showing up in PKR. After PRU-12 we see hope and even though there are some dent here and there but hope for a better country is now there. Come PRU-13 we will need to get rid of majority of the PKR people that are not performing and use that are proven and want to work for rakyat and PR's principles.

HOPE is what we have and we need to keep that light burning.
written by Abajawi, October 30, 2009 23:09:54
I think Bro Anwar is spending too much time overseas, giving lectures here and there. He should spend less time away, but should attend to the day-to-day problems of his Party. With due respect, the Party President is losing her grip already of the party affairs. The Deputy President Dr Syed Hussein too is seldom heard nowadays. Is he, too, losing steam. I hate to give these negative perception to readers about a party that I support strongly to take over the federal govt in the next election. But you guys better get your act together; otherwise we Malaysians are going to be stuck with the BN govt again come next GE.
written by Steven Ong, October 30, 2009 23:15:53
After being a long time with UMNO, Anwar is not really a new guy different from the UMNOputras. Zaid would be a better person to lead PKR, being a man of principal. While Anwar was in the opposition because he was rejected by UMNO, not because he stand up for his priciple to defend an injustices. All he wants is to avenge his grievance and hit back at UMNO. For example . did he speak up against the ISA?
The oppositions needs a man of priciples, integrity and transparent. Even if PR forms the next government, it would be weak and chaotic. With PAS bent on an Islamic state which many Malaysians does not favour. It wont last long before Malaysia falls into anarchy.
Pray for a new government, of a people who have integrity, humble and who love to serve the people, instead of fame and power. Truly , prayer is the strongest weapon that men could have to bring about change for the better.
written by Steven Ong, October 30, 2009 23:22:14
Datuk Seri Anwar should review all his men and remove those men that are a liability to PKR and PR. If a member had sin, its better to cut him off and survide without him rather than flopped together with him.
written by Kopi37, October 30, 2009 23:58:29
It alludes to me that most of the PKR candidates, especially those leaping frogs from umno were mostly cheaper than grass cutter and barber, in terms of characters!

That's the reason why Mdm Marina didn't even trust them to cut the grass for her!

It's amazing for us to see PKR had been able to accommodate with this type of riff-raff quality personality yet expecting them to do wonders for the supporting voters?! What a joke!

Why should that mother-fuc-ker Badrude the black squat so long under the eave of PKR? No need to guess, a monkey was trying his cloak and dagger trick!
written by 2012, October 31, 2009 02:42:30
Dear Zaid Ibrahim

If you are reading this, please do something and lead Pakatan Rakyat
It seems now that PR leadership is drifting rudderless into a vortex
With all those dirty tricks and scheming by those thieves, liars and murderers
Please step in before it's too late and end this corrupted regime for every Malaysians..

Anak Bangsa Malaysia
written by magickriver, October 31, 2009 03:57:33
It's preferable to err on the side of kindness than cruelty. Khalid Ibrahim comes across as an extraordinarily tolerant and compassionate man. In the case of Anwar, he has known many of his PKR candidates from Umno days and he appears very reluctant to whack them on mere suspicion of disloyalty or treachery - for that would make him just like his erstwhile mentor tormentor, Dr M. Perhaps it's a form of paralysis, but sacking someone like Zulkifli Noordin for his strident Talibanish stance could backfire in several ways. For a start, Anwar and the PKR leadership might be perceived as authoritarian. The conservative element amongst rural Malays could be alienated and Pakatan Rakyat needs every vote it can get. It's so much easier to see what ought to be done when one is not caught up in the thick of survival politics. The most positive light in which one can view this Badrul Hisham fiasco is that he was forced into showing his true colors (could he have been an Umno mole all along? Perhaps even a professional police informer?)
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 31, 2009 06:45:53
I am a Malay BUT a VERY different Malay and I say this again and again.

