Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Malaysia Inc. and turnaround management

Malaysia Inc. and turnaround management PDF Print
Friday, 23 October 2009 13:59

What is the top ten? I would say a failing education system, state-endorsed or institutionalised racism, abuse of power, corruption, wastage of public funds, lack of transparency and accountability, attitude problem, no civility or courtesy, serious crime problem, and arrogance, though not necessarily in that order.

Malaysia has launched many slogans in the past. Does anyone remember Malaysia Inc., Look East Policy, Buy British Last, and whatnot? Well, today I want to talk about Malaysia Inc., which is basically Malaysia Incorporated or about turning the country and government into a business ‘machine’.

Now, in a business, when it is failing or is suffering continuous losses over many years or the company is in disarray or the staff suffers from a low moral problem or the management lacks direction and innovation, etc., you call in the turnaround managers to assess the company as to what is wrong with it.

There may be many things wrong with the company. And the problem may be a combination of many things. And some problems are brought on or aggravated by other problems. But you can’t or need not solve all the problems. You just identify the top three, top four, or top five issues that contribute to about 80% of the problem.

Most companies suffer losses because of various reasons. First could be the product or service the company is dabbling in may be outdated or overpriced or the competition is just too great or the competitors are price-cutting and whatnot.

So you first evaluate the business of the company and see if it is still viable. The company may have been the leading horse-and-carriage business more than 150 years ago. Today, however, no one buys horses and carriages any more so this means your business is no longer viable in this day and age.

Electronic calculators were another rave, say 30 years ago. Today, however, people use computers to do their work and not electronic calculators and certainly not mechanical adding machines like in the 50s and 60s.

So, companies need to move on and keep up with the times. A business may have been great 50 years or 100 years ago. But unless it innovates and keeps up with technology and consumer demands it is going to be left behind.

And the same goes for countries, governments and political parties that do not understand the market and the demands of the consumers. They too will be left behind. And voters are ‘consumers’ just like any other consumers of perishables, clothes and whatnot. They want the latest and if you can’t offer the latest then the consumer goes elsewhere.

Assuming that the company has got its act together and is actually marketing a great product or service but it still loses money. You then search elsewhere for the problem. It is apparent it costs the company more money to operate than its income can cover. So it is a problem of cost being higher than revenue. And if you can’t increase the sales, or profit on the sales, you will have to reduce the operating cost instead.

You then look at the top three, four or five cost items, which would most likely come to about 80% of the company’s total cost. Say, the top cost is salaries and number two is bank interest while number three is rental, electricity and telephone charges while number four is travelling and entertainment. And these four items come to about 80% of the company’s total cost.

So you attack these four items and try to reduce the cost. Can you reduce bank borrowings by reducing your inventory and work on a JIT (just in time) basis? Say your sales are about RM1 million a month and you carry RM7 million in stocks. This means you have a seven months inventory, which is way too high. And that is why your bank interest is high. A JIT system means your stocks come in just in time to be delivered to the buyer and you carry maybe at the most 45 days worth of stocks.

So your sales people must be on the ball and able to forecast what they need just before they need it and they must move the stocks as soon as they come in. But you need a sales team that knows what it is doing and knows the market trend plus the buying habits of their customers. Lazy or stupid salesmen would not bother and this will end up with the company ordering and stocking items it actually does not need.

Salaries, again, need to be looked into to see whether you are overstaffed or you have three people doing the job of one person or you could automate certain things and reduce the need for all that manpower.

Does the company own assets it does not need or could actually get by with leasing assets such as cars, machinery, equipment, etc? And can some assets be sold to reduce the bank loans so that bank interest can be reduced? Does the company own the office, warehouse, factory, etc., and if they were sold they could actually wipe off the bank borrowings?

Sometimes, renting is cheaper than owning as the bank interest alone can come to as much as the rental cost. So you are actually not saving money by owning but instead tie up idle assets, which could be turned into cash. That is why many multinationals rather rent than own, especially in ‘unstable’ countries like Malaysia, Indonesia, etc.

