Home arrow The Blogs arrow Special Reports arrow Thailand's fearless 'Dr Death'

Thailand's fearless 'Dr Death' PDF Print
Wednesday, 21 October 2009 14:56

Lucy Ash meets Thailand's most senior forensic pathologist and discovers that finding the truth about how people died is not always welcomed.

"The boss is round the back," says the young man pulling off his rubber gloves. "You're just in time for lunch."

Behind the makeshift laboratory, deep inside this military camp, there is a space shaded by coconut palms where I find the boss standing over a giant wok.

Her face glistens with sweat, but her purple eye shadow is intact.

"I like to cook," she says, prodding the noodles. "But I won't cut raw meat. That's too much like an autopsy."

Forensic pathologist is the last job to spring to mind when you see Dr Pornthip Rojanasunan. She is wearing jangly bracelets and skin tight jeans. But what really stands out - and up - is her spiky red hair.

Her fashion sense helped determine her career choice.

As a girl she loved medicine, but since doctors in Thailand are expected to dress and behave conservatively, she decided to shun patients in favour of corpses.

"The dead can't criticise me," she says, "so I wear what I like".

She does not always go for acid colours, though. On the cover of one of her best-selling true life crime books she appears draped in virginal white silk, cradling a skull.

DNA revolution

It is not just Dr Pornthip's looks and books which are unconventional. So is her attitude to the police.

She has been at odds with them for more than 20 years, ever since a case involving one of her own medical students.

The student was killed by her jealous boyfriend, who chopped her body into 168 pieces.

Police found a blood stain in the boyfriend's car, but failed to act on it.

Dr Pornthip finally got permission to search his flat, found another bloodstain on the bathroom floor and established that it was the victim's. Then she found human remains in the toilet tank.

The case was a sensation and alerted many Thais to the importance of DNA evidence.

Death threats

In several cases since, Dr Pornthip's findings have contradicted those of the Thai police and sometimes even pointed to their involvement.

When people die in mysterious circumstances or in police custody, families often bring the bodies to her for an independent autopsy.

One incident involved a Thai MP who was found with a gun in his hand and a bullet hole in his right temple.

Dr Pornthip did not think it was a suicide, and she got death threats for saying so.

Dr Adrian Linacre, a forensic expert invited over from the UK, came to the same conclusion. Eventually the dead man's brother was charged with conspiracy to murder. That case is on-going.

Dr Linacre says that he, like Dr Pornthip, found that evidence from the morgue did not always fit the official version of events. He says she is a brave woman.

Dr Pornthip made international headlines after the tsunami when she helped identify thousands of corpses at a Buddhist temple.

A police chief later attacked her for not following correct procedures.

She also angered police over the so-called war on drugs, in which 2,500 people - mainly dealers and addicts - were killed.

Bodies were found clutching weapons and drugs as if they had died in gun battles with police. But Dr Pornthip discovered that residue from gun barrels had been smeared on some victims' hands after their deaths.

Army protection

Now she is facing fresh controversy over her work in the south.

I watch her and her team searching a suspected bomb maker's house.

It is in a remote village and we have to fly there by helicopter with an armed escort.

The next morning she is quickly on the scene, after soldiers have been ambushed and shot at by mystery assailants.

I suddenly understand why she is cooking noodles for lunch. It is too dangerous to go out and eat at a local restaurant.

She has been warned that the insurgents have put a high price on her head.

A retired police general in Bangkok tells me that Dr Pornthip is an obsessive self-publicist. He says she should concentrate on corpses and stop acting like a cop.

There have also been complaints from some human rights groups and local people in the south who distrust her close ties with the military.

Dr Pornthip says she has to work with the army for her own protection but denies she is under their thumb.

She tells me that if she sees any evidence that soldiers have physically abused anyone she immediately informs their superiors.

What effect that has I do not know, but it is true that when scores of protesters from the southern town of Takbai were killed five years ago, Dr Pornthip was the first to go public.

She said 80 men had died of suffocation after they were trussed up and piled on top of each other in army trucks.

"Dr Death" - as the papers in Thailand call her - is not not easily blown off course. On our way back to Bangkok I ask about her next challenge.

"I want to be a kindergarten teacher," she says eventually. "With that kind of job no-one can criticise me." - BBC News

written by OVERLORD, October 21, 2009 15:07:16
She should have probed Jibby's dark secret.....
agree 118
written by Steven Tan, October 21, 2009 15:18:30
Now how..... STILL WANT TO DENY!!!! smilies/angry.gif
written by Taikohtai, October 21, 2009 15:37:11
What a top gun of a forensic patho! And a female one too, with real 'balls'! Puts most of her Malaysian counterparts to shame. Yes, Malaysian doctors are now heavily compromised by threats, fear, $$ and rewards when placed under PDRM headlights.
agree 204
written by by2020, October 21, 2009 15:45:00
Another proof that our professionals are third class material?

