Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow There you are: education and not legislation is the answer

There you are: education and not legislation is the answer PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 October 2009 18:23

So there you have it. The most ‘religious’ state with the highest number of poor people and the highest number of Muslims in the state also has the highest number of HIV cases in Malaysia.

Highest number of HIV cases in Kelantan

KELANTAN registered the highest number of new HIV cases in the country last year with 749 cases, said state Women, Family Development and Health Committee chairman Wan Ubaidah Omar.

Replying to a question by Zulkifli Mamat (Pas-Pulau Chondong), Wan Ubaidah said it was worrying that 25 per cent of the new cases in the state involved young adults aged between 20 and 29, while those aged from 30 to 39 formed about 42 per cent of the new cases.

"Another worrying trend is the rise of infections from sexual transmissions, from 19 per cent in 2003 to 27 per cent last year. Infections from drug injections, which contributed to 70 per cent of cases in 2003, dropped to 23 per cent last year.

"The increasing number of new cases from sexual transmissions has affected mostly women, especially housewives. Nearly 19 per cent of the new cases last year were attributed to women, compared with 10 per cent in 2003."

Wan Ubaidah said the state had taken several steps to curb the rise in new cases, including introducing compulsory HIV screening for couples planning to get married.

She said an action committee on HIV education and awareness would be formed to raise public awareness.

She disagreed with Zulkifli's suggestion that the state government was not serious about combating HIV, saying: "Kelantan was among the earliest after Johor to introduce compulsory screening and this showed our seriousness. Efforts to educate the people are being carried out by the Education Department and the state government."

Meanwhile, state Human Development, Youth and Sports Committee chairman Fatah Mahmood said the state government, with the cooperation of a local non-governmental organisation, had started a drug rehabilitation centre in Jeram Pasu, Pasir Puteh.

Replying to a question from Wan Yusoff Wan Mustafa (Pas-Gual Ipoh), Fatah said the centre housed 101 inmates and a study by Universiti Sains Malaysia showed it was among the best rehabilitation centres in the country.

"We plan to open up branches in the state.

"We are looking into ways of raising income for the centre before setting up branches," he said. – New Straits Times

Why am I not surprised? We were told this 30 years ago, back in the 1970s. Today, we are still being told the same thing. The highest number of HIV cases is in Kelantan where the population is 97% or more Muslim.

One thing we are also told is that the highest number of HIV cases is amongst the fisher-folk community, the fishermen and their wives. If you don’t believe me then go ask Tan Sri Sanusi Junid, the one-time Agriculture Minister. And fishermen are supposed to be at the lowest rung of the economic ladder. This means the poorest people are those who suffer most from HIV.

Is not Kelantan called Serambi Mekah, or the Corridor to Mekah? And is not Mekah the centre of Islam. So does this make the Corridor to Mekah or the centre of Islam the most immoral place in Malaysia?

No, banning condoms will not stop illicit or extra-marital sex. Instead, it will increase the incidence of HIV amongst the poorest Muslims in Malaysia from the poorest community, the fisher-folk, from the poorest state in Malaysia, Kelantan.

So, what has gone wrong? Is it that there are not enough condoms to distribute to Malays? I don’t think so. The Lembaga Perancang Keluarga (the Family Planning Board) buys tens of millions of these things every year. They buy more condoms then there are citizens in Malaysia. And they are all distributed free to married women. The unmarried women have to take their chances -- like playing Russian Roulette. And it appears like they are losing the bet, going by the statistics.

So there you have it. The most ‘religious’ state with the highest number of poor people and the highest number of Muslims in the state also has the highest number of HIV cases in Malaysia.

And who or what shall we blame for this? Do we blame it on the shortage of condoms? Do we blame it on the fact that only married women are given free condoms by the government while the unmarried ones can go to hell? Do we blame it on Beyonce Knowles and her sexy clothes? Or do we blame what really should take the blame -- and that is the Muslims are not true Muslims.

It is all about education and commitment to religion. Muslims are not committed to Islam because Islamic education is crap. Most of what Muslims are taught is utter bullshit. Islamic education is all rhetoric and nothing more than that. So religion does not enter their hearts. And that is why HIV is worst in the most ‘Islamic’ state in Malaysia.

I rest my case. Let the statistics speak for itself.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by Son of Odhin, October 27, 2009 18:45:27
Salut...

