Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Don’t think like politicians, judges told

Don’t think like politicians, judges told PDF Print
Sunday, 25 October 2009 09:52

By Shaila Koshy, The Star

KUALA LUMPUR: The Judiciary cannot decline or delay administering justice just because the decisions are not going to be universally popular, said Raja Muda of Perak Raja Nazrin Shah.

He quoted his father, former Lord President Sultan Azlan Shah in a 1984 lecture: “Just as politicians ought not to be judges, so too judges ought not to be politicians.”

Raja Nazrin said yesterday bad decisions arose when the two interests are confused and co-mingled.

He said this in his keynote address at Suhakam’s “Judicial Colloquium on Human Rights” at a hotel here.

Raja Nazrin said the buck stops on the steps of the Palace of Justice when it comes to upholding human rights.

Issues of justice, he added, could only be resolved with a fair hearing and impartial and consistent application of the law, adding that this required “great boldness.”

He asked judges to adopt international human rights thinking and standards in arriving at decisions.

A new wind was blowing across Asia, he said, and this wind favoured leaders of capability and integrity.

As such, he said there should be new forms of human rights engagement - between the Executive and Judiciary; between the government and the people; and the country and international community.

He stressed that those in government needed to internalise fundamental human rights principles or they would remain a distant dream.

Regional Representative of the Office of the High Commissioner for Human Rights for South-East Asia Dr Homayoun Alizadeh, who spoke on the challenges in implementing international human rights instruments, said judges were state actors.

Dr Alizadeh said these instruments imposed a legal obligation on judges to ensure claimants had full enjoyment of procedural rights.

Suhakam chairman Tan Sri Abu Talib Othman, who had defended the Executive in a public interest litigation case when he was Attorney-General, created a stir when he asked whether Suhakam had locus standi to take up human rights issues.

He cited the Suhakam Act that entrusts the protection of human rights to Suhakam.

“It would be shameful if you can’t,” said panellist Universiti Teknologi Mara’s Prof Emeritus Datuk Dr Shad Faruqi.

Senior lawyer Raja Aziz Addruse said that since the Act gave Suhakam power to protect human rights, it followed it had a legitimate interest.

Federal Court Justice Datuk Gopal Sri Ram had the audience in stitches, saying: “Judges can’t answer an academic question. Come before us and we will give you an answer.”

In closing the event, Chief Justice Tun Zaki Azmi said human rights was critical in defining justice.

He said a fair balance could be struck between national security, public safety and individual rights.

Comments (46)Add Comment
written by Watchdog, October 25, 2009 09:55:34
In other words, dont be like his father
agree 132
written by rocky, October 25, 2009 10:14:31
and in Perak the people have no rights? do they not deserve the govt they elected? one who is seen to be unfair and not upholding the law and justice, is it ok to preach? Sigh.

Madonna - papa don't preach song comes to my mind
written by Hakim Joe, October 25, 2009 10:25:29
Dun think like politicians...think like businessman!

written by gx27, October 25, 2009 10:38:29
its ok to think like politician but to heed your father's advice or think like him is a no no.
tak malu.
written by James Loh, October 25, 2009 10:46:07
I think the hypocrite should just stop giving anymore statements. We can't really trust whatever he stands for anymore.
agree 167
written by Daryl, October 25, 2009 10:55:21
smilies/wink.gif Don't think like politcian... Very funny. Please don't insult our intelligent anymore. Just go away or keep quiet maybe rakyat will forgive u.
agree 108
written by bodohland_citizen, October 25, 2009 10:56:48
Same goes to politicians...don't think like judges
written by smeagrooo, October 25, 2009 11:00:02
in short just DONT think!

