Home arrow The Blogs arrow No Holds Barred arrow Allow me to respond to Kadir Jasin

Allow me to respond to Kadir Jasin PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 October 2009 19:15

I have said this before and I will say it again. Sabah and Sarawak control 56 parliament seats out of a total of 222 seats in parliament. If you want to form the federal government you must first win a sizeable number of seats from Sabah and Sarawak. If not, then dream on.

Today, A. Kadir Jasin’s article called ‘Zaid, The Hurricane Hattie Of PR’ confirms quite a bit of what I have said in the past, which were pooh-poohed as unfounded rumours and lies. I would like to address some of the points in his article (marked in italics) and bring you back to the points I had made over these many years, which now appears to have been confirmed by Kadir Jasin.

I just love it when I can say: I told you so

He was among the intermediaries used by Umno to reacquire and appropriate its vast assets taken over by the Public Trustee when the party was deregistered in 1988.

I was with the late Datuk Bakar Daud of Kuala Terengganu at the height of this crisis. He lamented that Umno Bahagian Kuala Terengganu was heavily in debt with the bank and was about to lose their Gong Kapas building. The other seven Umno divisions in Terengganu were also facing the same problem.

I went to meet Ahmad Sebi Abu Bakar to inform him of Umno Terengganu’s dilemma and the financial crisis the eight divisions were facing because all their assets had been frozen by the Registrar of Societies and the Public Trustee.

It is not just Umno Terengganu, Ahmad Sebi replied, but Umno all over Malaysia. Even the Umno headquarters building may face auctioning if they can’t solve the problem of Umno’s frozen assets.

It had been the practice that all assets of Umno were registered in the name of Umno. But now that Umno had been deregistered, all these assets had been frozen. The liabilities, however, were not frozen. And since all debts were personally guaranteed by the division heads, treasurers, secretaries, etc., the banks were chasing these people in their personal capacity. Letters of demand were being sent to the guarantors, not to Umno, which no longer legally existed.

Invariably, a huge team of lawyers was engaged to unravel the massive and extremely complicating financial mess. And, as Kadir Jasin, said, Zaid Ibrahim was one of these lawyers, although he was not even an Umno member yet at that time, according to Kadir Jasin.

And I am sure every lawyer who acted for Umno would have made a lot of money, not only Zaid. But Umno was desperate. They would not mind paying whatever it cost to get them out of the mess they were in. I would have whacked Umno for 30% of the assets if I were a lawyer and had been asked to solve Umno’s financial mess.

You paid a lawyer to get a job done. He did it. And you paid the agreed fees. Why now bangkit (resurrect) all this as if you were cheated? Kadir Jasin is making it look like there was some hanky-panky involved here. Even if Zaid did get rich solving Umno’s problems, good for him. That is the kind of man I would want as our leader, someone who knows how to get rich because he happens to be smart and not because he happens to have come out from the right pussy and receives a Bumiputera status because of that.

But that is not the issue. What is would be that Umno learned its lesson. So the new party called Umno Baru did not repeat the mistake of the old party by registering all its assets in the name of the party. Instead, the assets were registered in the name of the President, Deputy President and Treasurer as trustees of the party.

What we should focus on now is where are those assets? We are talking about billions here, and they were registered in the name of trustees, not in the name of the party. Can Kadir Jasin please address this and raise the right questions as to where those assets currently are?

And other than the trustees, what about the proxies? Umno used proxies to park its business interests. Are these interests still in the name of these proxies? And if so where is the money? Remember, PLUS, MAS, TV3, NST, Utusan, DRB-Hicom, etc., etc. etc.? What role did these proxies like Tan Sri Yahya Ahmad, Halim Saad, Shamsudin Abu Hassan, and many, many more play?

The lawyer’s job was to unravel the mess. The assets belonged to the old Umno. Then they were transferred to the new Umno. But the new Umno appointed trustees and proxies to hold these assets to avoid history repeating itself in case the new Umno also gets deregistered for any reason. But did the pagar eat the padi?

Yes, Kadir Jasin, let’s talk about that now.

But he disappointed the Umno higher-ups very early in his career when he failed to deliver his party-endorsed speech on the Ruler and the Constitution during the 1992 Umno General Assembly at the height of the 2nd Constitutional crisis. He chickened out less than 10 minutes into his speech.

