Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow KHALWAT RAID: Residents’ group stays defiant

KHALWAT RAID: Residents’ group stays defiant PDF Print
Friday, 23 October 2009 13:05

RA chairman defends his ‘investigative’ effort, blames Jais for inaction

“We did not hand them to the police because they pleaded with us not to do so, to avoid paying the RM3,000 fine, as stipulated in the Syariah law. So we only advised them of their wrongdoing.”

NAJIAH NAJIB, Malay Mail

Mohd Yusof Abdullah
LESTARI Apartment Residents’ Association chairman Mohd Yusuf Abdullah insists he did nothing wrong in carrying out an “investigation” into khalwat (close proximity) activities.

He said as a community leader, he felt it was his duty to ensure such activities did not occur in Prima Damansara.

“In fact, the responsibility to curb khalwat should be borne by the community as it affects us all.

“Jais (Selangor Islamic Religious Department) may not have been aware of this particular case, but it does not mean that we did not carry out the investigation in the correct manner,” Mohd Yusuf told Malay Mail yesterday.

He said the investigation that took place at an apartment unit in Block F of Indah Condominium last Saturday morning was done with the consent of the local mosque and in accordance with Syariah law.

He also said no assault took place, as claimed by one of the guests at the condo.

“The law states that to investigate such cases, the raiding party must comprise at least four male Muslims of mature age (not children) who have a clear conscience and are not mentally handicapped in any way.

“There was also an official from the local mosque, Raja Shaharin Sahar, in the raiding party, but of course the
tenants of that apartment didn’t know who he was,” said Mohd Yusuf.

Another reason why he claimed responsibility for carrying out investigations on khalwat in the area was because Jais did not.

He said in the past, the RA had forwarded numerous complaints to Jais about khalwat activities but the complaints always fell on deaf ears.

“Whenever we call Jais, it never comes. I’m very disappointed with the department because it seems to
take such cases lightly. Jais have been entrusted with this duty but why is it not solving all these problems?

“We need the cooperation of Jais greatly but it is not giving it to us,” Mohd Yusuf said.

He also said the reason he brought the four khalwat suspects, all in their 20s, to the operations room at Lestari Apartment was because Indah Condominium does not have one.

At the operations room, the four were only advised of their wrongdoing, said Mohd Yusuf, who also claimed all had admitted guilt.

“We did not hand them to the police because they pleaded with us not to do so, to avoid paying the RM3,000 fine, as stipulated in the Syariah law. So we only advised them of their wrongdoing.”

He said previously, the RA used to receive complaints of khalwat cases on a daily basis. But ever since the RA began “educating” the public via such investigations, the number had dropped significantly, with a current average of only two a month.

On Monday, we reported that several visitors and tenants of Indah Condominium in Prima Damansara cried foul when their unit was raided for khalwat by the RA.

One of the visitors to the said unit, Aqmal (not his real name), claimed he was assaulted by two of the men

from the raiding party after he rudely replied to one of their comments. Yesterday, Jais director Datuk Mohamed Khusrin Munawi said the RA had no right to conduct the raid as Jais does not give consent to members of the public to conduct raids on others.

Cops begin probe into alleged assault

Arjunaidi

POLICE have begun investigations into the alleged assault of a man by members of the Lestari Apartment Residents’ Assocation during an illegal khalwat (close proximity) raid on his friend’s house in Indah Condominium, Prima Damansara, on Sunday.

The man claimed he was punched three times by two men. Petaling Jaya district police chief ACP Arjunaidi Mohamed (pic) said the case was being investigated under two sections.

“One is for criminal trespass and the other for causing injuries without a dangerous weapon,” Arjunaidi said.

He said police had called people involved in the alleged incident to have their statements recorded.

“We have recorded several statements from those said to be involved in the raid to assist in our investigations.

“We need to gather all the necessary information to get a clearer picture of what actually happened that night before taking any action.”

NGOs lambast RA for illegal raid

Maria Chin Abdullah
THE illegal khalwat (close proximity) raid conducted by Lestari Apartment Residents’ Association (RA) on an apartment unit in Indah Condominium has been lambasted by several non-governmental organisations.

