Then and now PDF Print
Friday, 23 October 2009 17:21

This is the crux of the whole issue. RM200 billion means nothing if only RM30 billion goes to the people because of the high running cost and evaporation rate.

Malaysia cuts spending in 2010

MALAYSIA'S government cut spending in its 2010 annual budget to rein in a ballooning deficit as it forecasts the economy will rebound to grow 2-3 per cent after a recession this year.

Prime Minister Najib Razak's speech to parliament on Friday will announce details of the budget, which is expected to include plans to revamp expensive fuel subsidies and measures to woo foreign investors including a 'second wave of privatization' of state run companies.

The Finance Ministry in a report said development spending will fall by 4.4 per cent to RM51.2 billion next year with spending to taper off following the completion of some major projects.

For the first time in years, the government's operating expenditure will be trimmed sharply by 13.7 per cent to RM138.3 billion following cuts to fuel subsidies, services spending and grants to statutory bodies, it said.

This will bring the federal government's budget to RM189.5 billion, down 11.3 per cent over 2009. With the reduced spending, it said the fiscal deficit is expected to narrow to 5.6 per cent of gross domestic product in 2010 from 7.4 per cent forecast for this year.

The government also narrowed its forecast for the contraction in the economy this year to 3 per cent following pump priming that included new spending of RM67 billion. It earlier expected the economy to shrink 4 to 5 per cent. – AP

Yes, that is what was reported today. But what we should focus on is what it costs to run this country as opposed to what it costs to develop the country.

At the time of Merdeka, for every RM4 spent, RM1 went towards running cost and RM3 towards development. Today, for every RM4 spent, RM3 is for running cost and only RM1 goes towards development.

So, out of about RM200 billion spent, only about RM50 billion goes towards development as what the report above shows. In the past it would have been the other way around.

Tunku Abdul Rahman is said to be not that smart a leader compared to the leaders of today. Maybe. Maybe not. I am not too sure because I never interacted with him or worked for him. But at least he spent RM1 on the ‘machinery’ and RM3 on the people. Today, the ‘smarter’ leaders spend RM3 on the ‘machinery’ and only RM1 on the people.

So who is smarter?

Okay, you may argue that Malaysia did not see too much development in the early days of Merdeka so we are not quite comparing apples to apples. Again, that may be true. But imagine if this was a company and we spent RM150 billion on the running cost of the company and only RM50 on goods in trade? Would that not be lopsided?

We have a bloated civil service. More than a million civil servants (including the diplomatic service, security agencies, etc.) against a working population of 10 million people is just too much. That comes to about 13% or so.

I have in fact written about this many times before and even offered comparisons to other countries, which has a far lower ratio compared to Malaysia -- whether it is Indonesia or the United States.

Then there is the ‘evaporation rate’, which is again very high. From the Auditor-General’s report every year we know that there is a very high ‘evaporation rate’. So, from the RM200 billion we spend we only get about RM150 billion worth in return. RM50 billion just ‘evaporates’ into thin air.

This is the crux of the whole issue. RM200 billion means nothing if only RM30 billion goes to the people because of the high running cost and evaporation rate.

Petronas has earned an estimated RM1,000 billion over the last 35 years. The people in the oil industry say it is more like RM2,000 billion but I am prepared to give the government the benefit of the doubt and place it at RM1,000 billion.

What have we shown for that RM1,000 billion? Can we see RM1,000 billion worth of development? Add up everything the government has built over the last 35 years and see how much they all come to. You will be hard-pressed to account for even RM300 billion.

That should be what Malaysians talk about, not what AP reported above.

Comments (36)Add Comment
written by malgal, October 23, 2009 17:28:34
give us back our money. we want a money back guarantee.
agree 143
written by cheehau, October 23, 2009 17:43:35
Actually, the high ratio of civil servants to working population is a result of the government taking the short-cut route to create employment for the people, particularly the bumiputras. The present government simply do not have the political will to slash down the ratio. Doing that would mean losing their core support base.
agree 259
written by Sterilizer, October 23, 2009 17:44:29
yes, YM RPK, you kept your eye on the ball this time. keep it up.
**pat** **pat** **pat** on your back.

now.. isn't it important that freedom of press such as article / opinions that may shape people's perception to filter through to the kampungs? afterall, 5,000 of them contribute to 1 seat. freedom of the press - top 10 things to fix!
written by fromamovingtrain, October 23, 2009 17:45:01
What do you expect if you keep paying RM43,000 for a laptop, RM45 for a screwdriver and RM2million to maintain a state gov's fleet of 12 cars. It is beyond repair and the AG's report was allowed to be published for political-spin reasons. There is much more than meets the eye. Like I have always said, watch the magician's OTHER hand.