Are your people travelling and entertaining too much but they bring back very little business in return? Sometimes the claims are higher than salaries so the staff may actually be living on overtime and claims.

Yes, these are the issues we need to look into in a turnaround exercise. We need to get our finger on the pulse and see how the company ticks and where it is not ticking properly. If we can do that the company can be turned around and brought back to viability.

And Malaysia Inc. is no different. It is a dying company. It is bleeding profusely and losing tons of money. The management is in disarray and lacks direction and innovation. The management is also milking the company. The moral of the staff is very low. And the market no longer believes in the product/service the company is selling, not to mention the product is so outdated and was only relevant during the time of Merdeka and is no longer relevant today.

But what does the management do? It keeps trying to flog a dead horse. And instead of attacking the top three, four or five cost items that contributes to 80% of the total cost, it sacks the tea lady, it abolishes the free coffee during coffee break, it terminates the contract to supply fresh flowers once a week every Monday, and all those other trivia that hardly come to 1% of the total cost. And it leaves the top three, four or five cost items that contribute to 80% of the total cost untouched.

And that is how the management is running Malaysia Inc. Worse still; it actually increases the cost in areas that are unnecessary. And the ‘independent directors of the board’, the opposition Members of Parliament, get sucked along.  And they too demand that the tea lady get sacked and the free coffee and fresh flowers get abolished.

Unfortunately, this is how some Members of Parliament and State Assemblypersons from the opposition are acting. They want to make Malaysia Inc. viable by controlling the sale of condoms and beer and by banning ‘sexy’ performers from coming to Malaysia. That is just the tea lady, coffee and flowers. That is not going to save Malaysia Inc. We need to address the bigger issues. We need to attack the top three, four of five items that suck 80% of the cost and is causing Malaysia Inc. to go down the drain.

This, neither the management nor the ‘independent board members’ seem to understand.

List down the top ten problems this country is facing. List down the top ten cost centres. And then attack the top three. Attack the top five if possible. But do not, I repeat, do not attack number 65 on the list. Number 65 can wait. In fact, number 65 may even disappear by itself once we attack the top three, four or five.

What is the top ten? I would say a failing education system, state-endorsed or institutionalised racism, abuse of power, corruption, wastage of public funds, lack of transparency and accountability, attitude problem, no civility or courtesy, serious crime problem, and arrogance, though not necessarily in that order.

Now, if we can attack those top ten items, in particular the top five or six, 80% of the country’s problems will be solved. And many of the other problems will also automatically solve themselves.

Can you see that condoms and beer is not amongst my list of top ten problems? I did not say they are not problems. I am saying they are not in the list of top ten. So people like the Member of Parliament for Kulim and all the others of his ilk better wise up. The market, meaning the voters, are no longer like the voters of 1957. The market has changed. What you are trying to sell, the buyers no longer want. And, unless you keep up with the times, the buyers are going to go elsewhere and you are going to be left behind.

Comments (50)Add Comment
written by eeyaw, October 23, 2009 14:35:47
Pete I salute you! Earlier articles disclose your "Legal Eagle" mind now a "Bean Counter".
As for that YB 'No to Condom & Beer' is barking for populist issues, not the most important issues that bedevil Malaysia ie trying to be a hero. The best way to counter such pest is to totally ignore him.
agree 152
written by bodohland_citizen, October 23, 2009 14:39:44
Top 3 identified areas that failing UMNO and being combated aggressively :

