Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow The truth emerges

The truth emerges PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 October 2009 14:20

A former minister shares eyebrow-rising inside stories from his long political career.

“In the old days, the corruption was smaller. If an Umno branch leader did not get a taxi permit, he would dissolve his branch. Now many Umno leaders are busy looking for big projects. That’s the success of the NEP (New Economic Policy),” he laughs.

By ANDREW SIA, The Star

UNLESS the name on the cover is Mahathir or Badawi, ministerial memoirs wouldn’t usually be greeted with bated breath.

But the book by Tan Sri Mohamed Rahmat that was released on Oct 12 has been causing quite a stir.

He was, after all, the person who controlled for more than a decade what the Malaysian public saw and heard on Government TV and radio channels as Information Minister from 1987 to 1999.

Now, aged 71 and suffering from diabetes and cancer, Tok Mat, as he is known, freely admits that his job was really as a Propaganda Minister.

In his political memoirs, Umno: Akhir Sebuah Impian (Umno: The End of a Dream), he explains how his ministry’s campaigns, such as Setia (Loyalty), were actually a response to the Team A versus Team B split in Umno in 1987.

“I had to bring Malay loyalty back to Umno. And I had to raise a presumption that anybody who supported (Team B led by Tengku Razaleigh then) was not loyal. I went all out in this psychological warfare,” he writes.

“The Malays were numb to political arguments ... I needed something that penetrated the heart. I needed a song.”

So he wrote one himself: the famous Setia song with its supposedly patriotic lyrics (“Demi negara yang tercinta”, or “For our beloved country”, goes the first line) that was broadcast for years especially via the Government’s RTM (Radio Televisyen Malaysia) stations.

Tok Mat admits in his book that he first used Information Ministry staff in 1977 on a “mission” to topple the PAS State Government of Kelantan.

He reveals that later, in 1995, during the Sabah state elections, he sent 500 ministry staff members to “campaign for Umno” against PBS (Parti Bersatu Sabah, which was controlling the state government then).

“The officers went to the ground,” he explains in fluent English at a recent interview.

“They rented rooms in villages, they slept and ate like the locals, they gathered information and persuaded the people. This silent propaganda works very well.”

Since government machinery is supposed to be neutral, I ask Tok Mat if he considers what he did an abuse of power.

He replies: “You could say I abused radio and TV, but it was a privilege I had. I could not depend on TV3, (The New) Straits Times, Berita Harian or Utusan Malaysia because they were then controlled by Anwar Ibrahim’s boys. I had no choice but to use RTM.

“I was asked to bring PBS down. I shut the media off, there were no reports. People didn’t know what the Sabah Government was doing, so it looked like they were doing nothing. It was a very dirty tactic,” he now admits.

Tan Sri Mohamed Rahmat is proud of the job he did as Information Minister. - RAYMOND OOI / The Star

Tok Mat had his secondary school education at Johor Baru’s English College before doing a Bachelor of Arts at Universitas Indonesia, Jakarta.

He tells me that he learnt the basics of propaganda when he was a script writer for Filem Negara (the National Film Board) in the mid 1960s. “There was no TV then, so that was the Government’s only (way to generate) propaganda,” he recalls.

He honed his innate musical ability there and picked up film editing skills too. He later went on to personally devise the melody and lyrics of various songs, including Setia, Syukur and Sejahtera Malaysia, that were used for his “nation-building” campaigns.

Tok Mat has always had a fondness for oldies by Nat King Cole and Bing Crosby, and once even made it to the quarter finals of Radio Singapore’s talentime singing contest in the 1950s.

“Tan Sri can sing and he can play the piano by ear,” chips in his wife, Puan Sri Salbiah A. Hamid, who is also at the interview. “And he can write. I still keep all his love letters from when we met as teenagers,” she smiles.

With these skills, Tok Mat became the chief loyalist and cheerleader for then Prime Minister Datuk Seri (now Tun) Dr Mahathir Mohamad, whose political rivals included Musa Hitam, Tengku Razaleigh and, later, Anwar.