Hard hitting and straight to the point Comrade. Ban the rubbers,beyonce,cerita seram etc etc...Malaysia will be Utopia..

Proletarians...Wake up and Unite.
Hasta La Victoria Siempre
written by Raja Chulan, October 27, 2009 18:51:06
When I was in primary school, my Ustaz told us during religious studies class that as a muslim we only needed to read 3 books, the koran, the Hadith and Sirah. He added that these books provide all the knowledge a muslim would need in this life and hereafter.

I am glad I did NOT listen to him otherwise I would probably be up the *S*h*i*t Creek.
agree 115
written by educationist, October 27, 2009 19:11:25
I know statistics can lie but I do not think it is misused in this instance.
Quite an eye opener, isn't it?
And, as usual RPK is calling a spade as such!
I really wonder what those PAS religous extremists are doing there[Nik Aziz is not included in the extremist category]
written by panca, October 27, 2009 19:15:19
If you folks believe GOD, that God make man, man make condom, condom for health protection - use it. Because to avoid indecency and prevent immoral acts which is one part good BUT many other suffer - BADLY.

Wise up and help them instead of getting them into incurable disease that can spread through many other means thereafter.

No it is not to condone immoral sex, it is help protect their lives.
written by hellosunshine, October 27, 2009 19:19:10
Who should be blamed? Religious education only or real education for the masses? I think the responsibility should be shared by BN and PAS. BN for screwing up the flip flop education system since Mahathir's time till now and PAS for their tunnel vision on Islam only.
written by Saint, October 27, 2009 19:23:54
Sex was created by God from day one for plants, animals and humans. Trying to prevent from having sex is just impossible. Educating "safe sex" is the only way out - like it or not for any race and religion. Truth is bitter, but better swallow it for God's sake.
written by malsia1206, October 27, 2009 19:30:24
"I rest my case. Let the ststistics speak for itself". Statistics are like the painting brush in an artwork. For some, the painting looks like a Van Gogh. But in the eyes of Barisan, it looks like shit work. Different eyes, different perception. Even when the bare statistics are all there for all to see, the Government would not admit they say or mean anyhting at all. We all know this Barisan Government too well for too many years.
written by talk2stop, October 27, 2009 19:45:51
HIV got nothing to do with religion, race and nationality. It does not discriminate. UMNO can't pass a bill that HIV must be quota 40% non bumi and 60% bumi. Don't you love HIV or AIDS for that matter.
written by Fuminari, October 27, 2009 20:02:42
but parthetically,we are facing n having jus too many kock heads doing kock talks no-brainers like zul noordin,hassan ali these days!!
written by CBP, October 27, 2009 20:07:30
I think beside HIV, 1 thing should look at is child sex abuse, especially incest ( father to daughter ),i still don;t understand how can they do that... sigh!
written by Goodbites, October 27, 2009 20:44:51
We would like to hear the self-proclaim DEFENDERS Zul and Hassan have to say about this.
written by mikewang, October 27, 2009 21:02:55
The revelation by Wan Ubaidah Omar is certainly worrying because the maths doesn't add up.
If HIV infection through sex had gone up from 19% to 27%, and transmission from intravenous drug injections had gone down from 70% to 23%, what is the unrevealed trigger of HIV transmission that had jumped from 11% to half of all HIV infections?
written by storm62, October 27, 2009 21:14:29
the taliban of Kulim wanted to banned the sales of condom....we say, why NOT give it to them FREE and educate them!!!...poor kampung boys can't even afford condoms and you don't expect them to be able to raise the unplanned baby.

maybe umno should design a bin for dumping babies, next to the plastic, glass and papers bin. without condoms more newly borns will be killed and more youngsters will carry HIV. thanks to the taliban from Kulim!
written by miwaki, October 27, 2009 21:28:45
Religion cannot combat vice and corruption,that's the truth ! If it could then Malaysia must be the most outstanding and a developed country.What we need is an effective education plus a government made up of people with high moral and wisdom.Not horny people because these people set a very bad example for the lesser horny people to follow.

Do wear condom and wear two pieces just in case one is punctured !
written by bodohland_citizen, October 27, 2009 22:39:26
The Lembaga Perancang Keluarga buys tens of millions of condoms, that's correct. But unfortunately, only a small quantity supplied to the citizens. The rest are used by UMNO.
written by Kampong, October 28, 2009 00:18:59
Education is indeed desperately needed in this country, as we have seen even "enlightened" people like Mahathir's daughter, Marina, extolled people to "get circumcized" because she believed circumcizion would stop the spread of HIV, blithely oblivious to the FACT that the US with the highest rate of circumcizion among western nations, has also the highest rate of HIVs.