1) Candle lights vigil
2) Peaceful demonstration
3) Khalwat
written by Nunudada, October 23, 2009 14:54:11
This is a Government that can afford to turn a blind eye to any misdeed.Going the path of the globally accepted route is not in their agenda.They will send blokes like Shafie to defend our bad human rights record."THIS IS NOT OUR WAY"has been the mainstay of their mind-set.To have garnered so much power to do as they please shows the weakness and vulnerability of the Malaysian rakyat."Tidak Apa" thats the slogan appropriate for Malaysians.Anything goes as long as my affairs are not compromised.Well,Computers cost Rm 15,000.00 and a pencil Rm 10.00,and our beloved Government says all is well.The budget will ensure that Roti Canai and Teh Tarik prices do not exceed Rm 1.20.Malaysians will be happy with this and so will the same story go on.....! Wake up! Wake up!you blokes and to kick arse!
written by Rusty Hammer, October 23, 2009 14:55:58
Pete, today's article is spot on.In some cases when the changes does not occur, our people just migrate due to frustration and seek better future elsewhere ...
That's what have become of our beloved country.
written by OVERLORD, October 23, 2009 15:03:41
Pete, you don't even need to highlight a business model for that...simple common sense would be sufficient.....BN would be on top of the pile with regards to problems facing our nation......still can't believe they paid RM 40,000 dollars for a damn laptop, Toyols'lavish batik and Disney quest, a top cop worth millions,double tracking blunder, PKFZ, toys planes and subs etc. If you put the total cost the tax payer had to fork out since Mahathir's rule,well I guess the sums would be a couple of hundred billions.

In the case of PAS,I hope someone would knock some sense into their leaders....focus on the bigger picture rather than trivial matters that concerns civil liberty or personal choices....if some Muslim wanna drink beers, then let them!...it is between God and them at the end of the day.

LGE has led the way in terms of tangible prove on how a state/country can be managed.......truly a shinning light. i guess Khalid with his extensive experience and knowledge would be performing well too, but has been constantly dogged by a couple of drama queens and pretenders.....
written by malgal, October 23, 2009 15:07:13
i think such a company will soon be de-listed, bosses de-bossed, no?
written by Bigjoe99, October 23, 2009 15:28:41
I am quite surprise at your liberalism. I am not Malay and yet I would not put racism as the second biggest failure of this govt. No doubt I put the NEP as one of the top two reason for failure of BN govt BUT its not the racism per se but the corruption which is one and the same with NEP. I would have no problem with NEP only if they caveat it with only helping the poor Malays only. The problem is of course that is difficult to do and BN govt basically impossible..

For the rest, I would not argue particulary education. As Daim Zainuddin himself said, if education is taken care of, the Malay problems would be solved. So long as we have basically a poor system particularly for the rural areas which should have invested even more than urban areas, almost all problems regarding marginalised Malays will persist..
written by Sterilizer, October 23, 2009 15:34:20
What happened to freedom of press / speech ?
If this problem is fixed, all other problems will be fixed. It's because of no freedom of press that's when nothing ever get fixed.
Keep your eye on the ball YM RPK.
TQ
written by mick_err_stan, October 23, 2009 15:36:02
Most Government agencies are run by people not because of what they know but who they know. They have no management skills and their main agenda is to implement campaigns with the agendas of pocketing money through unnecessary commission or channeled to their cronies. This is the state of affair in Malaysia. As tax payers, we have to pay and pay and pay while the government pocket and pocket and pocket.......to all hard working Malaysian. WAKE-UP !!! time to change this government.
written by Frankfurtguy, October 23, 2009 15:36:27

This article of yours will entitle you to get a MBA degree
This is what a MBA student should know if he/she wants to run a company

Our BN leaders are hopeless, only thing we heard similar to Business Model is the latest KPI (key performances Indicators), which I think is just another bullshit!
written by Super Admin, October 23, 2009 15:42:47
Dear Bigjoe99, the problem with the NEP (or rather the implementation of it) is the result of the 'top ten' and if the 'top ten' is addressed the NEP issue will solve itself.

Dear Sterilizer, again, lack of freedom of the press/speech is the end-result of other issues. Solve that and we will have more freedom. Look at arrogance, which is on the 'top ten' list. The arrogance of power results in them not allowing us our freedom. And because there is so much abuse of power and corruption the government can't afford to allow too much freedom to write/talk. So solve one and the other solves itself (so I do have my eyes on the ball).

