Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Budget 2010: Goodbye credit cards

Budget 2010: Goodbye credit cards PDF Print
Tuesday, 27 October 2009 09:47

The Finance Ministry has claimed that the government is concerned about credit card debt, and we should be. But to quote a blogger, Lee Wee Tak: "If you want to control credit card debts, more effective measures would be to impose stricter guidelines on qualification, credit limits of cardholders and limit the number of cards held. Not by increasing the financial burden of all cardholders, whether they are having a debt problem or not."

By Tony Pua, The Nut Graph

I MUST say that Budget 2010, announced by Datuk Seri Najib Razak on 23 Oct 2009, contained quite a few surprises for better or for worse. And my observation is from someone who has poured through the government's budget over the past five years.

For one, I'll have to start picking up the phone over the next few weeks to cancel my many credit cards. An unwelcome announcement was that beginning 1 Jan 2010, we will be taxed for every card we own, regardless of whether we are or aren't in debt. 

At RM50 per card, and RM25 per supplementary card, that's probably enough to set me back at least RM700 per annum. Yes, I have indeed a whole string of credit cards, but thankfully without any debt attached to them.

I have had multiple credit cards since the days of running my own company. Trust me, they served me well as my short-term "Ah Long". In times of crisis, such as the Asian financial crisis in the late 1990s, I dipped into them to pay my employees their salaries. It was an expensive loan, but it served as a reliable last resort and tided me over during the tough times. You can imagine how much time I spent filling and faxing "interest-free balance transfer" applications!

Such days are long gone, as I no longer have scores of employees to support. But I kept my cards, cancelled some and applied for new ones for different reasons. You see, I'm a sucker for ensuring I get the best deals. And now that retail outlets and services are literally embedded into credit cards, you want to own them just to make sure you enjoy maximum discounts or cash rebates. I'm sure the missus enjoys having the supplementary cards as well.

READ MORE HERE: http://www.thenutgraph.com/

Comments (21)Add Comment
written by asguard, October 27, 2009 09:55:38
Idiot najis...what he cares only for his own pocket... while ordinary folks ..has to worry for end month payments like water bill, electricity bills, astro, car fuel, grocery, children school bus fee, marketing, credit cards bill... and yet he don't realized that ...all this ...could cause a problem ..if the credit cards being slap with $50.00 tax! A real idiots! People like you fellas in umno enjoy... don't even have worry for tomorrow and day after... suck the millions of $$$$ since the time of DR M!
written by KangrooCourt, October 27, 2009 09:56:51
Stupid..& lack of ideas on how to tackle the issue. No wonder Malaysia Boleh ! Anyway I will cancel all my credit cards in order not to contribute the additional money to those corrupted "Be End" culprits..
written by smeagrooo, October 27, 2009 09:57:54
Just check Rosmah owns how many credit cards. Or she shops in Paris using cash?
written by Tom n Jerry, October 27, 2009 10:03:14
Credit cards are real *gimmicks *of the Banks;they will pester you to sign for anything that you dont need but have greed for;such a s Bally shoes & Dunhill bags;but where is the logic if you are penalized for holding one becaus eyou must pay tax of rm50 for pricipal and rm25 for supplementary;I guess its about time to eradicate such * luxuries* fro our lives because they can *drown * you without your realising it;better keep your distance from such potential *killers*;its like cancer can be avoided if you are careful enough;how many families have been broken and *bankrupt *is anyones guess!Spend before you earn is certainly not right for us in this IT age;where everything comes in easy just by siging on a piece of plastic;it s what happens next that is all the more important;cash flow & financial stability in this critical time of world recession smilies/sad.gif
written by NSTPravda, October 27, 2009 10:08:09
Aiya, if you cannot afford RM50 for a credit card like our Na$ib Ro$ak why have one? It is time to join bUMNO to strength your ca$h flow, ra$uah $ayang eh!
smilies/tongue.gif
written by Son of Odhin, October 27, 2009 10:25:13
Comrades..

All Najib and his bunch of goons intrested is screwing the rakyat to the deepest hell. The budget is the perfect example. Why on earth you have to pay the fees in the first place ? So UMNO crooks can have more to siphon out from the nations coffers? Beefing up security (Penyangak DiRaja Malaysia) get a few hundred m's. They cant even solve rempit and snatch thieves problem. Throw another couple of b's to mindef ( i wonder who is threatning our nation) and the mother of all ****jokes this year, Rosmah's allowance for next year in the form of Permata (RM350m),personal relief increased by RM1000 (feel like relieving myself in the loo). This budget deviced and presented by Najib and The Goons are actually insulting the intelligence of the people. Are we going to comply and wag our tails at the sweeteners thrown at us while the crooks continue suck our coffers clean ? When are we going to wake up ? On top of all these, talks are ongoing on imposing GST ? Now why the F*** do we need GST or VAT ? I have made my decision, I am not going to pay a single cent of tax to this thieves anymore. My beloved Malaysia is not benefitting from it, the crooks are. Remember, all laws, rules and policies are man made and such is not perfect.

