Home arrow From Around The Blogs arrow Photos released by MBSA on the demolished "temple"

Photos released by MBSA on the demolished "temple" PDF Print
Friday, 23 October 2009 22:51

SEE MORE PHOTOS HERE

The demolished temple that never was

The Shah Alam City Council (MBSA) said today an illegal structure demolished by its enforcement officers on Wednesday cannot be called a Hindu temple, “by any stretch of the imagination”.

Deputy Mayor Mohtar Hani said the structure in Persiaran Kerjaya, Jalan Glenmarie, Seksyen U1, Shah Alam, was a place where gamblers went to get predictions for 4D or numbers and not a house of worship.

Pictures of the site distributed to the press today showed Chinese deities and altars, along with a picture of a Hindu deity, in what looked like an old oil palm estate.

An appeal letter from the “temple” caretaker, K. Muniandy, asking for a month’s grace period to move, dated Feb 19, described the site as a “Tokong Datuk” or deity altar.

The revelations by MBSA today cast doubts on a statement by MIC president Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu, who yesterday denounced the demolition of the “temple”.

He said the demolition of the Mathurai Veeran temple was an act of treachery by Pakatan Rakyat (PR) against the Hindu community.

However MBSA councillor K. Uthayasoorian today said he was disappointed that MIC was resorting to such tactics for political mileage.

“They have twisted the facts,” he said, adding the embattled Indian party, which has lost the support of the majority of the community, was using the incident for its political survival.

written by Arowana, October 23, 2009 23:10:40
The evidence by way of photograph and video is a good way of MBSA to justify it's action against these illegal setups.

Although I support MBSA actions, careful and fair execution for demolition must always be observed in a respectful manner on the deities.

Samy Vellu can hang his balls now as he has nothing left.
agree 134
written by Kampong, October 23, 2009 23:23:14
Why is there a "temple" at almost every road corner in this country? The Hindu community please enlighten us on this. I don't see many temples in the US, Canada, and most other western countries where there are large Hindu populations. As a matter of fact, I don't see ANY illegal temples in these countries because the minute they went up, they would be torn down. Looks to me the fewer temples you have, the better living standards you enjoy like those in the western countries. Maybe it was time to use your resources to build more libraries and schools instead of temples, maybe then we won't see a disproportionate number of violent crimes from this community.
agree 141
written by Hakim Joe, October 23, 2009 23:40:36
Hindraf 18-point memorandum - Item no. 10

Stop the indiscriminate unconstitutional and unlawful demolitions of Hindu temples, crematoriums and burial sites in Malaysia. All existing Hindu temples, crematoriums and burial sites be granted state land and permanently gazetted as Hindu temple reserves as has been done for all Islamic places of worship and burial sites. Compensation at RM10 Million per temple be paid by the UMNO controlled Malaysian Government for the 15,000 Hindu temples demolished up to date over the last 50 years.

Look at the picture - anyone want to tell me that it is worth RM10,000,000.00?

written by malgal, October 24, 2009 00:05:20
mountain out of a molehill, ye mole.
written by fireduck, October 24, 2009 01:04:34
That's funny. Can we deduce from Semi's statement that he actually 'worship' those 4-D latuks? smilies/cheesy.gif
written by storm62, October 24, 2009 01:04:52
hindu temple? shah alam?...funny...where's the S23 cow head protesters?

written by Richfyf, October 24, 2009 01:44:13
Emmm the saying goes that they will never win the Football World cup. Every time they get a corner they will either set up a teh tarik stall or a temple!!!
written by Davy McChester, October 24, 2009 02:45:49
Kampong,
Your point is very enlightening. A fair playing level would be to have something like the suraus,(or chapels)which are in the hundreds throughout Malaysia ,Pakistan,India,Western Airports. Maybe the Hindus should consider this option. Problem solved. Temple & idol breaking is not a new trend ,anyway.
written by leftygoodfella, October 24, 2009 04:40:10
"A fair playing level would be to have something like the suraus,(or chapels)which are in the hundreds throughout Malaysia ,Pakistan,India,Western Airports."

Actually, muslims don't need suraus at the airport neither (or shopping malls etc) because the fact is; muslims can pray anywhere. whenever prayer time comes, they can just set up a congregation at the middle of the airport, call 'azan and just pray. they don't actually need places of worship being built everywhere. but, would you be comfortable if the muslims do that? i never see surau as a place of worship. it's just a place to contain the muslims, where the muslims can set up a congregation comfortably, and others can live their life comfortably without the worries of their children 'wanting to convert after witnessing a prayer'. smilies/tongue.gif that was a joke, take it lightly..
written by Rozlan, October 24, 2009 06:51:52
Illegal hindu temples are bigproblem anywhere in Malaysia.I mean illegal because it was biult on others land be it govt or private lands without permission of its owners.The hindus built them according their whim and fancy.They feel any big tree is their site for their temples.Some of the illegal temples are just 50-100 meters apart.Even when an approved sites were given to their temples they still keep on building the illegal onesthem anywhere as they wish.The Hindu had more temples than than they could worship.In fact I believe they want each of them to have to have a temple of their providing it is on others land.

The muslims had been complaining about the problem for year.It fall in to UMNO deaf ears.UMNO know about the muslims feelings.So they capitalsied it to their advantage in Shah Alam temple fiasco.

WE dont have much problem with sikh ,chinese or chrisitian churces because they were built in approveds land.The hindu communities took things negatively when.Each time the authorities wan to remove theu it was considered anti hindu acts.They will throw tantrums and threat not to vote for the ruling party.

