Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow No, Tuanku, you are wrong

No, Tuanku, you are wrong PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 October 2009 19:09

During the time of Prophet Muhammad, mosques were multifunctional ‘community centres’. Mosques were where people congregated and met to discuss current issues, exchange the latest news, and thrashed out what needed to be thrashed out

Sultan: Mosques not for politics

SHAH ALAM: Sultan Sharafuddin Idris Shah of Selangor has reminded mosque officials not to allow the use of the houses of worship for politics.

He said in discharging their duties, mosque officials should comply with directives issued by the Selangor Islamic Religious Council (Mais), which is the trustee of all mosques in the state.

"Mosques cannot be used as an arena for politics to hurt and cause a rift among Muslims, or as hotels, guest houses or places of accommodation," he said in a press statement issued by his private secretary, Datuk Mohamad Munir Bani here.

He said mosques were places for Muslims to perform their prayers and to carry out religious activities.

The sultan also said speakers who gave talks at mosques or conducted religious classes should have credential letters issued by the authority.

He said action could be taken against those who violated regulations or ignored or questioned the orders of the sultan as the head of Islam in the state.

The sultan also advised Muslims to unite. – Bernama, 17 October 2009

No, Tuanku, mosques are not just houses of prayer. In fact, you don’t need mosques if you wish to pray. You can pray anywhere. God, after all, is closer to you than your jugular, the Muslims believe. So God does not live in a house. God is in no need of a house.

During the time of Prophet Muhammad, mosques were multifunctional ‘community centres’. Mosques were where people congregated and met to discuss current issues, exchange the latest news, and thrashed out what needed to be thrashed out.

I suppose Blogs and the Internet have now taken over the role that mosques used to play 1,500 years ago. Today, people ‘meet’ in cyberspace to exchange ideas, disseminate news, and debate issues. In those days the mosques were what the cyberworld is today.

Whenever there were disagreements and conflicts, people met in mosques to argue their cases. Whenever someone felt an injustice has been done, they met in mosques to seek justice.

Oh, and mosques were certainly places for politics, back in the days of Prophet Muhammad. Wars were planned in mosques. Strategies were laid out in mosques. Armies assembled in mosques before they went to war.

That was the role a mosque played when the idea of mosques was first mooted. It was not just a place to pray to God. Probably only 1% of the time spent in a mosque was for prayer. The other 99% of the time was to sort out whatever problems the community then was facing.

And on that part you said that only ‘registered’ or ‘licenced’ preachers can talk about religion, Tuanku, that too is wrong. It was reported that one day Abu Bakar (or was it Omar?) was patrolling the streets and he saw this young man preaching. He summoned the young man over and asked him to recite the verse, Fatihah. The young man did flawlessly and Abu Bakar (or Omar) told the young man to continue preaching but to confine himself to what he knows and not more than that.

So you see, Tuanku, everyone is a preacher. In fact, it is the duty of every Muslim to teach Muslims and non-Muslims alike about Islam. No one is ‘licenced’ or has the monopoly on Islam. And it is your duty, an obligation, to teach Islam to those who wish to know more about Islam. And it is utter bullshit that the religious department decides on who can and cannot teach Islam or that they control the mosques and decide what can and cannot be done in mosques.

Comments (59)Add Comment
written by Richfyf, October 27, 2009 19:25:54
I am not surprise. They so call authorities even decide who have the right to Import 'Halal" turkey for Christmas. Just in case those celebrating Christmas do not know where to get their Halal turkey every year.

Of cause all these certification and registration incur cost. So be prepared to pay the cost ....
agree 335
written by Rozlan, October 27, 2009 19:42:01
So you see, Tuanku, everyone is a preacher. In fact, it is the duty of every Muslim to teach Muslims and non-Muslims alike about Islam. No one is ‘licenced’ or has the monopoly on Islam. And it is your duty, an obligation, to teach Islam to those who wish to know more about Islam. And it is utter bullshit that the religious department decides on who can and cannot teach Islam or that they control the mosques and decide what can and cannot be done in mosques.