Maria Chin Abdullah (pic) of Women’s Development Collective said the RA had neither legal right nor power to conduct such a raid on members of the public.

“Residents’ associations are merely a society group with no legal power to carry out such investigations.

They have no right to do such a thing. There are many other ways for RAs to be proactive, such as keeping watch on criminal activities in the area. But in the case of moral policing, they should leave that to the designated authorities,” she said last night.

Maria said what the RA did at the unit in Block F of Indah Condominium was an outright invasion of privacy.

Human Rights Commission of Malaysia (Suhakam) commissioner Datuk N. Siva Subramaniam said there will be pandemonium if the public starts to take matters into their hands, like what the Lestari Apartment RA did.

“There are boundaries to what an association, like an RA, can do. In this case, this RA stepped over that boundary,” Siva said.

“If the RA feels like something should be done about the khalwat activities, it should report to the relevant authorities, instead of trying to tackle it. RAs are not the police,” he said.

Siva also said the victims of last Saturday’s “operation” have every right to take legal action against the RA.

Human rights NGO Suaram director S. Arutchelvan said RAs should not get themselves involved in “moral policing” — which is a debatable issue.

“Such raids or operations should only be conducted by the respective authorities,” said Arutchelvan.

“Even then, the authorities must conduct it in a proper manner.” Arutchelvan added that that what occurred was a violation of privacy.

Comments (52)Add Comment
written by HamChak, October 23, 2009 13:13:21
If 2 consenting adults it is up to them. What is that to us.Don't be envious. If you are so jealous, then you can also go and find some "holes". What is wrong with you people?
disagree 42
agree 279
written by arazak, October 23, 2009 13:18:34
Did Hassan Ali appointed this bugger to be his deputy? Anyway, why the hell does he care for with whom the other people fcuk with? He should take care of his own home's bedroom and latrine!
disagree 26
agree 192
written by hellosunshine, October 23, 2009 13:18:54
Why don't Mohd Yusuf Abdullah and his RA vigilantes patrol the streets of the residence instead of snooping on couples making out in the privacy of their homes? There are many snatch thieves, robbers, rapists and crim
agree 277
written by bodohland_citizen, October 23, 2009 13:18:57
I fully support Lestari Condo RA in raiding khalwat cases ? What is so wrong mah, you tell me ! JAIS and RELA are given the pleasure, so the RA wants to also feel the "syiok" feeling mah e bastards are so chicken to face the real criminals like robbers, snatch thieves, murder
agree 154
written by Bigjoe99, October 23, 2009 13:24:03
Actually this has less to do with Islamic influence than it has to do with the Malay tradition of communal policing. Communal policing is age-old among Malay culture. The problem is when you have Islam introduced to the practise, the power of communal policing need much regulation and attention from the proper authorities.. Its clearly shows that Islam is a foreign influence to Malays in reality...
written by chrisyong, October 23, 2009 13:30:18
In case you don't know. When a person sin against God, it is for God to punish and not for you who is youself IMPERFECT to punish. Look at your own lives before telling others what to do. Serious, this is between people and God and you don't try to play god.............you will be punished.
agree 140
written by miwaki, October 23, 2009 14:04:54
In Malaysia,you sometimes need authority to commit khalwat.If you are lay people without authority or your dad isn't MP or minister,make sure you do it in the jungle at night at your own peril.

Beware,there are many weirdo out there who are interested in some other personal life as if they have nothing better to do !
written by mikewang, October 23, 2009 14:48:14
Does the syariah law allow anyone to arrest another on suspicion of khalwat and consumption of alcohol as claimed by Tuan Pengurusi?
In that case why didn't Chairman take the lead to arrest some ministers' children because photographic evidence of this already plastered all over the internet. smilies/smiley.gif
written by johanssm, October 23, 2009 14:58:51
If i am not mistaken , there are some procedures to follow when doing an Islamic "skodeng" raid.
1- need to have at least 1 Iman from the local mosque in the team
2- need to have 3 Muslims that are willing to be witness
3- All those in the raiding team must be wearing a skull cap or performed the haji at least once.
4- need to have at least 1 muslim police officer with the rank of lance corporal or above
5- need to have a video camera with night vision or low lux shooting capacity
6-need to collect evidence , such as the video recording,beer cans, condoms,ganja ,bedsheets or in this case the durians.
7- suspects must be handed over to the mosque
8- TV 3 suku must be invited

Those are the procedures.
written by AsamLaksa, October 23, 2009 15:58:04
Tak ada kerja lain!
written by Xerxes, October 23, 2009 16:09:10
I like this:

"...four male Muslims of mature age (not children) who have a clear conscience and are not mentally handicapped in any way...." Who defines the man has a clear conscience? His conscience is between him and his God. And it is so subjective that what you think is against your consceince may not be the same as mine.

