Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow The Golden Age versus the Dark Age

The Golden Age versus the Dark Age PDF Print
Saturday, 24 October 2009 18:39

Study history. See what it was like during the Golden Age. Then see what it was like during the subsequent Dark Age. Spot the difference. And the reason this was so will become as clear as daylight.

An Islamic administration must be fair in all matters, says Dr M

MELAKA, Oct 24 (Bernama) -- An administration led by Muslims must be guided by Islamic values and be fair in all matters, free from corruption, respect laws and show concern for all communities, said former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.

As such, he said, having a good administration when in power was important to ensure Islam grew well and non-Muslims did not keep away from Muslims.

"If we can do this, the benefits will be great, among them understanding of Islamic teachings will increase besides the people being more willing to listen to the administration," he said at Perkim's (Malaysian Muslim Welfare Organisation) 48th annual general meeting at a hotel here today.

Also present were Melaka Chief Minister Datuk Seri Mohd Ali Rustam and Perkim's honorary secretary-general Tan Sri Dr Abdul Hamid Othman.

Dr Mahathir, who has been Perkim president since 2006, said when Islamic administrations were smeared with cruelty, power abuse, corruption, inefficiency, oppression of others and the like, others will have a negative perception of Islam.

"Today, there isn't a single Islamic country that can be said to be a developed nation. And again there some who hold the view that progress of Islamic countries is not important.”

"But we have witnessed the fate of many Islamic nations because of their backwardness. They are forced to beg, ask for help from others and as a result are often manipulated by their benefactors who might in reality be their enemies," he said.

He said Islamic countries and Islam will only be respected if they were progressive, like in the Golden Age of Islam.

Dr Mahathir said Perkim's role in propagating Islam was also very clear in that before trying to bring Islam to the public, its members must be shining examples of the values and teachings of the religion.

"It is important for Muslims to be successful in all fields, social, economics, politics and others to attract attention, increase understanding and respect for Islam and not only that, also open the hearts of non-Muslims to get to know the religion and all the good it stands for," he added.

I know, I know, I know…many of you would prefer whacking Mahathir and call him all sorts of nasty names. Okay, there are many Mahathir-haters in this site and you are probably going to crawl out of the woodwork and take pot shots at him. But before you do, let us first analyse what the man has to say. Then, if you think what he says is not true, whack him all you wish.

I, however, am inclined to agree with what Mahathir says. What he said holds a lot of truth, even if you may dislike or hate the man. And I would rather focus on what he says and agree or disagree with him based on that.

Is not what he says true? Are not the most backward nations on this earth all those so-called ‘Islamic’ countries? And herein lies the problem. These so-called Islamic countries are as Islamic as I am a virgin. And trust me, I am no virgin.

And this is what gives Islam that bad image. Because these countries CLAIM to be Islamic countries and are labeled as such, and because these countries do not practice the tenets of Islam, or at least the ‘values of Islam’, as Mahathir says, the image of Islam suffers. When you do wrong and claim that you are doing so in the name of Islam then Islam is wronged. You are in fact doing Islam a great disservice.

Democracy is great. Freedoms of all kinds are fantastic. But when the greatest democracy on earth violates human rights in the name of democracy then expect people to view democracy as bad. It is not democracy that is at fault. It is the people who scream democracy and then attack other weaker nations and send in their army to kidnap other leaders and attack countries they don’t like and occupy them and then claim that they do all this in the name of democracy.

The US is probably as poor an example of a democracy as Afghanistan is a poor example of an Islamic State. Invariably, however, people judge the system by the reality of what is happening rather than the ideals of the ideology. Why talk about the ideals of the ideology when the reality is a far departure from what they preach?

Mahathir, like most Muslims, always talk about the ‘Golden Age of Islam’. When was this Golden Age? What was it like? How did it become the Golden Age of Islam? And when did this Golden Age end and how/why did it end?

If I want to go into the detailed history of this Golden Age of Islam it would take many pages and would look like a thesis for a doctorate. And I doubt many of you are going to spend your Saturday night reading a long and detailed thesis. I shall nevertheless try to be as brief as I can without losing the salient points of the issue, if that is actually possible.

The Golden Age of Islam was the period when the Muslims learned from the other nations and communities. And this of course meant the non-Muslim communities. Books originally written in Greek, German, French, Chinese and whatnot were translated into Arabic. Engineers, architects, scientists, mathematicians, doctors, and many more studied the work of the non-Muslims and did further research to improve or perfect what they had learned.

In short, it was a period of research and development as well as what we would call, today, ‘reverse engineering’ -- which was also the key to the Japanese, Korean and Chinese success of post-Second World War. In Malaysia they would call this chiplak -- not downright chiplak mind you, but chiplak and improve.

Now, take note of one very important point. All these engineers, architects, scientists, mathematicians, doctors, and whatnot were not necessarily Muslims. Many were in fact non-Muslims -- Jews and Christians -- although they lived in the great Islamic Empire.  So, while the Islamic Empire went through the Golden Age of learning, inventing and innovation, it was not always Muslims who were behind this massive reverse technology and research and development.