Sadly, this dire fact in Kelantan will FAIL to open the misguided minds. You will see people come out of the woodwork to blame this on "Western, decadent" cultures. Ban this ban that, revert to the 18th century, as the Kulim MP would advocate, would cure all these ills. Really pathethic bastards.
written by Oscar Winner, October 28, 2009 00:47:22
The Kulim taliban wants to ban many things. Don't be surprised this taliban wants a ban on tali, too, and calls it tali-ban. In China, you can even find condoms in hotels to prevent the spread of HIV. Here, we have an idiot trying to prove the rest of the world is wrong in using condoms for safe sex
written by DontPlayGod, October 28, 2009 00:58:30
Hard to understand, when practioners of Islam have always stated that their religion is complete and perfect. And the Malays send their children to Islamic schools, from kindergaten to University. And, after school hours, more religious studies and education in mosques, etc. Something just doesn't add up or compute.
Aren't they supposed to be living the perfect life and complete life after 30 years of Islamic rule? I am puzzled.
written by Steven Tan, October 28, 2009 00:58:57
Dear Brothers and Sisters,

There is one TV advertisement suits this situation. It's about the COLGATE Tooth Paste.

- A kid is having a sensetive tooth problem so her mother brought him to the Dentist.

- The Dentist will ask the mother, whether she's using the tooth paste with the anti flourite function,

- She replied that she knows that the tooth paste that she's using is HALAL only.

- Then the Dentist will advice her that she shouldn't only focus whether the tooth paste is only HALAL or not BUT she also should make sure that the tooth paste is also anti flourite. Then the doctor will recomment her COLGATE tooth paste.

I'm sure you guys will be able to see where I'm coming from.....So in this case, as our RPK said, it's not only the religion that they should focus BUT they also should SERIOUSLY focus on education as well as commitment to religion.

Thank you and please forgive me if this explanation hurts smilies/smiley.gif
written by Sam W, October 28, 2009 01:02:26
The Lembaga Perancang Keluarga buys tens of millions of condoms, that's correct. But unfortunately, only a small quantity supplied to the citizens. The rest are used by UMNO.

Well ofcourse umno needs huge supply of condoms. They are screwing the rakyat all the time and big time.
written by Bigjoe99, October 28, 2009 07:55:56
In every instance where religo-countries focus more on religion/ideology than economics and delivering social goods, the incident of HIV and other social ills is allways higher. You say its education and commitment to religion but how do you increase commitment to religion - by law and policing? No. it boils down to education also and economics. The poor fisherman does not worry about his wife and children leaving him and taking away his hard earned money and property.. If he understood that if he gives HIV to his wife, he will have to work even harder and have much less, he will think twice about going to the hooker..
written by jaz, October 28, 2009 08:46:30
Does the government still want to ban the sales of condoms in convenient stores? This is the kind of thing that can't be helped. Might as well do it safely. Having sex and having unsafe sex that could lead to unwanted pregnancy and HIV, STDs, abortion, single mothers, unwanted baby.... Two wrongs does not make a right. Why not just reduced the chances of regrets?
written by Flex65, October 28, 2009 09:23:18
Sir RPK, I cannot agree more with you. Many of the people just pretend to be religious, from experience, the person who complain that the dancers during the annual dinner is too revealing is also the person I met 'dating' other people's wife. (On more then one occasions and with different 'wife') In Malaysia, we try to force 'puasa' on the people and yet we know that many will eat but not in public. In comparison, there is no rules that chinese be a vegetarian during the first 9 days of the ninth month and yet they do it willingly.