Ah, my favourite subject, the Constitutional Crisis. Let us see what Kadir Jasin wrote: when he (Zaid) failed to deliver his party-endorsed speech on the Ruler and the Constitution during the 1992 Umno General Assembly at the height of the 2nd Constitutional crisis.

Zaid is Kelantanese, as Kadir Jasin reminds us, and the Kelantanese love their Sultan. Go stand in the middle of Kota Bharu and shout obscenities at the Sultan and see what will happen to you.

Anyway, the point here is that there was an orchestrated move by Umno to whack the Monarchy good and proper. Kadir Jasin confirms this. And Umno has the gall to accuse the opposition of not showing respect to the Sultan?

For your information, the opposition was against the 1992 amendments that eroded the role of the Constitutional Monarchy. The Rulers may have their shortcomings but at least with Parliament, the Judiciary and the Monarchy, Malaysia would have four branches of government. Now we only have one, the Executive. And one branch means we have a dictatorship.

The opposition was more concerned with the institution of the Monarchy rather than the Rulers as individuals. The Rulers may have their failings, as do many Members of Parliament and Judges as well. But we can’t remove these three Institutions just because the people in the institutions fail us. Instead, we remove the people and replace them so that the institutions can do the job they were set up to do.

Nevertheless, the bottom line is, Kadir Jasin admits that Umno was behind the move to whack the Rulers. So Umno can stop screaming about the opposition being kurang ajar towards the Rulers.

When he was in Abdullah Ahmad Badawi’s cabinet, his mission to reform Umno and the Judiciary put him at odds with fellow ministers and Umno leaders.

So now Kadir Jasin admits that Zaid’s mission was to reform Umno and the Judiciary. And because of that he was at odds with his fellow ministers and Umno leaders: meaning the other ministers and Umno leaders were against reforms.

I don’t know whether Kadir Jasin realises this or not but he has just given Zaid a reformist’s image and the ministers and Umno leaders as anti-reforms. Did Kadir Jasin not realise that in one swoop he has painted Zaid in a positive light and the ministers and Umno leaders in a very negative light?

Having publicly urged the Yang di-Pertuan Agong not to appoint Mohd Najib Abdul Razak as Prime Minister, the only honourable thing for him to do was leave Umno when the former was made PM and became Umno President.

And Zaid was against Najib talking over as Prime Minister, says Kadir Jasin. And Zaid did the honourable thing and resign, says Kadir Jasin. I don’t think I need to say more to this.

In a recent interview with Malaysiakini, he spoke confidently about the alliance’s so-called Common Policy Framework (CPF) as if he was the spokesman.

But that is just it. Zaid IS in charge of getting Pakatan Rakyat registered plus to explore a common platform for this to happen. So what’s the beef?

He is supposed to be on a six-month hiatus from politics yet he gave a lengthy interview to talk about a very important development in the PR in the very state that he was forbidden from going -- Sabah.

I have said this before and I will say it again. Sabah and Sarawak control 56 parliament seats out of a total of 222 seats in parliament. If you want to form the federal government you must first win a sizeable number of seats from Sabah and Sarawak. If not, then dream on.

Zaid knows this even if the rest of Pakatan Rakyat still has its head buried in the sand. Zaid went to Sabah because many from amongst the opposition and civil society movements told him to go. One or two leaders at the top may have other ideas. But as far as the people, the voters, are concerned, you listen to us and not to the party leaders.

Let me make this clear. The dog wags the tail, not the tail wags the dog. Pakatan Rakyat must do what we say. We call the shots. The people are the boss.

If Pakatan Rakyat wants our support and our votes then they should listen to what we say. And we don’t want internal bickering, and inter-party and intra-party fighting.

Some Pakatan Rakyat leaders are acting like spoiled brats and immature school children. They allow petty things and their overblown egos stand in the way of the bigger picture.

Kadir Jasin may not know this, but it was we, the voters, who sent Zaid a very strong message. And the message was if he does not go to Sabah then we are going to kick his arse. My wife, in fact, told Zaid: don’t fuck with us. You do that and we are going to whack you.

Zaid had no choice. It is not what the PKR leadership wants that counts. It is what we, the voters want that matters. And we wanted him to go to Sabah. I even told Zaid to send Dr. Jeffrey Kitingan my love and kisses. Zaid replied, love yes, but no kisses, especially not in front of so many people.

So Kadir Jasin, that is my response to your piece today.

