Home arrow The Blogs arrow The Corridors of Power arrow Whither and hither Anwar?

Whither and hither Anwar? PDF Print
Wednesday, 28 October 2009 17:24

Anwar Ibrahim and many of the opposition leaders have this false feeling of grandeur about themselves. But they are not grand, and certainly far from great. They did not make 8 March 2008 happen. The people made it happen. And what the people make the people can break.

Great people do great things. Great people also do the opposite after they have done great things. So, if you have a tendency to do great things, and then do a U-turn later and dismantle all the great things you have done, do not feel too bad for you will be walking amongst the great.

Alexander the Great was one such great person. He set out to conquer the world. And then his ego conquered him. By the time he reached the border of India he had killed off all his close friends and most trusted generals. When they set out to conquer the world ten years before that it was as comrades. Then, friend became foe and the benevolent became malevolent. And, by his own hand, Alexander the Great killed the very people who loved him and who he once used to love as well.

Alexander the Great was of course not the only great man to walk the face of this earth. There were many great men through the ages. Some died unknown as not all great men are listed in the history books. There are probably more unknown soldiers and unsung heroes than those who are remembered. But I have used Alexander the Great as my analogy merely because he carries the title ‘great’ in his name.

Malaysia too has no shortage of great men. And I use the term ‘men’ not to mean gender but as they would say ‘mankind’ when it can also mean women. So we can assume I am also talking about women when I say ‘great men’. And some of the great men and women of Malaysia through the ages, some known and many unknown, have lived and died and only a few are left remaining.

I would place Anwar Ibrahim as amongst those great men. Now, Anwar Ibrahim is not the only great man, mind you. There are of course many. But today I want to talk about Anwar Ibrahim, not because he is the only great man Malaysia has given birth to, but because he best reminds me of the greatest of great men, Alexander the Great.

One must read the history of Alexander the Great to understand what I am driving at. No, Alexander the Great was not the perfect man. In fact, the reverse can be said about him. He had more faults than virtues. But his greatness has been measured by his ambition and how he set out to fulfil his ambition to conquer the world and become the one ruler of all mankind. In short, he set an impossible target for himself and almost achieved it. And he almost achieved it because just short of the finishing line he went into self-destruct mode.

And that is why I want to talk about Anwar Ibrahim, not because he is the reincarnation of Alexander the Great, but because he appears to have also gone into self-destruct mode after coming so close to the finishing line.

Anwar Ibrahim’s ambition is not as unachievable or that colossal a job as Alexander the Great’s. Alexander the Great wanted to become Lord of the World. Anwar Ibrahim just wants to become Lord of Malaysia, the next Prime Minister. And the 8 March 2008 general election is almost like Alexander the Great reaching the border of India. And just like how Alexander the Great went into self-destruct mode and went home a beaten man just short of his goal after killing off all his close friends and most trusted generals, Anwar Ibrahim appears to be doing the same.

So, in that sense, I am measuring Anwar Ibrahim against Alexander the Great not by the greatness in his ‘climb to the top’ but in how he appears to be plummeting back to the bottom after ALMOST achieving what he set out to do, just like Alexander the Great.

Let’s call a spade a spade. I do not wish to hold my punches. Anwar Ibrahim has only one thing in mind and that is to become the Prime Minister of Malaysia. Now, before you fly off the handle, I am not saying that this is such a bad thing. I have no problems with Anwar Ibrahim aspiring to become the next Prime Minister. Someone has to become the Prime Minister. So if it is not Anwar Ibrahim it will have to be someone else. So why not Anwar Ibrahim?

Okay, the Anwar Ibrahim critics are going to now scream that he is a chameleon and that he is a scheming politician and that he can’t be trusted and that he plays to the gallery and so on and so forth. Agreed! But so what? This is how politicians are. This is what they do. All politicians will be exactly like how you would classify Anwar Ibrahim. This is what politics is all about.

I suppose, if you want to break out of the mould and find someone who does not have all these ‘negative’ attributes, we would have to back Tok Guru Nik Aziz Nik Mat as the next Prime Minister. And I am sure more of you will reject Nik Aziz Nik Mat compared to Anwar Ibrahim because you feel he is not up to par.

So, as I said, if not Anwar Ibrahim then who if you can’t accept Tok Guru Nik Aziz or Lim Kit Siang or Abdul Hadi Awang as the next Prime Minister?