He claims that most Umno people were hedging their bets then: “Everybody was half leg here, half leg there, very few were working (100%) for Dr Mahathir. I was totally devoted to him.”

But then again, he has a chapter in his book that declares I Am Not a Yes Man. In it, he cites how the developers of the Second Link to Singapore, who were Dr Mahathir’s “friends”, were trying to acquire the land of villagers in his constituency at 80 sen per sq ft (psf) so they could resell it at RM17.80 psf! He claims that he spoke up despite Dr Mahathir’s anger with him, and helped the villagers secure a better deal.

When the Setia campaign was not sufficient to bring back Malay support to Umno, Tok Mat says his ministry then launched the Semarak campaign in 1988, during which Dr Mahathir had massive “meet the people” sessions.

“I told the police chief,” says Tok Mat, “I don’t want to see any police uniforms around Mahathir, because that looks like we live in a police state. Instead, I gave the policemen Setia T-shirts to wear, so it looked like he was surrounded by the public.”

Tok Mat’s promotion of Dr Mahathir – who certainly had his critics, even in those days – indirectly made him “the most hated man in Malaysia”, he says.

In his book, he even acknowledges that people called him the “barking dog of the government”: “When the people hated Dr Mahathir, I became the face of the Government for them to hurl abuse at,” he writes.

But he took all this as a sign of “success” because it meant that he had managed to “penetrate people’s minds” to provoke anger: “In the art of propaganda, touching a nerve is very important,” he explains.

Tok Mat claims that a sign of Setia’s success was that he has personally heard even non-Malays singing the song. As for the Semarak campaign, he says the crowds at Dr M’s meet-the-people sessions ranged from 30,000 up to 100,000.

Were civil servants “pressured” into attending such events?

“No,” he asserts, “nor did we provide transport or give out free T-shirts.”

His “propaganda” might have been successful, but the Government still hired a PR and advertising firm during his tenure to advise on winning popular support. Now in hindsight, he is critical of the move.

“I think I was more effective because I understand the culture better. I had 1,000 officers working on the ground giving me feedback. Even Pak Lah (former PM Tun Abdullah Ahmad Badawi) used these foreigners. But what results did these PR people get?”

Tok Mat’s detractors say one of his career missteps took place in May 1999 when many Malays were angry at Umno over the Anwar Ibrahim saga.

Tok Mat alienated non-Malay voters (who were to play a crucial role in returning Barisan Nasional to power in the general elections later that year) with his infamous remark that Anwar’s wife, Datin Seri Dr Wan Azizah Wan Ismail, was “unfit” for leadership as she had been “educated in Singapore” and had “darah cap naga” (dragon brand blood), an euphemism for Chinese blood or lineage.

“No, it wasn’t a mistake,” says Tok Mat now. “Because Anwar wanted Azizah to become Prime Minister. By the way, I am also cap naga. My mother is a Chinese (who was adopted by Malays). So I can talk. I can scold the Chinese and the Malays because I am one of them.”

Whether by coincidence or not, Tok Mat was relieved of his minister’s post in May 1999 too. However, he writes that this was because “forked tongues” whispered to Dr Mahathir that he was a secret Anwar supporter.

“What I can’t forget is the way Dr Mahathir dropped me without any hati budi (grace and gratitude),” he writes in the chapter entitled Habis Madu Sepah Dibuang (When the Sweetness is Finished, the Tasteless Part is Thrown Away).

Since then, he has become more critical of his former political master. For instance: “We know that Dr Mahathir blamed Pak Lah in all aspects even though the initial problems were caused by he himself. This is the ‘expertise’ of Dr Mahathir,” writes Tok Mat sardonically.

Despite his rather caustic tone, Tok Mat says to me, “It may sound like it lah ... but I don’t hate Dr Mahathir. I’m not angry with him. I still consider him a great leader of the country.”

In fact, he leaps to Dr Mahathir’s defence when I ask him about other controversial episodes when Dr M was PM.

However, he adds that money politics really became a “cancer” within Umno during Dr Mahathir’s era.