Yes RPK,everyone of us muslims is preacher.We should dessiminate Islam accrding to our capabilities.However this concept is not palatable to UMNO and the Royals.You see they are the culprits who curtailed Islam development in the country..
agree 285
written by aplus, October 27, 2009 19:48:29
The Tuanku wants the Muslims to go to pubs instead to discuss politics.
agree 275
written by Zym Zym, October 27, 2009 19:50:42
Am I right to say that mosques are used by UMNO people to "TAKE BEER! TAKE BEER! TAKE BEER!"???
agree 185
written by mykantree, October 27, 2009 19:52:26
Dear Richfyf, I'm confused! You mean to say Christians celebrate Christmas with "Halal" turkey? Or are you saying that there are muslims who celebrate Xmas with halal turkey?

No offense. Joke only lah.

I do, however, agree fully with you on your 2nd point; on the certification and registration thing. More money to be made.

written by Watchdog, October 27, 2009 19:59:14
Our grand mosques are just sterile monuments. Period. The bigger the monument, more sterile.
written by malgal, October 27, 2009 20:00:47
The Lord does not look at the material, He looks in the hearts of man.
agree 167
written by cheemengwong, October 27, 2009 20:02:59
RPK is absolutey right that GOD do not need a house. In the days of David, he built a house for GOD and GOD was not happy because GOD did not asked David to built one.

Later GOD ask Solomon to built a temple....obedience lah..show obedience.

Today Calvary Church tries to build the CCC in Bukit Jalil amounting to hundreds of millions. I understand that the main con stop work for months now. Go and read this in :-

http://calvarytoday.********.com/

In Klang, Harvest Christian Assembly also tries to build a church for GOD and one Latuk Toni Te Kiah donated some money... need or not?

Even RPK also say no need mah?
written by cheemengwong, October 27, 2009 20:04:14
http://calvarytoday.********.com/
written by Sembahyanglahkamu, October 27, 2009 20:08:22

MOSQUES IS WHERE ALL THE COW-HEADS ARE!!!!!!!!

disagree 27
written by storm62, October 27, 2009 20:17:04
"The sultan also advised Muslims to unite." – Bernama, 17 October 2009

Tuanku,

1) Muslims can only unite WITHOUT racist umno.
2) why don't you advised Malaysians to unite instead of Muslims only?
3) if you really want Muslims to unite, please say this in the Middle East.
4) Next time go to a smaller Mosque, then you can hear who is preaching politiks in the mosque....umno or PR.
agree 139
written by arazak, October 27, 2009 20:55:32
Dear Tuanku,

“Patek mohon derhaka”. . .!

Sometimes I do travel from one end of the country to the other end of the country to “ziarah” distant family members for “siratul rahim”. At times I do not have money to stay in the hotel or resort. Or sometimes, that distant family member has many children that I am unable to sleep in their humble dwellings. Unlike your ex-Menteri Besar, Mr. Toyol Botox who can afford to stay in a RM110,000/night (Tunku, let me put that in words: Ringgit Malaaysia One hundred and ten thousand) per night hotel suit in Hawaii, I on the other hand, can’t afford to pay even a RM20/night crummy little room of some small town.

So Tuanku, if you do not allow me to take a rest in the Masjid, tell where I should go than? Will you allow me to stay in the compound of your Istana instead? At least, if it is at your horses’ stable, that should be good enough for me. You see Tuanku, if the Masjid if off-limits for the tired traveler, and if you really care for the rakyaat, allowing me to spend a night in your horses’ stable while I am traveling in Selangor should not be problem for you, no?

I know that, Khir Toyol will also not allow me to sleep in his Bali Garden. He wishes to keep everything he robbed from the rakyaat for himself. If I can’t spend the night while traveling in Khir Toyol’s Bali Garden, or at any Masjid in Selangor, or at your Horse’s stable, than where should I go?

Oh another thing Tuanku, I wish to tell you that during the Friday prayers, when the Khatib rants some doa’ and glorifying royalty, both my palms would spontaneously face to the earth. And when the Khatib recite the doa’ for the Ummah (rakyaat), both my palms will spontaneously face to the heaven again. I do not know why this is happening to me . . ., maybe you could give me the answer.