written by Taikohtai, October 25, 2009 11:45:52
Nazrin's dad was once a fearless lion of a judge. He even went against protocol and married a commoner. But in the end, the king of the jungle lost his mane and even manhood. Nazrin is no pedigree either and is just a shadow of his father's former self and is no saviour of Perak.
written by Alice, October 25, 2009 11:51:13
that they can say anything and get away with it.Cakap tak serupa bikin.Real real man,don't irritate us with this kinda perfect lies.Walk your talk and have an election in Perak!
written by biggun129, October 25, 2009 12:09:46
'The magic of Shah of Perak!', 'Head I win, Tail you lose!', 'Right is left, Left is right!', 'Black is White, White is Black!','I am forever Right, and til death you are wrong!'.
written by samarlin, October 25, 2009 12:11:06
Just keep your trap shut,you worthless bloodsucking parasite.
written by Dualties, October 25, 2009 12:51:50
The majority of the rakyats in Malaysia has no began to accept the faith of Peraks as being manipulated by politicians and the sultan has no desire to take care the welfare of the Perakians. Whatever the Raja Muda said holds no substance to walk his talk.
written by sara, October 25, 2009 12:52:17
There goes the royal parasite again.Talk is cheap.If he really means what he said, he step down from being the .He is not the really the raja muda.Check the original perak royal rotation system.SUHAKAM, by inviting such a royal pain and royal parasite, to talk about human right, it shows how stupid you are and also where you stand on HUMAN RIGHT.How can you invite somedbody whom denied the perekian their right to talk about human right ? How stupid you can be suhakam?
written by antiilluminati, October 25, 2009 12:56:17
Nazrin,
For God's sake, act like a Royalty. Do not confuse the Rakyat even more for the Rakyat has been made Stupid by the Barisan Najis Government for so long. We do not need another human-being in the form of Royalty to chart our destiny. We used to have a high respect for Perak Royalty before but our trust has been exploited. Once bitten twice shy.
If i were to compare you with RPK. You are zero. The only royalty that is fighting the rakyat's cause is no other then YM RPK. RPK gives us hope, at the expense of his freedom and good-life. He earned the Rakyat's trust and love. He is indeed a classic example of Modern Malay Royalty.
Hopefully, you are aware of this, patik mohon jangan bikin lagi speech yg confusing. Cakap tak serupa bikin, nanti kredibiliti semua royalty hilang. Rakyat dah cukup susah dan matang. Speech takkan tolong perut rakyat yg kelaparan !.
written by Mahyuddin Mahzan, October 25, 2009 13:13:53
In a public speaking event, people like to talk on subject they think they know best but actually they talk rubbish. Or when they speak s hold by someone so that they don't speak the truth.Anyway, they talk a lot of bloody crap, you can say even if they are people who says they know laws pretty well.
written by Xerxes, October 25, 2009 13:14:20
"..Don’t think like politicians, judges told" by Raja Nazrin.

Wistful thinking? When the No 1 judge was a recent top UMNO man. And all appointments and promotions are the prerogative and authority of the ruling politicians who "advises" the Yang Di Pertuan Agong on who to appoint or promote.

No, judges do not think like politicians. But most of them are told what to think by politicians. Just any judge try to think like a judge and he is destined for the scrap heap. And the sad part is, unlike a doctor or lawyer who can migrate and ply their skills elsewhere, a judge has no choice but to hang on in there until retirement.
written by malgal, October 25, 2009 13:24:06
ahem, something stuck in my throat, must spit it out.
written by Badrol, October 25, 2009 13:55:31
And the chief justice himself is an umno politician.
written by homemakers, October 25, 2009 14:08:04
YAWNNNNNNNNNNNNN.............
written by mikewang, October 25, 2009 14:24:36
Judges don't think like politicians.
Politician don't think like royalty.
Royalty don't think like businessmen.
Businessmen don't think like thieves.
Thieves don't think like UMNO.

So the root of all evil is obvious, right?
written by AntiBN, October 25, 2009 14:36:39
Wasting of time. Not worth commenting.
written by Oscar Winner, October 25, 2009 15:04:15
The silver-haired monster raised an offspring with PhD ie Permanent-Head-Damage, and they both talk with a forked tongue. If judges don't think like politicians, we would have a verdict in TBH's case by now and it would be "murder". They not only think and act like politicians and controlled by politicians, they are also prostitutes
written by Susuit, October 25, 2009 15:12:10
Talam dua muka.
written by Fuminari, October 25, 2009 15:42:58
don't think!jus like he n his old man...for the self gain agenda,jus follow the instructions of umno be end thieves n bandits !!!!!!!!!
written by Just Gan, October 25, 2009 16:17:15
Raja Nazrin quoted Sultan Azlan Shah's 1984 lecture as a great piece of profound wisdom: “Just as politicians ought not to be judges, so too judges ought not to be politicians.” As if any thinking person didn't know that this is the right and only way for judges and politicians to operate and behave. Alas it has been totally otherwise since the great "wisdom" uttered by Azlan Shah in 1984. The fact that everything has proceeded opposite to what Azlan Shah had said says much about the power and influence of the former lord president cum current sultan of Perak - that he is only good for talking and his son, Nazrin, is continuing this family tradition. What is even more telling about the real Azlan Shah is the fact when the opportunity presented itself in Perak for him to demonstrate what he had preached, he revealed his true self - “Just as politicians ought not to be sultans (rulers), so too sultans (rulers)ought not to be politicians” but Azlan Shah became another crooked UMNO politician and did all he could to ensure that Najib/UMNO illegally took control of Perak. Instead of being the just and fair ruler for all Perakians, Azlan Shah became another greedy corrupt UMNO politician. His son, Nazrin, is doing a fine job following his father's footsteps as another corrupt UMNO who talks one thing, to appear like an upright person, but acts totally opposite like any corrupt greedy UMNO good does.

Nazrin - stop making a fool of your self by making such speeches when you know for sure that you will be acting opposite. Your father had deceived us, and only now we realize that he was a closet-UMNO goon, if not an impotent lord president who could only make grand speeches.
written by Jimmy Choo, October 25, 2009 16:37:03
Yawn...tak habis habis ke??
Your comment worth nothing lah...
written by aryn, October 25, 2009 17:23:53
Ahhh.....Raja Nazrin.