The Golden Age of Islam began to decline when the religionists started to oppose the Rulers who they viewed as too ‘Secular’. The religionists wanted more Islamisation and less ‘infidel’ influence. In other words, if it came from the non-Muslims, it must be rejected as un-Islamic.

While the West still thought that migraines were caused by the devil entering your head, the Muslims were performing brain surgery to remove the blood clots causing your migraine. While the West had no notion of time other than day and night and what the sundial showed, the Muslims invented clocks that ran on water and accurate to the nearest second. And so on and so forth.

But after the religionists got their way and the doors to science, medicine, engineering, architecture, and whatnot were closed, the Golden Age of Islam ended and the Muslim world went into reverse while the West went through one period of ‘revolution’ after another until it came to where it is today.

No, this is not Islam’s fault. Islam is not to be blamed. Those to be blamed are the religionists who wanted to interpret Islam in a very narrow manner and close the Muslim world to what they viewed as un-Islamic influence. It was almost like China’s isolation policy where ‘time stood still’ for hundreds of years.

Thus ended the Golden Age of Islam and the Muslim world went into the Dark Age.

Mahathir did not quite say this of course. He would never dare say this, as would be the case for many Muslims.  But let us call a spade a spade. While the West was in the Dark Age the Muslim world was in the Golden Age. And then the West and the Muslim world suddenly traded places.

Study history. See what it was like during the Golden Age. Then see what it was like during the subsequent Dark Age. Spot the difference. And the reason this was so will become as clear as daylight.

To sum up, the Muslims screwed up and got left behind. And the sad thing is the Muslims are still screwing up.  But then the Muslims blame the Jews and Christians for their current woes. What they fail to see is that it was because of the Jewish and Christian population that Islam enjoyed its Golden Age. But of course the Islamic history books list down all the great minds of the Muslims of the Golden Age of Islam while conveniently leaving out the role of the Jews and Christians and even the Chinese.

Mahathir told only part of the story. But while he is not wrong in his views there is more he did not tell or did not dare tell. But what must be said must be said. I just hope the Muslims will realise that it was not the enemies of Islam who sent the Muslim nations back into the Dark Age but the Muslims themselves. The Muslims are that enemy.

Comments (58)Add Comment
written by Proarte, October 24, 2009 18:55:44
An eloquent call for pluralism, mutual respect and understanding.
written by sydput, October 24, 2009 19:18:35
here! here! Clap ! clap!

Now why can't anyone go out and speak up like RPK?
They are all scared shit of muslim religionist.
Only those righteous one, guided by justice and mercy, are guided by God.
And those guided by God fear no one.
written by educationist, October 24, 2009 19:22:40
Was not Dr M the PM then when he proudly pronounced that our nation is an Islamic state?
How fair was his administration in all matters?
It is pointless to mouth high sounding ideals now!
agree 175
written by wolf, October 24, 2009 19:24:08
"It is important for Muslims to be successful in all fields, social, economics, politics and others to attract attention, increase understanding and respect for Islam and not only that, also open the hearts of non-Muslims to get to know the religion and all the good it stands for," he added.

I fail to understand this point. Why must it be muslim this and Islamic that? You are successful because you worked for it. Does religion comes into the equation?

Would Albert Einstein be any different if his religion is, say, Bahai? Would Stephen Hawking be any different if his religion is, say, Mormon? Read all the news media report about any successful people and you'd be hard pressed to find any linking his success because of his religion.

Would the reports say anything like "Bill Gates who is a successful christian, today officiated the opening ceremony of Microsoft's..." or "Donald Trump who is a christian, is reported to..." or "Akio Morita, a successful buddhist, was present in today's..."

If you're successful, its because you worked for it, I don't think anybody would care what your religion is, nor believe your religion play a part in it.
agree 313
written by Richfyf, October 24, 2009 19:38:43
Most people can accept Islam that is fair and non racist.Christian, Buddist, and other major religion are all being accepted. But whats the point of talking about being fair to others when in reality you do not put it to practice. You want others to accept you but yet you do not accept others, The moment someone suggested that UITM and MARA Colleges be allow to accept 10% of non bumi MALAYSIAN you get a big protest from Muslim. The moment a non Muslim get the post of Acting GM in PKNS we get big protest from UMNO memebers..

So until and when UMNO willing to show us their sincerity by action and not just slogan will the people believe in what you say.

This is not about religion but being sideline purely by RACE. UMNO are do not practice fairness.

As much as people might not agree but PAS do allow non malays to be a member and even stand for election. If I am not mistaken One of Kelantan ADUN is a Chinese Muslim Annuar TAN.