Or they just have no spine?
agree 199
written by malsia1206, October 21, 2009 15:46:10
MACC would like the Malaysian rakyat and the International community to say the deaceased TBH-
1. sodomised himself
2. attempted self-strangulation on the neck
3. inflicted self-bodily injuries for the duration while in the custody of MACC
After all, this renowned pathologist is entitled to her 80% probablity cause. The MACC is still entitled to their 20% version. Let the dumb and the deaf decide.
agree 172
written by exumnoguy, October 21, 2009 15:49:32
Jangan terperanjat kalau tak lama lagi
kita akan dengar dia dah pun di C4 kan
written by Wudan, October 21, 2009 15:55:06
To MT readers who like to listen to the Lucy Ash interview with Dr Pornthip on podcast here http://absolutelybangkok.com/t...#more-5208
written by budakindia, October 21, 2009 16:27:58
Dr, I salute you for being brave! You should have conducted the autopsy on Kugan too! For all those who concocted in the murders, you will be answerable in Hell! That includes Ghanie Patail, Musa Hassan too! I hope you all will burn in Hell! smilies/angry.gif
written by Vivarium, October 21, 2009 16:31:34
Let's see how MACC is going to spin that 20% probability to cheat the world, of course with the help of the government institutions.
Dr Pornthip's theory had put the whole nation to shame and that bunch of dead corpse investigators to mere dead corpses themsleves.
written by Jilo, October 21, 2009 16:51:18
Can the philanthropist in Ipoh who offered a reward for the information of Teoh Beng Hock murderer start to organise a fund raising in case justice is not done in the Malaysia court.Can we seek justice for TBH in the International Court?
written by oneofthesedays, October 21, 2009 17:38:06
She's amazing. Beauty and brains with a charming personality too.
written by defendermalaysia, October 21, 2009 18:32:35
She is a reborn of another famous forensic pathologist govt official in Sung dynasty in china.
written by miwaki, October 21, 2009 20:10:46
I wonder whether the two pathologists who claimed that Beng Hock committed suicide dare to face Dr Pornthip if requested ? I wonder where did these two morons graduated from ? University of Gunung Tajhan !
written by notsosmart, October 21, 2009 20:16:52
She is known among the Thais on some high profile case. She is no nonsense lady, very rugged, did her job professionally. If you happen to meet her at the disco, you would not think that she is a forensic expert. Hahaha....joking.

What if she get the finding correct. Do you think our gomen will take drastic action against the murderer? DREAM ON..........
written by Ghifarix, October 21, 2009 20:55:58
Wa-llahi! I am shocked No! not in Malaysia let alone at the hands of Muslims. We are gone, we've gone down a road that leads to self destruction- we have call Allah's curse on ourselves. I feel grief. Ya Allah curse the hands all, all that had anything to do with this injustice ALL even the "party" which benifited from this torture-Murder! AMEN!
written by raven1958, October 21, 2009 23:34:23
Maybe its time we proclaim King Bhumipol as the rightful King of Malaysia...apa guna duduk di Malaysia sudah tau siapa pembunuh tapi all of us just take it lying down ...and in some cases as in Bagan Pinang take 200 ringgit and ask for more sodomization...
written by fromamovingtrain, October 21, 2009 23:48:12
What a cool coroner.

I'M A FAN!
written by Sabahfan, October 21, 2009 23:51:36
TWO BIG MURDERS, ALTANTUYA AND TBH.. AND STILL THIS REGIME UMNO GOVT IS ALIVE RATHER THAN BE SHOT AND SENT TO HELL...

SHAME ON THE INDON MALAY VOTERS AND KHINZIR TOYOL..
written by Sabahfan, October 21, 2009 23:52:20
yeah the thai king does not have any scandals compared to half of the worlds kings or sultans, all found in malazutland
written by Sabahfan, October 22, 2009 00:05:19
go to hell murders of malaysia.

1 malaysia now means mass murderers,
written by kclim, October 22, 2009 00:43:16
Have to hand it to the Thai people. They are a diverse society, very cultured and extremely tolerant in nature. They are very hard working. Thais understand and appreciate life. One of the most gentle and humble peoples on the face of this planet unlike their brutish & barbaric neighbours (that is us in bolehland). A lady of substance this elegant Dr PR ( sorry for the pun . She could teach us a thing or two about how to conduct ourselves both alive and dead. Integrity and Professionalism indeed. Shame on us hill billies.
written by Alice, October 22, 2009 08:27:40
Great doc!! Truly inspiring bravery.I am a fan too
written by Msian Idol3, October 22, 2009 10:38:18
... even if our 2 forensic pathologist were graduates of Harvard, they are no bloody good. They don't tell the truth. God will be their judge. Welcome to Msia Dr. You have honor and your family would be very proud.
written by Mapel101, October 22, 2009 10:57:27
Impressive! She is indeed a brave woman.. My respect to her..smilies/cool.gif
written by jaz, October 22, 2009 11:01:40
It'll be great if she could come over to investigate TBH case. But, even if she could find out how, who and what happened to TBH, there is no guarantee that action will be taken. And besides, for the sake of her own life, I advise her to stay away from Malaysia. So that she could continue her noble life's work, elsewhere.
written by elmo world, October 22, 2009 16:09:20
Thai should be very proud to have such a great lady. Unlike Malaysians, we ONLY have C4.

Dr P, please be careful , as malaysia is not a safe place esp if the person the fighting for justice.

May God bless you & us
written by cantab, October 22, 2009 17:51:58
No, Dr Khairul is not a very smart student in school. Talking about Harvard/Cambridge/Oxford, he would not even qualify to step foot on these reputable universities, let alone a medical programme. Well, he DID NOT EVEN GET a GRADE 1 in his Malaysian Certificate Examination. If you get a lousy student to enter medical school at UKM, this is the product you get! He is not only incompetent, but also a pathologist of a lowest character. Shame on you Dr Khairul. You have tarnished the good reputation of Malaysian medical service. You will be punished by Allah the Almighty one day for your blatant lie and untruthful autopsy report.

written by justice seeker, October 23, 2009 09:32:33
Thailand's fearless 'Dr Death'

ERRR.... IN BOLEHLAND, YOU CAN SUDDENLY DISAPPEAR, CHANGE
TESTIMONY COMPLETELY OVERNIGHT, BE C4.....
MAKE SURE YOU HV 24 HOUR SECURITY.