We had a large factory located in a rural area and we employed many young female Malay girls as operators. We housed them in company owned hostels. A local ustaz(I think) self appointed himself as the moral guardian and started to harass our workers. He would barge into their hostels on the pretext of surprise checks without warning. And he would do it conveniently around the time the workers just returned from their shift and is taking their bath. We also noticed he favours a particular hostel because one of the girls is very pretty. We put up with his antics because we do not want to create a sensitive issue but tried talking to him and promising we would put extra guards to make sure there are no khalwat.

Finally one day we caught him redhanded enjoying himself in a disco in a nearby town with some paid hostess. We told him he had a choice. Stop the harassment or we will expose him. He stopped.
written by krising1, October 23, 2009 17:08:18
Please ask the cops to stay out too. The days of Sharia vigilante are here!
written by Rock, October 23, 2009 17:11:59
Welldone budaktapah, if every muslim or even non-muslim has this kind of spirit, our residential will be crime savvy and good. We (people in general)are good ummah because...amar maarof and nahi mungkar. For those who think individual rights superceed collective responsiblity, they'r wrong, they do not belong to the community. These misled groups can't gauge what make muslim communities (i'm talking about God-fearing one) peaceful and prosper.
written by SamBall, October 23, 2009 17:20:43
Me thinks these people have serious mental illness brought on by modern living.

I hope their women folks will give these deprived (or is it depraved) poor souls some nice nasi "kangka**". Poor bastards need it...

Assalaksa, memang tak ada kerja lain..
written by miwaki, October 23, 2009 17:35:48
If you have nothing better to do,please visit prostitute dens and SPAs in KL and major towns of Malaysia Boleh,over there you can catch many containers of people indulging in Khalwat.Don't waste your time peepping into people's bed-rooms,there are plenty of places where you can have ready-made horny people for you to catch !Please come with containers because I promise you there are plentiful of them !
written by americk, October 23, 2009 18:58:45
This country is going down the toilet.You silly silly people.Can't you find something more constructive to do?No point entering into any rational argument. These guys are just 100% morons. Don't bother trying to analyse the situation. It's just sheer stupidity exhibited by severely mentally challenged blobs of protoplasm masquerading as human beings.
written by Sabahfan, October 23, 2009 19:34:24
OOOO go ahead and impose all the islamic and syariah laws on your moslems, cut their hands, feet , head so what?

But try impose that to us who dont believe in islam and you can have the 5th world war, talibans or not
written by SiHangChai, October 23, 2009 20:28:03
tengok muka pun samseng
written by Rozlan, October 23, 2009 20:41:52
I believe those RA assocciation had gone beyond their boundry.If they have to make citizen arrest they shouldnt break others house to do it.Even police officers must have warrant to do so.