So on that basis I can say PAS is not racist but Islamic party because the accept all Muslim regardless of race... But UMNO is clearly a RACIST party because they do not accept all MUSLIM unless that person is defined as MALAY.
agree 131
written by orangbukit, October 24, 2009 19:48:56
The mind of the general moslem has been closed for hundreds of years, to the point of being ingrain into their DNA. How would they be able to think differently? I can only see them spiraling down deeper into darkness. They can only talked about the glorious past aka golden age, when the others are making and living it.

The saying "knowledge is power' seemed alien to them for they only seek religious, not science, maths or even general knowledge.

It is really sad but that is how I see it.
written by Raja Chulan, October 24, 2009 19:52:28
But of course the Islamic history books list down all the great minds of the Muslims of the Golden Age of Islam while conveniently leaving out the role of the Jews and Christians and even the Chinese.

But how conveniently we have missed the Indians. Ah .. of course the Muslims razed the Nalanda University. The oldest University until 1193, the Nalanda University was sacked by Turkish Muslim invader,Bakhtiyar Khalji because when he inquired whether there was a copy of Koran and found there was none. More information is available if you ******.

This video gives an inside on the knowledge the Indians contributed to mankind. Even China acknowledges that the Indian were their teacher and they were pupil
http://video.******.com.au/vid...ry of one#
disagree 17
written by roggon, October 24, 2009 20:06:06
WOLF,
You poointed it precisely.
However, the muslims achieved their success differently..especially the malay muslims..they achieved their success either through cheating or corruption!
written by lakian, October 24, 2009 20:35:14
There was a ship owned by my friend,there have 10 crews from top to the bottom.Amongst 10 only one was muslim.All others respect very much to this one muslim,they didn't cook pork,infact they were using different cooker and whatsoever,meaning not mix using of kitchen stuff.Only thing was that they were sharing one kitchen.So,one day the muslim was not in,they cooked port,unfortunately this only muslim found of cooking port.He was mad and threw all the kitchen stuff to the sea.The others were only stared and later they bought one new set again.Finish!!!!!!
written by jshing2158, October 24, 2009 20:49:53
Its easy to speak the truth and project oneself to be champion of fair play but how often do you see them walk the talk.
written by datukbendahara69, October 24, 2009 20:51:35
I'm so agree with Mahathir's statement. Unfortunately, it was his time that all the negative perception about Islam being sewed among the Muslim in Malaysia particularly those called Melayu.
written by hellosunshine, October 24, 2009 20:53:32
Mahathir - 'administrations were smeared with cruelty, power abuse, corruption, inefficiency, oppression of others and the like'

Hmmmm, must be some banana republic he was referring to and not our beloved Malaysia. BN doesn't have any cruel streak in their righteous veins (puke), BN doesn't abuse the power given by the rakyat (puke), our civil service is one of the most inefficient in the region (puke), BN doesn't oppress the opposition, the Chinese, the Indians, the Penans and the natives (puke). Excuse me, I have to run to the loo. smilies/tongue.gif
written by imanj, October 24, 2009 20:55:38
A tad too late in my opinion dear RPK...but I certainly would not choose to 'whack'(as you say) if anyone comes to a realisations on many issues that have gone wrong by their own doing and by many others who allowed the situations to get this far..It has affected people all over the world in many ways...and we see and feel and breathe it in this country...

I will agree with Wolf,for the comments makes the most sense.Where I have had the opinion that mankind's progression should be sought through nuetral aspects,I certainly think there have been many successful people who genuinely made a mark and history for themseleves through sheer preserverance and hard work.It had nothing to do with race or religion.And from them came many inventions,visions,ideas,concepts etc that the moden world is able to use and indulge.At the same there are others who continue to surpress good and needed progression and intergration for mankind's betterment,all in the name of race and religion,while they too are users and they do to indulge.It certainly is hypocritical and contradicting..
written by Just Gan, October 24, 2009 20:57:09
Pete's Top 10 critical problems in Malaysia:
* Failing education system
* State-endorsed or institutionalised racism
* Abuse of power
* Corruption
* Wastage of public funds
* Lack of transparency and accountability
* Attitude problem
* No civility or courtesy
* Serious crime problem
* Arrogance

What are the root causes for these problems? Only one - MAHATHIR. The evil corrupt racist despot is the root cause for the problems. He put in place the culture and infrastructure so that these problems for the Rakyat are the standard code of behavior, culture and norm for UMNO to practise and to suppress the opposition and terrorise the Rakyat.

We have this list but nothing is going to happen with UMNO in power. Let us try and do something. Let us make a start by at least openly exposing Mahathir as the one who has been and is still at the root of all these woes and call for him to be punished - call for a Royal Commission to investigate into the evil that Mahathir has inflicted on this nation. Pete, can you get the ball rolling on this matter?
written by cheemengwong, October 24, 2009 21:15:39
We can only read and do what Dr. M says but we can do what he does! He is what we call a munafik!
written by CPY, October 24, 2009 21:24:26
The US is probably as poor an example of a democracy
This i bloody agree. Profanity of speech is considered freedom of speech, sexual liberty is freedom of choice, invasion/pressuring of other countries is advancing 'democracy(in which they become proUS like East European countries)'. However, TDM is also the extremists who declared Malaysia as Islamic state to push us backwards in order to make us intellectually dark and he as the lamp for our darkness.
written by Semuaok, October 24, 2009 21:37:59
Sorry RPK,

1)If you believe in talk only then why not Najis 1Malaysia??? It sounds good to me too. Sorry RPK, I believe in ACTION and not words.