And yes Tuanku, about that doa’ thing, I am not alone. . .!
agree 405
written by burmen, October 27, 2009 21:13:31

'Halal" turkey for Christmas" "all these certification and registration incur cost. So be prepared to pay the cost ...."

How else do the proptectors of idlam cari makan? The under table cost to get the cert. & register and then the under the counter cost to get it rhrough the customs. Have a Nery Merry Christmas.

written by BennyG, October 27, 2009 21:14:56
Nowadays you just can't trust anyone in gov't or even near the gov't especially the ones who are hand fed by the gov't.

Sad. smilies/cry.gif
written by storm62, October 27, 2009 21:30:09
Nice one arazak, you're NOT alone bro!!!
written by pokokmangga, October 27, 2009 21:35:35
YAM RPK,

It is very fortunate that we have our RPK to rebut HH. If it was anybody else, especially a non-muslim, he will definitely be castigated. I hope HH will not be pissed off with RPK for contradicting HH.
written by hellosunshine, October 27, 2009 21:36:04
Wah lau eh! Kena kow kow from RPK. smilies/wink.gif
written by RumahPanjai, October 27, 2009 21:55:06
If the head of Islam in Selangor doesn't know what are mosques for, then allah forbid, where are the muslims in Selangor heading to after leaving earth for good. Paradise or hell?
written by onnetline, October 27, 2009 21:59:58
The sultan also advised Muslims to unite.

Good and corrupted Muslims have different moral values and ethics ..... how to unite ? ?
Also, why just the Muslims and not all citizens ? ?
Please enlighten the rakyat with your smart answers if at all you have any ! !
written by Sudahlah tu, October 27, 2009 22:04:40
tukang kaki kereta dan bermain kapal bercakap tentang keagamaan dan kesucian Islam ..
sendiri pun masih berbuai dalam mimpi-mimpi buatan umno dan golongan elit ... masih ingat Allah tidak marah akan perbuatan haram dia tu ..
biasalah .. dia juga membaca skrip-skrip tajaan umno ..
kalau kezaliman umno masih bernyawa di bumi Malaysia , satu sebabnya ..kaki kuda, kaki kereta , kaki bola , kaki hoki , kaki golf , kaki perempuan dan banyak lagi kaki curi bersetuju untuk bekerjasama untuk menipu rakyat ..
ini ..apa nama .... Malaysia Boleh !!!
written by onnetline, October 27, 2009 22:04:51
Strange ....... a leader for all but sounding like a racist !
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 27, 2009 22:17:07
mykantree SPOT_ON...this is definately the case as during christmas the muslim Minister would show their so call 1Malaysia concept and visit their Christian Collagues and what they say..atleast they cooked an Halal Turkey....
In doing so Muslim confirmed united and respect others...What a CRAB.....
written by defendermalaysia, October 27, 2009 22:17:20
You did not mention thatit was UMNO that like to build big grand mosque every here and there. The contract to built gig grand mosque is for their cronies and no open tender and nobody knows the exact big amount. 1 ezample is to built a big blue mosque in Trengganu by previous ABB govt by using the wang eshan money. The big contract was given direct to their cronies. By building big project, then it was needed to divert away the money from the EPU PM dept.
written by malgal, October 27, 2009 22:18:16
very long time ago, monasteries became the refuge for those wounded in wars. where could the lamed and injured go ?
through their caring, the monks learnt medicine and monasteries became our modern day hospitals. it was through goodwill and hospitality that the poor and infirm found rest and recovery.

may mercy and kindness fill our halls of worship. surely these will bring glory to God.
written by johnT, October 27, 2009 23:05:21
My Tuan..Ku is Almighty God.
written by PresleyP, October 28, 2009 00:31:32
I think the Sultan is referring to the Cowhead incidence which happened "after the Friday Prayer".

Some time ago, I was passing by a religious class in a local college. The way they preach about Islam is that all the non-Islam are dirty and filthy and greedy. It sounds more like a anti-non Muslim class than anything else. It will brain wash the young college students who would treat it like gospel truth.