Comments (38)Add Comment
written by Zym Zym, October 21, 2009 19:46:45
Sabahans and Sarawakians will call for independence soon. It's a matter of time! Then, I will tell you all, "I told you so." :-)
agree 190
written by Watchdog, October 21, 2009 19:51:29
Allow me to fcuk Kadir Jasin
agree 148
written by malsia1206, October 21, 2009 19:56:34
Your 2nd paragraph - "I just love it when I can say:I told you so".
You could say the same for the former PM, Tun Badawi. You could say the same for the former Home Meneteri, Syed Hamid Alba. Many of your readers are still waiting for that one grand day when you could say the same exactly for just 2 more persons in the whole Federation of Malaysia -
1. the IGP himself
2. the AG himself.
Surely Allah and the good Lord would grant this for us.
written by miwaki, October 21, 2009 20:05:02
Who is Kadir ? another mamak ?
written by krising1, October 21, 2009 20:06:32
RPK, Kadir Jasin may be too thick (dense) to understand any logical views. They are all UMNO dogs trained to bark here and there!
agree 124
written by mountainking, October 21, 2009 20:08:07
Kadir Jasin, sounds like a gigolo for UMNO to screw. a prostitute for umno to do the dirty work.
written by Goostee, October 21, 2009 20:21:03

Wah, you can really do it......beautifully...
written by onnetline, October 21, 2009 20:22:18
Kadir Jasin ............ another piece of UMNOs ' ketuanan ' shit ?
written by cheemengwong, October 21, 2009 20:24:48
Kadir Jasin is but a piece of UMNO remnants. Any use to the Raayat or Malaysia? If not I think he should go back to kampong and tanam jagong or make peace with God Almighty!
written by Caretaker_y, October 21, 2009 20:36:28
YM RPK, with your continous reminder & highlighting of the vital link that Sabah & Sarawak possesses to whoever wants to form the Government, it is hightime PR (YB Anwar & the rest of the lot)wake-up before the next GE or PR will be kept dreaming on & on till kingdom come.

With nearly ALL the machineries(including the Royalties) being used against the Alternate Government, their only opportunity now is to wise-up and win the hearts & soul of the Sabahans & Sarawakians.

ALL you in the PR leadership, wake-up before it is too late. For the time being over here in West Malaysia, YB Najib & his goons seems able to ride high after the latest re-election increased in votes(was it because of ISA or POSTAL VOTES?)

46 YEARS OF THE NEW UMNO IS TOO LONG. With all their misdeeds being swept under the carpet & covered-up and certain evidences of wrong-doings destroyed, UMNO/BN goons must be also swept under gutters this coming GE.
written by Alfie Mood, October 21, 2009 20:59:09
Dear RPK n my fellow m'sians,Halim Saad Tajudin Ramli,Vincent Tan n lots more including KADIR JASIN reports to the same boss who owns all the umno assets but now become his assets....Tun Dime.Kadir Jasin is a complete BARUA for this guy.his only friend is d monkey tht he is holding in his blog.
written by Kathy, October 21, 2009 20:59:18
Well said and well done, RPK. You are the SPOKESMAN of us, the voters. You have said precisely what I would have said to PKR were I to be given the opportunity to do so. Don't mess around with Sabah and Sarawak and don't treat us like uncivilized and stupid natives who live in trees. I fully endorse what Zaid has done, visiting Sabah and Sarawak at this time of crisis. He at least had the humility to do so. Can we please have more of the same from the rest of the PKR leadership? Remember we in Sarawak are desperate to get rid of BN here. We want to help so please, please, do not sideline us.
written by Ghifarix, October 21, 2009 21:22:47
So TRUE; They behave as though we RAKYAT owe them. It took UMNO/BN 52 years to rotten Some PR fellows scent of power have then drunk to a point of betryal. WE must resist. Let us learn from the rulling Party in Turkey.
written by defendermalaysia, October 21, 2009 21:48:51
Even before the enquiry started, we all know that a conspiracy is already put in place to suggest that Teoh commit suicide. The conspiry members are investigating police officicers, the murderers, macc officials, 2 govt forsenic dogtors,and others. We do not understand why the coroner did not go to the point and allow investigators to check unnecessary evidence like Teoh bank account,Teoh room mate, Teoh family members subject to mental checking,and others. Why do,nt they investigate as who is the last investigating macc officier questing Teoh. Why did the last officier did not appear to gave testimony ? The police knows who is the murderer but they are part of the conspiracy. We must now ask for the royal commission since now we know that this inquest is just buying time and beatting around the bush. Go striaght to the point.
written by sydput, October 21, 2009 22:07:07
This kadir jasin bloke single hndedly destroyed the nst group newspapers when he was in charge and they never recovered. But mahathir rewarded him by passing some of the magazine business from nst. He wanted rtm.
written by johnT, October 21, 2009 22:12:01
Since Semenanjung Malaysia already have PAS, I imagine to see who will form a Party call PKS ( Party Kristian Semalaysia) in Sabah and Sarawak, Than PKS can join PKR to bring down the mighty BN in east Malaysia. smilies/grin.gif
written by Spear Bing, October 21, 2009 22:52:57
AS RPK has repeatedly pointed out, PR leaders should focus their attention to Sabah and Sarawak.