NEVER TRUST A MUSLIM MALAY - THEY ARE VERY UNGRATEFUL PEOPLE
THEY ARE RULED BY THE DEVIL OF MONEY ONLY

ASK MAMAK MAHATHIR - HE WAS PLAYED OUT BY THE MUSLIM MALAYS

PLEASE , PLEASE PROOF ME WRONG

AGAIN I SAY THE MUSLIM MALAYS ARE VERY UNGRATEFUL NEVER NEVER TRUST THEM
WHO PLAYED ANNUAR OUT - THE MUSLIM MALAYS NOT THE CHINESE OR INDIANS
SO AM I WRONG !
written by anfad, October 31, 2009 10:19:50
One of UMNO's priorities after the last GE has been to sabotage the PR government at any cost. It was easy targetting PKR because they had more vacancies to fill than they had qualified candidates. Moeover their former addiction with UMNO is bringing back the bad habits. Not much can be done now except to hang on till you drop!
written by guests, October 31, 2009 11:05:40
Talking about credible candidates I believe not only PKR is facing this problem but BN as well. To date I have yet to see a quality arquememt coming from our leaders except for a few.

I do share RPK wife's comment whereby she wouldn't trust Badrul to cut the grass.

How did we get into this situation in the first place. I do believe it is cause by the education system that is going down the drain day by day. With the recent change, it will only makes us less competitive globally.
written by Rozlan, October 31, 2009 11:28:27
I hope PKR should buck up.Yes RPK .There are lots of Badrul,Jalamaluddin and Osman in PKR.PKR is the weakest link in PR. Anyway can anybody tell me about Badrul background please?
written by Rusty Hammer, October 31, 2009 12:23:34
I would vote for PAS or DAP anytime. PKR? I'll have to reconsider my decision on that.
It's a known fact that all the UMNO rejects joined PKR during the reformasi days. The UMNO blood still running deep in their veins. It's a very dicey predicament to the voters when a PKR candidate selected in certain area to contest.
It's a known secret that voter fear these PKR candidates will act and behave the same way UMNO wakil rakyat does when they ever get into power.

Sigh! ... i rest my case Pete. DSAI seems to be a weak leader after all ...
Sigh!
written by rakyatengah, October 31, 2009 14:21:30
It seem that at current rate, PR coalition strength weakened by internal and external issues. As far as I am concern,is that Malaysia future will not be change in near time. PAS once involved in those Kerajaan Perpaduan Talk. But not once of any individual from PAS MP jump-shift to support Corrupted BN. Instead those from PKR jump-out of our league.
From my point of view, most PKR are those originally come out from BN or those who are not have strong heart to face the political storm.
Soon we will see more and more PKR jump out from the support. Jump in and out between UMNO and PKR will be a common thing happen in next future. It is not only about selecting people, which model of leadership should be follow and implemented.
written by yipck, November 01, 2009 03:29:55
Its good that those succumb politicians show their true face. Only then we can identify who are truely serving the citizen and who are not. And we will kick all those scumbag in BN and PR out forever.
written by goman2k3, November 02, 2009 04:29:10
PR will not exist without PKR ,it is a growing up pains and when it is mature enough it will withstand all the TROUBLES. Give it time and great leaders will emerge.
written by temenggong, November 02, 2009 08:10:50
PeacefulMalaysia, you are quite right, and it seems most folks agree with your contention.

Like sex and drugs, Malays and power is a lethal combination. Ever since power was given to them, they have gone berserk, behaving like drunkards, and the character of the community has dramatically changed in one generation. NO ONE today will say malays are a humble and peaceful people. That would have been true in the distant and hazy past but power has changed all that. In one generation they wrecked themselves! They did what no other community could do - change the character of their community from benevolent to malevolent. Malays do not know how to handle power and remain gracious. We saw it once again in the recent budget allocations which patronises the security apparatus. Power has unleashed demons within, and an unrestrained lust for greed. Religion is an eyewash - cuci mata. Today they will kill or abduct to remain in power. Such is the extent they have descended to. Don't believe me, just watch the next few days!

I am quite certain rpk will make more disclosures this week that reveal the drunkenness of those in power.
written by jalapeno, November 03, 2009 17:35:06
Get rid of Anwar... I don't think he has done enough for the party. Get someone else to run PKR. All these problems emerge from time to time and I have not heard a word from him. What is he doing by the way? Busy defending his sodomy case? Come on, let's be serious about this. We need PR to form a shadow cabinet to take over as federal government...how could we afford wasting time on such issues?