“In the old days, the corruption was smaller. If an Umno branch leader did not get a taxi permit, he would dissolve his branch. Now many Umno leaders are busy looking for big projects. That’s the success of the NEP (New Economic Policy),” he laughs.

More seriously, his book concludes, “Umno has jeopardised its image with power grabbing, money politics, bribery and excessive racism by certain leaders.... Umno must reform or I fear the End of the Dream (for the party) will really happen.”

Comments (47)Add Comment
written by bodohland_citizen, October 27, 2009 14:32:51
Seems to me that "Corruption" is UMNO's trademark and UMNO knows it well, they want it that way.
agree 223
written by batsman, October 27, 2009 14:36:58
Sad but the truth surfaces only when those in the know cannot make money from political connections anymore and must depend on book sales.
agree 169
written by mikewang, October 27, 2009 14:37:40
Shameless racist ex-minister who took pride in corrupting our government institutions without any hint of remorse.
Drop dead please !
agree 196
written by rajaphillips, October 27, 2009 14:40:22
Finally some of the truths about Mahathir a/l Mohamed is being revealed by his own former men. Who else knows better than the propaganda chief himself. Congrats Tok Mat, well done.
agree 124
written by DezMalaysia, October 27, 2009 14:44:14
The book should be renamed as, "The regret of Evil Bapak Propaganda / Bapak Pemecah-Belah".

Now, die slowly and enjoy your dues with diabetes and cancer. Tok Mat, I wish you will be bless with a long life till you're 90 . Enjoy the pain.
written by Loh, October 27, 2009 14:50:18
///“No, it wasn’t a mistake,” says Tok Mat now. “Because Anwar wanted Azizah to become Prime Minister. By the way, I am also cap naga. My mother is a Chinese (who was adopted by Malays). So I can talk. I can scold the Chinese and the Malays because I am one of them.”///--Mohamad rahmat

The half-Malays are worse than the pure Malay in racism. Mahathir is the mother of all examples.

written by hellosunshine, October 27, 2009 15:07:56
I guess that's Allah's curse for the corrupted leaders in their later years, heart failure, cancer, diabetes, kidney failure etc. God is great! smilies/cheesy.gif
written by exumnoguy, October 27, 2009 15:31:13
So Tok Mat you think God will forgive you? By telling the truth.Our nation is in the haywired bcoz of your wrongdoing.
written by Oscar Winner, October 27, 2009 15:35:22
Now, any former UMNO leader or present minister/leader out there with genital pains (likely to be prostate cancer), abdominal pains, back pains, nausea and vomitting, insomnia, severe headache, incontinence, extreme high blood pressure, etc... pls reveal the truth about Najis. Go write a book or reveal to RPK. When you next visit the doc, he will clear you of any cancer or terminal illness. That's the reward by your maker for saving the rakyat. Pls don't be like Tok Mat, who reveals all after he got cancer and diabetes, it will be too late. Worse still, if you kick the bucket and bring along the truth with you, you will not go to heaven
written by joeawk, October 27, 2009 15:39:34
It is all useful for political rookies who has recently experienced political awareness.

Old timiers already know all about it except for those who are short inmemories.
written by cheekhiaw, October 27, 2009 15:42:36
Minus the propaganda - In the old days they were small time thieves, now they are big time thieves.
written by wongnoball, October 27, 2009 15:43:36
Becoming a trend to confession and helping poor orphan ideology. Seems these Malaysia near death bed and closer to GOD's Ultimate judgement trying hard to build a case. Well while you have breath, can still walk, did we the rakyat ever see you in our Rally, candle vigil, say no to ISA, condemn Perak Fiasco? and you think by revealing some rubbish details we are wiser and Malaysia will be better?Drop dead you are ever Racist corrupted, sex maniac and money Worshipper. You too are part of the team your clock is ticking to do Fix your Errors not Highlight the Obvious. Meanwhile ever closer and no loss to Malaysia if you die sooner.the same goes to Current and ex UMNO-BN leaders!
written by Ghifarix, October 27, 2009 15:55:24
My mother is a Chinese wow, and you betrayed her to fit in UMNO. Dragon blood; that's how you think of your mother? sick old bitch. If I wasn't Muslim I'd use your book in the toilet.
Mahathir treated you just like you treated your mother - bloody ingrate.