That is why I am not surprised that the Muslim nowadays are more separated from the non-Muslim compared to before.

written by Kampong, October 28, 2009 00:34:47

You should know the Tuanku and the descendants, like the other "protectors of Islam", are schooled in Western countries with strong Christian traditions and values. It's really disappointing to see the "partying, rich, decadent" image seems to perpetuate itself.
written by LukeJr, October 28, 2009 02:43:15
OH NO SHYTE MR PETRA DIDNT U JUST INSULTED THE SULTAN/MONARCH?????

APLOGISE NOW OR U'LL BE CHARGED WITH DEFAMATION AGAIN!!!

OH SHYTE!!!!

(DEAR UMNO MEMBERS, DIDNT I JUST SPEAK ON BEHALF OF YOUR PARTY?)
written by wongnoball, October 28, 2009 03:28:20
cheemengwong , wolzard

Yes those Scums in Church pastor are no different to these UMNO Islamic ustaz, mufti scums....they keep Spinning....when a word SORRY at the start of the Fiasco would have surfice.....Like Satan they have PRIDE. But if they succeed they will have ego like Pastor Kong of Singapore Christian Harvest, or Benny Hinn with private Jet and so many that the best I can say is "at least the message of salvation is preach" and hope humans look to Jesus rather than men......but who are we to judge. One thing I notice is none of these Church knows how to Build building that can be self sufficient, self generating income for its upkeep...still dependent on continuous donation....SCUMS!!
>>
As for Selangor Sultan....like all these Sultan (especially Berak)the MYTH of Guardian of Islam is slowly crumbling. Muslim must wake up and REALISE that they themselves are the Guardian of Islam and Evil sinister acts to be condemn.....no doubt Bagan Pinang have proven How Munafik those muslim /Islam there are....fair go 90% malay who are wrong there need some serious PAS and PKR dakwah movement to straighten them up!!
written by Aria, October 28, 2009 06:09:32
This is all about the BN government clamping down on all activities that will endanger their existence. The Sultan of Perak, The sultan of Selangor, MACC etc. are just doing what BN wants them to do.
The BN government has become a monster that has grasped onto Malaysia and is sucking it dry. The sad thing about it is that many people are in denial or have been blinded by the government media spinning the truth.
written by NSTPravda, October 28, 2009 07:43:21
I was just about to follow my beloved leader Na$ib and $aiful to swear on the Qur'an in a mosque.. i$ that Halal? Further, murder and makan $uap i$ OK a$ long a$ these are done out$ide a mosque or mo$que? Our leader$ are good mu$lim$ and follow their I$lam rather than Islam. $emua-nya OK?
smilies/tongue.gif
written by sueteh, October 28, 2009 08:24:32
i am suprised that Prince Guneratnam of Calvary Church had been alleged to have a very high figured salary touching 5 figures?? The ongoing problem of completion of their CCC building in bukit jalil..can't you fellas checked from your bank statements all the progressive payments payable into whose accounts??

Christian faith, i believe is builidng people..the God church is the people not some fancy terribly expensive building (are Christians trying to outdo their Christian counterparts in Singapore specifically like City Harvest and that Joseph Prince). Sad, such a heavy burden to come out with the money to complete the building and not forgetting maintaining it years to come. Worst off, JUST SELL IT OFF THAT DAMNED WHITE ELEPHANT of yours, Calvary church. The millions you spent on that darn building, why not start up skill programmes for human beings, like equipping skills learning for betterment of people?? Your Prince Gunaratnam and its konco konco scarily similar to UMNO BN!