Sabah is Najib's fixed deposit and so is also Sarawak.

Can PR uplift and cancel his fixed deposits by coming out with some strategic brain storming sessions before the 13th GE?

PR should start sending more of its leaders to Sabah and Sarawak, have affirmative and constructive engagement with their leaders there. Plan out the strategy, minimize personal frictions, promote cordiality and camaraderie.

Waste no time and CARPE DIEM!!!!!!
written by Jeffo, October 21, 2009 23:34:22
Sorry, off tangent comment.

Halloween is coming......anybody knows where I can get an Al Tan Tuya costume?? smilies/grin.gif
written by Daryl, October 21, 2009 23:35:43
Kadir Jasin is a very smart guy you just have to read his articles to figure that out. He sounds so convincing that you will buy into what he wrote. So, we need to watch out for this guy since he is position to lies again through the MSM.
written by Steven Ong, October 21, 2009 23:37:47
As the trend shows nowadays ,many different groups of people wants to be an independent nation. Many have achieved their wish and some are still trying. Dont be surprised if Sabahans and Sarawakians wish to broke away and becomes two new nations in the near future. So I wont put my bet on this.
Better to reform ourselves and let the rakyat sees that PR are good, matured and better than BN. When the rakyat sees this , naturally they would vote for PR.
What we want is an efficient, accountable and transparent government, whose mission is to serve the people of Malaysia.
written by Davy McChester, October 22, 2009 00:39:01
Kadir was Mr.Gobble for our 22 year ruler leader ,his highness,greater and holier than all ,Mahathir. This guy Kadir once a highly paid editor,also benefited tremendously by beating the Mahathir "yes,yes,hail Hitler"drum throughout the reign of fuhrer Mahathir. Kadir is a first class A--- licker. . Now ,from a divider,trying to talk like great unifier.An opportunist of the first order. Give me a breaklah ! You guys have done enough of damage to the psychic of Malaysia. Please retire quietly with all your ill gotten booty and your ill-conceived nation building bullshit policies
written by Wudan, October 22, 2009 00:59:36
My wife, in fact, told Zaid: don’t **** with us. You do that and we are going to whack you.
----------------------------

Wow Marina! I am gobsmacked.
written by fireduck, October 22, 2009 01:08:58
Very well written. And somehow "comes out from the right pussy" sounds so much more refined than "comes out from the right lubang". smilies/cheesy.gif

So, do we still give credence to the Third Force, and give support to Haris' SABM initiative or not? If yes, let's tell Pakatan leaders to shape up or ship out. As Pete says, the rakyat is the boss, so listen to our aspirations and we will support you all the way. We want a change in the federal govt.
written by ajip, October 22, 2009 01:14:19
kadir jasin = pencacai tua pengangkat najis
written by Iliyas, October 22, 2009 01:43:39
Bro Pete,

I totally agree with you on the finer points you've raised about Sabah and Sarawak.But please allow me to share what is lacking among the central leaders when visiting Sabah/Sarawak.

Central leaders DO NOT meet with the right kind of leaders.Leaders who would be able to give a clearer and non bias picture are always being sideline in giving their honest and sincere views.

It has always been a norm,that BIG BOYS takes control of the situation in advising central leaders.In the case of Zaid's visit to Sabah,the situation was no different.Perhaps central leaders should listen to other leaders as well and then draw their opinions before concluding.

We have some good and new leaders in PKR Sabah now,who have displayed fine vision.Perhaps if anyone would care to talk to them,I'm convince you'll be surprise.
written by mowadoha, October 22, 2009 02:28:32
Wake up PR leaders. This is the reality. Face it. Walk the talk and don't delay!!

written by Bigjoe99, October 22, 2009 07:53:42
This country WOULD BE DAMNED LUCKY if we get Zaid Ibrahim to be our PM. The only politician (from any side) worthy of the legacy of Tunku Abdul Rahman...
written by SBennit, October 22, 2009 08:28:54
......and not because he happens to have come out from the right pussy and receives a Bumiputera status because of that.