2)Are you sure the Golden Age happens because of Islam or because of Islam the Dark Age happen? Sorry RPK, history also teaches me that modernization is always inversely related to religion. Are you telling me Islam is the only religion that proves otherwise?

3)RPK why the continuous focus on Islam/Malay only? Why not focus on attitude, education and Malaysia. Let me make it simple for everyone. Let take out Islam and see whether it make more sense.Golden Age happen because of their education and Dark Age happen because they replace education with others. How that sounds???

4)How would you tell your children (when they are young) that believe after life is more important? Would your answer be the same? Sorry RPK, my answer would be: my children go focus on your education and I will talk to you on after life when you “grow up”.
written by Just Gan, October 24, 2009 21:38:04
Malaysia's Golden Age was under Tunku in the 1960s, in spite of May 13 in 1969. Malaysia's Dark Age started with Mahathir becoming the PM. Since then thing that define a Golden Age (peace, minimal crime, democracy, harmony, brotherliness, justice, rule of law, quality education, etc.) started to deteriorate and things that define a Dark Age (crime, racism, fascism, fundamentalism, collapse of law and order, decay of justice, destruction of democracy, etc.) started to grow unimpeded. Today, we are living in the Dark Age, thanks to the evil corrupt criminal Mahathir and his disciple the tainted Najib. WE need to expose the evil corrupt despot Mahathir and make him for all the crimes. That would bring about the fall of UMNO because the despot is the foundation for the evil corrupt UMNO.

Pete - help us to make the evil criminal despot Mahathir pay for him crimes against Malaysia before he meets his maker. Yes, we know that Mahathir will go straight to Hell for the crimes he has committed. But making this criminal fascist pay for his crimes in this life will help this nation to start a new life. Just remember that Mahathir has pledged that Anwar can never become PM - this means that PR itself may never be able to take over the Federal Govt as long as Mahathir is around. Pete, help us to punish this evil man who is primarily responsible for Malaysia's Dark Age.
written by miwaki, October 24, 2009 21:49:45
Talk is cheap,practice it and then we will judge you.You do not need a religion in order to be fair and efficient.What we need is man's common sense !
written by Super Admin, October 24, 2009 21:57:55
Dear Semuaok, what in hell are you babbling about? It's bad enough I don't know what you are trying to say, but apparently neither do you know what I said. I suppose we have to allow you to talk even when you have nothing to say and don't quite know what you are saying. But maybe sometimes it is better you just keep quiet than confirm what people thought of you.
disagree 29
written by KotaDamansara73, October 24, 2009 22:02:53
Islam is just a word. And the bible, quran and the rest of the religious book are written by human being. There is no GOD. So don't use false pretense to run the country.
written by Super Admin, October 24, 2009 22:03:32
I like all this rhetoric and anti-Mahathir sentiments when it was during Mahathir's time that the non-Malays voted BN while the Malays voted opposition. We sure do have a lot of hot air in here don't we? The Malays have a saying: don't kick a ball that is punctured. It does not go far and you might hurt your foot. I have absolutely no time for 'heroes' who fight with fallen leaders but never dared open their mouths when that person was in power.
disagree 22
written by hellosunshine, October 24, 2009 22:24:12
RPK, don't make sweeping statements like non-Malays voted BN and Malays voted opposition. I am a non-Malay and I know many of my non-Malay friends voted opposition when Mahathir was in power. Didn't non-Malays were thrown into Kamunting too in Operation Lallang? And if Malays voted for opposition then Mahathir would have been deposed by the opposition since the Malays were and is still the majority race. smilies/shocked.gif
written by cheekhiaw, October 24, 2009 22:34:48
As Isaac Asimov said, throughout history religions had little to offer to actual human progress other than nice and comforting words. Even then they said nothing about slavery that was happening right in front of those so-called messengers.

If he is still around, he would have said the same about Che Det.
written by Rock, October 24, 2009 22:45:11
KotaDamansara73..you are not only surrounded with darkness as far as hidayat (divine guidance) is concerned but blind in history.

Yes, mahathir has said it well and I got no problem about it. But I just can't see why he had to say it now. When he was PM, I guess he was too busy making his cronies and family members super rich! Corruption..apa nama..mana ada .itu anwar tumbuk bikin lebam mata sendiri lah.. RPK, I know you intended well....but..
written by jangantipu, October 24, 2009 22:48:37
Super Admin,

Sorry to interrupt. The fallen leader is not that "fallen". He wields such
great power that Pak Lah has to fall. Still is.