Iknow that type of people.They did not for the sake of Islam.They did it for the fun of it.I agreed with Sing Han Chai.Tengok muka pun samseng.Don tbe surprise if many of those socalled Islamic vigilantes didnt even pray..
written by Alice, October 23, 2009 21:04:21
Looking at the face of the LESTARI Apartment Residents’ Association chairman Mohd Yusuf Abdullah ,I can bet you that this sour grapes had ulterior motives of carrying out this kind of raid.If he is truly a responsible chairman,he should carry out patrol activities to nab robbers,thieves, rapist which is rampant these days. Then maybe we would have said something positive about him.He is just so jealouslah that the man was
written by Rozlan, October 23, 2009 21:39:55
Please investigate that lestari apartment resident association's chairman.YOu will be surprise..Please check again if you think he was a good muslim..I doubt it
written by hellosunshine, October 23, 2009 21:41:15
Hello admin, what gives? Notice lately you had been busy snipping away all our comments until they sound like gibberish. What's the big deal???? And don't just delete this entry without explanation. smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by allmenarebrothers, October 23, 2009 22:18:44
The RA Chairman & his cohorts belong to either or both categories, viz., mentally sick people or incurable voyeurs/peeping toms.
They even derive extreme sexual gratification from the bodies of their mothers, grandmothers & sisters.
written by mykantree, October 23, 2009 22:20:43
In fact the MAN has been suspected to have been committing khalwat regularly at his own home. Perhaps JAIS should raid his house regularly to make sure that it does not happen too.
written by minds, October 23, 2009 22:34:02
cari makam ma.....jais pun perlu makan,,,,,dapat satu $500 dapat 2 $1000 mungkin2 dapat lobang juga kadang2 smilies/wink.gif
written by AsamLaksa, October 23, 2009 23:21:37
For those who still fail to see what is so wrong with this issue, try these:

1. The RA has no power to enter premises. What happens when the suspects refuses entry? I suspect unlawful coercion or threats were used in the raid to gain entry.
2. If the RA wants to 'investigate', then fine up to a point that does not unreasonably breach the rights of others. But the RA has no power to punish. Thus bringing the 'suspects' to the operations room without their full consent is wrong.
3. If a crime has been or is being committed, the relevant authorities should be informed. Vigilantism is potentially dangerous, risk causing abuse and injustice.
4. The Charter of the RA needs to be clarified. The powers of the RA should not overstep what is agreed by the members of the RA i.e. the residents.

I'm ok with residents wanting to protect their community. You want to have patrols around your community, I say it's fine. You want to have talks by police, religious authority, etc., I say fine. You want to have advice and counselling service, I say that's good. But vigilante raiding party regardless of whatever wrong you think is going on behind the doors, I say NO. Call the cops or JAIS; they are there for a reason.

Take for example the report above. The raid is open to abuse. Heck, a police report was made. Whether violence or other wrongdoings (such as false imprisonment) occurred, who knows? But who watches over these raiders?

BTW, take note I do not even care if the reason is khalwat. It's not an anti-Islam thing. It applies to any situation. I don't want the RA taking things into their own hands when they have no right and no power to do such.

Budaktapah, the issue is about whether this particular method which possibly involved unlawful entry and physical abuse is right or not. I do not question the need to protect your community. 2 wrongs don't make a right. You want to tangkap orang berkhalwat, sure but do it the proper way as specified in the law.

Grandmarquis, I did not know your mother and daughter were involved in the case. I feel sorry for you. Please control your emotions lest you commit a bigger wrong. There are right and wrong ways to protect your family. Think about it.
written by DontPlayGod, October 23, 2009 23:32:54
An indication that Malay Muslims are becoming more fanatic. Matter of time that the country will be a full-fledge islamic state in the not too distant future.

As someone said, these raids are carried out by jealous people who missed out on their youth.
written by goman2k3, October 23, 2009 23:34:52
In Texas thoose *******s will have a bullet in their heads for entering someone else home. Right of home and family protection. Pure and simple.
written by AsamLaksa, October 24, 2009 00:02:50
Now, I have said what I think is wrong. Here I give my opinion on how residents could have acted if faced with similar problem.

First there needs to be objectives in acting. Let's say we have 2 objectives which are:
1. identity wrongdoers
2. avoid prosecution

To go about this, you don't need a raiding party. All you need is a small party, the smaller the better but no less than 2 who knock on the door and ask courteously for permission to enter. Smaller group is to avoid intimidating the occupant(s). Adopt a non-confrontational approach. If refused entry, then politely leave. You can always call the authorities if you want to pursue things further.

Only discuss the concern when inside to avoid creating a scene. Only enter permitted areas such as the living room. There should be no accusations but simply addressing concerns of the community. Trespassing is prohibited. Behave like a guest i.e. sit if only offered to sit. Have your discussions in the living room. Promise no police or JAIS involvement at that stage. Do not take the persons out of their apartment. Inform the occupant(s) that you will leave whenever they request you to. Inform them of the risk of prosecution if caught by the authorities.

