Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Second privatisation wave: Now that's scary...

Second privatisation wave: Now that's scary... PDF Print
Sunday, 25 October 2009 10:17
Is this going to be more of “privatisation of profits and socialisation of losses” – at the expense of the Malaysian public?

By Anil Netto

I was paying only casual attention while Najib droned on over the radio when tabling his Budget in Parliament yesterday.

But my ears pricked up when he mentioned a “second wave of privatisation”.

The Bernama headline says it all: ‘Companies Under MOF Inc And Other Viable Agencies To Be Privatise’ (sic).

Why only the viable agencies? Is this going to be more of “privatisation of profits and socialisation of losses” – at the expense of the Malaysian public?

The first thing that crossed my mind was: which cash cow is going to be handed over to which crony now? Don’t tell me they are going ahead with plans to privatise cash cow Plus Expressways Bhd, which is owned by Khazanah (24 per cent directly and 40 per cent indirectly).

READ MORE HERE:

written by Richfyf, October 25, 2009 10:37:17
All Companies under MOF that is making money will be privatised to ROSMAH Inc.

We have already seen how 150 million have be approved to upgrade 476 Tadika Kemas. That works out to RM300,000 per Tadika.

Tadika Kemas do not have more then 25 students each. All have their own building and are operated by one teacher and one assistant. Their salary and operating expenses are being paid by Kementerian Perpangunan and Luar bandar.

So at RM300,000 per Tadika of 25 students. we are talking of more the RM10,000 per each kindergarten child. Even if we were to provide each child a Lap Top,leather binded books and Uniform made by Armani some people are sure going to make lots of money.

I guess while everyone is busy cursing the husband, the wife is making tons of money, I guess that the price a husband have to pay for getting caught by the wife with his pants down
agree 119
written by cheekymate, October 25, 2009 10:38:59
Scary but so real. Spot on to the writer. Korek, korek, and more korek. Our coffers running dry fast.
written by krising1, October 25, 2009 11:36:32
The writing is quite clearly on the wall. Come GE 13 BN will not be in power or is sure to be less powerful. This is the only time to rob the treasury. Mamathir had Vincent Tan, William Cheng, Francis Yeoh and some others to help enhance the family wealth. Pak Lah helped son and son-in-law with Scomi, EC Libra, Air Asia and God knows how many others. Now comes a family whose greed will exceed the the two previous PM combined. The children are growing up and they all have to be set up for their future of extravagance. Then there are the cronies and the royalty whose gambling debts keep mounting and they have to be taken care of. So rakyat of 1Malaysia kena bayar. Apa lagi!
written by Taikohtai, October 25, 2009 11:38:57
Voting BN is equivalent to voting to enslave the future generations of Malaysians.
written by Duke, October 25, 2009 11:46:48
One mamak group (Kemuncak Group) from Penang very active in this area.....ada 'strong cable' dengan mamak Nor Mohd dan Khazanah

Boleh dapat 'Buta contracts' dari JKR, PM Dept.....Mamaks rule!!!
written by Taikohtai, October 25, 2009 11:51:06
BN knows that its time is up, hence it will use whatever remaining time it has
written by hellosunshine, October 25, 2009 13:07:53
Anil, Najis meant the 2nd wave of lanuns to come pillaging and plundering. The 1st wave was Mahathir and his cronies. Now it's their turn. God have mercy on us and our beloved Malaysia. smilies/tongue.gif
written by malgal, October 25, 2009 13:22:37
scorched earth policy !
written by cheemengwong, October 25, 2009 16:17:40
Second Robbery after the First was not enough! Just like a band of robbers. AFter the first robbery the loot divided was not enough. The head is gone and the assistant takes over the gang and the bank got robbed the second time.

Habis lah. God is Great!
written by justice seeker, October 25, 2009 16:46:38
The Bernama headline says it all: ‘Companies Under MOF Inc And Other Viable Agencies To Be Privatise’ (sic).

Why only the viable agencies? Is this going to be more of “privatisation of profits and socialisation of losses” – at the expense of the Malaysian public?

1MALAYSIA WITH 2 STANDARDS MAH. ALL BELONG TO HIS ONE. MIGHT AS WELL CHANGE OUR RINGGIT TO RUPIAH.
written by Rozlan, October 25, 2009 18:21:17
Why they want another privatisation? One of the reason is pink forms.Once the company was listed in the KLSE,pink will be issued.The company employee usually will be given small amount of share.The bulk of the pink form will go to UMNO leaders.The rest will be given to other BN leaders.

YOU see state UMNO chief will get 200 lots,State YOUth chief will get 100 lots,Division chiefs 50-80 lots.The pink form usually is free money..Other than that it is the contracts work issued out due to outsourcing by the company.

Those buggers sit on money,yet we the rakyats always crack our heads to make end meet at the end of the month.Our hard earned money cant even supplement our basic needs
written by Sinewy, October 25, 2009 18:43:45
PIRATISATION 101 IN MALAYSIA....ANYONE INTERESTED????
written by cheemengwong, October 25, 2009 19:59:32
Robbing the Raayat blindly and still raayat supporting BN
written by citizenmy, October 25, 2009 21:29:15
Why not privatise whole Malaysia for 999 years? Sure can get masuk pocket 1000 Billion in one go.
written by Taiping60, October 26, 2009 00:35:46
Well BN government. Due to your own doing, whatever you intend to do, the public will think corruption or cronyism involved. To prove us wrong, make this transparent. Make this truly 1Malaysia.

I just hope I am wrong about you. But if I am right, will see you in next general election.
written by jaz, October 26, 2009 11:56:02
The government should forgo the monopoly of Electicity supplier, Astro, Water suppliers. Monopoly allows them to do as they wish, cause people does not have a choice, which means big expenses, bad service. If more company compete against each other, they would be more determine to provide better services and lower prices. Cause this is the way things are.

Take a look at telecommunication services. We have Digi, Celcom, Maxis... Each company are striving to be the cheapest, the most functions. Cause people get to choose. They want to hold on to their customer. This is how it should be.

Astro is getting more and more arrogant. Expensive. They offer cheap packages, but nothing to see. If more broadcasting company compete with Astro, people can choose what service they want. Astro would surely lower their prices and rethink their strategy.

Same goes with Water and power suppliers. Competition means low price. Why can't the government see this? It's all for the best. With competition, comes improvements.
written by hellboykl, October 26, 2009 18:00:38
Thats why we Malaysians should END the Rule of BN and its cronies!