The ONLY way to start the reform process is to wipe out this regime and replace it with PR, then maybe we can move it in the right direction and significant results should show after two terms. Moreover, now that they know their positions cannot be taken for granted anymore, ie they may lose in the next GE, there is all the more reason to personally fill up their pockets and of their families' now for generations to come.
agree 191
written by Huador, October 23, 2009 18:07:50

How to reduce expenses when everyonetheir in their own house need to be monitored by the government that they are legally married.The government also want to make sure that every glass of drinks in pub and entertainment places are not beer. The government also need to make sure that every janda are not engage in any sexual activities. All these cost money. I don't want to mention commission and corruption as it is well known.
written by Harpoon, October 23, 2009 18:11:03
On top of the high running cost and evaporation rate, the government officials in many departments also asking for kickbacks, undercounter money, backdoor entry fees and other non-recorded favor from as small as the 'F' class contractor to the 'A' list, from pimps to the underworld heads!

In the end, they in the 'running' offices will just keep milking the country and us dry!!
written by patycy, October 23, 2009 18:17:59
Our country worth as much as our Ringgits.
written by temanmu, October 23, 2009 18:19:09
Premier League (not jaguh kampung, kaki ayam, kaki bodek):

Speaking at a National Day dinner yesterday in his Tanjong Pagar GRC, he said: 'You vote in a Div 3 Government instead of a Div 1 Government, the whole economy will subside within three, four years. Finished.'

To vote anything but top quality into office could lead to, among others, job losses and falling property prices, he added. 'We will be worse than our neighbours because our neighbours have oil and gas, palm oil and many other things...We have none of these.'

He also warned about how money politics in some countries had bled talent from ruling parties there.

Singapore had avoided this situation, he said, because it had an 'above board' Government which chose MPs carefully.

'With each election, the quality of the MPs...is renewed, and we have a leadership that is able to match the rising standards of the population.'

http://www.straitstimes.com/Breaking+News/Singapore/Story/STIStory_267982.html
written by IbnAbdHalim, October 23, 2009 18:56:14
We've to kick UMNO/BN out in order to be better ruled. Too much corruption around. The country is heading towards bankruptcy.
written by SamYap, October 23, 2009 18:58:34
Ask Tun Mahathir, the so called father of modern Malaysia, and his children and his friends, where has all the money gone to? You can bet that he would claim he doesn't know or he has forgotten.
written by hellosunshine, October 23, 2009 19:16:45
Back then, we were not race or religion conscious. Visiting each others' homes within fear of breaching halal or haram and the civil service was manned by all races. Now, almost 80% of Muslims would not visit a non Muslim's home, patronize a non Muslim's food outlet even tho' it has a halal sign, Arab headgear and dressing is in fashion, civil service >95% Malays and what have you. However, are the above said present practices truly Islamic or racist? Are sins like corruption, cheating, extra-marital sex, robbery, snatching hand bags, murder etc condone by Islam? Of course not. It's the umnoputras and not the religion that is at fault. smilies/tongue.gif
written by cylee, October 23, 2009 19:54:00
Those 1 million are the save deposit for UMNO. UMNO will make sure those 1 mil kinzir in the kandang are always fat, greedy and dependent. If 1 mil are not enough, UMNO will import some more wild boar from their serumpun neigh
written by Dreamlander, October 23, 2009 21:04:04
WHY NOT WE PRIVATIZE A MAJORITY OF THE CIVIL SERVICE?
written by Eskay Lim, October 23, 2009 21:05:13
Why should Malaysians be subjected to the AG's annual report year in and year out?
Did we learn anything?
I don't suppose so but maybe raise our Blood Pressure a few points after going into a fit of scolding, swearing and cursing those cheats, thieves, robbers and recalcitrant corrupts in the government, on reading the report.
When will the gomen act?
Neither have we heard any noise from leaders of Umno, Gerakan, Mic, Mca, PPP. and those mosquito parties from Sabah and Sarawak.
Does silence mean that they condone and support corruption?
written by citizenmy, October 23, 2009 21:32:13
25% budget for Carpet purchase...
written by Rozlan, October 23, 2009 21:34:06
Tunku Abdul Rahman is said to be not that smart a leader compared to the leaders of today. Maybe. Maybe not. I am not too sure because I never interacted with him or worked for him. But at least he spent RM1 on the ‘machinery’ and RM3 on the people. Today, the ‘smarter’ leaders spend RM3 on the ‘machinery’ and only RM1 on the people.So who is smarter?

The current UMNO leaders are smarter.They know how to suck the country coffer dry and them blame the rakyat for the country decline..
written by cheekhiaw, October 23, 2009 21:35:28
The crux of the matter is that in a country run by thieves, more and more would want to become thieves resulting in higher and higher 'running cost' of feeding those thieves.

written by smalluncle, October 23, 2009 22:49:31
RPK, Just be patient.

1000 billion development is on the way.

few hundreds billions on a bridge to Indonesia. (Whatever for? Besides buying the name in Guiness Book for The Longest what the hack..... beside its impact to the evironment. Its better to build more top class colledges, hospitals )

few billion will go to blooted expenses (Which the DG never fail to update us) F1, F2, F3. wrongfully (or intentinally? as no one was held responsible after that?) calculated Bonuses

few billion here, there and there you have it,

1000 billion development! smilies/shocked.gif
written by asguard, October 23, 2009 22:51:43
Sorry to say.... they don't have very balance account... all they do is korek from place and put it another place... that is what we called budget ala barang naik!
written by Goostee, October 23, 2009 22:52:06
YM RPK,

Again SPOT ON ! Some time ago they were so proud that they privatised certain services and by so doing had purportedly reduced civil servants significantly from the 800,000 then. So, whatever happened to that SMART idea now ??? The only thing that I could see is that we, like idiots, have been paying the civil servants more and more bribes by way of endlessly higher salaries, unproductive bonuses, questionable pensions and numerous free incentives during and after sevices.
written by DontPlayGod, October 23, 2009 23:12:25
The Government service, inclusive of all departments, armed forces, and yes, including all Government-owned "privatised" companies like TNB, Telekoms, etc. act as one big welfare department for UMNO's cronies and supporters. Malays are sure to get a job in Government service. Hence it is not surprising that the Government employees ratio to private employees is the biggest in the world. This is how UMNO helps the Malays, by spoonfeeding them for doing very little or in fact no work.
Yet the Government servants want a hefty bonus, which UMNO will surely give to win over their master race.
written by DontPlayGod, October 23, 2009 23:16:09
Wow! UMNO is going to build another 6 UiTM campuses. Wonder where the graduates will end up after graduation. Of course the majority will go into government service doing very little or no work. This is of course bad for the development of their race. And I don't think the private sector will want to employ them, seeing that the quality of these graduates is very low.
written by raven1958, October 24, 2009 00:13:44
The Tunku may not have been smart but he had the right people parked in the right places. He kept stingy and strict Tan Siew Sin in his cabinet and kept monkeys like Mahathir out.

Now we all know what has happened to this country after the Mamak slipped in by conning the jolly Melayus..Bahnkrupt. Heck we are being governed by a murderer and his witchy wife..what do you expect..wake up...Malaysia is on the very very slippery road down to Somalia....
written by KUMON, October 24, 2009 00:19:08
Our currency is now called 'SHRINK-GGIT' smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif smilies/grin.gif
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 24, 2009 01:59:44
What have we shown for that RM1,000 billion? Can we see RM1,000 billion worth of development? Add up everything the government has built over the last 35 years and see how much they all come to. You will be hard-pressed to account for even RM300 billion.

thank you thank you thank you...for hitting the nail on the head...And all this while I was shouting for an answer from the most innocent prime minister of the century MaMOOOthir, " what happened to our OIL money"?? THE SILENCE WAS DEFEANING...!! and today he is shouting left right and centre to audit here and audit there!!!to take away the heat that is piling on him too...Thank thank you RPK......Can someone check how many proxy companies the Mamooothir is having in his Mamoooooland????
written by Daryl, October 24, 2009 05:19:55
This must be a joke. So, when 1MAlaysia laugh at US for giving out welfare we must take a hard look at ourselves how we give out welfare as well. Just give them a job that do nothing and pay them... smilies/smiley.gif
written by Taikohtai, October 24, 2009 07:36:38
Live rates at 2009.10.23 23:30:58 UTC
1.00 AUD = 3.11917 MYR

Return Flight Gold Coast - KL A$250-00 only.

