Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The operative word is prioritise

The operative word is prioritise PDF Print
Sunday, 25 October 2009 16:40

The system has failed. The education system has not achieved results. But instead of admitting that the system has failed, you ban condoms, as if condoms, and not the system, is to be blamed.

The Pakatan Rakyat people still can’t seem to get it. As much as we try to ram it through their heads they still focus on the small issues while ignoring the bigger picture. For example, they think just because we oppose their opposition to beer and condoms this means we are in support of them.

Small things please small minds, as they say in English. I suppose, in that same spirit, small things also upset small minds. And I take it those who froth at the mouth and scream about the enemies of Islam plotting to destroy Islam must be extremely small-minded indeed. I suppose having a small mind is not as bad as having a small…well, you know what…which would probably be worse.

The operative word here is prioritise. You jot down your list of priorities and tackle them one at a time, starting from the very top, and work your way down the list. Chances are, as I wrote in a previous article, by the time you get to number five or six on the list, the bottom would self-correct because some of the lesser problems are the result of a bigger problem. So, solve the bigger problems and the smaller problems may even disappear by themselves without any assistance from us.

Take one example: opposition solidarity and coherency. Trying to tackle this problem may be a non-starter as long as there is really no opposition coalition to shout about. What we have is basically an electoral pact or understanding of not engaging in three- or four-corner fights and ensuring that Barisan Nasional is faced with a one-on-one situation.

In the event the three very diverse and opposite opposition parties manage to win enough seats to form a government, then they do so on a unity government basis. And this is how the governments were formed in Penang, Perak and Selangor, and to a lesser extent in Kedah and Kelantan. But what happens if the opposition wins enough seats to form the federal government?

I do not want to even start speculating on what will happen.

So we need a legally registered Pakatan Rakyat with a common party constitution and a common election manifesto. Granted, each party will have its own constitution. This is also so for the 14 parties in Barisan Nasional. But there must be only one election manifesto, not four -- meaning one for Pakatan Rakayat and one each of PKR, DAP and PAS.

So, tackle this and some other issues get solved as well, or at least the problem is reduced.

Now, back to the issue of beer and condoms. No, we are not saying we oppose the opposition to them. But do you not think that the problem lies elsewhere and not on the fact that condoms are too easily available?

Okay, say we go along with you and agree that condoms are banned. Will this solve the problem of kids indulging in extra-marital sex? If it does, well and fine. I too will support the banning of condoms.

What will happen instead is that kids will still indulge in extra-marital sex but with dire consequences. First would be the problem of HIV, which will increase and probably turn into an epidemic. Then we will have the problem of unwanted pregnancies and illegal backstreet abortions. There is also a danger that those who can’t afford the abortions will abandon their babies in dustbins, like what is already happening even now in spite of the availability of condoms.

No, banning condoms will NOT eliminate or reduce extra-marital sex. Instead, it would create a huge social and probably health problem as well. So you need education to solve the problem. And if the education system, in particular Islamic education, can’t stop the young and unmarried from indulging in extra-marital sex, then banning condoms will not do the trick.

The system has failed. The education system has not achieved results. But instead of admitting that the system has failed, you ban condoms, as if condoms, and not the system, is to be blamed.

That is the crux of the matter. And that is why I am opposed to the practice of looking for scapegoats. And that is what this whole issue of banning of condoms is all about, trying to blame condoms for the failure of the system, in particular the Islamic education system.

And the same goes for the other issues as well. This call to review and amend the Constitution to clarify the status of Islam is pure and unadulterated bullshit. The police brutality and killings under custody are done by Muslims. The highest corruption in the civil service is perpetuated by Muslims. And so on and so forth. Everywhere you look you see the hands of Muslims. You mean to tell me that by amending the Constitution and by adding a few extra words to it the Muslims will now start conducting themselves like the Muslims in Medina during the time of the Caliphs?

No way Jose! Corruption, abuse of power, brutality, etc., can never be eliminated by just adding a few extra words into the Constitution. It takes more than that. We need to educate Muslims to become more sincere. We need to educate Muslims to become Muslims of the heart and not Muslims on the lips. We need to ‘bury’ Islam into their hearts and minds instead of asking them to dress in Arabic clothes so that they can appear to look like good Muslims.

That is what we need, not a few words added to the Constitution to clarify the status of Islam.