Maybe, most of us took a long, long time to open our eyes to realize our stupidity. Better late than never.
written by Semuaok, October 24, 2009 23:16:16
"The Malays have a saying: don't kick a ball that is punctured. It does not go far and you might hurt your foot."

RPK you quote crack me up so much that I have to reply with a "chinese" quote

Don't kick the ball that is over inflated. It might bounce back and hit you.
written by rakyatengah, October 24, 2009 23:27:05
I am totally agree with Mahathir and you. Somehow, mahathir says actually same as ex-perompak said merompak itu merbahaya. He himself easily give a bad image to Islam and Muslim by saying so.

We muslim seem have lost the purpose of Islam existence. Islam came not to create some sort of Golden Age, It came in as simple as a guide for human, for those who want to follow. But most muslim have been misled from it original route. And some didn't even want to follow. I am also agree with few commentators that achievement do not relate at all with religion. It al about Hardwork. And some said take out the religion. But Islam(for muslim only) have draw a straight line for them to live with. Actually now what happen to malays when no religion inside their soul.

I am not defend malays or muslim, but it is ISLAM what i am defending on.
written by Ranulaw, October 24, 2009 23:43:32
"The Golden Age of Islam began to decline when the religionists started to oppose the Rulers who they viewed as too ‘Secular’. The religionists wanted more Islamisation and less ‘infidel’ influence. In other words, if it came from the non-Muslims, it must be rejected as un-Islamic."

This is a very important observation & is still very much prevalent now. Imagine even the great Mahathir has to mince his words as is observed by RPK,
"He would never dare say this, as would be the case for many Muslims."

This to me is the biggest threat to non-Muslims. Even knowledgeable & influential Muslims fear to speak out against the "religionists". The exception to this is of coz RPK but unfortunately in M'sia, RPK is not officially recognised as her knowledgeable & influential spokesman. In fact RPK is trying to tell us what he thinks Mahathir is trying to say. I hope the Perkim audience is reading here because they may not infer the same meaning from Mahathir.
written by Just Gan, October 24, 2009 23:49:28
Super Admin,
Are you so naïve and ill-informed to make the following statement? - “ no time for 'heroes' who fight with fallen leaders but never dared open their mouths when that person was in power.” Mahathir is a “fallen leader”? If he is a fallen leader, please explain the following:
•Why is that all civil suits against Mahathir are thrown out?
•How is that Badawi, the PM and UMNO president, could be hounded out of office by Mahathir?
•How is that Najib appointed the unimpressive idiot Mukhriz who lost the UMNO youth leader race and did not appoint Khairy to any cabinet post
•How is that Mahathir can continue to make all kinds of statements, including against Najib/UMNO as in the case of the choice of candidate in the Bagan Pinang by-election, and no one even reprimands him?
•How is it that Mahathir can get away with his lame excuse that he couldn’t remember anything during the Lingam-tape RCI ?
•Mahathir can roam the length and breadth of the country and say anything he likes and nothing happens to him?
•Etc, etc.

I was aware of the evil being inflicted by the tyrant Mahathir when he was PM. But there was no way for powerless people like to me to show our disgust and anger except in the GE during the despot’s tenure - I have never voted BN. Access to the Internet was limited when the evil Mahathir was in power. There was hardly any way in which people could express their disgust with the tyrant - any wrong statement and it will be Kamunting. Now that the Internet is easily available, we are able to express our views about the despot, Najib and the evil UMNO openly. Aren't you doing the same through MT? Are you a coward for doing so?

It is our responsibility to expose the ones who are destroying this country and bring them to justice. Heading the list by a huge margin is none other than the evil corrupt criminal Mahathir. No one dares to expose him. Even a civil suit against the tyrant gets thrown out of the court because the judges, AG, polices, etc. are all beholden or terrified of the so called fallen despot. The courts, AG, police, sultans, Najib or anyone from the govt or even the opposition cannot take on the all-powerful syaitan Mahathir. It is people like you and me and our constant exposure of Malaysia's no. 1 criminal's evil deeds that may have some impact at least in the Rakyat's court. When the Rakyat become fully aware of the evil inflicted on them by the syaitan Mahathir, they'll shun him and rejoice when the tyrant finally dies. That would be the punishment for the evil corrupt despot Mahathir in this life. He will die a miserable man shunned by the people. He will be treated like a leper. There is no forgiveness for this evil criminal because he has not done anything to do undo the evil he has inflicted on us, and has not even asked for forgiveness from the Rakyat and people like Anwar he has so badly wronged. Instead he continues to spew venom and racism and is doing everything possible to ensure his evil legacy continues and a PMship for his moronic son Mukhriz. I have no doubt that when Mahathir dies, he will go straight to Hell.
written by Super Admin, October 25, 2009 01:07:48
Dear hellosunshine, you mean like the sweeping statements about Islam?
written by Super Admin, October 25, 2009 01:09:48
Dear Just Gan, you mean those 5 million eligible voters not registered to vote are already registered? Fantastic! In that case I withdraw my comment.
written by Super Admin, October 25, 2009 01:13:12
Dear Rock, yes, and the Malays want the ISA to be retained because they feel Malaysia needs such laws to defend Malay interests and dignity. And I am sure they mean well too as did America when they whacked Iraq to free Iraq of Saddam Hussein at the cost of countless lives.
written by LukeJr, October 25, 2009 01:53:21
religion is overrated. ppl spill blood for it, and will continue to spill more blood.