excessive racism by certain leaders; what the **ck does he mean? Cancer & diabetes? its your deeds catching up with you.
written by Vivarium, October 27, 2009 15:58:19
I remember this Tok Mat guy as a racist, a very extreme one indeed. No amount of truth-telling act could redeem your past deeds, even at this stage counting down your remaining days. We will be happier on the day when you actually stop counting down your days, and returning all the money you have stolen through the NEP.
written by Drafauzi, October 27, 2009 16:08:33
Hai Rahmat, tanggunglah kau dosa kau tu. Kalau dah taubat baguslah tapi orang yang dianiaya akan minta juga nanti balasannya. Apa agaknya nanti nak di jawab oleh orang UMNO? Dah diakui sendiri oleh seorang wira UMNO yang mereka memang main kotor dan suka aniaya orang. Ini masih ada orang yang nak sokong juga? Yalah, tak terkena badan sendiri, tak taulah kan.
written by Ben Nordin, October 27, 2009 16:26:39
I've always thought that this guy is a nut case. Thats why BN uses him as the Minister of Misinformation. And now he's actually admitting about his propaganda work and proud of it. What do you make of such a man if not an idiot?
written by Debbie, October 27, 2009 16:29:53
By the Star.why now.reveal this which we have known for umpteen yrs now. I know some relatives and their concubines who have benefited from his time . Sorry relatives.no malice intended.
shalom
written by fireduck, October 27, 2009 16:59:24
“I think I was more effective because I understand the culture better. I had 1,000 officers working on the ground giving me feedback.

Kinda reminds you of the Gestapo, doesn't it? 1000 fellow citizens as spies!

“What I can’t forget is the way Dr Mahathir dropped me without any hati budi (grace and gratitude)" That is probably the best line in this piece. smilies/wink.gif
written by justice seeker, October 27, 2009 17:05:03
However, he adds that money politics really became a “cancer” within Umno during Dr Mahathir’s era.

More seriously, his book concludes, “Umno has jeopardised its image with power grabbing, money politics, bribery and excessive racism by certain leaders.... Umno must reform or I fear the End of the Dream (for the party) will really happen.”
written by ekt tan, October 27, 2009 18:04:51
Tok Mat,

It is clear that you like to reveal the "truth" in your book!. You have contributed to the shame this of this country of ours. I hope and pray you will die a painful death and your evil soul burn in hell till eternity. You will not be forgiven with your revealations, it will only harden the rakyat's attitude and resolve to overthtrow the UMNO regime. So enjoy your slow painful death.
written by penangboi, October 27, 2009 18:37:41
So What???

Nothing said is news. We all know how UMNO operates and abuses government institutions for their own political gain.

RTM is only one of many. Don't forget UMNO has the judiciary, PDRM, MACC, Immigration etc etc at their disposal.

And to Tok Mat who sounded so 'proud' of what he has done, I say fcuk off. Your 'confession' does not impress me one bit.
written by allmenarebrothers, October 27, 2009 19:08:22
Tok Mat
You reap what you had sowed. You sowed evil so evil gets the better of you now until you finally kick the bucket in a long & painful way.
Malaysians remember you are a thorough-bred racist. We will never forget how you as the UMNO Youth head then petitioned the late Sultan of Selangor to strip off the dato-ship of Lee Kim Sai then Deputy MCA President. Lee Kim Sai now has his last laugh at you. All of us know that God has meted out divine punishment on you.
Isn't God the Greatest? He knows.
written by Sutha, October 27, 2009 19:20:34
Female Artistes had to sleep with him if they wanted to perform in RTM shows.

This fellow had a large satellite disc in his house for overseas TVs when it was clearly banned for all except the state rulers and PM. Malay Mail exposed it.

When e was caught for corruption cases, he was packed off to Indonesia as the Ambassador (with ministerial raking).