Unfortunately, in politics, greatness is not measured by piety or virtue. It is measured by ambition and how you go about meeting the goals of your ambition. And that is why Alexander the Great is called Alexander the Great in spite of his less than moral character. And if Anwar Ibrahim wants to be seen as great it would be in how he aspires to become the Prime Minister and how he goes about to become the Prime Minister from the underdog position that he has been placed in on 2 September 1998.

But Anwar Ibrahim is doing exactly what Alexander the Great did. Alexander the Great went into self-destruct mode on reaching the finishing line without crossing the finishing line. I see Anwar Ibrahim now also going into self-destruct mode on reaching the finishing line without crossing the finishing line.

But there is some slight difference here. In Alexander the Great’s case it was his army. He owned the army. And Alexander the Great demolished his own army when he went into self-destruct mode. In Anwar Ibrahim’s case, though, this is not his army. This is our army, which we lent him. So he is demolishing our army, not his own army. Therefore, while Alexander the Great could get away with what he did, Anwar Ibrahim has to be told we will not allow him to get away with it.

2,400 years ago it was different. Times were different then and the situation was also different. Today is not 2,400 years ago. Today is today. And today the leader does not own us like how Alexander the Great owned the people around him -- so he could choose to kill them off whenever he felt like it, even his close friends and trusted generals who loved him.

The 8 March 2008 general election was not Anwar Ibrahim’s victory. It was not even a Pakatan Rakyat victory. It was a peoples’ victory. It was almost like the storming of the Bastille in France 220 years ago. The only thing is, on 8 March 2008, the people did not ‘storm the Bastille’ with bullets. They did so with ballots. That is the difference and because of that, and although 50% of the people voted for change, we did not quite achieve change because 50% of the votes did not give the people 50% of the seats in Parliament.

If you were to analyse the election results you will discover that all it needed was an additional 300,000 votes for Barisan Nasional to lose its majority in Parliament. Barisan Nasional won 140 seats while the opposition won only 82 seats, both on 50% of the votes each. But if you look at Barisan Nasional’s bottom 30 seats you will see that the combined majority is only 300,000 votes.

This means if the opposition had won an additional 300,000 votes then it would have won 112 seats in Parliament against Barisan Nasional’s 110. 300,000 more votes would have given the opposition a two-seat majority in Parliament. This was how close it was. And you could also say that the 300,00 votes comes to about the number of postal votes. Therefore, Barisan Nasional won 140 seats against the opposition’s 82 because of the postal votes.

Now you know why the Elections Commission will not abolish the postal voting system. Barisan Nasional depends on postal votes to stay in power -- such as how Prime Minister Najib Tun Razak’s 1,800 loss transformed into a 200 vote win due to the 2,000 postal votes in 1999 and the recent by-election where the postal votes gave Barisan Nasional its ‘resounding victory’.

But that is another matter and something we have discussed so many times in the past. The bottom line is: it was the people and not Anwar Ibrahim who led the opposition to victory, if we can even call it that, on 8 March 2008. So we are not talking about an Alexander the Great of 2,400 years ago situation here. We are talking about France of 220 years ago, the time when the people rose up and swept away the powers-that-be, the French Monarchy.

However, just like in France 220 years ago, the people rose up -- a people-driven movement for change of sorts -- but after that the politicians took over and hijacked the revolution. Thereafter the politicians engaged in power play and political intrigue with plots and schemes and counter-plots and counter-schemes in their bid to outdo each other and grab power for themselves. And for a while there was utter chaos and all hell broke loose. The people effected change. Then the politicians took over and turned on the very people who made it all possible.

And this is how I see the Pakatan Rakyat politicians, Anwar Ibrahim included but not confined only to him. The politicians think 8 March 2008 was their success. They think 8 March 2008 is about them and that it was their achievement.

And this is where they are wrong.

The people are on the verge of rising up, yet again. But this time it is not to storm the Bastille. It is to kick out the politicians who hijacked the revolution, like what happened in France 220 years ago. And, just like in France 220 years ago, the same politicians who sent the French Royal Family to the guillotine will in turn be sent to the guillotine by the people who are fed up with the antics of the politicians.

So Anwar Ibrahim and all those Pakatan Rakyat politicians who hijacked the 8 March 2008 ‘revolution’ better beware. The people chopped off the heads of the politicians back in France 220 years ago when the politicians hijacked the revolution that saw the end of the French Monarchy. And the people did this not just because these politicians hijacked the revolution but also because they changed direction and forgot the cause and turned on each other. And the people did not want to go through all the trouble of storming the Bastille just to remove one tyrant for another.