If the Hindus felt that that kind of act will do the Hindu community good than go ahead with the actions.
written by SiHangChai, October 24, 2009 08:40:23
Bodoh, when it is called a "Tokong Datuk", then gambling den-lah. This is the problem with all of us. Why can't ask for proper place to build worshipping place. If those local municipal reject, then we all do like those Shah Alam bastard, 'cow head' did. This time, we figure out something instead of cow to throw at those who run the municipal.
written by Ghifarix, October 24, 2009 09:02:18
Stop crying wolf!
Exploiting the opposition thus reversing our gains.
It took me great pains to type this little piece, but I have come to the point that all CONSIDERED truth must be told.
It is high time Hindu leaders speak out against indiscriminate construction of these temples. Lets not be hypocrites, this is a practice which have almost become a religion in itself e.g. ad hock and arbitrary claims and subsequent construction of these building-lets be fair, the practice have become an eye sore and provocation to others. If the Hindu community wishes to ransom their ballots for these false claims sooner than later other communities will take matters into their own hands. Lets face it we have more Hindu temples per capita than any denomination. Its not about any gomen indiscriminately destroying temples rather the other way around. Ok; lets practice what the Hindus have practiced in Malaysia for the past 50 years i.e. every Muslim Christian Buddhist Taoist Sikh and other have their dream - which is to build a temple of worship wherever and whenever they so desire...No need say more.
written by Ghifarix, October 24, 2009 09:46:01
Time the HINDUS speak out against the injustices and inequality amongst their own community, the CASTE which is perpetuated by non other than those amongst you. Time they break out from the self pity and stop the blame game, drop the inclination to violence and walk proud as free men so the stereotyping will bear testimony against the indiscrimination they claim and we can all battle this together in the name of humanity. Every community have their inherent faults and they influenced other communities because of the representation of their leaders. Sammy Velu and his ilk never seek changes for the Hindu peoples except to exploit and enrich their own persons and those in communion with them.
Racism is a scourge perpetuated and exploited inter/intra community from all sections of our society and the greater Hindu suffer most but that does not say that they are blameless. its time a Nik Aziz/Anwar Ibrahim rise among the Hindu as well as all the other ethnic community and first reach out to their own. The launching of Makkal Sakhti is the most livid example where UMNO and fallouts- from MIC another racist party sought to extend the racist political divide - if the latter isn't true prove me wrong. Having said that why not call for 3 Prime Minister all at the same time so we Malaysians can continue to PRIME our racist behavior way into to the next millennium.
No Apologies.
written by loosecannon, October 24, 2009 12:29:53
Samy is upset because he's deprived of getting his 4-D prediction.
written by malgal, October 24, 2009 14:01:51
sam angry to get attention. no one heeds him much these days, so anything to get attention.
he get slipper garland then real attention.
written by magen, October 24, 2009 17:42:57
Dei stupid morons what kind of faith is this??? I am Hindu and I condem this fcuking worship that agaist true Hindism
written by jason, October 24, 2009 17:55:32
Ooi Sammy, you call this a temple?. I won't be surprise the next time might be a JAMBAN!!!.
written by chanakyan, October 24, 2009 22:07:20
hahaha.. this is what is meant by demolishing temples in malaysia.. 50% of what hindraf saying is something similar to this? The mistake is that these should have been demolished when it mashroomed itself.. not now.. samy is really disappointed, especially MIC as hole.. smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by miwaki, October 24, 2009 22:08:34
A temple is a place of worship and it doesn't have to look like a temple.As far as I'm concerned,the above is "Natuk kong temple" and it is still a place of worship for the followers of "Natuk Kong".This "being" is being worship by Malaysians,regardless of color and creeds.
written by sataysticks, October 24, 2009 23:43:26
Looks like a grave for the fake speaker of Perak!
written by storm62, October 25, 2009 03:23:24
if you call this temple then what do you call khinzir toyol's mansion, pig styl?
written by temanmu, October 25, 2009 05:19:00
Is that an UMNO temple?
written by Alice, October 25, 2009 12:03:33
God should live in our hearts.Our actions should show that God lives in us.Forget about temples,churches,mosques etc. These are just forms and often gross misuse of these places takes place among man.Brainwashing,teaching man to hate man, takes place in these places of worship. smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif smilies/sad.gif
written by Stormquest, October 25, 2009 14:01:30
The compensation of RM10 million that Hakim Joe points out as per the HINDRAF memorandum is invalid. This is not HINDRAF, it’s CHINDRAF! Got pictures and statues of Chinese deities, along with one solitary staute of a Hindu deity mah! Also, it’s a place where gamblers went to get predictions for 4D. Therefore must charge RM 8888 million compensation! Eight is lucky number. Go ask LGE’s I-Ching/Feng Shui masters. They will definitely agree. They are so expert that they can even say that the CM’s residence is ‘perfect’ for insects!
http://thestar.com.my/news/sto...c=nation
written by Stormquest, October 25, 2009 14:02:31
Link didn't go through earlier smilies/grin.gif
http://thestar.com.my/news/story.asp?file=/2009/7/7/nation/4269654&sec=nation
written by mikewang, October 25, 2009 14:48:37
If what is shown in the photograph is called a temple, I can build one every day. smilies/smiley.gif
written by The Hammer, October 25, 2009 17:43:34
Looks like an incomplete open type public toilet!
One can see these kind of structures in India!
SemiValue stint with JKR has blurred his image of a public toilet. Now he sees these structures as "temples"!
Here is a picture!