Comments (42)Add Comment
written by eeyaw, October 25, 2009 17:02:13
Pete, Pakatan comprises a diverse range of ideologies ranging from socialist to conservative platforms and to request them to stay the middle path might be too tall an order. They need a strong leader to bind them together & I'm not sure about AI who has been very quiet lately despite all the tremors around the coalition. He needs to step up to whip everyone who do not toe the line otherwise we can forget about GE13.
written by hellosunshine, October 25, 2009 17:04:05
The top most priority is to weed out these trojan horses like Zul Nordin, Hassan Ali, Nasg, Hadi and their ilk. Getting rid of these rebel rousers would take care of the beer, condom, concert protests and other minuscule issues that they constantly raise up. Then PR can sit down and plan their strategies to build up Sabah and Sarawak branches. smilies/wink.gif
agree 161
written by Milo, October 25, 2009 17:15:44
PAS with its religious priority will meet its own downfall sooner or later as they are too easily manipulated by UMNO. All UMNO need to do is to "allow" or condone more events like beyonce or rock band into the country or allow beer selling more widely, you will have PAS rushing to demonstrate their "true face of Islam" and drove away chunks of non-muslim support to BN hands. Like what RPK mentioned, their priorities are all screwed up...and they are unlikely to see these untill it is too late. Nevertheless, I salute Tok Nik Aziz - he is not juz a muslim, but also a christian, a hindu and a buddhist - in essense. He personifies goodness and wisdom...that few leaders have. How nice if we can hav more of him.
agree 114
written by ONGJJJ, October 25, 2009 17:43:16
Spot on Pete. To paraphrase Roosevelt (I think); those with small minds/hearts gossip (cakap kosong), those with medium mind/hearts talk about events, and those with great minds/hearts dream of greater things. So many in Pakatan have small minds/hearts with a few even below that like Hassan Ali & Zul Nordin, and fewer still have great minds/hearts like Tok Guru Nik Aziz.
written by Rainbowseahorse, October 25, 2009 17:43:54
“But what happens if the opposition wins enough seats to form the federal government?”

PAS: Immediately dig up outdated Islamic Laws to implement at the soonest possible time (including banning of condoms & liquors, of course).

DAP: Scratching their head over who to put pick for senior positions in the new government line-up. Some Mps will probably be burning the mid-night lamp searching the internet for possible offshore banks to stash their very possible huge offers from UMNO.

PKR: Completely dazed with disbelieved that their coalition is the new government of Malaysia..and old DSAI still in a backroom somewhere writing new dates to announce his take-over of the government. And, of course, many PKR MPs doing what those many DAP MPs are doing over the internet.

UMNO: Checking their war chest to see how much they got to buy back the government.

MCA : The President & Vic President still fighting over the Presidency and oblivious to the fact that their party have lost every damn seat.

MIC : Hmmmm….. I do wonder what they would do in such a situation! Old Sammy might just pledge his support for the new government and then, on obvious signs that UMNO is succeeding in buying back the government, quickly remarked that he was misquoted.

written by miwaki, October 25, 2009 17:48:14
You can be a righteous man without any religion and you can be areligious man !
written by sampalee, October 25, 2009 18:02:59
Religion recognise all righteous man exhorts mankind to avoid the three poison of greed,hatred and delusion.The condom bear no blame but the state of mind of the person using it and it can be bothe good and bad.With so many worldly confusion,mankind are indeed truly lost,unless they are prepared to return to the kithab and be guided by the TRUTH.
written by malgal, October 25, 2009 18:03:11
had very good advice fr former boss. he said if you aspire to a higher position, start thinking and assuming responsibilities,then by natural selection u already have the aptitude.
as for the 3 disparate,raggedy unity portions that make up pakatan rakyat, leave behind insularity and start thinking federal. time to leave the insular ideologies behind and take up the mantle of a singular, united, good-for-all banner.
and there's very little time left...
written by Richfyf, October 25, 2009 18:04:30
Ban beer, then ban condom. Even if you managed to pass a law in parliament to Hang people caught selling these banned items it wont put a stop to the problem.

Drugs are not only banned but you get the death penalty for selling... yet we still have drugs problems. Heck we even get policemen being tested positive during raids at entertainment outlets.