I call upon your Jesus to come down and judge all mankind. Apparently, you tak takut Tuhan, you have no fear of God! I dare your Jesus!
written by sueteh, October 28, 2009 08:25:40
Calvary Convention Centre began to look very similar to PKFZ!!!!!!!!!!
written by jaz, October 28, 2009 08:27:37
What halal turkey? Turkey got non-halal meh? What do you mean? The turkey was fed pork? The kind of things the authorities came up with.
written by Bigjoe99, October 28, 2009 08:27:56
The truth is Malays are Muslim not so much because of the merit of the religion BUT because the Sultans of yesteryears saw it as a way to control his subject. Read the constitution properly and it spells out that the sultans are the head of the religion - its all about power. Islam in this country was and is about power first and foremost. The religion itself does not even come to a close second..Seoond is likely about material and other things like public space - that is why the preoccupation with multiple wives, halal, etc...
written by freedom to speak, October 28, 2009 08:29:56
This is just one of the many ROYALs who have started using their mouths to defile themselves.
One talks about supporting BN/UMNO
Another talks and talks about the role of JUSTICE
Now this, the MOSQUE is not a place for POLITICS

GO ON SPEAK MORE, IT JUST SHOWS A REFLECTION OF YOUR OWN SELF! PATHETIC!
written by popuri, October 28, 2009 08:30:52
It is true, that God does not need houses. If you are sincere in worshiping Him, you don't have to go to church. If you are sincere, you can pray everywhere and He will hear you.
written by oneofthesedays, October 28, 2009 10:49:19
In nomine Patris et fillii et Spiritus Sancti.
written by exumnoguy, October 28, 2009 10:56:31
We should tell the king, that MOSQUE is not a place
for glorifying PIRATE like what been practice now.
WE SHOULD STOP IT...
'ARAZAK' I DO THE SAME THING THAT YOU DID ON EVERY FRIDAY
KITA TAK PERLUKAN LEBIH DRPD rajaGOPAL
REPUBLIC
written by Abajawi, October 28, 2009 11:59:53
I agree 100% with arazak. Not only the doa' is made for the HH, it also includes his son (who is studying in the UK, I think. These doas for some reason are not translated to BM, whereas the doa to ask for prosperity for the rakyat is done in BM. Why the secrecy about the doa' for HH?

HH says one cannot sleep in the masjid - not even short naps. Perhaps the HH has not been to the masjidil haram in Makkah and Masjid Nabawi in Madinah. Yet he's referred to as Al-Haj!

Why do these masjids allow people to lie down and take rests in them? Are you saying, your majesty, the masjids here are more 'mulia' (holier) than the masjil-haram and masjid nabawi?

And BTW, people should stop referring tothe HH as "Duli yang Maha Mulia" when that term should be reserved only for the Almighty ALlah. And to people with Raja title "Yang Mulia" - including RPK! No offence or disrespect intended here.
written by Abajawi, October 28, 2009 12:16:43
Yes, these HH's are heads of religion in ther state. Heads of religion should be very knowledgeable abou the religion they lead. Yet, in my umpteenth years of life on the Malaysian earth I have never been led in prayer by any of these HH's. Ironical, isn't it? So, what does Ketua Agama (heads of religion) actually mean here in Malaysia? Anyone out there can enlighten me on this? Does a head of Islam go to gamble in the UK and ask the govt to play for the losses? Does the head of religion go to the pub and take alcohol drinks with their friends? You tell me.
written by best4rakyat, October 28, 2009 12:36:15
In anything it's the human's attitude to be blamed!
There is nothing wrong if every individual play his role and responsibility.
Some people are not too professional even in non-political service.
Some way wrong with their training!
Look at this-[youtube]vZw5tHTkkuU[/youtube] smilies/cool.gif
written by best4rakyat, October 28, 2009 12:39:13
Some people are not too professional even in non-political service.
Some way wrong with their training!

written by best4rakyat, October 28, 2009 12:40:54
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vZw5tHTkkuU
written by budakindia, October 28, 2009 12:57:37
Only in Malaysia, mosques are only for prayers run by "licensed" preachers! smilies/grin.gif
written by 1six5, October 28, 2009 13:14:53
anyone using hi-speed download programs...go and watch Zeitgeist. Stunning revelations made by humans on this kinda issues. Love it or hate it...Teaches us more things from its roots. Its a monetary-based economy now...no such thing as knowledge-based and all those economic crap spewed by nations. Who gets the moolahs and who dont live sufficiently on dollahs.