This appears to be happening in Pakatan Rakyat today like it happened in France 220 years ago. And PKR appears to be the weakest link in the three-party opposition coalition. No, the people have no problems with Anwar Ibrahim wanting to become the Prime Minister. As I said, someone has to become the Prime Minister. But it has to be on the peoples’ terms. Anwar Ibrahim is not Alexander the Great. Even Alexander the Great went home a defeated man and died soon after, resulting in a short-lived empire when the empire broke up and the successors turned on each other.

Anwar Ibrahim and many of the opposition leaders have this false feeling of grandeur about themselves. But they are not grand, and certainly far from great. They did not make 8 March 2008 happen. The people made it happen. And what the people make the people can break. And the people are of the opinion that the opposition leaders, Anwar Ibrahim included, have lost their direction.

In France, 220 years ago, the people sent the politicians to the guillotine when they lost their way. Unfortunately, we can’t do the same thing today. I wish we could though. But the people will certainly use the ballot where they can’t use the bullet. And with the current goings-on in the opposition, in particular in PKR, the people will do exactly what they did in France 220 years ago. They are going to axe the heads of the politicians who hijacked the revolution and forgot that it was the people and not the politicians who stormed the Bastille.

Comments (58)Add Comment
written by malsia1206, October 28, 2009 17:55:32
Anwar seems to have misplaced his charisma and leadership. If he still has any, he's not showing his forte up front. Leadership is a rare quality. But rakyat's perception of leadership is just as important. Lack of either can break a potential leader. Lack of both would inevitably bring the downfall. If Anwar has his pack of cards, he better get to deal with them like a true magician quickly and unpretentiously.
agree 141
written by sydput, October 28, 2009 18:02:05
About time.
I voted opps because RPK campaigned for change. Not because of anwar, nik or Lim.
Anqar cannot be PM because they dare not challenge the talibans.
Only RPK can do this.
Time to upgrade from political activist to full time politician. Only then can we hear your righteous and sincere voice in parliament.
Only then, will the people be heard in parliament.
disagree 18
written by Steven Tan, October 28, 2009 18:18:31
Well said YM RPK,

I hope not only DSAI but all the PR Leaders will wake up and start to do the part correctly. Lot of ground works and cleaning need to be done in the party itself. Be a good and true leader(s). If it's require to sacrify certain unwanted Trojan Horses, please do it and do it fast. And very important, don't forget that we the rakyat are the boss, without us, all of you are gone. Every single mistake that you are doing is equilant to a plus point for BN

Thank you smilies/smiley.gif
written by arazak, October 28, 2009 18:23:31
There are also those people in the PR who are doing self-destructive activities within the coalition. If you are putting it in historical perspective, than Hassan Ali is like "Brutus", killing Caesar and destroying Rom at the same time (killing Anwar and destroying Pakatan at the same time).

We can see this happening in the Bagan Pinang by-election. The Pakatan losses the non-Malay support because of those self-destructive activities inflicted by this "Brutus" in Selangor.

This Brutus needs to be hanged!
written by educationist, October 28, 2009 18:29:41
Yes, that's a good talking down to Anwar and the other bloated PR leaders!
But, I wonder if those fellas are keeping tabs on the feelings of the rakyat!
PR has not shown any movement towards the change hoped for but neither has the UMNOputras learnt their lesson.
So, it not only whither Anwar but it is also whither the rakyat?
written by bobdylan, October 28, 2009 18:46:46
Dearest Pete,

I beg to differ on certain things about Alex of Macedon. He was truly great, he did not self destruct, if not for illness or poisoning(Historians really cant say)he would have conquered Arabia. His idea of fighting using the Phalanx formation was ahead for his time. He didnt kill all his generals just the once he suspected, if memory serves me right General Parmenion was with him till the end, his most trusted of his fathers Generals. Anyway Alex of Macedon is known as Alexander the Acursed in Persia. So it all depends on where you are and whose the writer.

written by boeytahan, October 28, 2009 18:46:59
A very awakening article which I fully support. Yes Anwar seems to be in rojak in his own lineup and can't seem to hold together the PR spirits after BN took Bagan Pinang. Look at the uneasiness at PKR in East and even in West Malaysia. It's just like the bands are coming off from the hold.