I do believe that Islam is good but are we going on the right track?
written by KotaDamansara73, October 28, 2009 10:35:53
The problem is not religion. The problem is young people with low self-esteem see not much prospect in their future. And then decided, maybe they should fcuk around to get rid of their unhappy feeling.
written by batsman, October 28, 2009 12:38:25
Actually better to consult a statistician to interpret what the statistics mean. It could just be that there is a high correlation between HIV and Malays. It could also mean that most Malays are still poor. Then again it could also mean that the actual connection is between HIV and poor people and the poor regardless of race or religion are the hardest hit by HIV.
written by batsman, October 28, 2009 12:45:06
I don't know what the connection is between fishermen and HIV. It could be that they cross borders easily and get infected in a neighbouring country and then bring it home. Do they distribute free condoms in Thailand?
written by CatV5, October 28, 2009 12:46:24
It is all about education and commitment to religion. Muslims are not committed to Islam because Islamic education is crap. Most of what Muslims are taught is utter bullshit. Islamic education is all rhetoric and nothing more than that. So religion does not enter their hearts. And that is why HIV is worst in the most ‘Islamic’ state in Malaysia.

Islam education has lost it's essence. That's why.. it is no more than a condition to pass the PMR and SPM. Even sekolah agama doesn't seem to show its effectiveness because they too have to pass SPM. Children now are more interested in technological entertainment and sciences (in terms of satisfying their curiosity). Some even do their own experiments. Sex is also part of satisfying the curiosity of science... Due to religion and social restriction, this hunger of curiosity is higher compared to loose restriction from other religion. This restriction is i believe the cause. And those who enforced it feared that without the restriction there will be more cases. Which i believe is wrong assumption now because it is proven that you can't force people to deny his/her nature of instinct. Uneducated instinct wins.... teach them to learn to understand their instincts and how to deal with those urges... No hudud can deal with our own nature.

Islam is just a guide... the followers are taking it too literally. They lose the essence if they restrict the exploration of it's essence and dumb it down by giving all the answers in textbooks rather than letting them question it first. These followers will become lazy and subsequently handed down to their generations. And now we have the results folks.

The root-cause of not having a commitment to Islam is unavoidable. I can imagine a person with a commitment to Islam with this current teaching in this country can lead to we becoming like the middle eastern. That is if commitment in the context of upholding the religion which will not always works.. the true commitment is commitment to self as His creation from within. What is his responsibility towards his Creator... that is the commitment that need to be taught. Teach the children how to commune with their inner self, find their own answers and allow others spaces to find their own answers.... and it's not just doing rituals blindly 5 times a day, it's just irresponsible.... Once the inner self is deeply understood the reflection to the outside self will just automatically shown... It's just how it works... that's the science of it... any religion has this essence but it has been neglected.... we just can't feed it from the outside hoping it will go inside... it's has to be the other way around... the more we push it the more the tension rise... let it flow from the inside. Teach them Tai Chis smilies/grin.gif
written by budakindia, October 28, 2009 12:54:05
The news is just to humiliate Kelantan Pas government. Another spin from the f*cking Malaysian media! smilies/angry.gif
written by temenggong, October 28, 2009 13:18:44
Drug addiction is escapism. Sexual abuse is due to inadequacy and frustration. Social ills is an indication of the failure of family and society. That's why it is called social ills. Society is ill. We will continue facing these social ills time and again until malays face these issues squarely. No amount of education will work if the current system continues, as that would be scratching the wall. There is no solution within the system, culture and religion. It lies outside. First, there has to be honest admission of a predicament.

I won't be surprised if positively contributary posts like this are deleted.
written by Abajawi, October 28, 2009 15:57:35
When I was in a certain boarding school years and years ago, the ustaz only dictated the notes to us, and we dutifully tried to copy these notes. He even dictated the commas, fullstops, etc. The students even called him "KOMA" as nickname. Those who attended this 'school' will remember this nick-name. My knowledge of the religion was obtained mostly outside the school system and self-reading, thank God!
written by batsman, October 28, 2009 16:38:12
Actually the safety of condoms is over-rated. You get about as many germs and viruses kissing an unwashed mouth. Try condoming your mouths.

There are good teachers and bad teachers. It has nothing to do with religion.
written by tom73my, October 28, 2009 16:58:47
Can anyone tell me why Malay Muslims have the highest numbers of the following: HIV infection, drug abuse, divorce, mat rempits, unemployed graduates, incest etc etc?

I really pity the Malay Muslims. Only a handful of Malay Muslims leaders, RPK is one of them, are sincere and care about the well being of Malay Muslims. For the mostly corrupt Malay leaders, they would want to ensure that most Malays remain weak for ease of manipulation.