Now he is blessed with much deserved CANCER. Well, he earned it!
written by kodoktua, October 27, 2009 19:48:23
“I was asked to bring PBS down. I shut the media off, there were no reports. People didn’t know what the Sabah Government was doing, so it looked like they were doing nothing. It was a very dirty tactic,” he now admits.

Since you're a good & brilliant liar, how can you expect anyone to believe the whole contents of your book? Once a liar, always a liar - ever heard of that???
Pray that God forgives you for all the dirty things you did.
written by vox populi, October 27, 2009 21:32:01
Bragging about his evil deeds and justifying them in the name of loyalty to another monster of a man and his maternal Chinese blood. Ptui!

He is incorrigble and unrepentant even on his death bed!
written by Wahyu, October 27, 2009 21:37:05
Mahathiu ialah seorang Diktator yg memerintah negara kita secara Kuku Besi untuk 22 tahun!! Fakta ni memang tidak dapat dinafikan.

Tapi sedih saya lihat Mahathiu kini, tidak sekali pun rasa kesal dgn 22thn pemerintahan Kuku Besinya malah mengharapkan negara terus ditakbir oleh seorg diktator utk selama-lamanya!! umno boleh!!
written by SiHangChai, October 27, 2009 21:52:42
Tok Mat? A racist scumbag. Why only at old age wanted to tell the true when in your younger days, you were so anti-Chinese?
written by trublumalaysian, October 27, 2009 22:20:59
Dear Tok Mat,

Truth is what it is. For all that you've done; with or without conscience; it will come back & consume you, In your dreams or in your life at some point; where the devil will ultimately have to deal his cards.

We Malaysians remember you & and so will some folks in particular in the rock industry for; this is where you extracted their souls from their hearts. At the least, you owned up to being the Rottweiler for the Umno. Perhaps, the numerous sojourns to the holy land was merely to buy time for a larger cause, no?

The times are changing, and slowly & surely... the truth will come out in bits & pieces and the times WILL change. We Malaysians pray & are hoping for it.

It's only a question of time. Thieves & plunderers do have their own shelf-lives too, would you agree sir?
written by sataysticks, October 27, 2009 23:05:59
Why does Tok Mat look like a blooted Ape?
written by gundohing, October 28, 2009 08:23:51
Mahathir - father of development ala Malaysia boleh. (translated: big projects and corruption)
written by devious17, October 28, 2009 09:41:50
NEP - Never Ending Problem. So long as NEP is exclusively for the majority (yeah majority, you read right) animosity will forever remain evident.

The NEP intention is a noble one but implementation, reinforcement and mini napoloeans has turned it into a tool to garner support and to instigate racial sentiments at a switch of a button.

Either NEP is scrapped OR shared in equilibrium across the rakyat who really needs it most.

Can aaa? I think not.
written by TwilightYears, October 28, 2009 10:14:03
While I would not go to the extend of condemning him to death or to any terminal illness, I would however admit that when one is older, and death is at his doorstep, there is no venue for him to appeal to the Almighty except by Direct Way of prayers, and if HE wills, his past sins maybe forgiven. If not, he has to answer to every atom of good or evil that he has done.

I pray that Tun Dr Mahathir would take note of the past crimes and sincerely repent for the horrors that he has created through the two decades of his "rule" that has raped the best of malaysian's resources.