RPK
written by Bigjoe99, October 23, 2009 15:58:16
Well true, the NEP failure is due to the top ten. But the top ten is so much larger than the NEP. You are basically saying it NEVER HAD a chance.. That is almost pure libertarian of Ron Paul kind - get rid of govt including taxes.. NO WONDER you running for your life!!!!

I salute you. Your are a braver soul than I will ever be in my life...
written by johnT, October 23, 2009 16:03:58
Never Mind, At least we are better than Laos, Burma, Afghanistan, Sudan, Somalia, Papua New Guinea, East Timor and many many others country, We are even better than Vietnam, Opsss sorry Vietnam is better than us now.

But anyway as long Ketuanan M remain, Umno will still in power and no body cares either Malaysia economy is better or worst. smilies/wink.gif
written by Kampong, October 23, 2009 16:11:53
Condom and beer, and scantly dressed singer are all that's in the mind of the Kulim MP. He along with the PAS youth can take big credit for turning away the non-Muslim voters in the Bagang Pinang election.
written by avaaz, October 23, 2009 16:16:42
Absolutely, just like we advertise Malaysia, Truly Asia, however when the tourists come in, treat them like crap.

Here is a true life story that took place at MATIC'S COCOA BOUTIQUE on Sunday 18th October 2009. I had taken friends of ours from India, whom we convinced should visit our beautiful country.

Around 3pm, we dropped by at COCOA BOUTIQUE, there were tourists around and a sales person offering samples, my friend went to take a sample and immediately the person rudely shut the Tupperware almost on her fingers and stored it on the shelf and said in a loud voice "NOT FOR INDIANS", & repeated this twice, then I questioned for whom the samples were, I was told only for HONGKONG TOURISTS!!!

Imagine experiencing such racism in 21st Century Malaysia at a TOURISM MALAYSIA, so whatever happened to MALAYSIA TRULY ASIA???

When I went to MATIC to complain, we were told that chocs were durian flavour, come on, they could have told us this and offered another alternative, why wasn't this done??? We are educated people, three of us could not have mis-understood this. Does the Cocoa Boutique only have durian flavoured chocolates??

I have come to the conclusion that racial profiling is rampant at the Cocoa Botique, and from now I am asking all my INDIAN FRIENDS TO BOYCOTT COCOA BOTIQUE, AS IT IS NOT FOR INDIANS.

Infact my friends from India are going to publish this incident in the media in India.
written by Sterilizer, October 23, 2009 16:18:59
Dear YM RPK,

My thought is the other way round. With freedom of press, arrogance will be in check. Keeping the eye on the ball also means shooting out freedom of press in your postings.

So please.. enlighten us & write an article on what usage of the title TUN is. Is it to keep corrupted retired leaders from being prosecuted?

Dare all the PR MPs to change it for otherwise, there will not be the story of Chen Shui Bian here & there will be no change in M'sia. & these PR MPs may just be conferred a TUN later when they retire from ruling (if ever they get to rule).

written by Kathy, October 23, 2009 16:33:46
The MP for Kulim and others of his ilk, from the Opposition, are blinkered and tunnel-visioned and have no business vying to run a nation. How mature are our politicians?
written by Super Admin, October 23, 2009 16:35:19
Dear Sterilizer, for decades the Auditor-General's report are published in the press, every year without fail. And details of abuse of power and corruption are detailed. But every year we still read the same thing. Nothing is hidden from the press. More shit, just different days.

But does the situation improve? In fact, it gets worse every year. And this is because those who walk in the corridors of power demonstrate their arrogance of power.

Sure, we can allow freedom to write and speak. But if the powers-that-be are arrogant because they will still win the elections anyway, then no amount of freedom of the press will achieve the result.

The powers-that-be don't care a damn what is revealed in the press. They are too arrogant to care. And this is because they know they will still remain in power in spite of everything that is said and done.