Just get back to basic. Free GOOD education and Free Good health service to ALL Malaysian regardless or race or religion. If you are smart and healthy you should be able to make a decent living in this world. Its those who are lazy and have subsidy mentality are the one that will be always asking for more.
written by Oscar Winner, October 25, 2009 18:18:50
Great minds think alike. Great minds help shape a country and it's people have a greater platform to reach greater heights. Here in our country, we have small minds who are foolish to think they are great thinkers, and these small minds seldom differ. When are they going to stop harping on race and religion, uh??
written by siewchinteo, October 25, 2009 18:19:26
the system has not failed if one looks at the intention from the other angle. smilies/tongue.gif
so it's SNAFU all the way.
written by tumbledore, October 25, 2009 19:29:35
..if I had correctly understood then;
if you ban beer, no one will drink beer!
if you ban contraceptives then kids won't have sex!?
what kind of kinked logic is this?

how about printing on the Condoms " Sex is Bad for Islam and Catholism" ? this might bring some result in this Banana Republic of Malaysia.

written by educationist, October 25, 2009 19:51:22
I had refused to read that idiot's rational for banning condoms, so I'll take RPK's condemnation of it as the starting point.
I do not agree with RPK that it is just a failure of the education system - by which I assume he's also referring to religous education.
There's also a failure in the family unit, the nuclear family endemic in urban areas.
But i agree with the thrust of his argument, if the priorities are set right, and the right effort and determination is mobilised to overcome the root causes, some of the symptoms may disappear.
So, PR people where are your priorities!!
written by ZamZamAlaKazam, October 25, 2009 20:04:31
...does it mean if you ban money, you will stop corruption?

Better still you ban politic, you will get rid of corruption.

Anyway, we have lost the way a long time ago. Back to basic is just so passé.

Leave it to our brilliant leaders, they know best, NOT !
written by cheemengwong, October 25, 2009 20:05:23
The biggest mind those in power has is a small one... how can we change them? Remove them and put some with bigger minds. Simple.

You ask a leopard to change its spots. Can kah?

written by Aria, October 25, 2009 20:20:19
RPK you are absolutely right. I just hope the opposition get it through their heads or we all are going to suffer under BN for a long time. I want you to be free RPK, able to walk freely in Malaysia.
written by Rock, October 25, 2009 21:29:11
Yeah, next thing to do if we can't band condom and beer, we should put up warning like in cigarette. Just imagine on the tip of condom printed polite warning 'Zina itu Haram' and at beer tin 'Minum Beer adalah Haram'. RPK, pls don't laugh yet!
written by talk2stop, October 25, 2009 21:42:47
Malaysia is always good in blaming something that can't defend itself. Malaysia has the tendency of blaming the gun that cause the killing rather then the person than holding the gun. How can a gun defend itself? It is always the machine that caused the problem never the operator. You don't punish them because you failed to educate them.
written by Milo, October 25, 2009 21:55:08
we should ban politicians...then all problems solved!
written by Catharsis, October 25, 2009 22:07:12
This will happen when we have VERY SMALL LAW MAKERS with very BIG MOUTHS and small brains in Very BIg PUBLIC SHoes - so they don't live up to the expectations
written by Super Admin, October 25, 2009 23:22:38
Dear POKKU, and I suppose you are one of those who miss their entire 30 days of puasa during Ramadhan but do the 6 days of puasa enam during Shawal. You do the sunat and drop the wajib. No need, as you say, to prioritise. Do the easy ones and leave the difficult ones. That is Islam Melayu.
written by Super Admin, October 25, 2009 23:26:28
Dear Rock, and what about the 10 million or so free condoms that the Lembaga Perancang Keluarga distributes free to Malaysians every year? Do they print on the condoms: SATU LAGI PROJEK KERAJAAN BARISAN NASIONAL?
written by POKKU, October 25, 2009 23:41:56
HA HA HA Thats very funny...you have a very great sense of humor.

Do you always react like this when people have different opinion than you.

Right after begging to differ, I straight away say that "while I agree that we must prioritize...." never did I said that there is no need to prioritize.

There are many ways to look at things and our view is not always right...everybody must accept that...including you.

Segala yang benar adalah dari Allah, dan yang salah dan silap itu adalah dari kelemahan Barisan Nasional. UNDILAH PR

written by Steven Ong, October 25, 2009 23:58:41
Its Islam again and again. When are we going to settle this and moves on? To most from PAS, PKR and (UMNO) their priority is to turn Malaysia into an Islamic state, nothing less than this. Actually only a very few UMNO guys believed in Islam. They are only pretending to be. To them their priority is the Malay supremacy agenda. While many would insist on a good education from good schools, others are only good at blaming the west's influence, like condom and alcohol.