just my 2 cents. no offense to those religious ppl but... i think it's just not worth it to have so much fights and disputes over it.

listen to Imagine by John Lennon. i think i'm agree with him, though most of u here dont. no offense, just my point of view
written by johnT, October 25, 2009 02:19:08
Mahathir is a money and power worshipper, religion is just his mask. but i don't want to say everything he done is bad, At least he done a good thing for Anwar, He have kick Anwar out of the drum of sin so Anwar todays is 100 times better than before, Because of Mahathir ,Anwar no more a racist anymore compare to when he is in umno. So I hope Mahathir will kick him self out of the drum of sin before it is too late.
written by temanmu, October 25, 2009 04:58:31
Spot on!

Such is the rise & fall of empires. If China had colonial ambitions during Cheng Ho's expeditions, we would probably be writing this in Chinese now instead of in English! But who is to blame for this? The Chinese themselves shut the doors to the outside world! Same thing here.

Interesting too, Cheng Ho was a Muslim, his expeditions pre-dated Columbus and his ships were many times larger than Columbus'.
written by temanmu, October 25, 2009 05:37:59
And...

Seems TDM is repenting his old ways... wasn't his own long administration marked with "cruelty, power abuse, corruption, inefficiency, oppression of others and the like"!

So many years as PM but the situation became worse! Is he lecturing himself here?
written by PresleyP, October 25, 2009 06:35:37
It is during Mahathir time, the Quota System that drove a lot of us to cari makan outside Malaysia.
A lot of Muslim preaching in the colleges were about bad things of the non-Muslim / Malay. There has been more than a generation of Malays being brain-washed with the negative impression of anti non-Malay.
He used the ISA to the fullest. This iron fist technique shun a lot of people from criticising him.
Everytime prior to election, all newspaper paper would come out with the indirect warning that if they didn't vote for BN, there would be another May
Corruption was very open during his time (him and Daim) even at internationa level.
It was during his time that I think that Muslim are no good (forgive my naive perception). And I look at Western world where there are a lot of freedom and no discrimination against race and religion. I seemed to think that Christians are more fair than Muslim. Yeah, his preaching seemed to be impressive, but what he did was bad for the image of Islam.

Of course it is RPK who enlighten me a lot about Islam and his novel deed that makes me change my mind about Islam. (do I sound like sucking arse)

Yes, I agree with Super Admin, I had no balls to criticize him when he was in power. Where else could I voice my view during those days when internet and blogging was very foreign to me.

written by Rock, October 25, 2009 07:35:35
I suppose in Mahathir's era..all bumis are equal but some bumis are more equal than others. And all the times, all malays are equal, but UMNO's malays are luckier than others. And Chinese and Indian are unequal to malays UMNO, but the selected few can get filthy rich from them...about Islam? mahathir wanted its values without being Islamic..analogically he wanted sweetness without sugary substance, hotness (pedas) without chilly...where got road man! Cakap tak serupa bikin.
written by temenggong, October 25, 2009 07:35:42
This is a very good article Pet, and you are spot on about the muslim world is still in an isolationist dark age by their own decision.

It was the same with Japan, China and India too. But the Meiji emperor saw Japan's backwardness and led reforms in 1869. In China, Dr. Sun Yat Sen led the reforms. In India, Raja Ram Mohan Roy pleaded with the British in 1836 to introduce english education to 'bring the Indians out of the darkness'. In Thailand in the 1930s, their king had to force people by edict to wear shoes. The rest is history. Today, Japan, China and India are the growing and leading nations, confident and secure, and with their culture, languages and religions flourishing. They are destined to be superpowers and eclipse the current powers. Whereas the entire islamic world is still in the dark ages.

For the malays in this country, it takes just one step; learn english! It is up to the malaysian leaders to show leadership and reintroduce english medium education to take the community out of their intellectually isolationist stance.
written by vox populi, October 25, 2009 07:55:42
The message is great and high-sounding. But the messenger is a racist of the highest order! Let's call a spade, a spade. We don't hate anybody if there is no cause for it. Mamak Kutty's excesses and disrespect for democratic institutions and principles made Malaysia what it is today - rampant corruption, dubious and selective enforcement of the country's laws, rising crime rate, loss of investor confidence and above all, the injustice and denial of equal treatment for the vast majority of Malaysians (I don't mean just the non-Malays but also the Malays who do not happen to be UMNOputras).