I know you meant well but if only you walk the talk......and start with Perak...
written by SamYap, October 25, 2009 17:57:14
Quote: written by smeagrooo, October 25, 2009 11:00:02
in short just DONT think!

Best summary thus far! Simple, lucid and concise...Raja Nazrin, there is no need for a stupid long speech...just follow what smeagrooo said. smilies/cheesy.gif smilies/cheesy.gif
written by CBP, October 25, 2009 18:12:57
talk cock sing song. Royal family? pui!!!! parasite of the society after all.
written by vox populi, October 25, 2009 18:34:27
Nazrin,
Hope you get a good night's sleep after what you and your father have done in Perak. But I bet you won't get a wink not because you have a conscience but because you lie awake counting the millions.

Ptui!
written by Sudahlah tu, October 25, 2009 18:35:30
dahlah ..bapa memilih tamak daripada kebenaran perlembagaan kini anak pula memberi kesedaran ....
duduk diam-diam ... jangan buat bising ...
tunggu aje bapa mati nanti naiklah takta haram kamu itu ..
kalau Allah membenarkan kebenaran menjadi saksi keimanan IslamNya maka segala dosa-dosa seisi keluarga bapa akan kamu dipertanggungkan ...
Jangan memberi alasan sedangkan maruah keluarga sudah lama digadaikan untuk taraf keagungan yang menipu rakyat jelata terutama rakyat Perak.
Allah lebih mengetahui ...Allah Yang Maha Berkuasa sudah menurunkan hukumanNYA terhadap seisi keluarga bapa awak tu ..
kini tidur tidak lena ..nak mati pun tidak semudah lagi ...
Perlembagaan Negeri Perak sudah lama dipertahankan oleh kejatian nenek moyong dari turun-kemurun dengan perlaksanaan yang halal dan saksama ....... itu akan dituntut oleh kami , rakyat Negeri Perak ... Allah akan memberkati doa kita semua.
written by gondrong, October 25, 2009 19:25:24
NAzrin? Azlan? Who are those fella?
written by InEffective, October 25, 2009 20:29:53

Its pointless ro hope for a fair unbiased judiciary.

The culture of obeisance, dependancy is anchored like web of cancer around the judges. And the chokehold is absolute and comprehensive.

Its quite commom strategy to appoint tainted persons into positions of power and influence as it buys absolutely loyalty, subservience, and obedience.

No amount of exposures, surfacing of misdeeds will help bring about change - the very top is built of filth and evil mind.
written by Navigator, October 25, 2009 20:45:17
Some people have a hide as thick as an elephant's skin.
written by JUST, October 25, 2009 21:58:22
Talk like politicians! smilies/grin.gif
written by Kathy, October 25, 2009 21:58:36
Another day, another nice speech. However, action speaks louder than words and we don't see that in Perak!
written by BennyG, October 25, 2009 22:11:52
Perak will be in everyone's mind until the injustice is correct.

Until then, the worst people to talk about righteous is the Perak Monarch.

written by fencesitter, October 25, 2009 22:23:09
Hmmmmmmm.............all comments above are highly critical & sarcastic. What a drastic 360 degrees change in people's perception on Raja Nazrin and dad compare to a year ago!

Very, very sad.
written by Kuku Burung, October 25, 2009 23:19:41
Almost all the people here in MT think you should keep your big mouth shut, o prince (or pretending). But you kept talking, talking...don't you have muka?
written by Jilo, October 25, 2009 23:37:02
A split personalities is those who say one thing and do another contrary to his ideals and aspirations.Westerners said it is hypocrite while the chinese said put on a goat head outside a shop pretending to sell goat meat while in reality selling dog meat.Throw a stone and sure kena one in a group.No need for this type of person to give us a sermon.
written by jalong, October 26, 2009 01:13:05
Raja Nazrin, Did you say "adopt international human rights thinking and standards..."? Maybe you are not aware (or purposefully colluding to violate which we know you are)Article II of UN General Assembly Resolution 3068(XXVIII) (1973, which provides in pertinent part:
Article II: For the purposes of the present Convention, the term "the crime of apatheid," which shall include similar policies of racial segregation and discrimination as practised in southern Africa, shall apply to the following inhuman acts committed for the purpose of establishing and maintaining domination by one racial group of persons and systematically oppressing them:....
Or maybe you are suggesting that we should be challenging the NEP more agressively in Malaysia and in the international forum. If that is so, its coming.
written by Agahdemo, October 26, 2009 11:35:48
Somehow I give little weight to whatever he says nowadays...

So artificial and "cakap tak serupa bikin"....
smilies/cool.gif smilies/cool.gif
written by shissun, October 26, 2009 15:37:53
Don't think like politicians. Think yourself is good servant for B-END.

Talk cock lah you! BUBAR DUN PERAK!!!!
written by shissun, October 26, 2009 15:41:19
You fail to act right during the most critical time. Now, nobody wants to listen to you except those bootlickers money-eye monkeys!