Astaghfirulllah.
written by freerpk, October 28, 2009 11:08:15
This culture is not dead, just a change of players. What he was doing then is still happening today...which is why we need MT & RPK to tell us the truth about what happening in 1Malaysia
written by goman2k3, October 28, 2009 11:35:39
What ever you say now or confess you are are muslim and hell is where you belongs. The last penny you are going to get will not enough to cover you medical expenses. A slow and painful death is what you deserve.
written by rayfire, October 28, 2009 13:17:36
Oh my oh my ohhhh my, after all these years, the cats comes out of the bag. But seriously no point, the damage is done. The end of dreams is nearer that you think. Anyway thanks for sharing Tok Mat. smilies/cool.gif
written by budakindia, October 28, 2009 14:24:37
Ask him why he was kicked out during Hussein Onn's time? Then you will know how dirty he was! smilies/angry.gif
written by binkah1, October 28, 2009 17:26:12
Right, at the end it is our Maker that calls the shot, our friend seems to understant that a guilty heart is something that one does not want to bring along to the next world and have come clean before calling it a day.
written by Vivarium, October 28, 2009 17:49:33
You are 1000 times more evil than what you tried to portray yourself to be in your book, hoping you can fool God like the way you try to fool us.
Working for Mahathir is just like working for a gangland boss, and you still expect hati budi from him ? You are lucky for not being trashed into pulp.
By the way, can you launch another book confessing how many artistes were forced to sleep with you during your years as minister. That may be a better seller, which may directly help pay towards your oncologist's bills. Good luck.
written by sataysticks, October 28, 2009 22:54:43
This filthy Frog looking minister was a sex maniac who demanded sex from those female who wanted air space. Was and still is a cronic alcholic and chain smoker. When he was dropped as MP, he insisted thathis son be given the seat. The Froggy's son is the current MP there.

Was also a racist who talked big but in actual fact he was well known for being a simpleton and an idiot of the highest degree..
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 28, 2009 23:22:49
A crook writing as a good man will always be crook. A crook by any other name will be known as a crook. Crooks defend crooks...and talk cok mat remains a crook by his own admission..May you have a peaceful ending.
written by Bigjoe99, October 29, 2009 07:50:10
He misses the point about the end of UMNO. It will happen. Because its not just about corruption and money politics. You look at the bench - the top leadership in UMNO - there is no talent whatsoever. Then you look at what they are doing. The natural tendency is to turn inward and right when challenged. That is not how its done. Mahathir understand this. While the financial crises, the fixed exchange rate, he set up Danaharta and those cronies that followed him many collapsed. That is not just looking inwards - it also taking on the challenges when backed against the wall. But look at what Najib and Muhiyiddin is doing - they are looking inwards and barely looking outwards. You go down the line and they are incapable of looking outwards taking on the challenges. They don't have the talent for it, the skills for it. THAT is why UMNO will be done..
written by agadam magadam, October 29, 2009 09:15:06
Hei Mat, should have added in your book, about you being the butt of Jokes during your time, esp where you were with the Orang Utan representing Malaysia being sent to Space and they found out the Orang Utan was more intelligent than you...Ha..Ha..
Anyway, looking for sympathy now...in your dying days..?? Suffer you dog.. You were no better than the dogs of today.. Squanderer, Liars, thieves and cow dung brained scums... We pray for you - A longer life of extreme pain and suffering...
NO SHAME ah..?? Once a Pariah Dog, Always you'll be one.. All the Best...Shut Up and get back into your wheel chair..!!!
written by emg385, October 29, 2009 11:31:38
Hey wasn't this the Joker who "banned" Zarina Zainudin from Malaysian TV because of a nude photo scandal but secretly married her instead?? Wasn't he also the guy who proclaimed that Satellite dishes in private homes were illegal until an English tabloid printed a photo of a big Satellite dish installed in his house.After denying at first, He later made the excuse that he was screening out undesirable programmes for the Malaysian public by watching international programmes from the Satellite Dish!! What a Joker and a Loser!!
written by gentek003, October 29, 2009 14:47:48
OMG! This is a shocking revelation. I can't believe this. Why NOW to admit everything? What done is done. smilies/sad.gif
written by Rock, October 29, 2009 17:46:27
Repent? No. He didn't say a word of seeking forgiveness to the people for all the abuses of power and authority he'd done. He bragged being a 'sodomite' of democracy. Shame on him! May Allah guide and have mercy on him.
written by cheekhiaw, October 29, 2009 22:53:46
By the way, I am also cap naga. My mother is a Chinese

---

Mat,

May be after your mother crossed with your dad, they produced a snake which looks like a dragon but not quite the same.

Mat cap ular...

written by andray, October 30, 2009 10:33:45
Gentek003, yes what done is done! Now just follow the flow. like it or not we need to move on and live our life as happy as we can. smilies/wink.gif