For the ignorants. RPK is referring to Mahathir here. Mahathir was born an Indian. Father Indian, mother Malay. It showed Indian in his IC until around age of 33 yrs, when he got it changed to Malay through influential friends.

There are many other pseudo Malays, like Mahathir, in UMNO.

This e-mail address is being protected from spam bots, you need JavaScript enabled to view it
written by oneofthesedays, October 22, 2009 08:37:21
Kadir Yasin. Hah.

This zero credibility fool is is not fit to wash Datuk Zaid's feet.

In fact pondan Kadir had his nose so far up Tun Sodomy's ass that he could taste what the mamak had for breakfast.
written by Bigdawg, October 22, 2009 10:03:23
Sarawak and Sabah will never break away own their own. Who ever leads any of these 2 states
down that road would be doing the people a dis-service. It's only talk, to support arguments
only.

We do not envision ever voting for a descendant of sukarno or suharto.

One day yet, someone from Sarawak will be doing ngajat dance in [ Putrajaya ].

I hate this dumb-sounding name, Putrid-Jaya.

When PR takes over, we will rename this rubbish name to something less painful to the ears.
written by Rozlan, October 22, 2009 10:43:10
If Pakatan Rakyat wants our support and our votes then they should listen to what we say. And we don’t want internal bickering, and inter-party and intra-party fighting.

Some Pakatan Rakyat leaders are acting like spoiled brats and immature school children. They allow petty things and their overblown egos stand in the way of the bigger picture.

Yep..True.Well phrase words for our Pakatan leaders.I mean if they bother to listen after all.
written by Orang Muda, October 22, 2009 11:01:03
Aiya...simple-lah... The way I see it, if Zaid still remains in UMNO, I don't think Kadir would have brought up all these "wrong doings" and "past sins". If Zaid still an UMNO member, these "sins" would be acceptable by Kadir, in fact he would probably come out with all kind of reasons to justify them and to defend Zaid.

So, the greatest sin committed by Zaid is that he left UMNO. Period. Kaw tim.
written by amoker, October 22, 2009 11:26:07
I do think that these are good past sins. Wantting to reform, not wanting to tarnish the monarchs, being intelligent ...

Its just sour grape for Pak Kadir, being a TDM man.
written by Admiral Tojo, October 22, 2009 14:27:14
Ah Kadir jasin, not an intellectual after all but just an arse licker. A pseudo at that.

written by nocrid, October 22, 2009 14:30:19
That is the kind of man I would want as our leader, someone who knows how to get rich because he happens to be smart and not because he happens to have come out from the right pussy and receives a Bumiputera status because of that.

OUCH! HAHAHAHA....
written by sueteh, October 22, 2009 18:10:08
Dear Spear Bing, if PR keep sending its Semenanjung leaders to Sabah & Sarawak, then like what Pangkis said we are trying to teach them and we have this snooty superiority complex therefore, why must PKR send its Semenanjung leaders over there?

Dear Cathy, if you Sarawakians want to work together and equally to sepak terajang keluar UMNO, no. one don't always scold us orang Semenanjung (the ones in Opposition party, always marah marah and angry with orang Semenanjung one. no. two. your local tribal leaders be united. What right does orang Semenanjung teaching orang East Msia? If you truly want independence and to become a two new nation, well, you HAVE TO PAY A PRICE FOR IT!!!!!!!!!!

Yes Spear Bing, CARPE DIEM!!! I have yet to hear any news of any born Sabahan or Sarawakian being whacked or murdered by BN-UMNO. We here have our Teoh Beng Hock case, so glad and hopefully is 100% HOMOCIDE!

written by sataysticks, October 22, 2009 20:24:00
Kadir Jasin is a man of the past - not relevant any longer!
NST, the newspaer he worker for - not relevant any longer!
Dr M, the man Kadir Jasin loves - not relevant any longer!
written by apanama, October 24, 2009 10:29:00
KADIR JASIN? anok buoh mamakthair. dari kecik sapai tua kerepok.
menyalok macang anjing mamak. buat apa baca tulisan dia, buat apa respons kat dia?
bengong.