You won all by-elections in Peninsular but can't withstand losing one? That's a sore loser for PR. Pull-up your socks man, it's not going to be the end. What's happenning to PAS DAP & PKR?

Raja Petra and most of us ofcourse wants a new government and a new constitution in the coming GE13 to pull Malaysians out of the meteoric doom hole created for 52 long bad years. Got it? Change we must hope or otherwise we change you Anwar!
written by johanssm, October 28, 2009 19:06:36
A good sultan would have turn the state into a republic and encourages all other sultans to follow suit and returns all assets to the rakyat.
Show me a good sultan or forever remains as a satan.
written by Oscar Winner, October 28, 2009 19:07:53
I have enough of BN's bull for decades. I'm glad I gave my vote to PR in 12th GE though my vote didn't help PR win this MP seat, but it certainly has helped reduce BN's majority. Yes, many are in the dark as to what Anwar is up to lately, I certainly hope he's quietly planning a strategy to topple BN in the next GE. Whatever it is, I will not give my vote to BN as I hope to help put an end to corruption, more similar Kugan and TBH deaths, shouts of "pendatang", UMNO's arrogance and bullying, discrimination, plundering..etc. Simply put, I want a change in govt, I want to see an end of BN's rule and it's demise. I pray that my wish will come true come next GE

written by cocomomo, October 28, 2009 19:33:28
Good timely words.
Pakatan leaders, PLEASE listen and let us move FORWARD TOGETHER.
written by Jilo, October 28, 2009 19:48:27
Betrayal is the code name in Anwar failure.All is partners are too materialistic.The oppositions will emerge as winners if Anwar has the characteristic of Nik Aziz.But hopefully Anwar will transform himself just for the sake of Malaysia.
written by cruzeiro, October 28, 2009 20:07:06

Zorro has declared that the above logo of Ketuanan Rakyat will be removed from his sidebar - until ".....I GET THE MEANING OF WHAT ANWAR MEANT WHEN HE SAID:
“No way in hell will I have Jeffrey as chief”". What was Anwar thinking? That he & his desire for power takes precedence over the will of Sabahans? Does he not know that it is not for him to dictate terms to Sabahans, and that it is his duty to work with those whom Sabahans wish to lead them?
Maybe Anwar misses the power he wielded as the Umno DPM in the "good ol' days" before the black eye ....... and Haris had this to say, "My source in Sabah tells me that Thamrin is an Anwar loyalist and his appointment will not go down well with the division chiefs and the PKR grassroots in Sabah".
So it is now manufactured leadership - as in the Umno/BN cronyism/nepotism ......

Now Playing in Sabah:- The Ketuanan Gambit.
http://cruzinthots.********.co...ambit.html
written by HeeHaw, October 28, 2009 20:17:49
Dear RPK. I have been thinking of something along these lines for some time now.

Being a parlimentary democracy, we get the governence we elect. Pure and simple, this is the fundamental basis of our country.

Why are "bad" politicians elected? Because they get the votes. Real votes, "phantom" votes, "biased" postal votes, "money-politics" votes.....whatever it may be, they get votes that get counted, they win.

So where do we get to access information on the facts that matter to us most about a specific politician, to help us decide if we should vote for him? Does MrA support the ISA or is he against it? Does he support judicial reforms? Is he for or against ? What are his academic qualifications? What are his financial assets? Does he have a criminal history?

We currently have
1. the Mainstream Media (newspapers,TV, radio), and
2. the Alternative Media (internet sites and blogs, and various party publications)

The Mainstream Media is viewed by many as nothing more than government-controlled propaganda machines, while the Alternative Media is largely vilified by the Government as an unweildy lie-churning machine dominated by Opposition sympathizers. Malaysians thus access whatever they want to believe in, and most Malaysians would claim some degree of mastery of the "science" of sifting through some/many/all of these and arriving at the "right" conclusions.

Meanwhile, the country happily keeps going down the drain.

Since Merdeka, we have been voting mainly based on political-party lines. UMNO, MCA, MIC, DAP, PAS, Keadilan etc, and their groupings (BN, PR). But recent events have shown us that very often we end up putting our faith in the hands of those who would have no qualms in selling out for the right bid. And so we despair.

But we despair for our own fault. With poor quality politicians, there will definitely be poor quality politics. With group-based politicians, we will end up with politicians who will not make any individual stand, and so we get a herd that runs about meaninglessly.