I know about the religion, having lived in a country that its leaders professed to be Islamic and but did the most un-Islamic things imaginable. Need I know more?
written by eeyaw, October 25, 2009 08:15:35
Yes I agree with Wolf about religions as a matter for the heart & we are doom if we keep saying it will make a Nation prosper. If a person or leader has evil intentions he or she will not make a Nation great regardless of whether he lives in a true Islamic or Christian society. What makes a nation great is Freedom of Expression, Rule of Law, Equal Treatment, Corruption Free Society etc. Lack of all these attributes are what fails Malaysia no thanks to Umno.
written by Wave33, October 25, 2009 09:05:39
One of the worst suppression in history is from China.

Most of the first invention came from China. The largest from China too. If you watch Dicovery channel, you would be amaze on what came out China. China problem is not Islam is the Muslim, opps... I mean the problem is the Emperor. The Emperor has set the country into dark ages. If not, China would be much powerful than USA and Russia. China has closed it doors and burn it ships, even all archive scientific and knowledge book were burnt too.

Another burning in the modern era from Mao, the communist has burn up a lot of knowledge and continue with closed door policy. China has been suppress not by Islam but by Muslim, opps... sorry again it is the Emporer, Mao, people in power, by human, Muslim is a term for human.

We have another human in power in Malaysia for 23 years, using dictatorship to run the country. Malaysia has plenty of resources, that can make the rakyat a very rich nation. As again, it is not Islam but Muslim mamak that sent us to the dark ages.

Mamak is a great scholar, the best scholar of all Prime Minister. His intellectual surpass all politician for generations to come. The mamak has succumb to the dark forces of greed and power. He has made Malaysia, a name worldwide to be notice and the same time created a dark ages in governance of Judiciary, Economy and Excutive.

No it is not Islam, it is the MUSLIM mamak.
written by hellosunshine, October 25, 2009 09:36:21
RPK, Did you or I make sweeping statements on Islam? On some munafik Muslims, yes I agree I did hentam them but you or I never hentam Islam per se. I know some people are trying to push Mahathir up back on the pedestal, where he had fallen (was that what you meant?), for reasons best known to themselves. Some people would kiss Mahathir's hands or whatever part of his anatomy but the gross abuses and damages that he had done to our education system, open racism, open corruption, cronyism culture, nothing done to elevate the poverty of the rural Malays, natives of Malaya and North Borneo, a bloated and inefficient civil service etc etc. Mahathir's negatives far outweighs the positives that he had achieved during his 22 years of dictatorship. I remember the fear he instilled in all the rakyat when he was in power where he could beat down the royals, his DPM or anybody who dared speak against him. Nuff said. smilies/tongue.gif
written by Sudahlah tu, October 25, 2009 09:44:32
si mamak tua ini tidak boleh mati begitu sahaja ....
segala kezaliman dan perbuatan ketidak-perikemanusiaannya telah merosakkan kehidupan serta perpaduan tamaddun rakyat bumi Malaysia termasuk Sabah & Sarawak.
kita tidak mahu dia boleh mati dengan mudah .... biar dia panjang umur sampai dia tidak rela hendak bernyawa.
biar dia bangun setiap hari untuk mendengar ataupun melihat orang-orangnya mati dahulu sebelumnya.
biar dia rasa apa itu kehilangan seseorang yang dikasihi.
biar dia kena siapa Allah Yang Maha Berkuasa sehingga dia hidup dalam ketakutan dan tidak dapat tidur langsung tetapi tidak dapat mati.
biar dia tahu siapa nenek moyang kita yang telah menyumbang nyawa mereka demi bumi Malaysia.
biar dia bercakap dosa,berbohong zalim dan mengumpulkan binatang - binatang syaitan ke dalam kandangnya agar Allah dapat menghukum mereka satu per satu dengan berat dan parah.
saya lebih suka tengok muka mamak tua ini setiap kali orang-orang kesayangannya mati dengan dahsyat satu per satu ... inilah hajat saya sebagai rakyat Malaysia dan saya berdoa setiap hari agar segala kesakitan,kepahitan,keseksaan,kedukaan,kesempitan dan kehilangan yang pernah saya harungi .... dikembalikan 100X kepada si mamak tua ini dan jangan biar dia mati begitu sahaja melainkan kesemua orang-orangnya mati dahulu.
written by hellosunshine, October 25, 2009 09:46:28
Dear temenggong, Mahathir and the umnoputras will never allow the majority Malays to be properly educated in Malay, let alone English. Look at science subject. Reason is, they want the Malays to be forever dependent on the umnoputras for the scraps they throw at them and in the meanwhile, the umnoputras send their children to international schools and overseas for English education and degrees so that they can take over their parents' places in power and continue the tradition of pillaging. It's happening right before our eyse, mate. smilies/wink.gif
written by residentsniper, October 25, 2009 11:39:53
We used to be a country with a huge potential to be one of the best in the world, may it be in economic, education, social or cultural sense.