Those who voted down on expose of corruption/authoritarian abuse in religious institutions...man u ppl need to grow up. Are you guys saying u did the right thing? Or the "donations" now hurt your purpose?

Those who exposed those mentioned above...keep it up. At least beliefs in GOD is not governed by ppl who think they act on behalf of GOD. Lunatics...keep em howlin'
written by ciknoni, October 28, 2009 14:52:45
In IMalaysia you can see a mosque or a surau or a madrasah every 1-5 km you travel...and if you notice these places are empty or dead other than prayer time. And not to forget they are all grilled and locked. A good example would be the Blue Mosque in Shah Alam...itu pun prayer time tak seberapa orang...except for Friday prayers, of course la....use la these prayer of worship for community activities....utilize these places to the maximum..let the youth in that area use it for maybe a place for them to conduct discussion group or do their revision, a whole lot of other useful activities.

Most mosques are just a symbol to show that 1Malaysia is an Islamic country whereas what is of utmost importance is what's in the heart...a true Muslim does not have to show off that they are alim but what is important is they adhere to the basic concept of rukun Islam and rukun iman.

By the way I totally agree with arazak.
written by ckh, October 28, 2009 18:36:40
The temples of the Israelites, the Jewish synagogues and the Christian churches were certainly not mere places of worship but they were also where the community gathered, communicated and fellowship. So were and shall be the mosques of yesteryear and today.

God don't need all these man made structures to be worshiped in. He wants to live in our hearts and our minds (to think about him)! He wants us to worship him anywhere, anytime, anyhow (whatever the circumstances).
written by gondrong, October 28, 2009 19:14:26
No wonder when HEAD OF ISLAM IN THE STATE, is really don't understand Islam.
written by Malaysiaputra, October 28, 2009 19:56:41
In fact, you don’t need mosques if you wish to pray. You can pray anywhere. God, after all, is closer to you than your jugular, the Muslims believe. So God does not live in a house. God is in no need of a house.

====

Ai yo !, so all those huge expensive Mosques must actually be to fill the pockets of the cronies who get the contracts to build it !. Robbing the rakyat using the name of Allah.

Just imagine, in Terengganu, 60 white elephant mosques for what ?, but to fill the pocket of the cronies !. During PAS rule, the rakyat already have a place to pray too without needing the expensive mosques.
written by cheekhiaw, October 28, 2009 21:49:14
Neither are mosques and palaces suppose to house big time thieves, liars and murderers.

written by Steven Ong, October 28, 2009 22:13:27
I am not so sure, is the mosque a building? Then of cause one can pray and also discuss or debate in it. One can pray any where, as God can hears a sincere clean heart. In this case even the keeper of the religion had erred. No wonder most are confused and angry.
FYI the church is not the building with a cross, but a gathering of believers. Over time the building become known as the church, because usually the people gather there every Sundays. They can gather and pray any where just like the Muslims.
written by amoker, October 28, 2009 23:19:19
not sure about this so not going to comment.

written by Sutha, October 28, 2009 23:42:44
If the mosques have got no place for lying down or talking politics, just come over to the Batu Caves Temple. We have sufficient space. No need to convert la!
written by takbolehtahan, October 30, 2009 16:26:17
That's what happens when our education system is so bad that ideas are taken at its most literal sense. Our children's minds become so stifled and rigid, that they cannot see meanings beyond the literal sense. And this take from this Tuanku is exactly what will become of our future generations if we do not opt to kick out this BN regime and their tyrannical grip on power. Under their reign, moral values have degenerated to the pits, so much so that there is no more right and wrong and every action that this idiotic government takes is always, always wrong.
written by avancc, October 31, 2009 13:08:08
If I read correctly, and remember correctly, the "MAY 13" book did mention about people gathering at a mosque other than "someone"'s house...

So... The house of religious activity has been misused by "preachers" and "leaders" to their own political, financial and power gains... Not so much into pure religious activities, or solving community issues anymore. Sad to say that the intention of using it is different already.

And sad also... That many who claimed to be "preachers" don't really know what they are preaching, what's right or what's wrong... They are actually scholars of religious texts, not followers/teachers of the teaching in its true sense.