I say it is time we begin to make politicians REALLY accountable to the people. Let us make their election right up close and personal, and let us only elect people we are confident can truly do the job we're voting them to do.

I therefore propose to set up a website that provides UNBIASED and FACTUAL information about each and every politician, a site that anyone can visit and get the information that really counts in deciding if that politician is worthy of support or not.

The site would have each politician's Biodata and career profile as well as provide him/her with a Questionnaire to respond to (to be fair to all parties, every politician will be given a Basic Questionnaire of the same questions,to answer in their own words). Video interviews would also be put up.

Readers would be allowed to post supplementary questions, and comment on each politician, to which the politician may choose to reply or not. Being mindful of the politician's rights to fairplay, readers posting questions and comments would need to be logged in and verified with their real names.

All questions and comments would have to be relevant and non-abusive and I would also only allow questions and comments from bona fide registered voters. This is, after all, a site strictly about the business of helping voters decide whom to vote for.

The main thing would be to keep the site factual, while providing a wide scope of information that would give a realistic picture of each politician.

Would politicians want to be profiled in such a site? For good politicians,most definitely yes, after all it would connect them. For the crooked ones, they'd squirm, but would they dare not at least respond to the Basic Questionnaire (otherwise it will say "MrX has refused to respond to this Questionnaire" with the appropriate voice clip of the politician's statement when the site admins call him for a response.....hey,did you think this was going to be a sissy site? I said fair, not sissy!)

I would not allow unverified accusations to be made against any politician, but verified videos, photos, newslinks would be an expected part of each politician's profile, as well as videos of his/her performance/behaviour. This would help voters judge his/her suitability the next time an election comes around.

In the interests of fairplay again, I would propose that the site be run and moderated by a bunch of fair-minded people, who again would have to be transparent in their moderations.

Which then brings me to the first thing, really. Which is a bunch of questions: What do you think of this idea? Is it feasible? Or is it all too idealistic and impractical?
written by Aria, October 28, 2009 20:27:36
Anwar being a senior politician and also once being deputy Prime minister of Malaysia may not really have changed that much as a politician. What I think that has changed the most are the PRK ministers. They have seen the power and wealth and have gone mad.
If Anwar does not pull the troops together PKR is finished and so will the dreams of millions of Malaysians. There is nothing that can save Malaysia other than PKR at the moment.
written by Taikohtai, October 28, 2009 20:51:12
I don't think DSAI has ever said that he wants to be next PM or words to that effect. I think DSAI also wants to fight the good fight, ie get BN out of the gomen. DSAI has proven that he is indeed capable but his enemies are many, powerful, evil and everywhere. I think Malaysia will be worse off without DSAI leading the alternative party to BN. Unfortunately, bloggers are no politicians and are often too diverse and idealistic and tend to play into BN's hands too easily.
I shall support DSAI all the way until he becomes the next PM. Give him the chance to prove that his worth. Let's not judge too early as none is perfect but he who learns along the way is worth supporting.
When the going gets tough, don't start blaming others but continue to work for the betterment of Malaysia. I don't think BN is capable of that. Do you??
written by Proarte, October 28, 2009 21:17:46
Anwar, despite his 'liberal' and 'intellectual' projected persona, is in actual fact a die-hard Islamist.

He has never reigned in the extremist Islamic elements in PKR or spoken up against domination or bullying by the Islamic authorities.

Anwar is a moral coward who is so afraid to be seen contradicting or criticising the intransigence or immorality of the Islamic authorities that it gives a lie to his 'modern' and 'intellectual' image he tries to project.

He talks about the 'Jeffersonian Focus' in the West and how a secular democracy is compatible with Islam but in Malaysia he is nothing but an Islamic demagogue who has caused so much division and damage in Malaysia.

The outright rejection by the Sabahan people of his wicked designs on them is testimony of this.

Anwar has abused race and religion for his political advancement. This may have worked in UMNO which made no bones about being a racist party. But when Anwar was kicked out of UMNO because of a power struggle with Mahathir which he lost, Anwar reinvented himself into a Muslim universalist, who was the lone voice in UMNO fighting against its excesses and immorality.

Anwar was a Mahathir poodle through and through and it was only when he got too big for his boots that Mahathir saw as a betrayal. Anwar's struggle was a petty power struggle, not a moral war between right and wrong.