One of the problem of Muslims is freedom. Freedom to learn about others. They are told from small that Islam is beautiful and right, while others are kafirs and bound for hell fire. They fear to be influenced by wrong teachings rather than God. As you said earliar, most corrupt and evil crime are done by Muslims, how can you say Muslims fear Allah? Some maybe. They are told not to read about other religions less they be influenced. The solution is to free the Malays to read and learn about other religions. Having said so, let them be free to choose their belief. Apostasy should not be a crime. If apostacy is a crime, how come other faith can apostate? This is inconsistent.

Having said so, its true that all parties must have a common base to be able to work together, how can DAP and PAS work together? Their differences is so great. Provided that PAS is willing to drop its motive to Islamise Malaysia, can this happen. But then that would contradict their reason to break away from UMNO in the first place.
written by magickriver, October 26, 2009 01:13:31
We're witnessing the tail end of the feudalistic patriarchy that began to predominate with the advent of Abraham on this planet 4,000 years ago. The male ego is competitive and insecure - and therein lies the root of violent behavior. The Father is associated with the concept of "disobedience" and harsh punishment - all for the sake of exercising more and more control over others deemed subordinate. The well-known phrase: "Do as I say, not as I do!" perfectly characterizes a patriarchal society. It is by definition antagonistic to democratic principles. The conservative elements in PAS as well as Umno share this soon-to-be extinct program. As their grip on reality begins to slip, panic sets in and they start grasping at straws. That's where the impetus to ban this, ban that originates. Being obeyed by the children is more important to the male ego than reinforcing bonds of love and understanding. The typical patriarchal mindset invariably attempts to censor and ban anything it has a weakness for - in order to keep the masses oppressed and compliant to the status quo - while the rulers themselves indulge in all manner of vices with impunity. When the king is corrupt and dishonest and does not love his subjects, the entire kingdom swiftly begins to disintegrate...
written by OVERLORD, October 26, 2009 02:10:33
Ok Pete..let's prioritize...get rid of the creeping extremism within PAS as their members seem to have the knack to perpetuate bells and whistles....it seems not a day goes by without these loudmouths trying to portray a "moral high ground" which has all of us cringing with embarrassment. Still doesn't explain why Kelantan has one of the highest HIV cases in Malaysia....
written by Tom n Jerry, October 26, 2009 07:28:51
Syabas tumble;but I like to add that your comments a bit racist when you say *sex is bad for islam & catholics*;even though I am Buddhist but I think that many a times we have sex for good feelings and not just to make a baby;that was in our parents generation when having sex is equivalent to making or prducing a baby;there was no condom then,and everything works out fine;a dozen siblings in the family is a norm,but today we have only one or two produced! smilies/grin.gif
written by Rozlan, October 26, 2009 08:28:42
Okay, say we go along with you and agree that condoms are banned. Will this solve the problem of kids indulging in extra-marital sex? If it does, well and fine. I too will support the banning of condoms.

I agreed with you.The foundation of iman (faith in Islam) should have been settled first.Condom had nothing to do with free sex.With or without condom people will commit aldutery.PAS leaders should have know this.UMNO actually are trying hard to sabotage PAS efforts by derailing their plan to islamicised the society.By harping on the wrong priority the objective wont be achieved.

PAS should realised that UMNO is the real devil who had haunted Malaysia for 52 years.The main priority now is to unseat UMNO from power.TG NIk Aziz and a few PAS understand it.However there many who dont.UMNO had succeeded in brainwashing them to look mattters according to UMNO eyes
UMNO is
written by KotaDamansara73, October 26, 2009 09:07:19
Rainbowseahorse,

You look like a spoil brat who complaints about everything in life. Nothing is good enough for you.

As a non-malay, we have to give our full support to DAP and PKR so that they can take over the goverment. Fcuk PAS. PAS is more concern about life after death.
written by siewchinteo, October 26, 2009 09:22:43
any politician who now trumpets BAN CORRUPTION, BAN INJUSTICE, BAN RACISM gets my vote, whatever party he is in.

and please dont make the call dressed in designer couture suits! smilies/tongue.gif
written by batsman, October 26, 2009 09:33:06
"..small things also upset small minds.." How true! Those that get upset over beer and sexy events, condoms etc on both sides have small minds. Mature people state their opinions and move on not bicker over small things.