An honest discussion may bear more fruit and earn cooperation of the occupant(s). Also less likely to aggravate the occupant(s).

This is simply my opinion.
written by vox populi, October 24, 2009 01:13:51
These RA goons are dangerous because they are ignorant of the law and because they have no legal backing whatsoever. After all, they are just a residents association, formed to look after residents' common interests which do not empower them to assume the role of the police or JAIS, for that matter.

The RA has no authority to enter any premises without permission and confine anybody against their will. They are liable for trespass and false imprisonment - in criminal law and civil law. I urge the affected residents to sue for damages in civil law to teach these morons a lesson. They should not have given in to them but probably they were ignorant as well.

It is a dangerous trend. These misguided people should not be allowed to take the law into their own hands. If they go unpunished now, what would they or other like-minded goons do next?
written by onnyap, October 24, 2009 02:22:53
Were Adam and Eve a married couple while they were having their orgasm?
Will there be a raid if Adam & Adam (gay couple) living together in the house?
And I thought God creates man and woman to enjoy sex!
written by Daryl, October 24, 2009 02:25:27
I dare this guy to investigate armed robbery case, rape case, murder case or snatch thief case. If you do that I take my hats off for you and if not you are a danger to society and a pest as well.
written by oneofthesedays, October 24, 2009 10:40:30
Taliban wannabe vermin must be castrated in order to avoid the population from being polluted by their diseased seed.
written by roadbarra, October 24, 2009 13:20:56
Taliban Laws for Lestari Apartment huh!
written by Fairminded, October 24, 2009 16:36:00
Dear Grandmarqui, I beg to differ. What you said about incest is handled by the criminal law and other citizens still take the law into their own hands and cannot enforce the law. Citizens can call the police. You cannot compare apples to oranges. If two consenting adults have sex willing it does not mean what you say about fathers **** daughters or son **** mothers. It is simply two unrelated person having sex. Incest comes under the criminal code but adults having sex is not under the criminal code.
written by FFT, October 24, 2009 19:32:07
I remember many years ago there was a lull in the khalwat raids by Muslim perverts from JAKIM etc., when one of their raiding parties broke into an off-duty policeman's home and got shot.

That is the cure for Malaysia...start taking the law into your own hands and liquidating these pathetic individuals.
written by miwaki, October 24, 2009 22:01:35
grandmarquis,
If man fucckk your daughter or mother,then you report the case to our police station-lah,Simple !
written by PeacefulMalaysia, October 24, 2009 22:57:05
Hello, you Muslim bastards
Is sex dirty
You bastards pray 5 times a day and you condone to corruption. Its ok in ISLAM . It is written in the Koran to take dirty money , but when someone wants to have his privacy you bastards eve drop.
Mother farkers, clean your house before you clean your neighbours.

And you police farkers, arrest these bastards and charge them. Otherwise all our privacy will be monitored.
written by Taufique, October 25, 2009 17:42:45
they have no rights on this. Be lenient with these idiots and they will take it as a green light to start busting up other ppl's homes.

If these kinds of punks were to break into my house accusing me of whatever it may be, when they have absolutely NO RIGHT to do so, do i have the right to bash their heads to a pulp?

To me, this is someone invading my home, I have to protect myself and my family members right. So will the cops then accuse me for assaulting them?

The above scenario is bound to happen some day.
written by Areyaar, October 25, 2009 21:23:59
WHAT ABSOLUTE NONSENSE IS THIS!!?? Bad enough that Malaysia is already in possession of a very bad image overseas what with our overzealous morals police bursting in on that elderly married American couple and shouting and screaming at them, and more of these morals police committing other humiliating acts. Now we have private citizens taking the law into their own hands in this disgraceful manner.

How can these people take the law into their own hands? Is this Mohd Yusuf saying that it is okay for anyone to organise similar "vigilante" raiding parties and burst into private residences? How would he like it if some one else organised a vigilante mob and burst into his house and humiliated him and his children and wife? If he can do it to others, why can't others do it to him?

This is pure garbage and a huge insult to Islam. What if a similar raiding party assaults (as they are alleged to have done in the above case), the people whose residences they raid or, worse, assault or even sexually molest the women involved? What then? How do we know that other people might not think they can form similar raiding parties to assault, rob and rape? Is Malaysia going to become like the wild, wild West of the 1800's where the law was nonexistent?