Jeffrey Kitingan and his brother were victims of Anwar's atrocities against the Sabahan people. Yes, he will make the excuse that it was Mahathir's call but Anwar was given the task and he accepted it with alacrity and gusto. Anwar's plan was to 'Malaynise' and 'Islamise' Sabah so that it would be a permanent vote bank for UMNO. Sabah was too precious to be left in the hands of the Sabahan people. UMNO felt humialited that Sabah had the cheek to throw out Berjaya ,the UMNO proxy party in Sabah.

Anwar felt it was about time that UMNO was brought into Sabah to take control of things permanently. The methods used were illegal, racist and bigotted. The Malay insecurities were to be inculcated amongst the Muslims there and Muslim numbers would be boosted by illegal immigration. The illegals would then be regarded as 'Indigenous Muslim' or 'Malays' and given ICs. Anwar was the mastermind behind these criminal activities.

When PBS was brought down due to assemblymen who were bribed by Anwar to crossover, Mahathir was proud of him as he more than 'excelled' at the task he set Anwar. Finally, Mahathir could sleep in peace as he wanted revenge against Pairin 'who stabbed him in the back' and Anwar helped him in a big way to achieve this.

By allegedly saying 'No way should Jeffrey be the Sabah State Chief' and saying that a Muslim should be the State Chief because the 'majority in Sabah are Muslims', he is basically legitimising UMNO hegemony in Sabah.

With the Sabah debacle, Anwar clearly has betrayed the espoused Pakatan ideals where every citizen will be treated as equal regardless of race or creed and their rights will be held as 'sacrosanct'. As such, Anwar is simply not fit to lead Pakatan. He has burnt his bridges with Sabah and with that it sadly means that Pakatan will never succeed in the next general election.

Anwar's political career is characterised by betrayal - ABIM, UMNO and now Pakatan. He is just being true to form. This and his penchant to abuse Islam for political purposes is the cause of his failures. He has been nothing short of a disaster for Malays and Malaysians.

The next few years should be focused on electing credible leaders who have a secular mindset and who will show the Rakyat that they can be a united and formidable opposition.

Do not waste time thinking of forming the next government in 2013, it is NOT GOING TO HAPPEN.
disagree 47
written by siewchinteo, October 28, 2009 21:27:54
aiyah....another cheong hei article to make us go round and round the mulberry bush again ! smilies/wink.gif
i think arr....YM RPK will make a very good speech writer for a politician.
the people.
written by siewchinteo, October 28, 2009 21:29:20
oops...meant to cancel 'a politician' to replace 'the people'.
written by anfad, October 28, 2009 21:31:13
Anwar is far from perfect, but he is our best hope at this time. Its not fair to expect him to succeed so easily like as if he were leading the Dirty Dozen. Look at UMNO's enormous resources,unlimited funds plus the whole government machinery all used to sabotage, intimidate, persecute, blackmail and lately murder opposition members. He needs more time, and all the loyalty and support the PR members can give.
written by Rock, October 28, 2009 21:37:13
It was Anwar who mobilised people's political uprising in 2008. No doubt about it. He needs our supports more than ever now, no let up. He might have made a minor tactical 'blunder' but in this protracted war of freedom a setback like this could turn into strategic advantage later. Don't worry, PKR was just trying to overcome a series of teething problems. It's a part of growing pains, only the best men among them will march on to Putrajaya, I inclusive . smilies/wink.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Rock, October 28, 2009 21:41:02
oops sorry....almost forget..and RPK with those two mongolian lasses smilies/cool.gif
written by Wisdom above, October 28, 2009 22:09:25
PR will form the new Federal Government under the Two Party Political System.
But DSAI will not be the PM in this new setup! He will take up the role of an Adviser only,an important role. The NEW PM will be someone else from PR who is Multi-racial Anak Bangsa Malaysia in ATTITUDE and Thinking.It is part of a Prophecy. SABM.
written by fromamovingtrain, October 28, 2009 22:12:02
Oui! If Anwar cannot do it, let us find someone else who can. This march is already too close to putrajaya for us to go home dejected. He can go home if he wants to, or if he has to. I want to see us storm Parcel A of putrajaya!