Knowledge is power. Education is the answer. Malay will forever be the problem of Malaysia if education continues to suck. Non-Malays do not want to see this, because we are part of Malaysia too. Malaysia's problem is everybody's problem. But if Malay Muslims do not want to change their "leaders", and help themselves, what can we do? Sadly but true.
written by AsamLaksa, October 28, 2009 20:04:26
I am always cautious when I come across a Malaysian official giving out statistics.

"Another worrying trend is the rise of infections from sexual transmissions, from 19 per cent in 2003 to 27 per cent last year. Infections from drug injections, which contributed to 70 per cent of cases in 2003, dropped to 23 per cent last year.

1. So... 50% of infections for 2008 are from sexual transmission and drug injections. Are there other major causes that are missing?
2. What are the actual figures? What would be more informative is what is the actual rise for all causes, not just a cross sectional cut of the pie. That drop for 70% to 23% may not mean any or much drop in actual figures if there is a big increase in cases in 2008. I would also like to know the total number of cases and compare it with the figures of 2003 to check the trend.

The trouble with using percentages is that you need to clarify the figures. I once sat in an audit where the sample size was 10 and the queries are yes or no questions. The presenter used colourful bar graphs and quote percentages. What for? It's only x/10. So the audience were staring at many Powerpoint slides each displaying bar graphs with 2 bars, either yes or no. You do not need to use graphs and percentages for small figures. Bar graphs are good when you have other results to compare with, like past data. At the end of the presentation there was a bar graph of past 10 sample audits... and the presenter included the 'no' results when all you need is to compare the 'yes' results.

But that's the thing... using graphs and percentages makes you appear as if you have done your job and understood the matter.
written by jaz, October 29, 2009 09:16:50
Batsman,

Actually, you could get herpes or cold sores from doing a blow job on a person with STD's or herpes. That's where the flavored condoms came in. It would be so embarrassing if people could see it and knew what you've been up to. Besides, you couldn't kiss anyone during your outbreaks, cause it could spread. *sigh* STD's, HIV, AIDS. How perfectly horrifying. When will people learn? Yes, I believe there is something call a dental dam, which is like a condom for the mouth.
written by jaz, October 31, 2009 09:10:25
Dear Batsman,

I was only trying to spread some awareness around. STDs are not something to meddle with. The above statement is meant as an example. I worked as a social worker to educate people about these stuff. Don't worry about my virtue, I prefer to reserve myself for my wedding night. However, there are many people who are unaware about the dangers of unsafe sex, this is why we need to educate them. Sex Ed is sadly lacking in our country.

*I don't know if my answer alter the way you perceived my character. But I'm done talking, it would do me no good if I keep trying to explain myself if you don't see things through my perspective. Hope to hear from you, whatever you might say.
written by batsman, October 31, 2009 09:35:48
Dear Jaz - I am sorry if I misunderstood your intentions. I have no problems with people trying to do good things. Saving lives is a good thing.

However if i may put forward my opinions for you to consider even if you might not be open to them - Shouldn't society base its strength on its moral and ethical foundations rather than depend on rubber balloons for safety?
written by jaz, October 31, 2009 09:55:13
Yes,I understand your meaning. And I do agree that Education and morals should be stressed on. There is a down side on this. People from rural places are ignorant about such practices. Many are already the breeding grounds of STD's, HIV or Aids. Other than educating them on the morals, and social perceptions, we must also try to suppress the increasing rates of these disease.

For example: The husband was indulged in extramarital sex and contacted STD's from the hookers or his mistress. Surely the wife would also get the disease. If they are suspicious about their husbands, they would know what safety measures to take. But mostly, they are unaware about the horrors of STD's or Aids.

Parents are important when trying to make an impact on a childs morals and ethics. But some parents are very sensitive with these issues. There is no Sex-ed in school. Where would the kids/teens learn? Instead, they got these distorted ideas about it, and end up getting in trouble.

Education is important. But safety measures should not be entirely ignored either. I believe we came to an agreement on this?
written by batsman, October 31, 2009 15:52:33
Dear Jaz - all your years of working in NGO's - how really successful are you in making even a small dent with your efforts? Small results but BIG argument on who's right and who's wrong. What's happening?

If you are comparing the success of education by reference to our schools and education system, then I am not surprised there is complete failure. Are you honestly surprised yourself?

Why are the people with little or no results making all the big big noises? I daresay most of the commentators here are not even faintly involved with the fight against STD. But these loudmouths and big mouths are making big, big noises. What gives?