So, arrogance of power is in my 'top ten'. Freedom of the press can be in the top twenty. But I believe once you demolish their arrogance by showing them the voters will take no shit, then changes will happen by themselves, including more freedom to write/speak.

You mean Kugan's and Teoh's death are not in the press? The full details are published. But the Chinese and Indians still vote Barisan Nasional. And this makes them arrogant. So no amount of press freedom will help till the people react to what is in the press.

Yes, I know, you are now going to blame Pakatan and PAS for this. So how does freedom of the press help swing the people if they choose to vote BN rather than Pakatan?

RPK
written by Sterilizer, October 23, 2009 17:01:45
yes, YM RPK, some points I totally agreed with you. Absolute power corrupts absolutely. That's why we should NEVER let any party rule for too long or else the arrogant bug kicks in.

make no mistake, with a good freedom of press, the people will change & they will know not to choose the same crap in every election. like Hassan Ali for instance, we all know enough to vote or not to vote him. we need to elect good MPs, not just anyone from PR or BN (if some indian & chinese still do).

don't u think the main problem is still the news not filtering through to the kampungs? look at sabah & sarawak. in the near future (like 5 - 10 years from now), majority of the population will be in cities, as some discovery channel suggest. maybe then there will be more people voting because they know who to vote. but for now, freedom of press is top 10, without which will still see your indians & chinese voting BN. they are arrogant because 5,000 kampung votes carry 1 seat, compared to 200,000 votes in the city for that 1 seat.
written by teo siew chin, October 23, 2009 17:03:49
the voters' mindset is the hardest to change.
unjust cruel deaths do not invoke indignance fury frustration enough to cast a differing vote.
it's FEAR.
thus voters will not change their votes
same reason non-voters dont care to register.

There is only one man i know thus far who has balls of steel - unpolished. smilies/wink.gif
written by miwaki, October 23, 2009 17:17:55
Malaysians have to understand that the job of our government is not to properly manage the country like other nations.Our government's priority is to enrich themselves first and make sure they continue to hold on to power for life before they start to learn how to manage this country.

The reason they dare to enrich themselves because the rakyat all along endorse their actions and this make them bold and arrogant.These people cannot change as they haven't achieved their objectives as yet.Of course those who had enough are already too old to plunder the wealth of this nation and most of them had retired and some had kick the buckets.

I believe these people still maintain that they have the right to plunder the wealth of this nation as you can see year after year same jokes are reported by the Auditor General and no actions have been taken against those who are responsible.This further proves that corruption is the right of civil servants in this country !
written by malgal, October 23, 2009 17:21:54
time to starve out the arrogance. opposite is humility. fat chance this can happen unless arrogance gets eaten away.
written by temanmu, October 23, 2009 17:46:33
How do we get the message to the kampungs, long-houses & rural areas? There, bread & butter issues are most important... not KL issues.

And inducements during election time goes a long way!

And their 1 rural vote could be worth 7 city votes!

written by hellosunshine, October 23, 2009 18:07:11
I just love Mahathir's hollow and hypocrite 'Bersih, Amanah Dan Cekap' and 'Kepimpinan Melalui Tauladan'. Yeah right! All the lanuns are following his footsteps and screwing the country left, right an
written by Tsunami08, October 23, 2009 18:55:48
Creeping religious extremism.
written by jason, October 23, 2009 19:06:03
RPK you forgot about cancer. If chemo therapy cannot kill it we should have surgery to cut it out of our system. That means Kulim and condom Hassan.
written by sydput, October 23, 2009 19:06:10
Like i have said many times before.
We need RPK in parliament and to lead the opposition.
political activist carry no weight.
Get a royal pardon and get on with your good work.
You join politics, many more with good intentions will follow.
written by Rozlan, October 23, 2009 20:24:01
I agree with your point but it doesnt mean we should belittling those whos did it
written by A MI, October 23, 2009 21:22:51
want to hear something applaling? Recently was near a Ketuanana Melayu Institution law lecturer who was admonishing her student on her mobile - one of her phrases was this
"engkau ni India ke? Tak tau cakap dengan betul? ...she repeated the India bit more than once...
written by LFLee, October 23, 2009 22:11:50

The more I read your articles the more I think Malaysia Inc. is beyond cure.
It is, in fact not all BN fault but those who continue to vote them into power.