Are the police and our wonderful religious authorities going to stand by and allow this disgusting episode to go unanswered? They should by right haul in this Mohd Yusuf Abdullah and his gang of rowdies and punish them severely otherwise they are going to have a huge problem on their hands as others will definitely follow their unlawlful example.

This Modh Yusuf Abdullah and his gang of rowdies have openly and very publicly slapped the faces of the police and JAIS and are now hell bent on rubbing in insult after insult by accusing them of all sorts of things.

This Mohd Yusuf's excuse is that their complaints to JAIS were not attended to. Well then he has no choice but to make his complaints to authorities higher than JAIS. But he absolutely has no right to act as police, judge and jury on his own.
written by Areyaar, October 25, 2009 21:29:32
And, this Mohd Yusuf says "The law states that to investigate such cases, the raiding party must comprise at least four male Muslims of mature age (not children) who have a clear conscience and are not mentally handicapped in any way.)"

Reeeaaallllyyyy!! And so can he and his gang of raiders submit themselves for a thorough evaluation by qualified experts to determine whether what he says is true; that he and his mob are of clear conscience and not mentally handicapped in any way? Is he confident that some one some where will not discover that any or all of them have some unsavoury secrets of their own? Who knows because after all, one never knows what one may find if one looks hard enough, isn't it?
written by jaz, October 26, 2009 09:31:08
Perverted idiots, spying on people's sex lives like that. Is there no privacy anymore? People are doing drugs, committed murder, drunk driving, robbing... Things that could endanger other people's lives. But no, the policemen were more focused on spying on people, confiscating pirated DVD's...
written by jaz, October 26, 2009 09:35:02
At least, selling pirated DVD's are better than selling drugs. They are not hurting anybody. And since they are making money at it, it is better this, than resort to robbing people's handbags. I know, pirated DVD's are bad for the producers. But you can download it on-line anyway, what's the matter? It would be a bad image if we encourage this. But anything to reduce crimes, I mean crimes that could endanger others.
written by exumnoguy, October 26, 2009 11:44:41
Aku sependapat dgn Ko budaktapah...
aku duk kat sri damansara,kita ni jiran.. dan salah seorang angota RA
kat situ..kami pun banyak kes yg serupa..JAIS langsung tak
beri kerjasama.. ada anggota kami yg kena ngadap mahkamah
kerana berjuang mencegah kemungkaran ni...tapi kami tatap
berjuang demi kesucian ugama bangsa dan tanahair..
Kalau kita tak perang kemungkaran ni...jgn menyesal nnti
kita dgr. dan nmpk bayi yg tak berdosa di buang di merata rata tmpt
dibwh jmbatan, ditong smpsh, hatta di dlm surau sekali pun,
perangkaan menunjukkan itu semua adalah anak anak bangsa kita..
Wahai org melayu sedarlah ini adalah kelemahan system pendidikan negara kita..
aku pun ada anak perempuan..dan aku tengah memecahkan kepala ni utk memasti perkara ni tak berlaku pada keluarga aku
Selisih malaikat 44...

written by amoker, October 26, 2009 12:42:04
Wow, he got complains daily about Khalwat? these apartments must be full of sinful people that needs to be ;educated' and raided.
written by DontPlayGod, October 26, 2009 22:12:29
Sigh!!! People still insist on playing God, behaving as if they are acting on God's orders or that God will be pleased with what they have done, thus ensuring them 72 virgins in the after life. What a joke?
written by freerpk, October 27, 2009 09:08:43
That is the trouble in this land. The authorities in charged are not doing their job and that is when people start to take the laws into their own hand which is wrong but the people involved says it is justifiable. That is why housing estates are becoming like "illegal immigrants" camp. Roads are blocked. Entry & exit are recorded. Why why why???? Crime is skyrocketing because the authorities are not functioning......

Coming to the above episode if there was indeed khalwat going on then the RA should inform the right authorities for them to take action. Who empowers the RA to take such illegal actions???? Why do they think they are above the law??? Maybe in their association with certain people they come to think that they are above the law!!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif