Home arrow The Blogs arrow News/Commentaries arrow Karpal wants Lingam case reopened

Karpal wants Lingam case reopened PDF Print
Thursday, 22 October 2009 21:19

By Chan Kok Leong, The Edge

KUALA LUMPUR: It would be ironic if Parliament passed the Judges Code of Ethics Committee bill as Datuk VK Lingam’s case comes to a closure.

According to veteran lawyer and lawmaker Karpal Singh (Bukit Gelugor-DAP), the Attorney-General (AG) should reopen the prominent lawyer’s case and charge him for sedition.

"Lingam has brought disrepute to the judiciary system and should be charged under sedition," said Karpal in Dewan Rakyat today.

Karpal asked in Dewan Rakyat if the government had received instructions from former prime minister Tun Dr Mahathir Mohamad to close the case.

The government had confirmed in Parliament that investigations into the Lingam case has been closed.

In a written reply to Lim Guan Eng (Bagan-DAP) on Monday, the investigation showed no criminal offence had been committed in the appointment of judges.

Lingam, who acted as Dr Mahathir’s lawyer in a RM100 million defamation suit filed by Datuk Seri Anwar Ibrahim (Permatang Pauh-PKR), was featured in a video clip discussing the appointment of judges.

Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department Datuk Seri Nazri Abdul Aziz replied that the AG has decided not to take action against Lingam.

Four investigation papers were opened against the lawyer in connection with the video clip, which was taken by Loh Gwo Burne (Kelana Jaya-PKR).

Three were sent to the AG’s chambers while one remained with the Malaysian Anti-Corruption Commission. Of the three, two were closed due to insufficient evidence while the remaining one was awaiting further investigation.

Nazri said the remaining paper was later classified by the AG as "no further action" as there were no suspects who could confirm the handling of documents in the appointment of High Court judges.

In 2008, a Royal Commission of Inquiry had found that video clip was authentic and there was direct influence of Lingam in the elevation of judges.

The commission had also identified six people — Dr Mahathir, Lingam, Tan Sri Vincent Tan, Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, Tun Mohd Eusoff Chin and Tun Ahmad Fairuz — to be investigated under the Prevention of Corruption Act, Sedition Act, Legal Profession Act, Official Secrets Act and Penal Code.

The Judges Code of Ethics Committee bill currently is undergoing Second Reading in Dewan Rakyat.

written by onnetline, October 22, 2009 21:37:57
The commission had also identified six people — Dr Mahathir, Lingam, Tan Sri Vincent Tan, Umno secretary-general Datuk Seri Tengku Adnan Tengku Mansor, Tun Mohd Eusoff Chin and Tun Ahmad Fairuz — to be investigated under the Prevention of Corruption Act, Sedition Act, Legal Profession Act, Official Secrets Act and Penal Code.
written by SocratesI, October 22, 2009 21:49:17
Kugan's case - swept under carpet already. Teoh Beng Hock case, also almost swept under carpet except for Big Foot from Thailand in the way for the moment, PKFZ also trying to sweep under carpet. Royal Commission of Inquiry is a JOKE in Malaysia ...

You people want to see and experience real! KICK out the Barisan Najis Govt. no matter what boo-boo Pakatan makes or is seen to make !! Vote in Pakatan Rakyat and at least give ourselves a chance to breathe
written by verifunny, October 22, 2009 21:58:17
It's good to know that the opposition MPs are preserving justice and equality as much as they could.

Let Najis and gang continue to score EVIL points for 2013. Kerishammudin is still waiting for media materials to be removed from Malaysiakini. It shows that people are not second but no position in Najis and gang hearts. Even ethnic Malays are neglected. Only those that licks their balls have gained.

Hope that the suppression will result in more and more angry voices.
written by SiHangChai, October 22, 2009 22:25:45
Only in 1-Malaysia where the case is proven in court but the wrongdoers will not be charged. So does this mean, those dancing useless animals can sodo-me anyone and still get away?
written by storm62, October 22, 2009 22:30:49
dey aneh vk lingam, soon you'll "masuk" Islam and be a mamak...then they will vote you as vp of umno...plenty of cases for you to take up with those corrupted umno politicians.....mungkin ada chance jadi PM...ka ka ka.
written by edwardh, October 22, 2009 22:35:41
The very minimal, VK Lingam should be charged with impersonating the role of a High-Ranking Politician, or pretending to have access and influence the decision of Judiciary, or decision of Malaysia PM Tun Mahathir.

7 year ago, we had Lingam saying he control the Judges Promotions.

Everyday we have Police officers soliciting sexual favours.

Everyday we have thief pretending to be plainclothes officer

Everyday we have rapist pretending to be officer checking on khalwat from Ugama Islam division.

Everyday and every otherday, we have crooks created by the UMNO system!!! smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif smilies/angry.gif
written by onnetline, October 22, 2009 22:44:16

' Pariahs ' is too kind a word to describe these bastards !
written by citizenmy, October 22, 2009 22:56:14
Sabarlah sikit Karpal.

Priority No. 1 - Sodomy 2 case
Priority No. 2 - RPK trial

When free, they will look into the Linggam Tape Case..say in Year 3000 ..Is that ok for you Karpal?
written by sataysticks, October 22, 2009 23:23:54
VK Lingam appears in court for Dr M without an iota of shame!
What has this country come to?
Don't people know what is shame?
In Msia the more you KOREK, the more filth come out!
I Msia = My foot!
written by wishuponastar, October 22, 2009 23:25:45
Mr Karpal please ask the AG whether he really passed the Evidence paper before getting his LLB degree.Why is he keep saying or rather echoing 'not enough evidence' all the time.AP queen or Maha..Lingam ,evidences just seem to vapourise into the ether.But
when medical experts say there is no evidence of any ******* tears DSAI still required to stand trial.AG's Chamber is becoming more like some other chamber.Malaysia satu,justice bukan.
written by JUST, October 23, 2009 07:11:32
An insult to the highly respected Royal Commission!
written by freerpk, October 23, 2009 08:08:34
Sorry Mr. Karpal, when the dice is already "loaded" how can you win the game?? There is nothing you or anyone can do in this 1Country....very very sad
written by Stupid me, October 23, 2009 08:35:28
Looks like syndicated justice system that we have here. The top people, without having to mention who they are as it is very obvious,have been superbly chosen. They should keep their appointments for life for the sake of 'stability', they say.
written by justice seeker, October 23, 2009 09:23:18
Karpal wants Lingam case reopened

KARPAL, DONT WASTE YOUR ENERGY AND TIME LAH. AS LONG AS 1MALAYSIA WITH 2 STANDARDS EXIST, BETTER GO SERVICE YOUR CONSTITUENCY. WE WILL END IT COME GE 13.
written by Fart Fart Wah, October 24, 2009 01:10:06
Correct correct correct...the case is closed. apanama..I can't remember..
The same tactics is used by Najib as was used by Mamoothir...behind closed doors orders are being given and changes are being made. In front of the public a big sandiwara is going on...close the altuntaya case..close this LIngam case..clase the Beng Hock case..and all the murder in the jail cases. Cannot see the investigations..all under OSA...behind close doors licence issued only by bumiputras..and to bumiputras..and contracts and all that is controllable by them...In front of the public and the world put on a big act that the UMNO governmnet is fair and free of bias and injustice...And the media is used to hype the UMNO government...MR Karpal..you have to shake up the system f government ...wipe out dictatorship....can you????