I can't comprehend, after all these corruptions revealed in the press, there are still people who vote BN into power.

I really start losing hope in this country. Well, in fact, all hope is lost in 1999. smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by confuseus, October 24, 2009 00:36:12
Oh gosh, RPK! Great minds think alike !!
I have been driving the same theme but majority has thick skull.
Read 5 KPIs for the PM dtd 12july09
http://masliberators2009.********.com/

written by confuseus, October 24, 2009 00:36:49
http://masliberators2009.********.com/

written by confuseus, October 24, 2009 00:39:44
***** here
written by hellboykl, October 24, 2009 02:12:47
Each PM who served malaysia always have a slogan but all are racist!
written by mowadoha, October 24, 2009 02:28:39
Dear RPK, I agree 100% with your spot-on article.

written by Davy McChester, October 24, 2009 04:56:42
"What is the top ten? I would say a failing education system, state-endorsed or institutionalised racism, abuse of power, corruption, wastage of public funds, lack of transparency and accountability, attitude problem, no civility or courtesy, serious crime problem, and arrogance, though not necessarily in that order".

Great ! You put it a nutshell ! But now the reality of the situation. It would be very hard for thieves so used to stealing to stop stealing.They consider stealing their entitlement ,which they wrap it up in "ketuanan" ,the robbery gate-way car. Without which,it would be just impossible to maintain all the purchased assets,like several wives,several imported cars,several real estates, from the ill gotten money.
Actually,to manage the finances of Malaysia it is fairly a simple task. First ,put behind bars 30 highest ranking political leaders,next 300 highest ranking civil servants,3 ranking judiciary,2 ranking each from MACC and PRDM.

written by Tokyobanker, October 24, 2009 09:39:50

Malaysia can stick to its inward looking domestic driven policies and miss out on all international developments. Malaysia never make it to the BRICS List, now we are missing from the VISTA list. Eventually Malaysia will have to opt out of ASEAN, ASEAN plus 3 or East Asia Community because we can not get our domestic policies together!

The corruption index show that Malaysia has excelled over Indonesia in the last 5 years, topping the list in ASEAN in corruption!! Indonesia has improved the most in the last 5 years under President Yudhoyono.

What a good leader can do to the country within one term of 5 years is huge! Indonesia and Vietnam made the VISTA List! Malaysia is biting DUST!
written by batsman, October 24, 2009 10:56:06
I plead guilty to at least one of the top ten - no civility. But Malaysia is being blanketed by PR consultants who are bad carbon copies of the western media. Yet Malaysians are being fooled while the country is robbed and bankrupted. What would you do if you still had some common sense?
written by batsman, October 24, 2009 11:04:51
Actually if you ask 100 Malaysians what their favourite eating places are, you probably get 101 different answers, so one's top ten is different from another's top ten.