HAPPY DAYS!!
written by sydput, October 24, 2009 09:18:11
Too muc central government intervention and control.
Ipoh town council, for example, can propose bus services but central govenment gives license. If the person in Ipoh does not pass central govenrment vetting, then he will not get bus license. All these slow down the services that could be done locally.
Same with everything else.
Why can't we have local TV and radio stations. Same with institution of higher learning. They are all central controlled and not meant for local industries.
By cutting bereaucracy and letting more power for locals to decide, our country will be effciently run and wealth can be spread out to the masses instead of being acculated by those in the corridors of power.
written by eeyaw, October 24, 2009 10:24:43
We Taxpayers or Shareholders should privatise the Civil Service with the departmental heads appointed on contract basis salary at market rate. If they don't perform give them a flick. As for the for the PM not more than 2 4-year terms as in America. We should also be able to remove the PM if 10% Voters call for a vote & a majority vote against his tenor. My wish list!
written by adan, October 24, 2009 14:56:58
RM 43000/- for a laptop worth around RM 6000/- Taking this as a Barang Naik standard .the 'evaporation rate' is more than 60%. RPK's calculation that RM 200/- billion 'works out' to around only RM 30/- Billion in the final analysis is mathematically sound and realistic.... though very very hurting and painful fot the common ordinary folks.!1
written by Rock, October 24, 2009 15:27:05
Tell me, How many people need to handle a purchase of published paper in government office? 1. Counter, inform the receptionist. 2. Go to next floor to find the cost of the paper. 3. Put in your order, they quoted its price. 4.Next counter to pay its cost. 5. Bring the receipt to purchase department to be endorsed. 5. Lastly, to the delivery counter, Take about 1/2 to 1 hour to locate, get and wrap. All are done by different people! Wow, it's man-power intensive industry!
written by CPY, October 24, 2009 20:57:55
At the time of Merdeka, for every RM4 spent, RM1 went towards running cost and RM3 towards development. Today, for every RM4 spent, RM3 is for running cost and only RM1 goes towards development.
In this case, every two ringgit goes to who's pockets? Dammit man! smilies/angry.gif PR! If we take over parliament we smoke(force them to take cigratte until they die) these ppl to death.
written by jangantipu, October 24, 2009 22:30:30
We demand that the person who billed/milked the government RM43000.00 for a lap top be charged in court! Please vote up if you agree.
written by justice seeker, October 25, 2009 17:04:12
Tunku Abdul Rahman is said to be not that smart a leader compared to the leaders of today. Maybe. Maybe not. I am not too sure because I never interacted with him or worked for him. But at least he spent RM1 on the ‘machinery’ and RM3 on the people. Today, the ‘smarter’ leaders spend RM3 on the ‘machinery’ and only RM1 on the people.

So who is smarter?

HATE TO SAY THIS BUT THE REAL SMART ALEC IS NAJIS. WHY??? BECAUSE HE IS MAKING RM 3 FOR HIS KIND WHILE THE STUPID PUBLIC IS HAPPY WITH THE RM 1 CRUMB HE THROWS TO THEM.
written by edwardh, October 26, 2009 02:20:08
You can save so much more if you go into projects like

1) PKFZ
2) High Commission for Submarine
3) High Commission for Helicopater
4) High Tadika fees
5) High purchase price in GLC purchase prices.

written by Aria, October 26, 2009 06:45:27
“RM50 billion just ‘evaporates’ into thin air”… due to corruption, project cost over runs of up to 100% or more, unnecessary projects and unnecessary purchases that run into the billions. Etc. etc.
How much of the RM$200 billion is Malaysia really going to get? Maybe $3billion for development if we are lucky.