The unfortunate thing is that people with small minds almost always think they are very clever.
written by batsman, October 26, 2009 09:35:07
It takes 2 small minds to quarrel over small things.
written by batsman, October 26, 2009 10:21:46
The greatest priority is to neutralise evil.
written by KangrooCourt, October 26, 2009 10:36:25
PAS, pls open your door to new ideas and innovation. We are in the 2009 ! First thing, get rid of those trojan horse. Secondly think how to serve all Malaysian instead of " Muslim " only. Not easy to do, but pls try !
written by Davy McChester, October 26, 2009 12:50:53
As long as they detest criticism and turn violent protesters and bury their heads in the sand,for another thousand years they will never change.They live under too much false premise about past days of glory. In fact there was some sort of glory at the expense of the misery of others. One can quote and unquote from some jumbo mumbo,past and today's reality is sufficient proof there never was "practice what you preach". It is only words,only words,that is all. Nothing tangible,except enmity towards those on the march to better life accepting all human beings as equals.
written by Bigjoe99, October 26, 2009 14:56:36
My siblings and I, as well as some friends, had children more or less about the same age. Don't ask me how or why and it gives me a good perspective on children education and influences. First and foremost, the first thing that I have learned is that children are people and people are different and behave differently even under ths same conditions.. Call it different way the brain is wired, call it genetic luck, call it what you want. Children react differently to influences.

Second, there is just way too much stuff out there that try and mess with our children thinking. The fact of the matter is technology is such that there is no use banning one or two things if you want to protect your child from bad influences.

Third, face the fact that being a parent IS A LOT OF WORK and with progress, the amount of work and complexity just increases just like your career or your relationship with spouse, other family and friends.

Once you understand these facts, then you realise that the only real solution to preventing all these problems is to learn and work harder at being parents and according to circumstances. You have to understand what influences your child and influence him positively to negate all that negativity out there. All those craps like pre-marital sex, drugs, etc, can't hold a candle to good parenting..
written by PresleyP, October 26, 2009 21:27:54
I have two teenage children, aged 16 and 18. They were studying in Private school, in which most of the children came from well to do families with a lot of in's.
Till now, believe it or not, they had never had a handphone or had asked me to get a handphone for them. Why ? Don't get me wrong, they told me about other children who had fancy phones and so on, but somehow they just never seem to be keen on having a h/phone for themselves.

I had never been an iron-fist parent (maybe I had, long time ago). We could talk like friends, calling each other nicknames. We play games together (I mean basketball etc, not video games). We could talk about life, about my work, about their friends and studies for hours.
I am not retired, half the time I am out of the country due to work or business.

My statement is, if you have spend enough time with your children and plant the right culture into their mind, you don't have to ban this and that.

P/S: I like ZamZam's statement of banning the money to stop corruption.

written by antiilluminati, October 27, 2009 00:20:44
What a great idea banning condoms. Might as well castrate our male kids !.
Truly this is Malaysia bolehland. Just can't believe this idea comes from a supposed educated Lawyer.
written by johnT, October 27, 2009 00:48:37
Pas is more concern of Micheal Learns To Rock than corupption issue, Teoh Beng Hock, Kugan, sumbang mahram and many many, Will PAS stay forerver in pakatan?
written by jalapeno, October 27, 2009 09:40:34
Hell, government supposed to be working on education system, welfare of the unfortunate, health system, moves to attract foreign investments, research and development in science, and all kinds of economic reforms to bring Malaysia to a greater height. Instead these bunch of PAS fellas are talking about condoms and beer. I usually talk about condoms and beer (among other things that PAS is about to ban) with my friends when I go drinking over the weekend. I guess I could be an MP too??!!
written by Old Man, October 27, 2009 12:47:12
Dear readers,
Quite recently, my 4WD was stopped and tested for the smoke level at exhaust end.
The joker pressed against the throttle at RPM5,000 or more and they told me I can see one of the officers to "runding" if I'm not satisfied with the testing! I asked the officer, "Have you ever drove your MV passed RPM5,000?"
A sarcastic smile that I've one month to contact his Dept! Runding?????