Let's send umno to the guillotine. Viva la PR!
written by Daryl, October 28, 2009 22:49:17
Dear DSAI

This PKR not UMNO and it is time to come out and relay message to rakyat. You must not be like UMNO politicians where they are more interested in making fun on serious subjects and also put everything behind close doors. We need to see how PKR works and decide who we want to be our next PM. Personally I would choose you any day over any of the UMNO PM with excecption of Ku Li even though he is not man enough to leave UMNO. But , I am just but one person.
written by Daryl, October 28, 2009 23:23:50
Dear tsai68 and all that think like him

Believe me the power is in your hands to change the ruling government. You need to understand that you have the power to change the government every 4-5 years but your children future is directly based on that. If you think BN can change without them losing the power you are wrong because the depth of corruption is in every layer of the Federal government down to the lowly civil servant. The only way we can have better future is to take away the BN politicians notion that rakyat own them and not the other way around.

We are only half way there and we need to vote them out of the office and let them rebuild and root out of the corrupt politicians and make them vow to work for rakyat again like 52 years ago. There is no way or will that BN can change at the rate we need to save our country from descending to the level of Myanmar.

The power is in you hands to have a better country for Malaysia or always in cari makan mode and a way out of the country.
written by kksam, October 28, 2009 23:43:06
DSAI as PM? No, not him, btw, where is he now? Is he still in Malaysia? There's nothing much he did nowadays, so quiet. I would prefer Perak MB Nizar as the PM, the fighter for the people, not someone who's no where to be seen.
written by James Loh, October 29, 2009 00:01:52
What we truly need is to rally all Malaysian voters that abhor BN and Pakatan. We need to unite everybody under an NGO. As a powerful voting blog, we can better negotiate with both group. This is how the Christians, liberal, companies, etc in America influence their potician. We need to form a powerful lobbyist together so the politician will fear us!
written by fireduck, October 29, 2009 01:08:16
Daryl, I wanted to vote for your comment twice but it only allowed once. smilies/smiley.gif

My sentiments exactly. We have the power in our hands. And only when we change the status quo will we ever see real change. Expect UMNO(BN) to change their corrupt ways just like that .... you bet that will take another 52 years. That's way too long for me & my kids. And for my kids and their kids, I say, we continue to vote for Pakatan, with all its boogers, until we kick out UMNO(BN). Only then will they really know that the rakyat holds the key to their existence. And hopefully we get real service from them then. As it is now, they all talk down to us rakyat like we are fools or worse.

As for those who question Jeffrey & his jumping ways, perhaps someone in the know can enlighten us whether it was really for personal expediencies or was it based on a set principle. That is, did he jump because his party sold out, rather than he sold out. I only know his brother, Pairin & PBS, sold out the Sabahan. So anyone can enlighten us from that angle?
written by chipon, October 29, 2009 02:13:50

Whatever it is Anwar is still our best hope for a reform Malaysia.
He may not be perfect as nobody is perfect, but he is the best among that we have in the country. In fact he is the only world class leader that we have at the moment. He has very good ties/networking with the rich Arab countries, Americas and Europe as well, and this is very important in bringing foreign investment into our country.

So let us all support Anwar because that is the only thing that we could give for a better Malaysia.
written by NSTPravda, October 29, 2009 05:34:25
".... if not Anwar Ibrahim then who if you can’t accept Tok Guru Nik Aziz or Lim Kit Siang or Abdul Hadi Awang as the next Prime Minister?" 1Silly question first - are any these well versed in the art of using C4 in killing pregnant mongolians or pushing witnesses off 14th floors? If not, they are technically qualified to be PM. $o $emua nya-OK!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by lobster, October 29, 2009 08:35:01
I am not voting anyone from BN, period. Whether I like DSAI or not will not convince me otherwise.
written by Rozlan, October 29, 2009 09:00:18
PR might not be the best coalition that the public hope.Its have its shortcomings.However BN are much worst.

You see the Malaysian public have no patience.They want change overnight.They want PR to dismantle all BN mistakes immediately.If not they will throw tnatrums and support back BN.What are they trying to do anyway? PR need people support and one of the condition is patience.They had been patience with BN for 52 years,why dont they try to be patience with PR?

Furthermore Malaysian public never know the word sacrifice.We are not saying about sacrificing their souls.We just asked them to sacrifice their time thinking about the real situation in Malaysia and analyse them correctly.We have to sacrifice some of our comfortable life for better days aheads.

So no wonder UMNO had a field days pretending how caring they are and giving carrots everywhere.MInd you the people believes all craps coming aout from their mouth.I am not saying PR was perfect.Some did giving trouble here and there.The difference is people response immediately to it by turning them back on PR.For BN is Ok,rasuah takpa,people can accept it.Sebab biasa la BN,they are always like that what.So what can we say man.