I agree Malaysia faces immense problems such as those you list in your top ten, but they are not all. There are people who believe that cultural imperialism is as big a problem as corruption - at least they are linked together (maybe Doc Azly may want to comment on this). We are on the way to becoming an arse licker of the US. Some cultural and moral integrity needed too in order to combat corruption and abuse of power?
written by legallybotak, October 24, 2009 11:05:20
Top 10, you must be kidding!!! Top 3,4 or 5 No way. I am sure they can't even solve a single issue in your list.
written by jalapeno, October 24, 2009 11:49:41
Hahahaha.....Let's compare Singapore Inc. and Malaysia Inc. Their shareholders, directors and managers are scholars from MIT, Harvard, Oxford, Cambridge and some even with Masters and PhD in their own field. Whereas the management level executives from our great Malaysia Inc. only have SRP or SPM certificates (only passing Lukisan and Sejarah). Those who have tertiary education would most likely have a BSc in Islamic Studies. Do your math if you know how... smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif smilies/cry.gif
written by Beezee_Beezee, October 24, 2009 13:54:44
Two points that I wish to include in Pete's article.
1. The famous AP..this ap things contriute high loses to the country income which can drive our economy if it's being abolished.
2. Our Health Ministry shoud start thinking about solving the problem by GIVING FREE Vaccine of H1N1 to all Malaysian instead of squabbling with excused and meanuvering around to appoint agent to get the contract to supply the vaccine.
Since the money comes fromt the Prublic FUND this shoud be used to expedite the prompt decision to get the cheapest sources by direct government negotiation with the vendor and quickly implement the roll-out so that we can close the issue of WHO accusing our country of not actively resolving or containing the H1N1 speading.
3. What the hell UMNO want to pravitise the IJN...Hell
written by AtanSian, October 24, 2009 16:03:45
You have got it wrong.
The number 1 problem is CORRUPTION.
Indonesia under SBY has identified and is addressing this problem.
If Malaysia dont, then it will remain in the bottom of the Asian barrel as dregs.
written by Jivathma, October 24, 2009 17:44:39
Dear RPK You yourself and MalaysiaToday are ONE of our country's solution. REALIZATION is the first step towards the cure. You and MalaysiaToday have made many people like myself (who previously did give not shit) to become more realized about politics.

Lets hope and pray that this national realization grows more practically and positively to change our politics and politicians. Thank you MalaysiaToday..RPK
written by Just Gan, October 24, 2009 17:53:23
Pete's Top 10 critical problems in Malaysia:
* Failing education system
* State-endorsed or institutionalised racism
* Abuse of power
* Corruption
* Wastage of public funds
* Lack of transparency and accountability
* Attitude problem
* No civility or courtesy
* Serious crime problem
* Arrogance

What are the root causes for these problems? Only one - MAHATHIR. The evil corrupt racist despot is the root cause for the problems. He put in place the culture and infrastructure so that these problems for the Rakyat are the standard code of behavior, culture and norm for UMNO to practise and to suppress the opposition and terrorise the Rakyat.

We have this list but nothing is going to happen with UMNO in power. Let us try and do something. Let us make a start by at least openly exposing Mahathir as the one who has been and is still at the root of all these woes and call for him to be punished - call for a Royal Commission to investigate into the evil that Mahathir has inflicted on this nation. Pete, can you get the ball rolling on this matter?
written by CPY, October 24, 2009 20:54:29
They want to make Malaysia Inc. viable by controlling the sale of condoms and beer

Aiyo! Both are a morally neutral stuffs like a knives, which can be used for good and bad. Condoms are used to control the population, in order to concentrate on economic growth, while beer or wine in this case, when drank a little, helps blood circulation. Beer is useful to drown our sorrows of being enslaved by BN for 46 years(Malaysia Day), but not until you drunk.
written by tom73my, October 24, 2009 21:30:04
I think you top ten can still be reduced to top 3 root causes:
1. Integrity - everybody does thing professionally and honestly
2. Respect for constitution and laws
3. Respect for other people - human rights.
What do you think?
written by KotaDamansara73, October 25, 2009 00:44:18

If that is the case, then Malaysia will never be able to reform. The whole institution created by the goverment is corrupt and racist.
written by Tom n Jerry, October 25, 2009 06:08:02
Syabas jalapeno;I am seconder to your comments;very qualified people like me have no place in Malaysian administration simply because I am non-malay & non-muslim! smilies/sad.gif
written by aisyalam, October 26, 2009 08:47:15
Malaysia...2020,

1) Perkapita income.....RM 800
2) Inflation............40%
3) FDI..................Less than zero
4) Jobless rate.........>50%
5) Crime rate@including government.....Too high
6) Literacy rate........Not meaningful
7) Stealing and cheating...A way of life