Proletarian..wake up and unite
Hasta La Victoria Siempre
written by Mark C, October 27, 2009 10:36:49
this is the most sorhai budget that any sorhai can give smilies/grin.gif
written by malgal, October 27, 2009 11:01:25
about credit cards: looks like someone gets our annual 50 ringgit credit. new meaning of `credit' cards.
written by mikewang, October 27, 2009 11:40:52
I guess the immediate effect would be a drastic reduction in the number of cards issued, especially to multiple card holders.
I'll be calling the banks to cancel my cards, starting from Najib's brother's bank.
written by Democrats, October 27, 2009 11:43:44
I think what the government will thinks is that it will force the banks to absorb up the tax, to bring out the RM500 million from their earnings. The banks cannot afford to lose in the credit card war, so somehow they will look into paying it on behalf of the consumer, but of course with a catch to it, maybe spend 6000 or more a year to get that fee waived,etc....
written by bodohland_citizen, October 27, 2009 12:17:21
Realizing his new revenue making strategy backfires, where cardholders cancel their cards en-mass, Najis may also introduce cancellation policy...you cancel your card, pls pay penalty of 10,000. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Vincent, October 27, 2009 14:16:22
Budget ini talak pakai otak, phui !
written by ckh, October 27, 2009 15:11:38
I started calling the banks on Saturday top cancel my credit cards.

Some asked me why; I told them I am not paying any RM50 to the people who misappropriated the nationals coffers to the tune of RM billions every year!

Some insist that I write-in officially.

So for those of you who have to write-in to the issuing banks to cancel your credit cards here is a sample draft letter you can use. No copyright.

Sample Draft Letter To Cancel Credit Cards

Your Name
Your Address
Date

The Manager,
Credit Card Services,
Bank
Bank Address

Dear Sir,

Visa Card No. xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx (Principal)
Visa Card No. xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx (Supplementary)
Master Card No. xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx (Principal)
Master Card No. xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx (Supplementary)

Following the 1Malaysia 1PM / 1MF announcement that RM50 / RM 25 tax* will be charged for 1credit cards w.e.f. 1 January 2010 I would like to cancel all the above credit cards with immediate effect.

Please acknowledge receipt of this letter.

Yours faithfully,

XXX

* The tax is to finance the 1commissions for the purchase of more 1submarines & 1jet-fighters because it looks like we are going to 1war soon) and 1toilet paper (looks like the some people are going to have 1diarrhea big time come 1GE13).
written by alarcarte, October 27, 2009 16:12:07
While not many people will pay up to 27% in income tax, tax reduction to 26% do not benefit the majority of the tax payers. Many tax payers however will definitely hit the 9% bracket. Given the additional relieve of RM 1000 (actual taxable amount is RM 90.00 based on 9% tax), what Najib trying to tell us is that if you have one credit card, I will charge you RM 50.00 on service tax, but I give RM 90.00 back to you in tax relieve, therefore you still pay RM 40.00 less compare to last year, yeah BIG DEAL!

If you have more than one credit cards, then you pay more to the Gomen in taxes compare to last year, he think we stupid or what!

written by Bigdawg, October 27, 2009 19:43:03
Holding a credit card does not necessarily mean you have big means to pay tax rm50 a year.

For many, it is a safe method of going around paying bills.

These cards are readily accepted by hospitals when cash deposits are required. The credit card is especially handy in cases where emergency cash is required; it is no good to the robber who steals it.

No one in his right mind goes around Malaysian towns with up to rm3000 cash in his pocket for emergency purposes or otherwise, given the present level of public security we have.

If you are being chased by armed robbers, throw them your wallet or credit cards. It stops them, at least for a while long enough for you to escape.

Older people like grandfathers and retirees who can't out-run thieves and robbers, would prefer credit cards fot this extra safety and convenience.

They aren't rich like you, Mr. Najib. Neither is your police department very reliable.
So why add extra burden to the ordinary man ?
written by Bigdawg, October 27, 2009 20:02:13
Please clarify this :

Did the new budget include rm3 billion to implement the school 1Toilet 1Malaysia scheme?

Hope they install 1WaterTap and 1ToiletPaper Dispenser in each 1Toilet.

Will the 1Toilet be equipped with 1SquatPan or 1ShittingBowl ?
written by bodohland_citizen, October 27, 2009 22:48:18
I just introduced 1Bedroom concept to my housemates. They's fcukin excited about it, both male and female smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by The Hammer, October 27, 2009 23:37:59
What about "DEBIT CARD" ? Is it taxable?
Looks like Bank Negara is short of funds!
written by Daryl, October 28, 2009 05:26:13
1Malaysia = Many projects for cronies...... Credit Card Tax = More money to steal and burden rakyat. This is becoming a joke on how our UMNO pm handle his affairs...
written by HenryTan67, October 28, 2009 18:18:53
1st credit card to cancel will be CIMB, being NAJIB's FAMILY OWNED BANK. BOYCOTT ALL CIMB BANK SERVICES, CARDS, ACCOUNTS, LOANS, ETC...

2nd credit card to cancel will be EON, being AN UMNO'S FINANCIAL MACHINERY. BOYCOTT ALL EON BANK SERVICES, CARDS, ACCOUNTS, LOANS, ETC...

BOYCOTT! BOYCOTT! BOYCOTT!