People dont care that 28 billion lost due to corruption.To them 28 billion is nothing.So I believe PR had to work on peopla perceptions.After all politic is all about perception.BN are good at that game ,guys

What can we say man...

written by maisur, October 29, 2009 09:42:56
NIZAR JAMALUDIN FOR PM!
written by malgal, October 29, 2009 10:02:44
greater is the greatness when conferred by common people, much less self proclaimed.
written by justice seeker, October 29, 2009 10:33:43
Anwar Ibrahim and many of the opposition leaders have this false feeling of grandeur about themselves. But they are not grand, and certainly far from great. They did not make 8 March 2008 happen. The people made it happen. And what the people make the people can break. And the people are of the opinion that the opposition leaders, Anwar Ibrahim included, have lost their direction.

LETS GET OUR PRIORITIES AND FOCUS ON THE CORRECT PERSPECTIVE.
FIRST, WE KICK OUT THIS PRESENT RULING BUNCH OF VULTURES IN THE BEEND.
SECOND, DSAI, BEFORE YOUR BUNCH OF MISFITS BECOME THE NEW AMENO MORONS,
PLS CLEAN UP YOUR HOUSE FIRST. RPK IS RIGHT ON THIS BUT WHEN WE KICK OUT
BEEND, WE WILL BE WATCHING YOUR EVERY MOVE.
written by Proarte, October 29, 2009 11:03:01
chipon said:

"The Malays should continue to rule the soil, but at the same time take care good care of other races too."

Clearly you too have Anwar Ibrahim's supremacist mindset which is unIslamic. Which soil are you talking about?

With regard to Sabah, Malays have no God given right to rule there OK?

Also please disabuse yourself of the notion that Malays should 'take good care' of other races. Look, it is the Chinese who are taking good care of the Malays as according to Mahathir Chinese pay 90% of the taxes in this country. Who is taking care of whom? Other races know how to take care of themselves. All they require is equal rights and dignity . They resent the Malay piratical modus operandi.

Malays should stand on their own 2 feet and stop hiding behind the skirt of bogus Islam.
written by chipon, October 29, 2009 11:46:23

Anwar is not perfect, but he's definitely a better choice than the rest.
He was the best finance minister of Malaysia..what more could be important than that?!
written by malsia1206, October 29, 2009 11:47:40
chipon, I do not see the rationale why "the Malays should continue to rule the soil...". The person who is capable to rule should come from the traits of a true leader, irregardless of his ethnic, religious or racial background. Why only a Malay? Why not a Malaysian?
written by ibabonma, October 29, 2009 11:49:42
If we say no to Anwar in 2013, then who? Sultan of Perak?

written by dr.chan, October 29, 2009 13:59:03
WELL SAID BRO, THESE FELLOWS LIKE ZUL MADCOW,DR.HASSAN ALI AND ALL OTHERS WHO HIJACK THE PEOPLES FREEDOM SHOULD BE TERMINATED TO SENT A GOOD MESSAGE TO OTHERS THAT WE THE RAKYAT ARE NOT FOOLS AND WILL NOT TOLERATE THEIR WHIMS AND FANCIES.
written by lobster, October 29, 2009 15:27:37
Although I don't agree that the chinese should claim full credits on paying taxes, I can't help thinking I have probably been borned in the wrong country. Anyway, good luck when all your precious oil/petroleum gone dry.
written by alarcarte, October 29, 2009 15:54:50
Hello Rozlan, I like what you said
"They had been patience with BN for 52 years,why dont they try to be patience with PR?"

I would say be patience with them for another couple of years, The P.R. Gomen are doing quite well in Penang and also Selangor, despite the fact that UMNO is trying their best to choke and sabotage them.

Get rid of a few stupid donkeys from P.R. and I still think P.R. has a chance to march to Putra Jaya. We will wait and see if Anwar and PAS has the balls to kick the stupid donkeys out.
written by journeyman, October 29, 2009 22:01:21
"Alexander the Great was a bisexual. front or back it didn't matter."

of course. and wouldn't you just love a poke from him.
written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2009 22:07:26
Alexander is different. He turned against his own people after conquering a handful of great civilisations.

Anwar haven't even beaten a bunch of uncivilised thieves and his people are already turning against him!

Alexander suffered from forces that come with greatness, Anwar suffered from drawing from the fountain of mediocrity.

written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2009 22:10:08
Fountain of mediocrity at best. At worst, cesspool of thieving opportunists.