That is, until the Tun Kutty came along and totally destroyed all that.

Do I blame him? No. Not exactly. I do, however, blame each and every one of us Malaysians for being blind for 22 years, allowing the Destroyer of Malaysia sit in his throne like an emperor.

And the sad thing is that we are still just as blind today, if Bagan Pinang is any indication.

Pete wants us to listen to the man, instead of digging up history. Well Pete, sorry no can do on this. Tun Kutty does not have a drop of credibility left in that sorry body of his, and he gets zero respect out of most of us.

Even you Pete, the Hero of the Rakyat, will not be able to salvage the poor sod's image. So I suppose your time will be better spent elsewhere.
written by Rozlan, October 25, 2009 14:56:56
Dr Mahathir said Perkim's role in propagating Islam was also very clear in that before trying to bring Islam to the public, its members must be shining examples of the values and teachings of the religion.

I hardly see any activities preaching Islam done by Perkim.Usually it is the new convert initiatives going to Perkim asking for guidance.You see UMNo had no interest in preaching Islam.They felt those no muslims who want to convert just want the bumiputra status even though Prophet Muhammad had taught not to question .

Jabatan Ugama Islam is under the Sultans.The Sultans usually will elect somebody from UMNO who had no interest at all with Islamic development.He is more interested with fat salary and other perks.Doing nothing is Jabatan Ugamas Islam main KPI.We wonder why the Sultans elected such people? The answer is the Sultan himself despite holding the "Chief of Islam" have no interest in Islam..

written by alfchuah, October 25, 2009 21:59:07
I respect you and what you do very much RPK but I can't agree with you on Mahathir. He's the most cunning and refuse-to-die hag; whatever that comes out of his foul mouth has "a prawn behind the rock". He doesn't say things for free and not for his own benefit.

I don't see him doing anything that is progressive Islamically and anything that might bring back the Golden Age, other than being the president of some clubs.

I would have loved if this piece of article wasn't inspired by Mahathir but you.
written by Ho Lee Man, October 25, 2009 22:38:54
Galileo was an Italian physicist, mathematician, astronomer, and philosopher.
His inventions include the telescope ,thermometer and microscope ,and mathematical theories used today.
His theory of planet earth revolves around the sun ,contradicted the church's belief of the sun revolves around the earth.
The church imprisoned him ,and ostracised his theory as heresy.
This what happen ,when the church becomes the state.
UMNO's interpretation of Islam is parallel to the Roman Catholic church during Galileo's era.
I wonder ,how many genius of the future in Islamic nations ,were suppressed by the muslim clergic?

written by Steven Ong, October 26, 2009 00:19:34
Yes, what Mahathir said is right, minus the Islamic thing. The fact that no Islamic nation is advance, modern and strong already tells you that Islam and its doctrines are at fault. But yet many Muslims choose to believe that Islam can propel them forward and the results is castraphobic and sad. Many began to turn to suicide and killing to vent their frustration. When its just a simple step by analysing the facts and learning from the good of those advance nations.
written by Aria, October 26, 2009 06:23:00
Mahathir had his chance for so many years to do what he said “-- An administration led by Muslims must be guided by Islamic values and be fair in all matters, free from corruption, respect laws and show concern for all communities, said former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad.”
But let us call a spade a spade...Mahathir is a hypocrite. He was the biggest racist and corrupt person in Malaysia while he ruled. Now it is too late to right what you did wrong Mahathir.
written by batsman, October 26, 2009 10:15:09
I am all for learning from each other whatever the other's background as long as it is on an equal basis with respect for each other. When the other is all powerful and forcing "learning" down my throat, it is a different matter altogether.
written by jalapeno, October 26, 2009 14:28:31
Regardless whether what the old man have to say is right or wrong, I simply do not want to hear a word from his big mouth. Sorry, I am just allergic to hypocrites.
written by born2reign, October 27, 2009 10:50:36
RPK, great piece on civilisation.

A word about Mahathir. He is The One that says the right thing, and does the opposite. If a father goes public and speak of disciplining children and showing them love, then goes home and practice child abuse and allowing his kids to smoke and drink, what do you think of this father? Is he a good loving father or is he a great liar?

Mahatahi talks about justice and civilisation and education, yet he practically abolished English, gave NEP to the Malay race to abuse them and their future generations, and gave much wealth to his own family and sons.

Sure Mahathir is much more intelligent and polished than Zulkifli and Hasan Ali. But all are Fathers of Oppression.

Talk is cheap Mahatahi. Practise what you preach.
written by CatV5, October 27, 2009 13:49:13
I guess that's what happens when you lie a lot... in the end especially when you're old, you will talk lies that seemed believable to you but not to the others... as all other human skills... lying skills can become rusty too...